Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,880 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

mayolad93 wrote: »
    Whats a full list of players to come back into Mayo team, anyone have a breakdown please?

Other than COC I'm not sure there are any currently unavailable players guaranteed to walk back into the team. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Didn't get a great view but he was at stretch catching a ball that was hit into the square and got clattered. Monaghan player ended up getting a yellow and Clarke was taken off. Hopefully it's not serious.

David Clarke appeared to be caught late by Darren Hughes after he caught a dropping effort from Conor McManus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

PressRun wrote: »
    What happened Clarke?

Apparently he was out on the pitch after the game which is a good sign. My first thought was that he dislocated his shoulder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,403 ✭✭✭naughto

Match at 4 will there be special trains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭irishgeo

seemed ok going off on the trolley , not holding any in particular. Might been a head injury, the physio was signalling pretty quick for a sub to be made. i thought he got a knee in the back but maybe he was caught in the face.

some great long range scores today , nice to see rather than the usual handpass it to death trying to get closer to goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Kerry might have a stronger team for it?

Perhaps but I wouldn't fear them one bit, this is a superb opportunity to grab some national silverware

Two super wins in a row now, hopefully we can truly consign that Dublin debacle to just a horrible one off performance. In fairness the Galway game was desperate conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

irishgeo wrote: »
    seemed ok going off on the trolley , not holding any in particular. Might been a head injury, the physio was signalling pretty quick for a sub to be made. i thought he got a knee in the back but maybe he was caught in the face.

some great long range scores today , nice to see rather than the usual handpass it to death trying to get closer to goal.

It happened in line with me
    He was caught with forearm/elbow
    Expect he is concussed
    Not quite sure how the ref/umpires decided it was yellow not red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭irishgeo

km79 wrote: »
    Expect he is concussed

think the red he did issue was soft, might be trying to make up for the mistake on the Clarke incident.

irishgeo wrote: »
    think the red he did issue was soft, might be trying to make up for the mistake on the Clarke incident.

Id have given them the opposite way around as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Id have given them the opposite way around as well

The red given was directly in front of me, and in my opinion it was a blatant quick elbow in the head as they went for the ball.
    It was quick as lightening when he did it, but it was definitely done with bad intent. And the 2 Monaghan supporters beside us thought the same.

Call me Al wrote: »
    The red given was directly in front of me, and in my opinion it was a blatant quick elbow in the head as they went for the ball.
    It was quick as lightening when he did it, but it was definitely done with bad intent. And the 2 Monaghan supporters beside us thought the same.

His reaction did look like he knew he had done something stupid
    They are a filthy team all told
    Every year the same stuff out of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭glack

The red card was called by the lineman too from what I could tell and he had a perfect view.

Expect he is concussed

Yeah I was over the the far side.

Thought it was a head injury and he'd been knocked out cold?

Great news he appears to be ok.

Not many "visitors" tonight.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Looking forward to next weekend. Should be great football and hurling finals. I don't know anything about the camogie. One things for sure, Mayo are never down and out. Last year's early exit has rejuvenated them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

That’s the best half of league football in Castlebar in years

Not sure how the umpire /ref decided on a yellow for the foul on clarke
    It was a red or nothing
    So a red

I only saw it in real time but I thought he was going for the ball, accidental IMO
    Saw the red back on the news, terrible decision.
    Thought the ref was terrible for both sides at times

Great to be in a league final
    Thought KMcL, Doc and Diarmuid were outstanding. The young lads did great, McCormick and Boland in particular were very good.
    Disappointed with some of the tackling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,068 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Thought the red was a red myself, clearly led with the elbow into the tackle. As Martin would say, don't think there was any real malice in it, but it was dangerous and could have been avoided.

Great display, Final in HQ will benefit both teams. Was delighted to see Boland play as well as he did. I think himself and McLoughs add so much in terms of creativity, both on and off the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

The foul on Clarke wasn't a red. It was one of those where you hsve to challenge if your the forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,606 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Not many "visitors" tonight.......

Concentrating on my own county today, but from reports and highlights it looked a great performance from Mayo. Some lovely long range points and the new lads looked very sharp. O`Shea again very good in midfield. Tbh I do not pass a lot of regards to the league early on, but look more to the latter stage as an indicator of how teams are shaping up for the championship and ye look in great nick.
    Enjoy the day out and good lucky Sunday. It should be a cracker of a game, and do the Dubs no harm to see ye back in the big smoke playing for silverware so early in the year.

charlie14 wrote: »
    Concentrating on my own county today, but from reports and highlights it looked a great performance from Mayo. Some lovely long range points and the new lads looked very sharp. O`Shea again very good in midfield. Tbh I do not pass a lot of regards to the league early on, but look more to the latter stage as an indicator of how teams are shaping up for the championship and ye look in great nick.
    Enjoy the day out and good lucky Sunday. It should be a cracker of a game, and do the Dubs no harm to see ye back in the big smoke playing for silverware so early in the year.

I of course wasn't referring to you and other regular contributors from other counties ;)
    Great to see ye back up anyway
    Hoping for an away weekend trip again next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

jr86 wrote: »
    Perhaps but I wouldn't fear them one bit, this is a superb opportunity to grab some national silverware

Two super wins in a row now, hopefully we can truly consign that Dublin debacle to just a horrible one off performance. In fairness the Galway game was desperate conditions.

I wouldn't fear them either, but I think it'll be a different Kerry to what we saw in Tralee.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Great win. Solid throughout. Real challenging for positions now.
    I see the St email has us playing Galway🙈🙈

Will be a different Kerry next Sunday but will be a lot of young lads so hopefully our experience will help us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,935 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Is it just me but id be quite happy without making a league final and all the hype an ****e that would bring etc. The target is a Connacht final win and the super 8's, i dont think a league final does anything to help that.

Well i've completely changed my mind, :pac: really looking forward to next Sunday now. Seemed to be great excitement yesterday, was listening to MWR on the runway in Stansted but they were terrible with the updates early on. I was following them on the rte gaa twitter, surely someone could have had that open in the commentary box??

Monaghan Review

Mayo News Football Podcast 2019

https://themayonews.podomatic.com/enclosure/2019-03-25T05_45_40-07_00.mp3

Good article in yesterday's Times on James Horan's second coming by Michael Foley.

Well worth a read.

Horan reports in today's Indo match report that Tom Parsons is "progressing well" whilst Cillian O Connor trained yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

PARlance wrote: »
    Thought the red was a red myself, clearly led with the elbow into the tackle. As Martin would say, don't think there was any real malice in it, but it was dangerous and could have been avoided.

Great display, Final in HQ will benefit both teams. Was delighted to see Boland play as well as he did. I think himself and McLoughs add so much in terms of creativity, both on and off the ball.

He was very good yesterday and offered a threat when he got his hands on the ball. I would worry about his size and ability to take tight hard marking as he is a bit light.

Courtesy of the Connaught Telegraph.

MAYO goalkeeper David Clarke, and midfielder Matthew Ruane are expected to fully fit for next Sunday's Allianz National League Division 1 final against Kerry in Croke Park.

Clarke was carried off before half time in what looked at the time a serious injury.

It proved to be no more than concussion.

Meanwhile midfielder Ruane,who came off as a blood substitute in the third quarter,did not return to the action due to a cut above his eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,256 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I wouldn't fear them either, but I think it'll be a different Kerry to what we saw in Tralee.

With the obvious exception of the addition of Clifford and the possible lack of a storm I don't see how much different Kerry will be.

Clifford and James O'Donoughe do bring a bigger scoring threat than they had last week but at the same time the areas where Mayo did better, i.e the midfield and running at the defense, will not really have changed much for Kerry

Other than Gavin White in the half back line coming back from Crokes I don't see any other additions to the Kerry midfield and defense that will solve the problems they had in Tralee.

Sure enough the younger guys might be a bit more hardy and ready for the fight than they were last week but all in all I think Mayo will have the physical edge in those areas that Kerry are at the weakest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,256 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Well i've completely changed my mind, :pac: really looking forward to next Sunday now. Seemed to be great excitement yesterday, was listening to MWR on the runway in Stansted but they were terrible with the updates early on. I was following them on the rte gaa twitter, surely someone could have had that open in the commentary box??

I too am all for this league final thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

With the obvious exception of the addition of Clifford and the possible lack of a storm I don't see how much different Kerry will be.

Clifford and James O'Donoughe do bring a bigger scoring threat than they had last week but at the same time the areas where Mayo did better, i.e the midfield and running at the defense, will not really have changed much for Kerry

Other than Gavin White in the half back line coming back from Crokes I don't see any other additions to the Kerry midfield and defense that will solve the problems they had in Tralee.

Sure enough the younger guys might be a bit more hardy and ready for the fight than they were last week but all in all I think Mayo will have the physical edge in those areas that Kerry are at the weakest.

I think they just might be more up for it than they were down in Tralee. I think they knew they were safe when they played us and possibly targeted the Roscommon match as the one to win to get into the league final.
    I'm sure we'll be up for it too though. It's a terrific opportunity to win a national title for the first time in ages and a brilliant chance for the young fellas to get some valuable Croke Park experience before championship. I'm very excited for it and keen to see who Horan picks. No reason not to continue to trust the young players who have gotten us this far, I think.