Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you think nurses will get their payrise?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,956 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

If that's the issue then the option of career breaks needs to be stopped. If people want to go and live in Australia then off with them but they'll need to give up the job here so that hiring expensive agency staff to replace them will end.

Isn't it likely a lot of nurses will return home to hold onto their permanent job here.
    You can't go abroad on a 'career break' and continue to hold your position. You have to resign your post. I've never seen it done any other way.

Also, and I'm open to correction but I thought it was illegal to take a career break and work in the same career? Perhaps I'm confusing it with Leave of Absence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Varta

David73 wrote: »
    I've seen the security Guards being abused and threatened by patients, should we then benchmark their salary with the nurses? Makes logic.

No, actually, it is not logical. Nurses are being abused while trying to nurse. The security guard's job is to handle the abusive patients.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

Watching the nurses picket hospitals on the Virgin Media news this morning, I found it odd that a number of nurses were actually hiding behind the placards that they were holding when the camera panned to them ...... as if they were embarrassed to be seen striking for more money.

Another thing I noticed is the big smiley faces on the picket-line nurses. Surely they realise that the hundreds of thousands of people that they are adversely affecting (including patients and their families) do not find their strike-for-more-money funny.

If they get their €300+Million per year raise, what happens when the next major economic downturn happens? And it will happen. The country cannot afford this exorbitant increase in nurse wages. I am hoping that if the government caves in, then the European Union will step in to stop this madness. If not, we will end up like Greece, with all our tax money going to public sector wages, allowances, and runaway public sector pension funding.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 162 ✭✭David73

markodaly wrote: »
    Staff retention is about more than money. Having a nursing qualification is hugely sought after, where it will open job opportunities pretty much anywhere in the world.

It also helps that Irish nurses speak fluent English and that they are white. If you are a fresh graduate, would you rather travel and see the world for a number of years before you settle down.

The world has changed and labor markets with it. Paying nurses more will not make Mullingar more attractive than Melbourne to the average Irish graduate.

What an odd post!

Are black nurses that speak fluent English not liked?

I watched the programme on the Rotunda hospital and I thought there was a lot of standing around chatting too.

There was no sense of understaffing anywhere, I actually thought there were a lot of staff on duty.

And I have seen Gardai standing around the station who didn't seem to be very busy, but I've also seen them put themselves at risk to defend the public. As the saying goes, don't judge a man until you've walked a mile in his shoes.

Should oncology nurses be paid the same as threatre nurses?

Yes.

Varta wrote: »
    Yes.

Then we'll get the bebate that the role of oncology nurse is less stressful than theatre nurse and therefore the theatre nurse should get paid more on top of their proposed salary increase.

Nurses are not looking for differential pay, so it is disingenuous to introduce it to the discussion.

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭RinusLaptop76

becareful there with your facts, this is a pro nurses strike thread, they don't like facts

That is why you are not giving any facts just trolling around?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

I've seen the security Guards being abused and threatened by patients, should we then benchmark their salary with the nurses? Makes logic.

At least security guards get some training, backup and are mostly physically capable of defending themselves.

My gf is 5'2" and has been attacked multiple times on the wards, by junkies, alcohols and the mentally unwell. Usually she's alone when it happens due to understaffing.

Once every few months she comes home with bruises on her arms and face.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Chiparus

The nurses shoudl get a payrise ( 1% a year over 12 years) , but there should be less of them, - more healthcare assistants to take over nursing duties - feeding , making beds , ironically doing nursing duties.

Close some of the nursing schools or convert them to train HCAs

DoH are missing a trick - less expensive nurses , more cheaper HCAs.

Why aren't the Doctors protest over pay and conditions being picked up by media in the same scale as the nurses?

Did you know that 800 out of 30,000 Doctors are under 35 in Ireland.
    Many new Doctors are crippled with 100k debts and have a starting salary of 30k in Ireland
    Only 16 of 51 Doctors planned to return to Ireland

<
    This is the real crisis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Kivaro wrote: »
    Watching the nurses picket hospitals on the Virgin Media news this morning, I found it odd that a number of nurses were actually hiding behind the placards that they were holding when the camera panned to them ...... as if they were embarrassed to be seen striking for more money.

Another thing I noticed is the big smiley faces on the picket-line nurses. Surely they realise that the hundreds of thousands of people that they are adversely affecting (including patients and their families) do not find their strike-for-more-money funny.

If they get their €300+Million per year raise, what happens when the next major economic downturn happens? And it will happen. The country cannot afford this exorbitant increase in nurse wages. I am hoping that if the government caves in, then the European Union will step in to stop this madness. If not, we will end up like Greece, with all our tax money going to public sector wages, allowances, and runaway public sector pension funding.
    Hmmm, were the signs transparent?

Maybe they were holding up their signs for the cameras to see?
    Maybe they were smiling because they wanted to smile? Would you prefer if they were crying.

We can keep wages as they are if you're happy to continue the understaffing problems and brain drain.

Why aren't the Doctors protest over pay and conditions being picked up by media in the same scale as the nurses?

Many new Doctors are crippled with 100k debts and have a starting salary of 30k in Ireland

<
    This is the real crisis

Not knocking doctors, but new doctors with large debts are almost always doctors who made the decision to study medicine as post-grad. An decision that will certainly pay off in the medium term.

Love how you totally ignore the other facts mentioned but simply blame the Doctors for their 100k debt!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,956 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Chiparus wrote: »
    ..DoH are missing a trick - less expensive nurses , more cheaper HCAs.
    I processed the wage returns for nurses and HCA's for a few years. Many HCA's were earning more than nurses - some earning considerably more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭alloywheel

To the person who said "the country isnt on its knees financially, this isnt 2007", I'm afraid our national debt is about 5 times more than it was in 2007, 200 billion as opposed to forty something billion, and with Brexit and a probable Recession heading this way, we are in a worse position than ever. We cannot afford to give the public sector even more money.

The greedy nurses should go back to work and be grateful for their average 58000 per year with security and a pension to die for.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭A Shropshire Lad

More union greed, where will it end?

It never ends, thats the problem.

• Registered Users Posts: 988 ✭✭✭brendanwalsh

Sorry guys, we have an effective tax rate of 50%, if nurses hold us at gun point now and empty the coffers you can expect basic tax rate and use to rise. This is a smash and grab by a profession . Reality is, if these girls get their 12% , they'll still be back working in sh1te conditions the next morning, an extra hundred quid a week won't change the fact the hse and system is a total sh1tshow.

<
    This is the real crisis

Not to mind unfilled consultant posts, consultants not on specialist register, and young graduates emigrating in their droves to the US, Australia and UK. GP crisis impending and about to implode. My granny had to wait ten days for a GP appointment last month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Bit late to the party here. Was there ever any actual confirmation of the wage for nurses? The inmo contest the average figure provided but don't give one of their own that I've seen?

Love how you totally ignore the other facts mentioned but simply blame the Doctors for their 100k debt!

The post was irrelevant to the discussion.
    What 'facts' were you referring to? I didn't see any ref to support those 'facts'.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭A Shropshire Lad

The public sector unions are so weaponised as they actually pose a threat to the stability of the country. Successive governments caving in to pay demands have created a monster that the rest of us have to bear.

I suppose we who vote are partly to balme. We elect the governments knowing full well they will repeat the process. But I dont see much of an appetite for change either

Bit late to the party here. Was there ever any actual confirmation of the wage for nurses? The inmo contest the average figure provided but don't give one of their own that I've seen?

Yes, there was. There was even a link to it. But of course the use of 'average' is more useful to the FG spin machine.

The public sector unions are so weaponised as they actually pose a threat to the stability of the country. Successive governments caving in to pay demands have created a monster that the rest of us have to bear.

I suppose we who vote are partly to balme. We elect the governments knowing full well they will repeat the process. But I dont see much of an appetite for change either

The only 'cave in' I've seen in the last few years was by a private company, Transderv, when they 'caved in' to the tram drivers.

What about the guards and bus eireann last year?

Not to mind unfilled consultant posts, consultants not on specialist register, and young graduates emigrating in their droves to the US, Australia and UK. GP crisis impending and about to implode. My granny had to wait ten days for a GP appointment last month.

Despite the fact the the HSE is a public service, when it comes to recruitment it has to operate in the marketplace. If it cannot or won't compete then it won't get the staff it needs.

What about the guards and bus eireann last year?

You said 'cave in'.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,388 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Public support is not needed to resolve this strike

Because it’s not very forthcoming! There’s very soft public support amongst those who believe in bleeding the state dry but amongst the people paying the majority of taxes, support is evaporating once the true facts regarding salaries have been exposed.
    Watch that evaporate further once they continue with their holding of patient welfare and health hostage and patients begin to suffer further

I processed the wage returns for nurses and HCA's for a few years. Many HCA's were earning more than nurses - some earning considerably more.

The begrudgers won't like to hear that. Don't expect them to reply.