Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

22 syrian families arrive in ireland, then what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Thats from one poster, ignore him if hes bothering you.

It's from one poster that plenty of ye seem to agree with in general. You'll lap up the argument about taxi drivers but when it's pointed out that there's likely taxi drivers who are white and even Irish who have gotten away with serious crimes, it's glossed over.

You guys seem to view the likes of Germany, France, England or the Scandinavian states as ghettos but the reality is, in general, they're still incredibly safe places. You forgot that the islamophobia that motivates you guys was part of Breivik's mentality so by your own logic, you guys are equally as likely to do some horrific crimes.

So yep, I think there's a mixture of xenophobia and racism going on with many posters.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

She's not a liar. She's not my friend either don't be putting words in my mouth.

So a friend of a friend? Random stranger in the pub? Cousins girlfriends sisters dog walker?
    The PSA are handing out licences left right and centre to Pakistanis and i can tell you for a fact proper checks in a lot of cases aren't done. And i was told that by an employee of the PSA, so dont be surprised if the same thing is happening in the taxi industry.

:ROLLEYES:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

You wouldn't be trying to tar us all with same brush because of one comment would you?

Because, you know that's kinda racist.

Ah, you’re a taxi driver, makes sense.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

batgoat wrote: »
    It's from one poster that plenty of ye seem to agree with in general. You'll lap up the argument about taxi drivers but when it's pointed out that there's likely taxi drivers who are white and even Irish who have gotten away with serious crimes, it's glossed over.

You guys seem to view the likes of Germany, France, England or the Scandinavian states as ghettos but the reality is, in general, they're still incredibly safe places. You forgot that the islamophobia that motivates you guys was part of Breivik's mentality so by your own logic, you guys are equally as likely to do some horrific crimes.

So yep, I think there's a mixture of xenophobia and racism going on with many posters.

And all you seem to do is deflect, call people names and insult their intelligence.

All these ism's and phobia's have done, is replaced the words blasphemy and heretic. It's just a new religion with the same purpose as the old.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Robocop Corcoran

Those countries all have Muslim ghettos where terrorists are bred, we dont want that here. We dont need it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 255 ✭✭PuppyMcPupFace

Those countries all have Muslim ghettos where terrorists are bred, we dont want that here. We dont need it.

We're close tho. Sadly won't be long.

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

Conquer the world? Yes please.

Ah i see. You accuse posters of being racist and then when asked a simple direct question your retort is childish.

Carry on.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Robocop Corcoran

So a friend of a friend? Random stranger in the pub? Cousins girlfriends sisters dog walker?

:ROLLEYES:

It was said to me by one or their inspectors that was visiting the workplace. This was around 2007 as far as i can remember not long after the PSA came into being.

She could of been lying, but i took it at face value as i didnt really have a reason not to.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,352 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

One of the posters in this thread has already stated he wouldn't get in any black person's taxi. Even if they're Irish, that's racist, right? Or are you and the gang gonna gloss over all the racist crap that's been posted over the last few pages?

or are you and flower puff girls going to gloss over everything that has happened in Europe let alone globally.

Perfectly aware, we also had Neo Nazis marching in the US. A similarly minded person to yourselves gunned down a synagogue last year, same for the guy who murdered Jo Cox. But you guys seem to want to ignore that terror attacks have been committed by people who are racist and hateful from the other side.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

A similarly minded person to yourselves gunned down a synagogue last year.

What a disgusting comment, but then that's typical of the hard left, you cannot debate the issue, cannot argue against statistical evidence, all you can do is throw insults and childish snipes, I pity you and those of your ilk.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Ah i see. You accuse posters of being racist and then when asked a simple direct question your retort is childish.

Carry on.

Oh I’m sorry. Is this supposed to be a serious discussion? Really?

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

It was said to me by one or their inspectors that was visiting the workplace. This was around 2007 as far as i can remember not long after the PSA came into being.

She could of been lying, but i took it at face value as i didnt really have a reason not to.

And that's your problem right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

These folks in Canada, thought like you once also.

Yeah... this is the same Rebel Media that tried to claim the Quebec mosque shootings were done by Muslims (ironically Alexandre Bissonette, the culprit, was an big fan of Rebel Media). They then did the exact same with incel Alek Minassian, who again turned out to be white and alt-right.

They're a far right, pro neo Nazi outlet that intentionally lies to further their agenda, and are seen as a joke over here. And before someone who identifies as being on 'the right' reflexively jumps to their defense because apparently politics are like team sports to some... this has led to many of the company's staff leaving, and the Canadian conservative party making explicitly clear that they want absolutely nothing to do with this shower of eejits.

And that's the thing - Canada's most noteworthy terror attacks in recent years have been from alt right types like Alek Minassian and Alexandre Bissonnette, not from Muslims. That's why basically nobody wants anything to do with The Rebel Media or it's type in Canada, and why it's popularity has waned so much as people have found out what it really is about.

So why the f*ck should anyone care what they have to say about anything?

Source: I know a lot of people from Burlington, some from Hamilton, was only there last week, and most of the girlfriends family are all from there and southern Ontario - Windsor to Welland - and are strongly conservatively minded (as opposed to this alt right gobsh*tery).

What a disgusting comment, but then that's typical of the hard left, you cannot debate the issue, cannot argue against statistical evidence, all you can do is throw insults and childish snipes, I pity you and those of your ilk.

The man responsible described refugees as if they were invading hoardes on his Gabb account. Exact same as Breivik's view. Right wing militia types are the current biggest threat in the US for domestic terrorism.. Jo Cox was murdered by a person with those views. While I think there's a parallel view with posters in this thread, I still don't assume that people in this thread are going to commit a terror attack. Meanwhile those very same people think Muslims in general(2 billion people or thereabouts) are prepared to, is the irony lost on you here?

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

We're close tho. Sadly won't be long.

Already happening in small pockets in Dublin anyway. Now is the time to deal with the issue not when we become Sevran or Molenbeek

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/12/17/french-bar-tells-women-isnt-paris-men/

The man responsible described refugees as if they were invading hoardes on his Gabb account. Exact same as Breivik's view. Right wing militia types are the current biggest threat in the US for domestic terrorism.. Jo Cox was murdered by a person with those views. While I think there's a parallel view with posters in this thread, I still don't assume that people in this thread are going to commit a terror attack. Meanwhile those very same people think Muslims in general(2 billion people or thereabouts) are prepared to, is the irony lost on you here?

Yep there are enough weirdos and lunatics going around we dont need to add to it. The fact of the matter is that too many Muslims support nutty things like killing people for slandering Muhammad.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/religion/11433776/Quarter-of-British-Muslims-sympathise-with-Charlie-Hebdo-terrorists.html
    Some 27 per cent of British Muslims sympathise with Paris gunmen, while more than one in ten say satirical cartoons "deserve" to be attacked

Some 12 people were killed and 11 wounded in an attack by two Islamist terrorists at the office of Charlie Hebdo in Paris on January 7. The magazine had published satirical images of the Prophet.

We do not need to import populations of people who have a disproportionate amount of fanatical weirdos. No matter what their skills.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Yep there are enough weirdos and lunatics going around we dont need to add to it. The fact of the matter is that too many Muslims support nutty things like killing people for slandering Muhammad.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/religion/11433776/Quarter-of-British-Muslims-sympathise-with-Charlie-Hebdo-terrorists.html

We do not need to import populations of people who have a disproportionate amount of fanatical weirdos. No matter what their skills.

Families with young children, carefully selected and evaluated .

Your hysteria comes across as being in the fw group you claim to oppose...

Graces7 wrote: »

'Families with young children'

how does that filter out the weirdos? Its impossible to filter out the weirdos with statistics like that working against you.

Good job throwing about 'hysteria' though. It`ll all just unfounded hysteria right, places like Molenbeek don't exist. It`s all just hysteria until its too late to change. It would also be great to hear why we need to take anyone at all in the context of how much further our money/aid goes in poor countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

The men posing as teenagers in the UK were presumably also vetted, the vetting can hardly be described as careful as some of these immigrants enrolled in schools and fifteen year old teenagers reported that they were adult males and most likely in their thirties.

Its impossible for anyone who isnt from the same cultural background as these immigrants to know what age they are. As I said official records are not available and many of these people are tearing up official documents and are travelling on false papers.

We are going to end up like Paris, Germany, Brussels, France and Spain and the cancer will be within our society and therefore impossible to eradicate. Schools cannot teach immigrants about our values and customs when children are brainwashed at home and brainwashed in their churches. The woman who refuses to shake hands with men in our sports club has teenage sons and they treat her with utter disrespect, this behaviour is learned from their male relatives and they treat their sisters and other female relatives of their family the same way, they will treat their wives the same way too so therefore they will only socialise in their own communities because no European woman will want anything to do with them.. This is turn leads to their radicalisation and then their host country appeases them because to take them on is" racist", God help us all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

Right wing militia types are the current biggest threat in the US for domestic terrorism.

Did you just make this up? As it's certainly not the view of the director of the FBI who recently stated the biggest threat of domestic terrorism is by homegrown Islamic extremists who have been radicilised online.

Your argument falls down when the undeniable evidence is presented that since 2010, Islamic extremists have perpetrated more terror attacks on US soil than any other element. From the Orlando Shooting, The Boston Bombers or any one of the near dozen spree stabbings by Islamic attackers, to suggest the biggest trrror threat to the US is the Alt-Right is wilfully ignorant of the facts. Why are you doing this? Why are you stating a lie as fact? What is your agenda?

https://www.deseretnews.com/article/900029802/fbi-director-says-homegrown-extremists-are-primary-terrorist-threat-to-us.html

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terrorism_in_the_United_States

Graces7 wrote: »

It's genuinely scary that you actually believe the naive garbage you're peddling there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

Honestly, if these refugees were Shia Muslims, Sufi Muslims, Christmas, Yazidis you'll find they'll intergrate easily enough as they live together in the middle East relatively peacefully.
    You won't get much problems.

But if they're salafist or wahabis I'd be very wary.
    They're the hardliners, they have a different interpretation of Islam compared to the Shia or Sufi's.

You'll get bad people everywhere, but from all the research I have compiled, Wahabbism and Salafist's are the most passionate people of their holy book.

The Shias and Sufi's are more relaxed and less passionate about it all.
    They sway more towards the living in peace with other religion's and respecting the law's of different lands, although there's a lot of peaceful Sunni's too.

But from my research the Sunni's are more passionate about their religion.

nthclare wrote: »
    Honestly, if these refugees were Shia Muslims, Sufi Muslims, Christmas, Yazidis you'll find they'll intergrate easily enough as they live together in the middle East relatively peacefully.

They're the hardliners, they have a different interpretation of Islam compared to the Shia or Sufi's.

You'll get bad people everywhere, but from all the research I have compiled, Wahabbism and Salafist's are the most passionate people of their holy book.

They sway more towards the living in peace with other religion's and respecting the law's of different lands, although there's a lot of peaceful Sunni's too.

This should be made more visible so all can see.

My grandmother could have been described as a Catholic extremist of sorts - Mass every day, she'd make you do the Stations of the Cross every time you visited her and she'd not associate with anyone not Catholic - mental stuff!!!

However her "commitment" wasn't the issue. You're right Sunni muslims are very passionate about their beliefs but they believe the normal stuff, and don't interpret the Koran in mad ways to encourage the worst.

Wahhabis do. That's the issue.

This should be made more visible so all can see.

My grandmother could have been described as a Catholic extremist of sorts - Mass every day, she'd make you do the Stations of the Cross every time you visited her and she'd not associate with anyone not Catholic - mental stuff!!!

However her "commitment" wasn't the issue. You're right Sunni muslims are very passionate about their beliefs but they believe the normal stuff, and don't interpret the Koran in mad ways to encourage the worst.

Wahhabis do. That's the issue.

And the sad thing is Wahhabism only had re-emergence in the last 100 years.

It's like a sleeping giant, when he's asleep don't wake him up agressively, let him rest..

I don't agree with violence, but sometimes ignorance is bliss.

If one read Robert Fisk's books you'll get a different narrative on Islam and why they don't trust us and resent the western civilisation.

A good read is Robert Fisk's books called "A great war for civilisation" it's very interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

Snake was posting opinion pieces from that scummy moron Richard Spencer. This is the level your dealing with here.

The Sunni Muslims make up the majority of Muslims in the country (75% of Syria's total population[2]). The Shia Muslims make up the remaining Muslim population (approximately 11.5% of Syria's total population);
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islam_in_Syria

How do we pick and choose and filter out the nuts? And importantly why spend money here when it goes 10 times further helping them in poorer countries with no potential for future social issues in Ireland?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Islam_in_Syria

How do we pick and choose and filter out the nuts? And importantly why spend money here when it goes 10 times further helping them in poorer countries with no potential for future social issues in Ireland?

Sometimes we have to filter out our own nuts too.
    There during the Christmas, I went into a takeaway in a village in the Clare, there's a few brothers working there.

They do amazing food, and are very hygienic.
    I love halal beef, it's very tasty and healthy.

These guys come in pissed, started taking the piss out of the guys cooking and serving them up food.
    Bringing up slightly hostile conversations about the middle East and how come you boy's aren't gone home for Christmas etc

Anyhow these ignorant guys came out of a 181 Landover, spoke with elequent posh Dublin accents and probably have fairly good education and life experience.

The guy's in the takeaway politely informed them they'ed love to go home for Christmas, but they're busy feeding the locals.
    And in Peshawar Christmas is huge and everyone gets involved in the festivities....

Irony huh

There during the Christmas, I went into a takeaway in a village in the Clare, there's a few brothers working there.

These guys come in pissed, started taking the piss out of the guys cooking and serving them up food.
    Bringing up slightly hostile conversations about the middle East and how come you boy's aren't gone home for Christmas etc

Anyhow these ignorant guys came out of a 181 Landover, spoke with elequent posh Dublin accents and probably have fairly good education and life experience.

The guy's in the takeaway politely informed them they'ed love to go home for Christmas, but they're busy feeding the locals.
    And in Peshawar Christmas is huge and everyone gets involved in the festivities....

Irony huh

yeah idiots, unfortunately we cant stop them at source. But we can stop the idiots at source who get too easily offended if Allah gets mocked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Irony huh

I presume you reported them for drink driving??