Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Special Forces ultimate hell week

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

I wonder who ended up sparring number 10 - looks like took on a few hits.

It almost seems like it's being engineered to keep 22 on for as long as possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭harr

Great show, fills the gap while we wait for Irelands fittest family. I must check out the English version, I've heard its better.
    I am definitely enjoying the Irish one more, the uk one might be a bit more physical but the Irish one is definitely more intense .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

14Kg minimum.

I couldn't remember the weight of a pillow :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

harr wrote: »
    I am definitely enjoying the Irish one more, the uk one might be a bit more physical but the Irish one is definitely more intense .

The guys on the English one are just as tough, but not imposters like the ds on this show,

Pissartist wrote: »
    The guys on the English one are just as tough, but not imposters like the ds on this show,

'Impostor';

[noun]

'a person who pretends to be someone else in order to deceive others:'

What makes you think they're impostors, can't be based on your own experience.

***Edit

Actually, don't waste my time (or yours) with an answer. I won't be replying.

Pissartist wrote: »
    Hardly imposters , or what makes you say or think that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

harr wrote: »
    Hardly imposters , or what makes you say or think that ?

What’s the body count between them? At least Ant on the UK one has genuine experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭mightyreds

What’s the body count between them? At least Ant on the UK one has genuine experience.

And how do you know they don't have genuine experience?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,208 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Excellent episode.

Re the unarmed combat, personally I've never seen a situation where a man would have to fight a female soldier. Never even heard of it happening. In a pass/fail situation I'm not entirely confident I could do it.

The instructors are brilliant, so accurate. You couldn't get the best actor in the world to replicate this stuff.

Kilbride in winter, burrrr :(

It's not about fighting a female soldier it's about doing something that your not comfortable doing, putting you in that situation, how do you deal with it

• Registered Users Posts: 7,208 ✭✭✭shamrock55

The English lads all have numourous kills, 2 or 3 of them have best selling books about their experiences

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Nobelium

Overall for a RTE civilian tv show, and only a week long, partial re-creation of military selection - it's not as poor as I thought it would be. It would be better if some of the instructors were doing the physical challenges alongside the candidates, just to show them how it's really done. Also the constant shouting and cursing in every sentence lets some of the instructors down. There can be a time and place for it, but it becomes ineffective if you do it constantly. The most intimidating/motivating military instructors I knew could make men shake in their boots without cursing or raising their voices.

I loved seeing "Gummi Bear", the self proclaimed "Alpha male" and conor macgregor wannabe, who also announced beforehand "sure what could a couple of ex-army lads do to him ?", begging to quit early on. All the mouthy ones on the bus heading to the camp were among the first to go. Usually the way.

The most impressive and coolest have been the Russian lad, the Romanian women, and the Irish pro kick-boxer. I'd agree the Russian lad is playing a good game - I'd wager its not his first rodeo, but the instructors are onto him. The Romanian women has the mentality right, but the physical inflictions she's carrying are probably going to over come her. The mouthy attention seeking, time draining, female paramedic wouldn't last long on a real military selection course - She even got away with going out and dumping her mike outside the billet. You'd be instantly binned for doing anything remotely similar to that on a real course. Who would want to depend on / trust someone like that in a real situation ?

Nobelium wrote: »
    Overall for a RTE civilian tv show, and only a week long, partial re-creation of military selection - it's not as poor as I thought it would be. It would be better if some of the instructors were doing the physical challenges alongside the candidates, just to show them how it's really done. Also the constant shouting and cursing in every sentence lets some of the instructors down. There can be a time and place for it, but it becomes ineffective if you do it constantly. The most intimidating/motivating military instructors I knew could make men shake in their boots without cursing or raising their voices.

The instructors have already done everything they're asking the students to do, they've nothing to prove to anyone.. This isn't an MOI class on the GPMG where you show the students (or trained soldier) how to carry out safety precautions, strip/assemble & clean the weapon etc.. Its simple, jump off the bridge, go through the pipe, gimme push ups, leopard crawl etc etc don't require a physical demostration of the action.
    Also the constant shouting and cursing in every sentence lets some of the instructors down. There can be a time and place for it, but it becomes ineffective if you do it constantly. The most intimidating/motivating military instructors I knew could make men shake in their boots without cursing or raising their voices.

Yes there can be a place for lots of beasting the lads, on the ground is where you do it at this level. You'll find this comes down many levels on the barrack square & in the section room. But on the ground, the gloves are off, ask the military instructors you know.
    I loved seeing "Gummi Bear", the self proclaimed "Alpha male" and conor macgregor wannabe, who also announced beforehand "sure what could a couple of ex-army lads do to him ?", begging to quit early on. All the mouthy ones on the bus heading to the camp were among the first to go. Usually the way.

So what you're saying is the methods employed work.
    The most impressive and coolest have been the Russian lad, the Romanian women, and the Irish pro kick-boxer. I'd agree the Russian lad is playing a good game - I'd wager its not his first rodeo, but the instructors are onto him. The Romanian women has the mentality right, but the physical inflictions she's carrying are probably going to over come her. The mouthy attention seeking, time draining, female paramedic wouldn't last long on a real military selection course - She even got away with going out and dumping her mike outside the billet. You'd be instantly binned for doing anything remotely similar to that on a real course. Who would want to depend on / trust someone like that in a real situation ?

Most of them are grey men, that female boxer is a heat seeker. The show is cutting her an awful lot of slack.

Had a look at your posts, you're a war gamer. Call of Duty & Battlefield, well some of us live in the real world.

In real life here in the Irish defence forces no one talks about combat experience.. If a mission has been a peaceful one then there's nothing to tell, if it was a rough one, well that's about the extent of it with the lads 'Yea, that was a rough trip'. And the lads who've had had rough trips know the craic, and the lads who've been on an easy 'swan batt' trip wonder what it was like.

Soldiers tell their doctors and councilors more than they do to each other, which is kind of a pity.. The lads with combat experience are seen by dose who don't as 'old sweats throwing breaks, so there's little talk.

The instructors have already done everything they're asking the students to do, they've nothing to prove to anyone.. This isn't an MOI class on the GPMG where you show the students (or trained soldier) how to carry out safety precautions, strip/assemble & clean the weapon etc.. Its simple, jump off the bridge, go through the pipe, gimme push ups, leopard crawl etc etc don't require a physical demostration of the action.

I didn't claim they do.

I was talking about the military fitness timed challenges etc. On the SAS one, one of the instructor sets the pace and finished way ahead of even the fittest civilians, some of them who were pro sports people, thus showing that this is a different ballgame in terms to fitness requirements but also that can be done at high level, that's what I was talking about . .not weapons instruction push ups or types of crawls.
    Yes there can be a place for lots of beasting the lads, on the ground is where you do it at this level. You'll find this comes down many levels on the barrack square & in the section room. But on the ground, the gloves are off, ask the military instructors you know.

If you read what I posted, I already said there was a time and place for it.
    So what you're saying is the methods employed work.

I don't recall claiming anywhere they don't ?

I was talking about the military fitness timed challenges etc. On the SAS one, one of the instructor sets the pace and finished way ahead (without even breaking a sweat or being out of breath) of even the fittest civilians, some of them who were pro sports people, thus showing that this is a different ballgame in terms to fitness requirements but also that can be done at high level, that's what I was talking about . .not weapons instruction push ups or types of crawls

I'll just reply to this one because I think the rest is us trying to get across points which aren't working via text discussion and I'm not in the mood foor nit picking at something.

I think this here is a good idea. Like a forced route march, get the DS's out in their gear romping up and over the hills?.. Have they not been doing similar to this?.

Apart from the beasting, there's also a good bit of gentle mentoring going on too.

Talking to someone during the week and asking about the show. Things have had to be cut back for civilians, for example their first scratch was brought back from a five hour scratch to two hours, and that was NOTHING compared with an Operation Scratch that a soldier is put through.

The cursing, insults, roaring and shouting [ie, the beasting] at this level is real, but its real on the ground.. 'On the ground' in military terms means out of the barracks.

It has to be taken in this context, its the real deal.. If someone doesn't like it, change channel but if someone likes the show but questions this well I think its been answered enough in the thread.

I think this here is a good idea. Like a forced route march, get the DS's out in their gear romping up and over the hills?.. Have they not been doing similar to this?.

No, but perhaps they will in other episodes, or perhaps they were, and RTE did not show it, or was cut out, or I could have missed it, but I don't think I did.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Beau

I think people are being incredibly harsh on number 22. Ok, she got away with the mic incident but she's overcome a number of serious challenges in a matter of a few days; hypothermia, a knee injury, faced a big man in boxing and claustrophobia to name a few. In fact, she has been given no slack in terms of equipment weight to account for her gender for the endurance events. She's done great.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Beau wrote: »
    I think people are being incredibly harsh on number 22. Ok, she got away with the mic incident but she's overcome a number of serious challenges in a matter of a few days; hypothermia, a knee injury, faced a big man in boxing and claustrophobia to name a few. In fact, she has been given no slack in terms of equipment weight to account for her gender for the endurance events. She's done great.

I would agree she has done great, i think what grinds me a bit is the program gives alot of focus to her and each episode i spot people that i didnt know were in it yet, thats television though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭dirtyden

I would agree she has done great, i think what grinds me a bit is the program gives alot of focus to her and each episode i spot people that i didnt know were in it yet, thats television though.

She has done really well though to be fair. I think the focus on her is she has been on the edge for a few of the tests but pulled through, in particular the claustrophobia. That pipe would have done for me. Plus, as you said, it’s tv and seeing an average sized lady compete with some big lads makes ‘good tv’

Great show though, the DSs come across quite well, at first the berating etc seems crass but after a bit you see it for what it is, they are trying to see what the person has in them. It actually looks quite effective, that psychological pressure.

No, but perhaps they will in other episodes, or perhaps they were, and RTE did not show it fully, or was cut out, or I could have missed it, but I don't think I did. I've no doubt the DS's could do it if they wanted to though.

I didn't claim it wasn't real, or that there isn't a time and place for it when required, I'm just stating that in my experience, it was interesting that the most effective / authoritative didn't actually curse, and I noticed the same on the SAS show (and I've nothing against cursing if that's what someone is into). Just a small observation, no big deal.

Sorry for taking so long to reply, I'm just home.

Ok, the DS's getting out on a march with the students. It would be a walk in the park for any soldier. We have to maintain a level of fitness, some don't of course but for everyone of us we've all done everything on that show, and more.

Regards the beasting, I haven't seen the SAS show and I can only guess from your comments you've served and had a different experience.

In my experience yes there are people in authority who don't need to be up in recruits faces like this show shows, but I can absolutely assure you that they're surrounded by people who are doing that work for them, for recruits (like these are supposed to be) those people are Gods like platoon Sgt's and Company Sgt's.

We've obviously had different experiences, I'm just putting across mine.

Anyone know what those who go the distance get, have they a best student award?... And again drawing from experience, when its all over you'll see the real men behind the DS, when they're out of that role they'll be different people.

Fair play to the students/recruits (I can't remember how they're being called), although its toned down a lot they're getting a rough going over and all credit to each and every one of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Good to hear it from your perspective Makiomi
    Enjoying the show. Can see and appreciate the need for all aspects of addressing the candidates. It's not a personality contest and if it were for real it would be necessary to break them down and build them up psychologically to do and follow orders and not carry moral high ground while on duty. Show is well worth watching.

Good to hear it from your perspective Makiomi
    Enjoying the show. Can see and appreciate the need for all aspects of addressing the candidates. It's not a personality contest and if it were for real it would be necessary to break them down and build them up psychologically to do and follow orders and not carry moral high ground while on duty. Show is well worth watching.

Cheers.

As I said earlier I was expecting a cringe fest when I sat down for the first show, but I got a very pleasant surprise. And there hasn't been a single negative about the show in work either, everyone's loving it.

Just remembering a funny experience.

I had my daughter in work during her TY work experience and how shocked (and slightly amused) she was when she seen two instances of recruits getting absolutely roasted.

I assured her at the end of training all those lads including the NCO's will be best buds for life and will go through any hardships for each other if the sh*t hits the fan.

Its not The Waltons or Happy Families, we have our ups and downs with each other but I know that if I'm ever in bother there'll be no better people to call upon, and I'd be at their side through sh*t too no matter whatever's happened in out past.

We're soldiers, and will always be soldiers.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

It's on. Take a shot every time #22 gets a closeup :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Where the feck have half the team gone??

Dropping like flies 😬

Fantastic episode, best one yet.

Had to feel for the two girls taken off the mountain, they were never going to give up. Good call taking them off.

The final remaining girl and applying for the DF.

She obviously applied for the cadets, failing twice and time (age) running out its a pity she wasn't advised to go general enlistment then try the cadets from the enlisted ranks.

Another good call was taking the Nordie guy off (24?).

Really good show. Fair f*cks RTE.

As good as any of these type of shows that I’ve seen and great because it’s Irish. Next weeks psychological torture and interrogation episode could be brilliant. I saw one about 10 years ago, might have been SAS, just can’t remember- it had an Irish psychiatrist on it if I recall providing guidance throughout but the “capture” episode of that series looked terrifying.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Just caught up with the latest episode.
    It gets better every week, I have lost my crush on 22 and have now fallen for number 14 after a brief infatuation with 10.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,668 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Good episode.

Thought it was harsh on the Nordie guy. Was the oldest remaining but there seemed to be a personal dislike of him from the DS. First chance he had he got rid of him whereas some others had multiple opportunities. Lack of consistency from the DS and I'm surprised that a personal dislike of someone clouded his judgement.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Good episode.

Thought it was harsh on the Nordie guy. Was the oldest remaining but there seemed to be a personal dislike of him from the DS. First chance he had he got rid of him whereas some others had multiple opportunities. Lack of consistency from the DS and I'm surprised that a personal dislike of someone clouded his judgement.

Nah, his cards where marked during the interview and we don't know what went on before that to make him a heat seeker.

But when he bottled what he thought was going to be a night march in the rain, that was him gone.

He was going to let the squad, including his buddy (remember they're on a buddy/buddy system now) go off on that march/patrol and he was going to swan around the billet pretending he's too injured, well like the DS pointed out they're all injured.

This would happen on a selection course, and a lot of other courses too. Depending on time spent an ordinary PDF recruit might also find themselves out on their ear or certainly back platooned (if there was another platoon in training but behind yours).

If a recruit in the PDF wasn't chucked out they'd find life exceptionally tough from that point on and would likely pulled themselves out.

It was a good call.

Right all that said.

I feel for him being the oldest person on whats a physically tough course. I'm 53, I'm very fit and train constantly. When I'm injured it does take longer than it used to. Your ability to recover from strenuous training grows less and less when you break the 40 barrier.

He done great to get where he was, he should be proud of that but he was prepared to let his buddies down. Good call.