Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Forget biker.ie

• 12-03-2019 10:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭

Biker.ie must be the worst site I've come across. Mods won't reply, impossible to view most of the forums, and full of of smart arses. Has anyone used it?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,915 ✭✭✭✭GBX

horse7 wrote: »
    Biker.ie must be the worst site I've come across. Mods won't reply, impossible to view most of the forums, and full of of smart arses. Has anyone used it?

Used to up to recently. You're not wrong .. some good info on there but definitely some arseholes on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Zipppy

Zipppy wrote:
    yes it's a block extension..but it's only a few meters away from hun?

GBX wrote:
    Used to up to recently. You're not wrong .. some good info on there but definitely some arseholes on it.

Arseholes everywhere..biker was grand in its day..sadly FB is taking over everything nowadays...

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

I've been banned three times. :D The last time I re registered just to wind them up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Biker is just for bell ends.

I tried it myself, wish I hadn't.

The end.

I've been banned three times. :D The last time I re registered just to wind them up.

Did you mention something about a car?.. They're mad into banning people for mentioning cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

Did you mention something about a car?.. They're mad into banning people for mentioning cars.

I certainly did. It seems to be populated by "Power Ranger types that come out on Sunday's and go to Wicklow or Howth for a "spin" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mamax

I certainly did. It seems to be populated by "Power Ranger types that come out on Sunday's and go to Wicklow or Howth for a "cappuccino" :rolleyes:

Fixed that for you

• Registered Users Posts: 875 ✭✭✭mamax

horse7 wrote: »

If you want to see the hidden forums you have to pay, but if you don't lick their asses you won't see them either :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

Did you mention something about a cage?.. They're mad into banning people for mentioning cage.

FTFY....:p...

They have this totally immature "real bikers" obsession with the above....creeping in her too recently..;)

Call a spade a spade lads.....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Posted there for a bit a couple of years ago, you quickly learn it's largely a circle jerk. Unless your bike is designed for track days, you don't brag about breaking the speed limit and bitching about speed vans then you won't enjoy it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Look at how few posts are on it, it's pretty much dead now. You couldn't even trust it for mechanical information because they delete posts about where to go and get stuff fixed and put in the mod or admin reply telling you to go to them instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,761 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Lolz, I'm worse. In my naivete the car was in the pic of my bike: it was like I'd blasphemed or something.

OP - don't waste your time: small loss when it eventually bubbles under..........and it will.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

FTFY....:p...

They have this totally immature "real bikers" obsession with the above....creeping in here too recently..;)

Call a spade a spade lads.....:rolleyes:

I swear to God when I hear a biker call a car or car driver as a ''cage'' or a ''cager'' I want to cut his throat. In my head I'm screaming 'You fucking arsehole".

Let it out man...let it out....:D

in reality the FB pages have taken over...the forums are dying...

Ill go down with them then...I'll never be interested in FB....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭bladespin

I swear to God when I hear a biker call a car or car driver as a ''cage'' or a ''cager'' I want to cut his throat. In my head I'm screaming 'You ****ing arsehole".

They were called that long before biker.ie Calling yourself an arsehole won't fix anything. ;)

Used to be very active there years ago but it's dropped off a cliff in the last few years, haven't bothered in the last couple of years.

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭MSVforever

You can't even go into the For sale section anymore....

bladespin wrote: »
    They were called that long before biker.ie Calling yourself an arsehole won't fix anything. ;)

Used to be very active there years ago but it's dropped off a cliff in the last few years, haven't bothered in the last couple of years.

No excuse....probably 75% of bikers also drive cars too...it's just childish...and sad....

Ill go down with them then...I'll never be interested in FB....

I like FB but then I don't post up photos of my dinner or tag myself in the doctors or hospital A&E departments for FB likes.

It keeps me in the loop with the bike scene which due to a few reasons, politics/agro etc I just don't put in the effort like I used to but I don't want to completely lose touch with either.

I admin my Judo club FB page, as a competitor its fantastic for my Judo and keeping in touch with clubs and Judoka. Competitions, gradings etc.

I also do a lot of running and so hear about events and charity runs via FB before other forum like the athletics & running forum here for example.

My FB account is private but I've a decent following on Instagram, any photos I don't mind making public go there. Usually its my bike, running to places, Judo and whatever book I'm reading (I'm a book worm), oh and my dogs.

My cage car doesn't get a mention anywhere, its just a poxy little Peugeot 208 (I think, it might be a 207, or a 308.. its a little yoke anyway).

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭IrishGrimReaper

Cage is one thing... but referring to IBT as LGBT is just as bad or worse, and you can see the new or first-time posters calling it the same to try and fit in.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,811 ✭✭✭Alkers

Cage is one thing... but referring to IBT as LGBT is just as bad or worse, and you can see the new or first-time posters calling it the same to try and fit in.

It's probably down automatically on the word filter...

Simona1986 wrote: »
    It's probably down automatically on the word filter...

It's not. They auto-correct some words because it's hilarious :rolleyes:

Some of the same stuff has crept onto the FB pages too....

• Registered Users Posts: 14,228 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Sonics2k wrote: »
    It's not. They auto-correct some words because it's hilarious :rolleyes:

Its always something related to the lgbt lifestyle because biker.ie admins think that's hilarious. Grown men,not 14 year olds. Anyway, there's a million better bike messageboards or groups

• Registered Users Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭bladespin

No excuse....probably 75% of bikers also drive cars too...it's just childish...and sad....

Hence the reference :rolleyes: like being stuck in a cage compared to being on the bike.

Cienciano wrote: »
    Its always something related to the lgbt lifestyle because biker.ie admins think that's hilarious. Grown men,not 14 year olds. Anyway, there's a million better bike messageboards or groups

So if you post IBT into Biker if changes it to LGBT?.

Yup.

I can't remember exactly what it was, but when you call people out on bragging about speeding and say "riding like an idiot" it changes to "riding like a legend" or something along those lines.

Sonics2k wrote:
    It's not. They auto-correct some words because it's hilarious

That's what I said

Yeah, there's loads of others too: Virago changing to Viagra etc etc