Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marian Finucane Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 15,405 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Her utter dismissal of the concerns over how much RTÉ spent on the Eurovision attempt that came last says it all.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,916 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

I've never heard such absolute nonsense out of this chap.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Her utter dismissal of the concerns over how much RTÉ spent on the Eurovision attempt that came last says it all.
    her response was 'well theres a lot of people involved ' so obviously there's a clique in rte and friends who are guaranteed an income every year no matter what crap they send over .

this Bressie chap is unlistenable to ,if she is going to do a mental health slot , could she not have got a professional ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭jeremyj1968

Yeah I thought it was very belittling of the newspaper. Same sort of arrogance she displays when people have the absolute gall to question her wages.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,405 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Oops69 wrote: »
    this Bressie chap is unlistenable to ,if she is going to do a mental health slot , could she not have got a professional ?

That’s it. He was bluffing and stuttering and stammering when asked specifics.

He is being facilitated by RTÉ to hawk himself out as a mindfulness coach or something faddish like that.

RTÉ should be ashamed to be facilitating self promoter chancers rather than qualified individuals who can give proper advice on mental health issues.

That’s it. He was bluffing and stuttering and stammering when asked specifics.

He is being facilitated by RTÉ to hawk himself out as a mindfulness coach or something faddish like that.

Utter scam artist.

RTÉ should be ashamed to be facilitating self promoter chancers rather than qualified individuals who can give proper advice on mental health issues.
    I actually think he came across as a genuinely nice guy trying to do his best.

And yes it's important to have someone with a big public profile talk about anxiety and depression -- but Bressie? He isn't exactly someone that young men have much of an interest in. The guy is nearly forty and even a lot of young lads who follow Leinster wouldn't know anything about him these days.

As has been said, it's also a bit problematic when a non-qualified person starts giving advice on any form of health-care, or claims to have discovered a solution.

And yes it's important to have someone with a big public profile talk about anxiety and depression -- but Bressie? He isn't exactly someone that young men have much of an interest in.

I think the other thing is that he is already the most relatable "everyman". He's 6ft 6, looks like a male model, dated models, successful music and TV career (which admittedly is not anywhere as near as fiscally rewarding as it might be thought to be). I think most people who were suffering from depression would look at him and think "Jesus H Christ, if he's depressed what hope is there for me!".

Apparently Marian had to ring RTE reception to get directions to the studio this morning.

Did I hear that right?
    Marian: "Do I call you Niall or Bressie, which do you prefer?"
    Bressie: "Either one is absolutely fine with me, Miriam. "

OK - so I'm not him but, at least according to my OH, I too have serious mental health issues, but my response would have been (FWIW)

"My true friends - the people who know me as a person in my own right- call me Niall, everyone else calls me "Bressie". So, Marian, call me "Bressie"

Over, and out

PS I have free travel......

• Registered Users Posts: 19,176 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I actually think he came across as a genuinely nice guy trying to do his best.

And yes it's important to have someone with a big public profile talk about anxiety and depression -- but Bressie? He isn't exactly someone that young men have much of an interest in. The guy is nearly forty and even a lot of young lads who follow Leinster wouldn't know anything about him these days.

As has been said, it's also a bit problematic when a non-qualified person starts giving advice on any form of health-care, or claims to have discovered a solution.

I thought he said he had qualifications in that field, only half listening though.

Thought he came across well, in fairness.

I thought he said he had qualifications in that field, only half listening though.

Thought he came across well, in fairness.
    he has an MA from the School of Psychology in UCD.

It doesn't entitle the bearer to teach a classroom of students in mental health care, let alone be giving medical advice to people who may have serious illnesses. It isn't a clinical qualification of any sort.

Despite my skepticism about Niall Breslin's profile in making him a useful advocate, especially for young men, that's a relatively minor gripe.

My real issue is people with no medical qualifications claiming to be able of offering treatments or solutions for medical illness.

"I think that is unanimous around the table"
    Why bother even asking any more, I don't think the guests are brought in because they have differing opinions.

I was surprised that there wasn't even a token mention of the death of Noel Whelan. He was a regular contributor to the Sunday show. Thought Finucane would have said something. I presume he was mentioned yesterday?

Marian isn't going to mention this after 11:05, so today's panel:

Senator Michael McDowell SC, former AG

Prof Seamus Coffee, Economist at UCC

Aine Kerr, media/ tech entrepreneur

Nicola Byrne, also a digital professional

Sinead O'Carroll, news editor at The Journal

I'm sure Lidl and Aldi will provide plenty of teutonic crispy toilet paper for us .. don't panic!

"Fact-check" for us in The Journal is incredibly important" -- Sinead O'Carroll.

Spare me.

It's called The Churnal for a reason. It's the least reliable news outlet in Ireland by a mile. I'm including the Sunday World in that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭Infoanon

"Fact-check" for us in The Journal is incredibly important" -- Sinead O'Carroll.

Spare me.

It's called The Churnal for a reason. It's the least reliable news outlet in Ireland by a mile. I'm including the Sunday World in that.
    Both the journal and boards are owned by the same company?

I disagree - the fact check articles tend to be good and accurate and the argument on Marians show that 65m voted for Trump doesn't change the arguments on factual and fake news

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Spare me.

O Carroll is a perfect example of why gender quotas are a bad idea

Complete mediocrity

TheJournal.ie is an NGO.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    O Carroll is a perfect example of why gender quotas are a bad idea

Complete mediocrity
    What?

It's got nothing to do with gender. I wouldn't rate her as a journalist, nor her newspaper as a publication. Why you think her gender is important is beyond me.

Infoanon wrote: »
    Both the journal and boards are owned by the same company?
    Don't know if that's still true, but who cares? Even AH has more balance and reliability than The Journal. We have never had a less reliable news publication in this country, and that's because its unreliability is instantly visible to every Facebook Mum and Dad in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

I’m sick of Sinéad from the Journal being on this show

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

What?

It's got nothing to do with gender. I wouldn't rate her as a journalist, nor her newspaper as a publication. Why you think her gender is important is beyond me.

I'm saying in this era of tokenism, she is an example of getting a gig due to her gender, what else explains her prime position?

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭isohon

Nicola Byrne was atrocious today. Confidence sans capacity.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    I'm saying in this era of tokenism, she is an example of getting a gig due to her gender, what else explains her prime position?
    I don't know, how do you explain Ray D'Arcy, or Richie Kavanagh ? They must have something you and I don't see, because all have managed to cultivate a successful brand. I agree it's hard to fathom.
    isohon wrote: »
    Nicola Byrne was atrocious today. Confidence sans capacity.
    McDowell was making a fairly important point about how the judiciary should reflect the principles of Government, because that adds democratic legitimacy, and she completely misunderstood the point and seemed to be going off on some other tangent.

She also completely missed the first point made by Áine Kerr about personal injuries and the failure of insurance firms to notify Gardai about suspicious claims. It was certainly a contribution with more heat than light.

Good contributions today from Kerr and McDowell, but my favourite was Séamus Coffey.

He failed to speak at all for the first 20 minutes, presumably because personal injuries and law isn't his area of competence. He then spoke briefly and succinctly on economic policy and Brexit. Always a worthwhile contributor.

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭Robert McGrath

Spare me.

Any examples, as a matter of interest?

I don't read it, I had to stop reading it for the same reason I gave up Facebook, it seemed to be geared towards inordinately angry middle-aged people and those who have no perceptible interest in actual news.

Can go and seek out some examples of inaccurate reporting later, if you're interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

I don't read it, I had to stop reading it for the same reason I gave up Facebook, it seemed to be geared towards inordinately angry middle-aged people and those who have no perceptible interest in actual news.

Can go and seek out some examples of inaccurate reporting later, if you're interested.

The journal "journalists" are self important virtue signallers, pseudo liberals and phony middle class champagne socialists.

They're like the people who volunteer at student newspapers or vote for the Labour Party at college to be radical (but middle class and safe)

For all their apparent feminism, wokeness, Panti Bliss, abortion, - they are very biased and regularly censor comments for silly reasons.

Interestingly, Sinéad plays the crusading journalist but at the end of the day is a Denis O'Brien stooge.

No chance of him appearing in Fact Check.

It's the comments section that saves the journal for better or worse

The journal "journalists" are self important virtue signallers, pseudo liberals and phony middle class champagne socialists.

They're like the people who volunteer at student newspapers or vote for the Labour Party at college to be radical (but middle class and safe)

For all their apparent feminism, wokeness, Panti Bliss, abortion, - they are very biased and regularly censor comments for silly reasons.

Interestingly, Sinéad plays the crusading journalist but at the end of the day is a Denis O'Brien stooge.

No chance of him appearing in Fact Check.

It's the comments section that saves the journal for better or worse
    I don't really have an issue with any overarching ideological tone in The Journal -- every magazine or publication has a bias. The Irish Times and The Guardian are firmly socially-liberal, the latter is more receptive to socialist thought; the FT and The Economist are decidedly socially and economically liberal, who are also strong supporters of US, UK Foreign Policy.

The Journal's generally progressive tone isn't much of a problem, and is probably only really a reflection of the age profile of its badly-paid writers, presumably almost all of whom are freelance. To that extent, the problem, for me, is the lack of professionalism and reliability of anything that is printed in The Journal.

In fact, I struggle to understand why it's taken very seriously at all by radio producers, or why its writers appear so often on radio panels.

It's basically a college newspaper.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

honeybear wrote: »
    I’m sick of Sinéad from the Journal being on this show

Ah flip...she’s now on Liveline

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

I don't understand how Michael "last sting of a dying wasp" McDowell still gets on radio shows as he has about as much credibility as Mary "privatise Eircom for the people" O'Rourke has - I suppose it's just more evidence of the continuing success of the golden circle. :rolleyes: