Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incident at Roscommon hotel (asylum seekers)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

For the sake of those who are genuine refugees and politically persecuted, who we have a genuine responsibility to protect, we need to get much much quicker at processing these claims and sending the bogus on their way. There have been people from South Africa, Chile and South Korea in the system, sometimes for years. If this causes offence, it is not my intention, but those people shouldn't be entertained on first application and certainly shouldn't be granted multiple appeals for their own sake and for the sake of genuine applicants. We have limited capacity to help, and I'd much prefer if that capacity was directed towards the right people.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Here's a stat bank where one can see the applications by country for 1996 to 2016 (2017 and 2018 aren't yet up for some reason). It most interestingly shows the figures for 'other' countries (rarely published by Irish authorities, but they pass them to the UNHCR who helpfully do).

For instance, in 2016, we can see there was an application from a Japanese national for asylum. Why? Heaven knows, you may call me hard-hearted, but I can't think of a credible reason why a Japanese national would be entertained for an application never mind granted. And he/she can brazen it out through all the appeals processes, with all the legal fees carried by the taxpayer if he/she wishes.

http://data.un.org/Data.aspx?d=UNHCR&f=indID%3AType-Ref

• Registered Users Posts: 39,867 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Yurt! wrote: »
    For instance, in 2016, we can see there was an application from a Japanese national for asylum. Why? Heaven knows, you may call me hard-hearted, but I can't think of a credible reason why a Japanese national would be entertained for an application never mind granted.

Is he or she definitely a Japanese National?

If so, according to the stats one Irish National applied for asylum in Germany in 2016 and 1 in South Africa, 2 in Britain and 1 in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Yurt! wrote: »
    We have a genuine responsibility to protect, we need to get much much quicker at processing these claims and sending the bogus on their way.

Agree, but you only have to look across the water at Brexitland (at last month's 'Iranians in the Eng Channel' episode) to discover 'less than 10%' of the hundreds plucked from the sea have actually been returned to France or Iran.

Seems a long way to travel across the entire EU mainland and risk of life by sailing the busiest shipping channel in the world in an inflatable. Maybe they just like tea and yorkshire puddings?

With no ID or information to cross-check, how can genuine cases be verified and helped, over purely economic cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭QuintusFabius

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOM68dSD8Nc

I see the other thread was shut down by the far left neo fascists of Boards.
    "People of Roosky shout and cheer - refugees are welcome here"
    And no one in the crowd is from ****ing Roosky!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

The population of the entire African continent was 140 million in 1900, is 1.2 billion now, is projected to be 2.5 billion at conservative estimates in 2050 and 4 billion in 2100.

People do not economically migrate from the very poorest countries or from countries that are economically developed. They either cannot afford to or they don't want to, depending.
    It is countries that are going through some uptick in economic development with its attendant stresses, that produce the most economic refugees - as we saw ourselves in our own history.

Somewhat more migration at the moment happens within the continent of Africa than internationally and is causing its own serious problems as populations of African nation states report that they do not approve of more inward migration to their countries.

Even though numbers have slowed somewhat, migration from Africa - which is largely economic migration - between 2010 and 2017 came to 1.5 million sub-Saharan Africans to Europe.

A 2017 Pew Research Report surveyed countries like Nigeria, Ghana, Ethiopia, Kenya and others and found that millions have expressed a desire to move as soon as the opportunity presents itself, eg up to 75% of all people surveyed in Nigeria and Ghana.

https://twitter.com/pewresearch/status/976827862874513408

These are some of the demographic reasons upon which I base my objection to the word migrant being made an amalgamation of economic migrant and refugee. No country in the west, not even the richest, would be in any way equipped to deal with even a minute fraction of the numbers desiring to economically migrate, and that will be in a better position to do so as their ecnomies somewhat improve in Africa, and given that this is so, we should enforce our rights to national sovreignty.

If we do not put a stop to the cynical conflation of war refugee and economic migrant we actually set up a Hunger Games sort of situation. This is cruel and irresponsible and naive.

At some point in the future even the most bleeding heart liberal will realise that a halt would have to be called to massive economic migration in order to prevent the collapse of welfare states, and so by accepting economic migrants now, pretending they are refugees, we are causing a competition to get out and in under the barrier before it goes down.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

I see the other thread was shut down by the far left neo fascists of Boards.
    Zorya wrote: »
    At some point in the future even the most bleeding heart liberal will realise...

Steady on lads, you're going all Gemma O'Doherty on us.
    The population of the entire African continent was 140 million in 1900, is 1.2 billion now, is projected to be 2.5 billion at conservative estimates in 2050 and 4 billion in 2100.

Why in a thread about an arson attack against a centre set up to temporarily house Syrian refugees from Asia, are you now banging on about the population of Africa?

The tiny number of genuine refugees we take in are eventually relocated around the country. The ones who aren't genuine, aren't. If you have an issue with the language used to describe these people, then that's really up to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭malinheader

dav3 wrote: »
    Steady on lads, you're going all Gemma O'Doherty on us.

Why in a thread about an arson attack against a centre set up to temporarily house Syrian refugees from Asia, are you now banging on about the population of Africa?

The tiny number of genuine refugees we take in are eventually relocated around the country. The ones who aren't genuine, aren't. If you have an issue with the language used to describe these people, then that's really up to you.

The ones who are not genuine are not. Your some craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

At some point in the future even the most bleeding heart liberal will realise that a halt would have to be called to massive economic migration in order to prevent the collapse of welfare states, and so by accepting economic migrants now, pretending they are refugees, we are causing a competition to get out and in under the barrier before it goes down.

This partially explains why claims for asylum in Ireland have reached a 10 year high (according to the Irish Times). And watch this space, as there will be a further substantial surge from the UK in the lead up and after Brexit. The Irish government seem to have an amnesty program in place for migrants/refugees who continue to use the legal process with appeal after appeal. It's just a system of attrition, with the government usually giving up on deportations and legal challenges; the irony is that refugees have access to unlimited Irish tax-paid resources in their challenges.

Another problem is that we have the 3rd largest party in the country still advocating for open orders for political and economic migrants from all over the world. Sinn Fein's official stance is still this:
    Sinn Fein will work for the achievement of the optimal position of no restriction on immigration to Ireland and deplores all attempts to limit the numbers of political and economic refugees into the country.
    It probably explains why Sinn Fein is continuing to decline in the polls recently, with a further 2% reduction in their support a few days ago. Their supporters must realise that the influx of economic migrants/refugees into Ireland will result in a competition for social welfare resources and housing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

Lovely behaviour from the refugee loving crowd here.

Facists.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Facists.
    Whatever about them being "fascists"(a daftly overused word) or yer man with the camera, but good god the ones around him sounded like they were on day release from the local home for the incurably bewildered. Naive beyond belief at best, IQ's in double digits at worst, or a mixture of both. Yer wan going on about the Irish being Basques... Jesus. The other woman wittering on about balance and not knowing what it means and at the same time giving yer man stick and admitting she doesn't have a clue what he's said or not said. Scarily common that kinda thing on all sides. And that Ming idiot. The fact he gets votes should tell you all you need to know about the "intelligence" of those who put an X beside his name.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The tiny number of genuine refugees we take in are eventually relocated around the country. The ones who aren't genuine, aren't.
    And yet currently we have as Kivaro pointed out earlier: Look at the most recent example that we can read about on The Times of Ireland today. The first female asylum seeker in Ireland, originally from Malawi, to run for election in this country, has been found out to be a liar on her asylum claims. Ellie Kisyombe, who is running for Dublin City council, also tried to claim asylum in England, before being transferred back to Ireland where she had a student visa. She claims that she went into Direct Provision as soon as she applied for asylum upon arriving at Dublin airport from Malawi in 2010. However, The Times found out that she was a student at Bristol University between 2007 and 2010. Then went home to Malawi, and then flew to Dublin to claim asylum. In 2011, she flew to England in order to claim asylum there.

Yup, looks real genuine and with a neck as hard as like a jockey's bollocks she has the gall to be running for public office after "extremely questionable" tactics to come here as a "refugee" and "asylum seeker". And her supporters have equally hard necks to keep defending her? Then again Irish politicians as crooked as a fiddlers elbow tend to be popular here, so on that basis she should fit right in.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Topgear on Dave

Serious amount of criticism and anger in the tweets today about that article alright.

Has she denied it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Wibbs wrote: »
    Yup, looks real genuine and with a neck as hard as like a jockey's bollocks she has the gall to be running for public office after "extremely questionable" tactics to come here as a "refugee" and "asylum seeker". And her supporters have equally hard necks to keep defending her? Then again Irish politicians as crooked as a fiddlers elbow tend to be popular here, so on that basis she should fit right in.

What relevance does that story have to an arson attack on a direct provision hotel accommodating genuine refugees?

It looks to me like people are using this thread to have a rant about whatever is rattling around inside their head. Which is how these threads usually go.
    The videos from friends of gemma o'doherty have already started. Next up we'll have someone talking about white genocide, eugenics and the IQ of African people.
    When the thread finally gets locked, the same 4 or 5 people start crying about how they're being silenced.

Instead of looking at the history of refugees in Ireland over the decades, how successful it has been and discussing how it can be improved. We have the same crowd trying to spread fear and hate. Something which Irish people have always, and will always reject.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 746 ✭✭✭GinAndBitter

Whatever about them being "fascists"(a daftly overused word) or yer man with the camera, but good god the ones around him sounded like they were on day release from the local home for the incurably bewildered. Naive beyond belief at best, IQ's in double digits at worst, or a mixture of both. Yer wan going on about the Irish being Basques... Jesus. The other woman wittering on about balance and not knowing what it means and at the same time giving yer man stick and admitting she doesn't have a clue what he's said or not said. Scarily common that kinda thing on all sides. And that Ming idiot. The fact he gets votes should tell you all you need to know about the "intelligence" of those who put an X beside his name.

One of the locals took exception with the Muppets from out of town.

https://m.facebook.com/109597305738451/posts/2300141016684058/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Everyone, watch this. All of it. This is an incredible bit of stuff.

Whatever you think about Grand Torino, the guy has fùcking balls.

How he didn't lose his temper is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

According to the RTE news this evening, only 40 showed up for this "anti-racist" event in Rooskey.

Does that mean that the 4,803,708 of us who didn't go are racist?
    Or does it mean that there is really no issue with racism in the little village.
    And fair play to the local woman who stood up for her community and voiced the fact on national television that adequate local services did not exist in the village for such a large number of asylum seekers. Shame on those in Government who are responsible for this major breach of trust with the local populace.

To nobody's surprise, RTE, once again, was complete disingenuous in their reporting. The reporter said that they were Ballaghaderreen direct provision asylum seekers from Syria and other countries at the protest. Why not mention the other countries? He made sure to mention the Syrians, as if they are the majority of the applicants for asylum in Ireland. They are not, Georgia was number one in 2018, followed by Albanian asylum seekers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

One of the locals took exception with the Muppets from out of town.

https://m.facebook.com/109597305738451/posts/2300141016684058/

Good woman. She was damn right. Pious professional protestors turning up in the NW or midlands to craw thump and tell the local people how they should be can go feck themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

Facists.

That dickhead with his big furry mike is no refugee lover, don't know what you're on about? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

He's a Gemma O'Doherty follower who thinks he's a professional film maker or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Everyone, watch this. All of it. This is an incredible bit of stuff.

Whatever you think about Grand Torino, the guy has fùcking balls.

How he didn't lose his temper is beyond me.

Now grand Torino. theres a snivveling little **** if I've ever seen one.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

BBFAN wrote: »
    That dickhead with his big furry mike is no refugee lover, don't know what you're on about? :rolleyes::rolleyes:

He's a Gemma O'Doherty follower who thinks he's a professional film maker or something.

The irony of it; the anti racism one telling yer man he wasn't welcome there.

Are you actually trying to defend that idiot?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Good woman. She was damn right. Pious professional protestors turning up in the NW or midlands to craw thump and tell the local people how they should be can go feck themselves.

For sure residents of Rooskey have some important points to make in the debate about asylum seekers.
    However it is a national matter and people from outside Rooskey have a right to make their voices heard.
    It's not just a local issue for local people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

The drunk lad reciting the poem he wrote on Rooskey when he was a teenager was desperately sad. Man has no idea that the Irish government have sold him and his community out, and for what?

So Varadker can get his nice E.U/U.N job when the bottom falls out of all of this?

What relevance does that story have to an arson attack on a direct provision hotel accommodating genuine refugees?
    It's called a wider discussion on the matter, something you clearly don't want to occur, unless it agrees with you 100%. Secondly the individual in said story was apparently a "genuine refugee" right up to the point where a British newspaper looked into her past and found it to be "interesting" and anything but genuine. Still nada from RTE the last time I looked. You'd think someone running for public office in the state that has been possibly exposed as being economical with the truth running on a ticket that looks for support for more of the same, but nope.
    Next up we'll have someone talking about white genocide, eugenics and the IQ of African people.
    Funny enough the only time I've mentioned IQ's was about White Irish people in that last video. I suspect you hope we get posters talking about white genocide, eugenics and the IQ of African people, so you can point and cry Halt!
    When the thread finally gets locked, the same 4 or 5 people start crying about how they're being silenced.
    One suspects some are praying it does get locked as they want the echo chamber and no discussion and certainly no questions they simply can't answer.
    Instead of looking at the history of refugees in Ireland over the decades, how successful it has been and discussing how it can be improved. We have the same crowd trying to spread fear and hate. Something which Irish people have always, and will always reject.
    You actually seem to believe in this parallel universe you inhabit.

Outside of the Plantations - and we know how well that went - the number of migrants of all types into Ireland has historically been absolutely minuscule, right up until the 90's. Funny enough just about when the money, however imaginary and temporarily, started to flow in the place. So about two decades. Tops. How do you propose to measure the success of an enterprise that has almost zero history in Ireland? We could look to other nations in Europe that have actually run this multicultural experiment for actual decades and many of them. But no, you certainly don't want to turn your glass to that view.

The Irish reject fear and hate? You've a bloody short memory of the internal strife that went on for centuries between two almost identical groups of people in the country then? Never mind our local Traveller situation.

That's the scary part of all this, and on both sides with it. Yep there are some who are having a fit about it and want no immigration at all and on the other side of the debate you have some who are beyond naive, want to stick their fingers in their ears and think all we have to do is "fight hate" and hold hands and it'll be grand. Both are, to put it mildly, wrong headed.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

elperello wrote: »
    For sure residents of Rooskey have some important points to make in the debate about asylum seekers.
    However it is a national matter and people from outside Rooskey have a right to make their voices heard.

Its just a pity that wherever these asylum seekers are being dumped, the very same locals are the last ones to be spoken to.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The vast majority of people in Europe don’t want large amounts of immigrants living beside them. That’s the harsh truth.

And people don’t mind being called racists or fascists anymore either. Because they’ve lost all meaning and it’s usually being uttered at them by some Kitty Holland or Fintan O’Toole wannabe.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

elperello wrote: »

It is when you are fighting for accommodation,school places and hospital beds like we do in west dublin

The well heeled protesters will never have that worry in their lives

The total embarrassment for anyone who thinks this Gran Torino guy is anything but an attention seeking dole scrounger. :rolleyes:

BBFAN wrote: »
    Are you actually trying to defend that idiot?
    Yet again the inability to read what others wrote, or hoping they wrote something they didn't, seems to be a feature of debates like this. NB I said: Whatever about them being "fascists"(a daftly overused word) or yer man with the camera...I have zero clue who yer man is nor to be clear do I want to know* and I don't consider the motley band of supporters "fascists". I merely pointed out said supporters came across as dribbling morons, with no arguments. Yer man with the camera had no arguments either for the record, but at least didn't come across as someone who took a blow to the head.

*TBH my subs on Youtube consist entirely of car channels and documentaries on all sorts. Talking heads of any stripe I would put in about the same category as "unboxers"(WTF?), not worth my time. Nor do I tweet, or Arsebook. Keeps me sane. Well, when I say sane..