Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fine Gael TD sues Dublin Hotel after falling off swing

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

It’s plain and simple u can’t be claiming for ur own negligence and more especially if ur in the public eye, omg have they anything between there ears do they not learn everything always comes out . She does not deserve to be in office if it’s only for her shear incompetence

• Registered Users Posts: 15,177 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I think the fact Bailey isn't gone yet is very telling.

I get the feeling she's a keystone Jenga block if you know what I mean.

I dunno about that.
    De-profiled: Fine Gael TD Kate O'Connell removes Facebook photo featuring friend Maria Bailey minutes after RTE interview

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/deprofiled-fine-gael-td-kate-oconnell-removes-facebook-photo-featuring-friend-maria-bailey-minutes-after-rte-interview-38158971.html

• Registered Users Posts: 15,177 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

If she does lose her job she might sue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

She’s probably been dismissed and doing a sit down protest refusing to leave his office.

I hope she's surrounded by cushions :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭Oxter

She had health insurance and presumably claimed what she was able to.
    Did she inform the insurance company that a claim was pending?

BattleCorp wrote: »
    It's incorrect to say that she was claiming €60k. She didn't claim €60k. That's the max that the Circuit Court can award. The court may well have awarded her less than the maximum, depending on how the court views liability, contributory negligence and the severity of the injury. They could have awarded her nothing too.

She said she only wanted her medical expenses covered. Her insurance covered her medical expenses. Also she said the hotel were happy to cover her medical expenses, yet she was still going to sue. She got caught out plain and simple.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

Shell take a swing at it for sure

• Registered Users Posts: 304 ✭✭Oxter

Beer in 1 hand; wine in the other and falling off a swing?

Drink problem?

• Registered Users Posts: 422 ✭✭john123470

It’s plain and simple u can’t be claiming for ur own negligence and more especially if ur in the public eye, omg have they anything between there ears do they not learn everything always comes out . She does not deserve to be in office if it’s only for her shear incompetence

Exactly this !

If nothing else, this debacle has flung open a window on paddy politics. More especially though a window on this type of runner- airhead that would jog right through you on the seafront and sue you for it. It was delicious to hear it live on national radio. All hot and bothered about herself. Whoever votes for her surely deserves her

Anyway people dont get into politics to help other people. They help themseves. So no big surprises .. shes just showin all the others up .. and they do not like it. Great tv comedy material here ..

So, why do we vote i ask myself .. ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

she was claiming up to 60K. Despite her saying she was only looking for her medical expenses which could have been done in the District court. The woman is not familiar with the truth at all.

She said the hotel offered to pay her bills. She also have private medical insurance. I'd love to know how much out of pocket she thought she was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

I think the fact Bailey isn't gone yet is very telling.

I get the feeling she's a keystone Jenga block if you know what I mean.

We do. But it's a feeling, and I would guess, your hope, rather than a rational analysis.

People are letting their anti whoever-is-in-government blind spot overrule their reason. It isn't even anti FG. Just anti. Whinging. Critical without reason.
    Its the same syndrome low level, borderline not at all, quality of political debate and democracy in Ireland.

Floppybits wrote: »
    FG do that job all by themselves. None of the other parties need to taint FG.

Again. FG have done fine on this whole topic. Escalating and catastrophising the unfortunate confluence of events relating to one rather minor TD, lack any perspective, reason, and sophistication from the Irish electorate.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Again. FG have done fine on this whole topic. Escalating and catastrophising the unfortunate confluence of events relating to one rather minor TD, lack any perspective, reason, and sophistication from the Irish electorate.

Ah Rapey, never change.

We do. But it's a feeling, and I would guess, your hope, rather than a rational analysis.

People are letting their anti whoever-is-in-government blind spot overrule their reason. It isn't even anti FG. Just anti. Whinging. Critical without reason.
    Its the same syndrome low level, borderline not at all, quality of political debate and democracy in Ireland.

I'd counter that with you defending the indefensible and trying to write critics off as 'whingers'. A well worn out ploy.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,269 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

she was claiming up to 60K. Despite her saying she was only looking for her medical expenses which could have been done in the District court. The woman is not familiar with the truth at all.

If she wanted to recoup €7k, she would have gone to the District Court.
    The District Court is restricted to hearing cases where the damages or compensation sought do not exceed a certain amount. The District Court can hear cases:

In contract generally where the claim does not exceed €15,000

But no, she went to the Circuit Court.

The Circuit Court has jurisdiction, i.e., it can hear and decide cases:

in actions in contract and tort where the claim does not exceed €75,000 (€60,000 for personal injury actions)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

You certainly have a low opinion of the electorate, the stench of arrogance is overwhelming.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

They’ve also done an alarming job of allowing the most morally bankrupt, unfit for office incompetent clowns into their party and elevated to office.

We haven’t suddenly forgotten Eoghan Murphy Yknow

• Registered Users Posts: 11,320 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

K.Flyer wrote: »
    You certainly have a low opinion of the electorate, the stench of arrogance is overwhelming.

Oh ffs it’s trolling if everyone ignored it it would stop. I can’t believe how many people get involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

BattleCorp wrote: »
    It's incorrect to say that she was claiming €60k. She didn't claim €60k. That's the max that the Circuit Court can award. The court may well have awarded her less than the maximum, depending on how the court views liability, contributory negligence and the severity of the injury. They could have awarded her nothing too.

Bailey claimed she was never after compensation, she only wanted her medical bills reimbursed.
    Sean, I was injured. I am the one who suffered an injury. I never claimed for compensation

She also said that she had private insurance already.

And that the hotel offered to pay her expenses anyway.

SOR: Do you have private medical insurance?

MB: Yes, I do.

SOR: So why get the hotel to pay those medical expenses?

MB: Because the hotel offered to pay

Contradictions and lies all over the show from her. If she told me tomorrow was Thursday I wouldn't believe her.

I'd counter that with you defending the indefensible and trying to write critics off as 'whingers'. A well worn out ploy.

Conflating the events surrounding one TD with the integrity, quality, management, and leadership of a party, let alone with the single person of its leader, just reveals the rabid and simplistic opportunism of other party, or just anti-party numptys. It is ill fitting, or even exposes as charlatans, those claiming to be concerned about Ireland and its good governance.

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭dublin99

She said the hotel offered to pay her bills. She also have private medical insurance. I'd love to know how much out of pocket she thought she was.

According to the Guardian:

"she sued for medical costs plus personal injury, loss, damage and inconvenience, potentially netting up to €60,000"

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2019/may/28/fine-gael-td-provokes-widespread-scorn-after-claim-for-swing-fall

The Indo reported that her special damages included "a claim for €1,200 in hospital fees, €280 in dental fees and yet to be ascertained amounts for physiotherapy and Pilates"

If she fell backwards, it must have been quite a bang if she had to see an orthodontist as a permanent retainer apparently became "out of alignment".
    Wow imagine compromising that perfect politician's poster smile :D:D !

You're fooling no one with an act that has gone beyond stale. Pack it in, for your own sake.

K.Flyer wrote: »

A low opinion indeed, I can confirm - but that does not mean its arrogance. If it is the correct analysis (as reactions to this recent case support) then....?

I will not be too surprised if she pulls out a mental health card from her deck, even possibly using that as leverage for another claim. “I was in distress”, “it is a medical fact I have occasional (depression/bipolar/personality disorder-take your pick) and that I did not at the particular time appreciate that what I was saying was inaccurate..”

A low opinion indeed, I can confirm - but that does not mean its arrogance. If it is the correct analysis (as reactions to this recent case support) then....?

It would be honest and appropriate at this point if you would voluntary confirm or deny that you are a member of a political party.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,780 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Bullshiyt . It does seem a anti-whoever is in government rant but ask yourself why . Bertie and his flood them with money policy left the country in ruins. As a anti-ff vote ,we voted in fg and what we get is financial disaster after disaster who we will be the ones paying for . Paying for idiots like bertie, Leo and the likes and their policy’s. ??? . I used to see the pbp group and other new party’s as largely irrelevant niche groups but not now. Fcuk fg ff and their money grabbing parasites . Via the revolution!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Are you for real? FG look like a shower of bumbling idiots. The interview was yesterday morning. Most of the party who could be interviewed at least had the cop on to say she made a fool of herself

The leader of the party? as usual nowhere to be seen. He is just showing what a waste of space he is. Incapable of actually making a decision.

Leo is afraid of his life to face an election because he knows he will be out....first doing a dodgy deal with FF to keep himself going and then getting RTE to spend the last 6 months telling everyone how great it is because of Brexit. What exactly has FG done to prepare for Brexit by the way?

They have been useless for years, this just highlights to even the hardest FG supporters that they are extremely useless....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

banie01 wrote: »
    If Madigan was present during the "accident" and advised Bailey she had a winnable case...
    It is surely obvious that she would have known both the circumstances of the accident, and as they were socialising together and work together, the actual impact of any injury and resulting limitations on Ms Bailey, would have been 1st hand knowledge to Ms Madigan and distinctly at odds with the affidavit submitted as part of the claim.

Ms Bailey has claimed the claim was made reliant upon legal advice.
    If that legal advice was offered by a current minister who was present at the scene.
    It leads to serious and valid concerns regarding credibility and trustworthiness.
    It's bad enough that her firm took the instruction IMO with no regard for the actual optics of the situation.

If she did it wouldn't be the first time a court has been misled by a solicitor 'following their clients instructions'.

For a cohort who have the intelligence to study law, professional exams and ongoing professional development there appears to be a significant number who seem so naive and gullible as to believe things, that to the regular public, defy common sense and credibility.

to have a low opinion of anything is a matter of perspective, you must think HIGHLY of yourself to do so, I can't think why reading your posts full political editor jargon and trying to sound well read analysis. The fact that you exist on boards as an antagonist to the subject de jour speaks volumes. Fact is, I wouldn't expect anything BUT being affiliated to a PARTY, since you fit the deluded myopic spoofer profile they aim to court.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,428 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    Are you for real? FG look like a shower of bumbling idiots. The interview was yesterday morning. Most of the party who could be interviewed at least had the cop on to say she made a fool of herself

The leader of the party? as usual nowhere to be seen. He is just showing what a waste of space he is. Incapable of actually making a decision.

Leo is afraid of his life to face an election because he knows he will be out....first doing a dodgy deal with FF to keep himself going and then getting RTE to spend the last 6 months telling everyone how great it is because of Brexit. What exactly has FG done to prepare for Brexit by the way?

They have been useless for years, this just highlights to even the hardest FG supporters that they are extremely useless....

At this stage I'd vote for FF ahead of FG,
    whatever about FF, FG are without a doubt the most corrupt and incompetent party going.
    the whole recovery happened despite them not because of anything they did.
    As for housing and health they should be hung from the trees