Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are they just filthy bastards in Ballymun and North Dublin City

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Force Carrier

Isn't there a Waste Waiver Scheme where Local Authorities offer reduced or no cost for waste collection?

70,000 Households covered in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

Plenty of people who probably wouldnt dream of dropping rubbish on the street will happily drop rubbish all around them and leave loads I'd crsp behind them in the cinema . I see that all the time too.

That's not relevant to the this discussion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 727 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

It's not nice but they know an army of cleaners will be cleaning up after them, and they paid for it.

Not good enough. They are scumbags just like anyone who chucks litter on the street anywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

I ****ing loathe people that litter. Shove their junk down their throats.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

while the festival dumping is manky, these people paid a fortune to be there and probably expect to be cleaned up after

What sort of an adult expects to be cleaned up after in any situation? Ffs.

Bar a restaurant or soemthing where theres no facility to clear your own plates.

It's not nice but they know an army of cleaners will be cleaning up after them, and they paid for it.

That's the same attitude as people dropping rubbish on the street and not worrying because theres street cleaners going around. It's not an excuse.

Clean the **** up after yourself. If you can drag all that **** down there you can take the empties back with you .

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

What sort of an adult expects to be cleaned up after in any situation? Ffs.

Bar a restaurant or soemthing where theres no facility to clear your own plates.
    restaurant, hotel, airplane anywhere where you are a paying guest pretty much

TCM wrote: »
    That's not relevant to the this discussion.

It very much is. Dumping your rubbish indoors is still littering.

All part of a not giving a **** attitude. Just some like to think they are above things like littering and justify doing it in certain circumstances.

restaurant, hotel, airplane anywhere where you are a paying guest pretty much

Disagree. When I leave a hotel , any rubbish I've generated is tied up in a bag and left with the bin. Why the **** would you just drop rubbish around you on a plane?

People have enough work to be doing without cleaning up the rubbish of adult children.

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

its a lack or respect. a lack of respect for their environment, their neighbours but mostly a lack of respect for themselves. Why? because they are infantilised by the SW system. they are adult children getting pocket money from the state and being babysat from the cradle to the grave having never contributed themselves. i dont think i'd feel too invested in myself or the environs under those circumstances. couple this with absolutely no consequences for anti social behaviour such as littering...

Sure they're entitled to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Jimmy McGill

Astonished Finglas didn't make the list. I pass through here a lot and regularly see household rubbish left at the corner of estates in the mornings.

Disagree. When I leave a hotel , any rubbish I've generated is tied up in a bag and left with the bin. Why the **** would you just drop rubbish around you on as plane?

People have enough work to be doing without cleaning up the rubbish of adult children.
    yeah youre right i leave hotel rooms neat too but a festival setting where everyone is off their tits for the weekend, the organisers know what the score is and should include clean up in the price of the ticket which i am pretty sure they do anyway.

It's not really about the price tbh. You're expecting other adults to come along and root through your filth and pick it all up. Getting paid for it doesn't make it a nice thing to have to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Some people are just fcuking animals, they'll get out of the shower at the gym without turning off the tap or go for a sh;t in a public toilet and not bother to flush.

They're the same fcukers that would drop a burger wrapper on the ground when they're 5ft from a bin or park like an arsehole to save themselves a 20 yard walk.

Not sure what can be done about them, they've been raised to be ignorant cnuts and will spawn a new generation of ignorant cnut children.

If that was the full story, everybody in low income areas would dump their rubbish on the road but they don't.

Its about time people stopped insisting that lapses in personal responsibility are always down to class, which they are clearly not.

Plus the poorest person in the county can stick a crisp bag in their pocket until they get to a litter bin.

This x 1000. It's just knackers being too cheap to pay for bin tags so they just dump the rubbish out on the street without even tying the bag sometimes. If there's anything in it that the dogs and birds want to get at, it gets torn to bits anyway then strewn all over the road.

It's not really about the price tbh. You're expecting other adults to come along and root through your filth and pick it all up. Getting paid for it doesn't make it a nice thing to have to do.
    fair enough. agree to disagree. not all jobs are nice but theyre earning their daily crust which is more than can be said for some.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭seasidedub

Low income areas can't afford the bin charges that where privatised. Who'd have thought it.

Give over. They can afford drink, tacky communions, fake tan/nails/eyebrows etc. They're not saddled with mortgages in general. I work in an "underprivileged area" full of council houses - bmw',s audis, mercs and Porsche jeeps all over. Not every house, but many. Love to know why it's never investigated. If u bought out the house and work, ok.but otherwise if you're on next to nothing rent and have a Porsche jeep, questions should be asked and rent upped

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Some people are just fcuking animals, they'll get out of the shower at the gym without turning off the tap or go for a sh;t in a public toilet and not bother to flush.

They're the same fcukers that would drop a burger wrapper on the ground when they're 5ft from a bin or park like an arsehole to save themselves a 20 yard walk.

Not sure what can be done about them, they've been raised to be ignorant cnuts and will spawn a new generation of ignorant cnut children.

To add insult to injury, they have plenty of politicians and media to defend them

seasidedub wrote: »
    Give over. They can afford drink, tacky communions, fake tan/nails/eyebrows etc. They're not saddled with mortgages in general. I work in an "underprivileged area" full of council houses - bmw',s audis, mercs and Porsche jeeps all over. Not every house, but many. Love to know why it's never investigated. If u bought out the house and work, ok.but otherwise if you're on next to nothing rent and have a Porsche jeep, questions should be asked and rent upped

Many people like myself have bought ex council houses and have nice cars. Don't really see the point you are trying to make.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    To add insult to injury, they have plenty of politicians and media to defend them

Sure FG gave them ethnic status.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Paying for waste disposal is an issue for some people.

Issues that are no problem for these people include:

-79 inch TV
    -the latest I phone for you and the kids
    -multiple annual Costa del sol holidays where you can top up your tan and catch up with your relatives who are laying low and\or avoiding the Garda

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

I fish around canals a lot in kildare, the amount of times I'd be driving down back roads and see big black bags full of rubbish just f@cked into a ditch. Sometimes theyre thrown into the canal. They should be publicly shamed if they're caught. I bet the people that dump their rubbish still have money for iPhones, beer , fags etc
    We had 3 caravan load of travellers living in a car park in the town last year, the state of the place after them . They threw all there rubbish into a stream salmon spawn in. Then they burnt a caravan down in a public carpark and moved off. The amount of rubbish and nappies that were thrown in the stream and bushes is shocking .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

I suggest reading the report before casting too many aspersions. The report is by Voice …

" VOICE is a member-based Irish environmental charity that empowers individuals and local communities to take positive action to conserve our natural resources. VOICE advocates for the government and the corporate sector to adopt environmentally responsible behaviours, and for the development of strong national policies on waste and water issues.

[PHP]https://ibal.ie/ib/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/public-waste-out-of-sight-out-of-mind-1.pdf[/PHP]

https://ibal.ie/ib/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/public-waste-out-of-sight-out-of-mind-1.pdf

It was carried out by 2 people.

Anyone throwing muck at certain communities in this country based on 1 report need to check themselves. I have been in Ballymun, the north inner city and Limerick. They are good parts of this country, just because some report written by a committee says there are too many choc ice wrappers on the ground of a given day, does not mean theses are bad places. Have some respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭wyf437gn6btzue

Low income areas can't afford the bin charges that where privatised. Who'd have thought it.

Load of Boll*cks, if someone is living in a socialised gaff & on socialised income and refuse to pay private bin charges and instead litter their area with their own filth then they are absolute dregs of society and deserve to be punished accordingly.

McGaggs wrote: »
    What type of communities live in each of the worst areas?

Water charge protestors & folk on the scratch.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

biko wrote: »
    Dubliners mainly in the absolute worst two, although it's possible some blow-ins live there too.

Its possible that some blow ins live in the north inner city. You don't say. Have you ever actually been in the north inner city? The last time I was in the Ilac centre I would guess that max 30% were Irish. Never mind dubliners.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Fan of Netflix

I fish around canals a lot in kildare, the amount of times I'd be driving down back roads and see big black bags full of rubbish just f@cked into a ditch. Sometimes theyre thrown into the canal. They should be publicly shamed if they're caught. I bet the people that dump their rubbish still have money for iPhones, beer , fags etc
    We had 3 caravan load of travellers living in a car park in the town last year, the state of the place after them . They threw all there rubbish into a stream salmon spawn in. Then they burnt a caravan down in a public carpark and moved off. The amount of rubbish and nappies that were thrown in the stream and bushes is shocking .
    The Eco Warriors or Pavee Point won't touch the traveller dumping issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,853 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Bio Mech wrote: »
    Its possible that some blow ins live in the north inner city. You don't say. Have you ever actually been in the north inner city? The last time I was in the Ilac centre I would guess that max 30% were Irish. Never mind dubliners.

I would be pretty certain the blow ins are far cleaner than the locals in Dublin 1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

There’s a fecker around the corner from me, who drops cans, coffee cups etc from out of his car, outside the front of his house. Does the same with his post, opens it and throws the envelopes out on the path. I always thought it was a very strange thing to do until I seen his father outside the local Lidl, drinking from a can and just toss it on the path. It’s all in the breeding.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,316 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Bet they have money for smokes though.