Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Running issues specific to women

• Registered Users Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭j@utis

There's a video here showing the best position. I'm not tiny but I could never get mine to stay put in this position even at it smallest - these things are designed for men which is another #ranttopic!!!

Mine wouldn't stay there either (Polar), it would pop off every time I slightly bent down. I layer the straps and monitor is under the bra band. Re: the video, I thought her bra was very minimalistic and lacked support when she was running, look at all that bounce!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

Hedgehoggy wrote: »
    I'm in this boat.... And like you my biggest problem was needing to pee! It was worse in the earlier days so I would plan my runs around places where I could pee!!!!! It doesn't affect me as much at the moment even though I'm 33 wks now so obviously bigger. Maybe I've just gotten used to it. I don't use a belt but I did switch over to just cotton leggings as I found the lycra running leggings uncomfortable. I haven't felt a great need for 'support' (other than a btr sports bra). So no changes really other than slowing down and fewer miles. Since Xmas I haven't gone further than 3 miles... Lockdown /Homeschooling has probably stopped me from getting out a bit more..... I suppose up to about 20 odd wks I was purposefully slowing down now I'm just slow!!!! I'm wondering if I can even call it jogging anymore........ Still i definitely feel its good for me. Gps/midwives have said its fine. I decided to take every wk as it comes hoping to go another wk now anyway...
    eyrie wrote: »
    I'm 20 weeks and still running the odd bit. Haven't had that problem luckily and no pain/pressure when running, I just can't get over how unbelievably slow I am! More of a shuffle than a run and I get out of breath so easily. I would guess it's pelvic floor alright, particularly if it's your third - doing lots of PF exercises definitely seems to be important for keeping running. I've heard good things about the belts/bands but haven't tried one. There's a few blog posts on this site about running in pregnancy and postpartum - might be something useful there!

Congratulations :) Fair play still running at 33 weeks too.

Ah ladies, congratulations to you both! :) G I had seen your runs on Strava and it was the first thing that came to mind when I saw the paces and distances. To you both I hope the remainder of your pregnancies go perfectly and that mothers and babies are well and healthy. Delighted for ye :D

We had an Intro to Trail Running night in the Cork and Kerry Trail Runners a few months ago, part of Mountaineering Ireland's Women in Sport initiative.

Apart from issues identified already, I think trail running night be particularly daunting for women to start. Not only do newcomers have that old "I'll hold others up" worry, as there are no real introductions to trail running like, say, parkrun. But that's aggravated by the fact that it's dominated by middle aged men, so it's even harder for younger and/or women runners to land in and say "I'll run with ye".

She Summits do trail running for women in Dublin/Wicklow.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Hedgehoggy

skyblue46 wrote: »
    Ah ladies, congratulations to you both! :) G I had seen your runs on Strava and it was the first thing that came to mind when I saw the paces and distances. To you both I hope the remainder of your pregnancies go perfectly and that mothers and babies are well and healthy. Delighted for ye :D

Congratulations Fair play still running at 33 weeks too.

Thanks all!! and congrats to you too Eyrie and shortstuff!!! I agree with ye around how quickly you slow down - even really early on. It was a good reminder actually because I've been looking back thinking I was a bit soft on myself and maybe I should have done more - but now I'm remembering how easily I'd get out of breath. There were so many runs where I'd think 'maybe I'm pushing the pace a bit' and then look down at my watch and I'd be very slow! I only got out once last week - but hoping with the schools reopened now I'll have a bit more chance to do a few easy walk/jog combos. Keeping up the running has definitely been good for my head space during the pregnancy and has kept me feeling somewhat normal.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭ariana`

Wow, massive congrats to the expectant mother runners :) Such an exciting time for you all! And how lovely that there is a few of you to share the journey, fab!

I ran a little bit on Baby #3, I can't remember how many weeks but until about the end of March/early April and baby was due early June (June 4th iirc). In the end it was like a reverse couch 2 5k :pac: I was gradually walking more than running! I don't really have any tips though except do whatever is comfortable. I didn't bother with any bands or maternity wear really. My bump was very small, baby was small too, the smallest of the 3 by a long shot whether that was related to my exercising more on that pregnancy or something else I don't know.

Eyrie it's brilliant you are doing the PF exercises - you are probably the 1st pregnant woman I've come across who is doing what she's told :) It will make all the difference - I still can't do jumping jacks, I'll say no more :o

Best of luck to you all on the countdown. Mind yourselves and enjoy this wonderfully special time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭eyrie

Thanks all!! and congrats to you too Eyrie and shortstuff!!! I agree with ye around how quickly you slow down - even really early on. It was a good reminder actually because I've been looking back thinking I was a bit soft on myself and maybe I should have done more - but now I'm remembering how easily I'd get out of breath. There were so many runs where I'd think 'maybe I'm pushing the pace a bit' and then look down at my watch and I'd be very slow! I only got out once last week - but hoping with the schools reopened now I'll have a bit more chance to do a few easy walk/jog combos. Keeping up the running has definitely been good for my head space during the pregnancy and has kept me feeling somewhat normal.
    I know, it really is unbelievable how quickly the slow-down happens! I noticed it almost from the very start, or at least my heart rate was a good bit elevated from the very start so I slowed down to compensate. It's a bit disheartening when you look at the watch and see just how slow. But sure doing anything will stand to us hopefully!
    ariana` wrote: »
    Wow, massive congrats to the expectant mother runners :) Such an exciting time for you all! And how lovely that there is a few of you to share the journey, fab!

I ran a little bit on Baby #3, I can't remember how many weeks but until about the end of March/early April and baby was due early June (June 4th iirc). In the end it was like a reverse couch 2 5k :pac: I was gradually walking more than running! I don't really have any tips though expect do whatever is comfortable. I didn't bother with any bands or maternity wear really. My bump was very small, baby was small too, the smallest of the 3 by a long shot whether that was related to my exercising more on that pregnancy or something else I don't know.

Eyrie it's brilliant you are doing the PF exercises - you are probably the 1st pregnant woman I've come across who is doing what she's told :) It will make all the difference - I still can't do jumping jacks, I'll say no more :o

Best of luck to you all on the countdown. Mind yourselves and enjoy this wonderfully special time.
    Thanks E! I'm only doing the exercises now as both my sister and my friend who's a midwife drilled it into me how important they are so they have me terrified :o I'm not sure I see how they can do much really since you're not exactly lifting a heavy weight which I thought was the basis of strengthening any muscles, but what do I know? :pac:
    Good to know you managed to run until that stage yourself. I might be back to you for advice on getting back to it after the baby arrives too! But I'm getting way ahead of myself, lots to go first...

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Hedgehoggy

Meant to post a quick update. I pretty much finished up "running" at 35 weeks. I do a little bit of jogging during a few of my walks and overall aiming to stay active for the last leg!!!

Hope shortstuff and eyrie are getting on well??

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭shortstuff!

Meant to post a quick update. I pretty much finished up "running" at 35 weeks. I do a little bit of jogging during a few of my walks and overall aiming to stay active for the last leg!!!

Fair play to you hedgehoggy, 35weeks is AMAZING! Can only hope to make it that far, hope it pays off and you have an easy labour/birth and post natal recovery! You dont have long left at all now, hope you're keeping well. I'm 24wks tomorrow and next goal is to make it to 26wks.

Oh fair play, that's some going! I'm still running at 24 weeks but very little and very slowly, just a few times a week for half an hour really. Hoping to keep it up as long as I can but honestly it feels so far from proper running that it's hard to keep the motivation to do it. But I'm trying to tell myself that any little bit will make it easier to get back to afterwards.

Hope you're feeling good at this stage and good luck with the last few weeks!

Fair play to you hedgehoggy, 35weeks is AMAZING! Can only hope to make it that far, hope it pays off and you have an easy labour/birth and post natal recovery! You dont have long left at all now, hope you're keeping well. I'm 24wks tomorrow and next goal is to make it to 26wks.
    I like your idea of the mini goals shortstuff, I might have to rob that to motivate myself! Hope it's all going ok for you too :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Shillylunch

pampootie wrote: »
    Great idea for a thread! Following on from sports bras-what about underwear? Nothing I've tried is really comfortable and the longer the run the worse the wedgie!

I started wearing LONSDALE
    Single Short Ladies, years ago and they don’t budge even on marathon day

For the pregnant/new mammies here, Sophie Power, ultra runner (and sister in law to kellygirl from around these parts), has a blog on running through her 3rd pregnancy and post pregnancy. She also made a short movie in conjunction with Hoka which may interest you ladies.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Ladies - bingo wings!

Chaffing of the inner arm - would something like body glide prevent this?

The joys of putting on the covid stone over the winter and last weekend being my first long run in a singlet in warm weather! I wouldn’t mind but it’s not a new singlet, I got it last summer, washed and worn a few times, and wore it for a short run last week but for the last km on Sunday it chaffed my inner arm.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Sunny Dayz wrote: »
    Ladies - bingo wings!

Chaffing of the inner arm - would something like body glide prevent this?

The joys of putting on the covid stone over the winter and last weekend being my first long run in a singlet in warm weather! I wouldn’t mind but it’s not a new singlet, I got it last summer, washed and worn a few times, and wore it for a short run last week but for the last km on Sunday it chaffed my inner arm.

I've been getting this really bad just on one arm, it's so weird & the same as you tops I would have worn previously. Yes I just put some body glide on it before I head off & it seems to work!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

On the topic of body glide.

We were gifted this at Christmas and it more on my side of the cabinet now as find it much better than the body glide.

https://www.outbackjacks.ie/zone3-100-natural-organic-anti-chafing-glide-60g.ir

I had a desperate, horrible welt for weeks from starting to use the HRM. It is still healing! Find this leaves me welt-free.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bluesquare

Hi All - thought I’d resurrect the thread . Congrats to all the new mamas - hope all is going well .

Perimenopause and menopause conversations are very topical at the moment so I thought I’d ask is anyone taking hrt at the moment ?

Im struggling this year with peri symptoms - weight gain , low energy, constant muscle pain , sweats , bloating etc . Was doing great running and training ( despite the extra stone ) and then suddenly bang hit a a wall and 5k now is like a marathon . ( May have coincided with vaccine but that’s another discussion)

I have had all bloods checked including iron and thyroid so no issues there .

Im going to doctor to discuss hrt so wondering has anybody else been down this road ? I’m already taking all the vitamins advised by dr. Stacey and I don’t over train as way to precious ( Im physically at the moment am struggling with 5k ) - I eat loads of protein etc etc .

Can maybe help a bit with a few suggestions but in a different boat. Am not allowed HRT after having breast cancer as on drugs for that for years. To offset symptoms, which turn some women into 90 year olds they are so stiff I have stayed active, as you are doing. I am taking tumeric raw but also was recently recommended bio curcumin which is supposed to be very good. Watched a video and she recommended the following.

B12 for tiredness/brain fog

Magnesium for bone ache

Cod liver oil and then the bio curcumin.

Went to my GP as luckily the worst of the side-effects I am on were the night sweats which in fairness are unplesasnt. He is in to herbal remedies and so I now take something from down to earth for them and they are brilliant, could be snake venom but don't care as it works.

Drink plenty of fluids. Get a magnesium spray as well for the body.

Always be kind to yourself and not too hard on yourself, something I am great at.

Also take honey, apple cider vinegar (organic), Agave syrup and ginger. I only do the apple cider vinegar in a pint of water and take that daily. Also take kefir. These are for gut health/bloating and cleansing.

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭CassieManson

Due in for a lumpectomy in the next week followed by radiotherapy. Anyone got experience of running post op or during radiotherapy?

All the very best.

I ran less than two weeks after surgery, did a parkrun. From Strava then I took it easy and did one cycle the following week. I started base building during radiotherapy. I did it to combat the fatigue, I heard can happen, but was grand. Radiotherapy for me was easy compared to chemo but if you haven't had chemo you might find it tough going. Get out daily for walks.

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭CassieManson

Thanks, hopefully won't need chemo, but really want to keep as active as possible during radiotherapy.

Absolutely do. It did me the world of good to stay active throughout all treatment. I hadn't expected to finish any base building but did and as I said was grand throughout. Just go by feel and don't worry about pace. Anything I can help with PM me.

No personal experience but my Mum had radiotherapy a few years ago and she walked to the hospital and home again for all of her appointments (20 mins each way). It was Winter, a bad Winter too with lots of snow (2009/2010), but she kept it up and felt that staying active helped her mentally & physically. I'd say walking for her at that time would be the equivalent of light jogging for someone younger & fitter. Best wishes for your procedure and treatment after, more than anything else be kind to yourself and listen to your body.

Bluesquare good luck with the GP. Great to see this topic being talked about more. Some of my friends swear by a herbal tincture that they get from a herbalist, expensive but they say it's worth it. I'm definitely sluggish lately but putting it down to the warmer weather for now. I'm due to get my iron checked so that could be it too but I see you've ruled that out. But it could well be peri too, not unlikely at this age 😏 I hope you find the GP helpful.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

I'm in this cohort.

I had a pretty tough time 2 years ago, mood swings, weight gain, sweats, unbelievable fatigue. Of course, these symptoms are easy to see in hindsight, but at the time, with usual life issues, I can't say if there wasn't an element of depression as well. I seriously lacked motivation and just wanted to sleep a lot. No amount of dieting seemed to shift the weight. I was very down.

After discussions with my GP I went the HRT route 18 months ago. It took 4-6 months to notice any real improvement, but the fatigue is more or less gone. I do struggle with exercise and motivation, but a doggy is helping that 😅

I am seeing slow improvements in weight loss.

Don't underestimate the effect of covid-19 restrictions adding to your symptom list, too, as if peri- symptoms weren't enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

I'm in a similar boat, also going to the GP next week, she has already agreed via phone consultation to put me on HRT, in fact her advice was every women (who can) should be on it. I am reluctant to take 'meds' but listening to her speak convinced me that all we are doing is putting back what was naturally there and with the body identical HRT that is available now, the risks are not what they were. I have stopped running altogether as I just can't do it anymore so I'm hoping this will start to bring back my energy levels. How did you get on @Bluesquare ? I understand it will take few months to see any improvements.

Hi All ,

I didn’t get on very well at all with the “menopause “ specialist - honestly he was no more a specialist than me and mansplained my symptoms away as my bloods were more showing elevated levels of FSH. I said but I’m peri menopause you can’t go my bloods you need to go by symptoms . Then he says your peri menopausal all your life and then as an after thought suggested the pill for the love of god .

I’m ok running 5k but very slow - trying to do strength as well as finding that easier . Muscle pains consistently with or without running and over a stone heavier ( admittedly some comfort eating after dieting refuses to work ) . It feels like low iron or thyroid issues but apparently my bloods are all tickety boo - actually I’m a model of health !

My own doctor back from long leave next week so going to her , then as back up I have an appointment at the end of September with a renowned specialist if that doesn’t work out .

Let me know how you guys are getting on - I’m on a few chat groups of Facebook but nobody really talking about effects on running . Have had a few running buddies tell me to suck it up and all in my head - whilst visibly struggling to run very slow. Loads of people in denial I think .

Sorry for the long post - but it’s very frustrating and I need to rant !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

For feic's sake!! Rant away, how infuriating! You may have mentioned this but how are your Vit D levels?

My GP, in stark contrast, is a wealth of knowledge on the subject and asked me what my preference was (if I'd done any research), I nearly fell off the chair in shock but was delighted with the consult. She seemed to think my energy and ability to run would return after a while, I think it takes a few months for the hormones to kick in, we shall see. In the meantime I'm doing CrossFit and really enjoying it so that's something. I plan to get back to the pool too as it will hopefully increase the aerobic fitness without the struggle of running. I tried the 'suck it up' thing, it didn't work so clearly it's not in our heads at all. Best of luck with the GP.

All my bloods are perfect - and I have optimum D . On paper I’m the model of health . Great to hear your GP was up to speed etc - refreshing to hear these stories .

Maybe I need to stop running and stop annoying myself . Like you I’m getting the endorphins from doing classes etc . I’ll let ye know how I get on Tuesday ! My GP is a runner and similar age group so I’m hoping she’s on the ball .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Baby75

I am so sorry it did not go well with the GP but I am glad you can go see your own GP and hopefully they will listen and help you

I am in the same boat as you, lately most times I go for a run and I can barely run 1k without stopping, I feel horrible, I have slowed down a lot, I was training for the Kerry way Ultralite and have had to defer till next year, I was just not recovering from my long runs and got to the point I could not run midweek I actually felt like walking was like easy running and when I tried to run it felt like I was doing Vo2max intervals.

I was arguing with my doctor months ago that something was wrong and I thought it was my thyroid, I do take medication for it but my TSH numbers have been rising yet they won't alter my medication. they did do a blood test to check hormones and could not say it was peri-menopause or not. I left the GP with a promise he would ring me back with a game plan after he did some research ( He never did)

So I took things into my own hands and went privately to a functional thyroid doctor he had me do loads of tests including a cortisol test but I had to wait weeks for that to come back. I was told about a FB group on menopause so checked that huge eye-opener took me about 2 weeks to digest everything, I booked an appointment for the GP, not the same guy I saw before and she prescribed me HRT on my symptoms alone. I am only on it for just over a week so hoping I feel a difference soon.

I had my appointment with the thyroid doctor last week, he had my results and I am suffering from Adrenal gland fatigue it is very common in Peri-menopause as we lose our hormones the adrenals do help by releasing estrogen and progesterone that combined with our very busy lifestyles, with family/work/ stress from covid or just life can have a massive effect, so that is something worth considering as well. He did say HRT will help and does want me to start a supplement to help the adrenals.

Thanks for getting back and sharing your experiences . Sorry to hear you had to drop out the ultra hard with all the prep that goes into it . In the last few weeks I seem to be able to easy run again without feeling like I’m sprinting . I did get to see my doctor last week - she advised that several of her patients (me included ) had been complaining about fitness levels dropping sharply after the vaccine - and only now starting to shake it off . She did agree that I was more than likely peri- menopausal and I have been given hrt. Only on it a week now - so too early to tell if making a difference - but I will deffo be back to share any differences to running and recovery and muscle aches !

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭Applegirl26

Hi guys, I was waiting for this topic to come up!

I went through premature ovarian failure or menopause while I was still in my thirties. I struggled through it privately until I couldn't hide my symptoms anymore (hot flushes soaking my uniform at work, running to the bathroom to change before someone noticed). I've been on hrt for some time and it's been a game changer. I would definitely recommend it. My Mom always says she regrets coming off it and tells me to stay on it as long as I can.

BTW, what happened to boards? How long was I gone? 😂