Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Great House Revival

• Registered Users Posts: 17,884 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

That skylight blasting down straight into the shower must be amazing on a sunny day tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,070 ✭✭✭Be right back

Liked the interior but it's not the right style for that old house. Her sentimentality didn't last too long!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,746 ✭✭✭Deeec

Sadly tonight's show started out with a beautiful old house which was ruined by the end of the show. There is nothing left but the exterior of the old house. The character of the house and the era it caputered is gone. The finished house is souless.

No doubt she is delighted with it and she in fairness has a comfy big house but it's just a shame she got got rid of all the original features of her granny's house

• Registered Users Posts: 67,101 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

It has no soul for you. She seemed happy with the memories she retained. It's not for any of us to judge how much soul she feels when she is there.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭getoutadodge

Almost felt sad for the West brit rattling round icy cold Stradbally House lamenting the unpaid and lost ground dues and rent. That's independence for ya..ruined the bloody place. .But the feeling didn't last long....I bet the lady and Wallace were shown the trademen entrance...when they hinted that some food would be welcome. I visited similar places as a student and there was never so much as a jammy dodger in the pantry.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,381 ✭✭✭✭siblers

It's her house to be fair and it was her choice what to do with it. It didn't suit the theme of the show with how she rebuilt it but if she's happy with it then that's all that really matters

• Registered Users Posts: 24,960 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Well not really. The show isn't about whether the owner is happy or not. Very poor episode compared to last week.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

I liked the house.

Probably not in the theme of the show but still a lovely project.

I think she missed a trick with the stairs. The double step could easily be a storage drawer. The stairs themselves looked boxed in so no under stairs storage.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

She managed to bring light into what was a gloomy house. Hugh seems to be holding back on advice - I often wonder why the original architect is not featured. Maybe he is 'annoyed' with the second opinion. !

Hugh seems "toned down" on both this and "home of the year" I wonder if he was told to cut out the unnecessary bitchy comments.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,615 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

haha I thought the same thing, in the first half of the show it looked like she was going to pack the new house with all the items hoarded by her grandmother but then in the end she just kept a couple of stools and plant stands. Even the Singer sewing machine didnt seem to make the cut and those things are bulletproof and worth keeping.

yeah have been thinking the same, in the two episodes of this so far he has actually given the home owners some good architectural advice, he never did that before. In the previous season he was practically creaming himself with the drama of a homeowner having to replace the entire roof, it was like he was getting off on their misfortune and his carry on was uncomfortable to watch at times.

When you think about it he now has some dominance when it comes to RTEs property porn- The Great House Revival, Home of the Year and My Bungalow Bliss are all fronted by Hugh Wallace, Bannon must be getting jealous.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

So a total new build really. Would have suited Dermot Bannons programme a lot better.

I'd say the original house was almost liveable with some tidying up and modernisation, €50k would have gone a long way there.

It wasn't crumbling and decayed like most of the other houses in this series.

• Registered Users Posts: 370 ✭✭brookers

What happened to the wall she was going to create with all the old wallpapers. Some where along the way she decided to go contemporary. Perhaps the boyfriend said he didn't want all the old stuff, could have had woodworm, damp too when left there so long. I feel in the end she probably did the right thing. She is a very successful person and her interiors suggested she had a few bob. Fair play to her.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

At the end I was nearly expecting the red disc to appear to highlight the owners favourite space. It veered very home of the year.

Fair play to her for building a lovely home but it certainly wasn't inkeeping with the great house revival concept.

Hugh was playing up the idea that these old houses in the middle of towns are no longer liveable but in this case a modest upgrade (say €50k) would have made it perfectly habitable for somebody on a modest budget.

He said himself the plasterwork behind the wallpaper was probably fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭tallaghtjoe

This house never had a To Let sign on the house?? It was her grannys house, it has been derelict since her granny died.

I pass this house every day and I never expected it to be totally gutted on the inside. The outside of the house was kept exactly how it was. It may not be kept as an older style house, but really who cares, she did up the house to suit her style. Emotions and memories were taking over her thinking at the start of the planning and build but deep down she wanted a modern house. I think fair play to her, she has an amazing house and yet she revived an old derelict building in the centre of the town. If she hadnt gone on the show, none of us would know what the inside of the house was like. There are plenty other buildings that the same could be done with.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,884 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Watched this last night, and agree with everyone who said it was more suited to Room To Improve than Great House Revival.

I wonder did she start out with the best of intentions of doing a renovation, and get accepted for the show on that basis - and then due to Covid/practicalities/her preferences do a complete about-turn and knock the lot (bar the walls and roof), catching them all on the hop?

Hugh certainly seemed a bit miffed with the whole thing.

Overall I think she did a great job - it wouldn't particularly be to my taste, but it clearly was to hers - and the streetscape was well enhanced by the job.

I've only watched one episode (I think there have been two so far?) of this series, but it all seems to have gone a bit formulaic and hackneyed already - Dermot Bannon's show you could nearly write the script yourself at this stage, but it's been around for yonks. I thought they might have kept this one fresh for a bit longer. (Maybe that was just this episode, though).

The bit with the landed gentry pointing out that she (on behalf of her family) was in donkeys years of rent arrears was a combination of hilarious and total cringe.

The visit to the purple house in Donnybrook(?) seemed to be just 10 mins of an excuse for a bit of property porn, there were more soft-focus shots of bits of decor and lovely things than actual advice or tips for her, or even her opinions.

I thought that she may have started off with the best of intentions.

But as you said I wonder if it was a combination of lockdown delays, rising costs, extended timeframes, builder availability if it was just a case of going for the fastest option.

At the beginning I was expecting every single item belonging to the granny crammed into the house. I thought she would have Kept the fireplace, the actual frame even if she got rid of the chimney.

I still think it was a lovely house.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,615 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

She was on Ray Darcy earlier explaining a bit and yeah Covid delays as well as probate delays did come in to it for her. Also she said when they had it stripped back there wasnt really much to preserve, there was no cornices in any of the rooms or rose petals on the light fittings, the staircase wasnt worth saving and so on. Basically all the extra details you'd expect of a house of that era were not on this specific house. She said they did save a fireplace though. She also said that there was water ingress on the roof so some walls had to be knocked as they were ready to come down with water damage anyway. She mentioned she was copping a bit of flack on Twitter about driving a digger in the back walls but the water damage was the reasoning for it, becasue of editing the program just didnt outline it.

Other than that she said her online business is a period subscription service where you pay a monthly fee (9.99) and she posts out a box of tampons or pads. Its found at www.myladybug.ie

I can't believe she makes money from that....I'm not clicking into that site as I'll be bombarded with "related products".

• Registered Users Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

I'm a bit on the fence about last night's episode.

I was a bit disappointed that she didn't save a bit more of the original house, she really just left 3 walls, the roof and the door with the fanlight. I thought she might have tried to restore and incorporate some of her grandmother's furniture and belongings in the house. But then we don't know really what condition things were in when a house that age is left unoccupied and not heated for a period of time.

But I do like how they showed how you can take a street front building in a small town in Ireland and modernise it and as opposed to just restoring it. Many people, in particular young people, have more modern tastes thanks to instagram, pintrest etc and perhaps this episode and a recent Home of the Year episode where they renovated an old shop into a home might encourage people to do this with the many vacant units on the main streets of our small rural towns.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭harr

Just came across a few of her TikTok posts and it’s fairly clear she didn’t really have any intention of keeping the old house .. one post refers to “ when a 4 year old Pinterest pin becomes a reality “ that was in reference to Changing the stairs .. I don’t think she was ever going to listen to Hugh

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMLQGjjeR/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,746 ✭✭✭Deeec

She probably just went on the show for publicity and to increase her profile. Although not to my taste she did end up with a nice house. She has a good sense of style.

I was just disappointed as I hate to see old houses lose their character - for me that house inside has nothing which dates back to the time the house was built - thats a real shame. Her interior will date quickly also. The guy from Cork on the first show modernised his house without losing the character of the building - it was a much better house in my opinion.

Just watching the first episode today.... OMG, what a beautiful house ..... but feck me, what a HUGE job 😱😱😱

Jaysus, he not shy of hard work anyway 😳

My god, what a great job he did with that ceiling rose!! That's the sort of job that would send me over the edge.

I'm in complete awe of that pair from last week!!

Fair dues to her, first moving in to a building site with a brand new boyfriend, and then doing an entire pregnancy and having a baby there 😱.

I wasn't mad about their flooring downstairs - and I'm an absolute NUT for parquet - it just didn't look right to me, and I can't quite put my finger on why not.

And I was sad that he boxed in that archway, it could have been a lovely feature in the back wall of the kitchen - and I'd have moved heaven and earth to keep an Aga or Range there!

But if they wanted to paint the whole house candy striped and floor it with gravel and sticky carpet, I wouldn't criticise.....

An absolutely awesome job, and the whole thing has cheered me up for the day!!

(The Passage East ferry should have to pay them royalties for all the coverage it got 🤣)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,439 ✭✭✭touts

Jesus this thing is enormous.

400,000 budget? I'd say they can add a 0 to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,439 ✭✭✭touts

Her living room is going to be the size of a 3 bed bungalow and she thinks it feels small?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,676 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

This is exactly what we want to see

• Registered Users Posts: 8,104 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

I would have lopped the top story of it.