Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Very strong team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

If Andy doesn't start on Sunday we can safely say his role will be as an impact sub for rest of year. The irony is he has made next to no impact when he has subbed on!!!!
    Boyle will also find himself in that role too if we are at full strength imo

Great to see Ruane and AOS paired up again. We are one injury away from big trouble in that sector though

Anyway can't wait for it now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Is Fionn Mc Donagh injured?

Looks like Fergal Boland's impressive cameo against Kerry and stellar performance last week has won the day.

Tough call either way,Fionn contributed very handsomely most especially in earlier stages of the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

From listening to Mike Finnerty on the mayo news podcast, Clarke, Plunkett and McDonagh are injured. A shame really as I would have started all 3.

Still looking forward to the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,881 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Stronger team than what started against Monaghan. A few changes expected before throw in?

I predict this chain reaction:P

Durcan → Vaughan → AOS → Doherty → McLaughlin → Durcan

seligehgit wrote: »

Looks like Fergal Boland's impressive cameo against Kerry and stellar performance last week has won the day.

Tough call either way,Fionn contributed very handsomely most especially in earlier stages of the league.

Indeed mention made they might take a punt on Cillian in the match day squad.

I'd be shocked TBH.

yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Indeed mention made they might take a punt on Cillian in the match day squad.

I'd be shocked TBH.

Me too. I don't expect to see him until championship.
    Interested to see how Lee Keegan gets on. I wonder was the spell out of the team meant to give him a kick in the arse or what.

PressRun wrote: »
    Me too. I don't expect to see him until championship.
    Interested to see how Lee Keegan gets on. I wonder was the spell out of the team meant to give him a kick in the arse or what.

It was probably meant to help him lose his arse:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,608 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

km79 wrote: »
    I of course wasn't referring to you and other regular contributors from other counties ;)
    Great to see ye back up anyway
    Hoping for an away weekend trip again next year

Cheers.
    Good to be back up.
    Wouldn`t mind meeting ye in Castlebar and spending the weekend.Few old haunts I haven`t visited in a while.
    Best of luck tomorrow.

charlie14 wrote: »

Cheers.
    Good to be back up.
    Wouldn`t mind meeting ye in Castlebar and spending the weekend.Few old haunts I haven`t visited in a while.
    Best of luck tomorrow.

Best of luck this evening,two great contests to look forward to.

St. Colman's 1-7 St. Michael's 2-6 8 minutes into the second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Best of luck to our Leitrim neighbours

St. Colman's go down 2-13 to 1-10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭blowitupref

The Mayo sub bench tomorrow according to the program

David Clarke
    Stephen Coen
    Michael Plunkett
    James McCormack
    Colm Boyle
    Ciaran Treacy
    Conor O'Shea
    David Drake
    Evan Regan
    Andy Moran
    Conor Diskin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Adult & Juvenile ticket available FoC for Croke Park tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 thepines

kaizersoze wrote: »
    Adult & Juvenile ticket available FoC for Croke Park tomorrow.

Can I take them please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Genuinely excited for the young lads in the squad today, hopefully a good performance awaits. Will add some good experience to them.

I'm really really hoping we can pull through in spite of all the talk about this only being the league final,I think we need the win a heck of a lot more than Kerry.

It would be a big boost for the county's collective morale to get over the line in a final given our dismal record in same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,986 ✭✭✭Panrich

The Mayo sub bench tomorrow according to the program

David Clarke
    Stephen Coen
    Michael Plunkett
    James McCormack
    Colm Boyle
    Ciaran Treacy
    Conor O'Shea
    David Drake
    Evan Regan
    Andy Moran
    Conor Diskin

So assuming McDonagh is injured, we are looking at O’Donaghue and Reape as the men on the edge from those that figured on the league.

Panrich wrote: »
    So assuming McDonagh is injured, we are looking at O’Donaghue and Reape as the men on the edge from those that figured on the league.
    Panrich wrote: »

Brian Reape,Conor Loftus,Eoin O Donoghue,Jason Gibbons and Caolan Crowe all lined out for their clubs.No James Durcan either.

O Donoghue is well capable of starting come championship IMO.

Very surprised he's not in the match day squad.

I would have included Reape or Loftus ahead of Conor O Shea.The wide expanses of Croker would suit the playing style of an at the moment undercooked Conor Loftus. TBF Conor O Shea must be flying in training,so perhaps it was easy call as James Horan has emphasised the fact that his selections will be based on current form/what he's seeing in training.

Cian Hanley,Evan Regan and Ryan O Donoghue are still injured.

ATM all the young Westport lads have disappeared off the radar...Colm Moran etc.

Shane Nally appears to be out in the cold.

Brian Reape,Conor Loftus,Eoin O Donoghue,Jason Gibbons and Caolan Crowe all lined out for their clubs.No James Durcan either.

O Donoghue is well capable of starting come championship IMO.

Very surprised he's not in the match day squad.

I would have included Reape or Loftus ahead of Conor O Shea.The wide expanses of Croker would suit the playing style of an at the moment undercooked Conor Loftus. TBF Conor O Shea must be flying in training,so perhaps it was easy call as James Horan has emphasised the fact that his selections will be based on current form/what he's seeing in training.

Cian Hanley,Evan Regan and Ryan O Donoghue are still injured.

ATM all the young Westport lads have disappeared off the radar...Colm Moran etc.

Shane Nally appears to be out in the cold.

Evan Regan is on the bench
    Brian reape isn’t up to it
    He doesn’t have the pace
    If he looks slow in the spring he will be ate alive in the summer
    Some players are good club players and not up to inter county . He seems to be one..
    Darren Coen is similar but seems to be able to win his own ball which is vital

Eoin o Donoghue is the ones that suprises me

Evan Regan is on the benchBrian reape isn’t up to it
    He doesn’t have the pace
    If he looks slow in the spring he will be ate alive in the summer
    Some players are good club players and not up to inter county . He seems to be one..
    Darren Coen is similar but seems to be able to win his own ball which is vital

Going blind or more likely a late night!::)

Like the look of Coen as you say but I'd have concerns about his mobility or lack of..

Same. I thought he was gradually staking a claim for himself over the last year or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

It looks like JH for whatever reason doesn't rate EoD.

Best of luck to everyone travelling today. I'm resigned to listening in on the radio. Hope we get a bit of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

PressRun wrote: »
    Best of luck to everyone travelling today. I'm resigned to listening in on the radio. Hope we get a bit of luck!

It's on TG4 just so ya know.

I'm abroad at the moment, so have to listen. Don't mind listening actually, I like to potter about while it's on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,881 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Some goal for a half-back:eek: We're in a game now for sure...

Sounds like fast stuff so far.

Kerry defending well by the sounds of things. They know we can't shoot from distance.