Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

Er, he SOLD his home to pay the debt.

Didn't he have a 2nd home also? He conveniently sold the first home to his son and was allowed to stay in it while he had around 200k which was big money back then written off and Ansbacher were involved too. He wasn't violently thrown out of his home by hired goons, still lived his final years in luxury.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,694 ✭✭✭hynesie08

klaaaz wrote: »
    "Poor" Fitzgerald who was never violently thrown out of his home got a writeoff and kept his luxurious home.

That's good, he wasn't violently thrown out of his home and neither we're they. Still waiting for proof of the lady being thrown in a ditch by the way....

• Registered Users Posts: 27,208 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Didn't he have a 2nd home also? He conveniently sold the first home to his son and was allowed to stay in it while he had around 200k which was big money back then written off and Ansbacher were involved too. He wasn't violently thrown out of his home by hired goons, still lived his final years in luxury.

Doesn't McGann have a brother with 200 acres? Couldn't he do the same deal? Unless of course he just wants to scam the banks.

blanch152 wrote: »
    Doesn't McGann have a brother with 200 acres? Couldn't he do the same deal? Unless of course he just wants to scam the banks.

It's ok for Fitzgerald the god of FG to get massive debt writeoffs but not the little farmer, understood!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

No he wasn’t probably because he actually engaged with the bank etc. Fairly sure if there was a court order he would have left/challenged legally rather than get thrown out by bailiffs.

You keep spouting this nonsense about being violently thrown out like they were set upon in the middle of the night. Actually hold on that was the security guards attacked by the vigilantes.

The actual people who were evicted were given plenty of opportunities to leave peacefully and didn’t. The violence was of their own choosing. What exactly did they think would happen when they refused to leave at the time the sheriff told them they had to leave by?
    Maybe a few hugs and a cuddle. Sheriff called around to make them a cup of tea?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,680 ✭✭✭buried

kippy wrote: »
    One would be very naive to believe anything that politicians say.
    Apologies for stating the obvious.

But politicians in power these days are the exact same f**kers who demand that everybody else, the citizens who put them into the position of power, they demand the citizens hold themselves to "truth, accountability and responsibility". If politicians won't ever tell the truth, won't ever claim responsibility or accountability themselves, why should the citizens who put them in that gold plated pension position do it? These politicians are "leaders" right? Well, it's their responsibility to "lead". What are we voting for? Liars? We vote for LEADERS. This is a serious problem in this country. Serious problem all over the western world by the looks of it too.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 27,208 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

It's ok for Fitzgerald the god of FG to get massive debt writeoffs but not the little farmer, understood!

Not what I said.

You claim that Fitzgerald got off lightly because his son bought his house and therefore the debt was paid. All I am suggesting is that McGann's brother with the big farm give him a similar dig-out. After all, he is family?

The vigilantes could do a house-to-house collection in the area from his supporters as well.

Or he could just continue to scam the banks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

kippy wrote: »
    One would be very naive to believe anything that politicians say.
    Apologies for stating the obvious.

Yes, yes, but that's not what you said.
    Anyone who firmly believes that POLITICIANS... should be setting good example...

Well, I firmly believe they should set a good example.

That's not really a controversial opinion, actually.

heroics wrote: »
    No he wasn’t probably because he actually engaged with the bank etc. Fairly sure if there was a court order he would have left/challenged legally rather than get thrown out by bailiffs.

Yeh we know what kind of engagement that was while the rest us would never get a debt writeoff like Fitzgerald and also remain living in the luxury house.
    You keep spouting this nonsense about being violently thrown out like they were set upon in the middle of the night. Actually hold on that was the security guards attacked by the vigilantes.

The actual people who were evicted were given plenty of opportunities to leave peacefully and didn’t. The violence was of their own choosing. What exactly did they think would happen when they refused to leave at the time the sheriff told them they had to leave by?

Not nonsense, the violence dished out to the family by a bunch of hired black clad goons was terrible, luckily none of the family died as a result of the horror inflicted.

Have you proof of a second home? He co operated with those he owed money to and was treated accordingly.

The Roscommon eegit thought he was above the law and almost left his older siblings destitute.

Fitzgerald’s family rallied around and worked with those he owed money to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

Yeh we know what kind of engagement that was while the rest us would never get a debt writeoff like Fitzgerald and also remain living in the luxury house.

Not nonsense, the violence dished out to the family by a bunch of hired black clad goons was terrible, luckily none of the family died as a result of the horror inflicted.

You must be trolling at this stage. Died :) horror inflicted!! I’ve seen worse injuries at a kids match. A scuffed knee and a bloody nose. None of which would have happened if they had left the house when told to do so by the sheriff.

Have you proof of a second home? He co operated with those he owed money to and was treated accordingly.

The Roscommon eegit thought he was above the law and almost left his older siblings destitute.

Fitzgerald’s family rallied around and worked with those he owed money to.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/fitzgerald-says-second-house-of-no-use-to-banks-1.155366

Still no condemnation from you and fellow FG posters of the massive debt writeoff that Garret Fitzgerald received. Hypocrisy.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

bb12 wrote: »
    This is where the heretofore unmentioned 3rd brother PJ lives on his 200 acre farm
    oh ok that solves that mystery but Anthony McGann put in for house across the road http://www.eplanning.ie/RoscommonCC/AppFileRefDetails/011143/0

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/fitzgerald-says-second-house-of-no-use-to-banks-1.155366

Still no condemnation from you and fellow FG posters of the massive debt writeoff that Garret Fitzgerald received. Hypocrisy.

That link is behind a paywall. My salary doesn’t run to such extravagances.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

200.gif

Also worth remembering that at the time of his financial troubles with AIB, it's chairman was... Peter Sutherland !

The same Peter Sutherland who with Garret was also a former director of GPA, had been Garret's Attorney General, and was Garret's appointment to the European Commission.

Well for some.

That link is behind a paywall. My salary doesn’t run to such extravagances.

It's behind a paywall for me too, but you can still read the opening para. Let me help you with that...
    The former Taoiseach, Dr Garret FitzGerald, has confirmed that he owned a second house when AIB wrote off £135,000 in bad debts, but says the property represented negative equity at the time.

Enjoy !

• Administrators Posts: 53,372 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Also worth remembering that at the time of his financial troubles with AIB, it's chairman was... Peter Sutherland !

The same Peter Sutherland who with Garret was also a former director of GPA, had been Garret's Attorney General, and was Garret's appointment to the European Commission.

Well for some.
    Yep.

Former taoiseachs, farmers from Roscommon, different shades of the same shite.

Died :) horror inflicted!! I’ve seen worse injuries at a kids match. A scuffed knee and a bloody nose. None of which would have happened if they had left the house when told to do so by the sheriff.

You just judge on the bad external injuries, that awful knee injury can result in incapacitation for an old person. Elderly people suffer internal physical injuries as well as mental trauma, their bodies are not as strong as younger people to withstand violence and physically attacking them results in greater damage than that a young person would have received in similar circumstances.

• Administrators Posts: 53,372 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

You just judge on the bad external injuries, that awful knee injury can result in incapacitation for an old person. Elderly people suffer internal physical injuries as well as mental trauma, their bodies are not as strong as younger people to withstand violence and physically attacking them results in greater damage than that a young person would have received in similar circumstances.
    I heard someone flicked his snout and his head almost fell off.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

What do you consider elderly? Simple question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Omackeral wrote: »
    My mother is nearly 72, my father nearly 73 - neither are even slightly frail. And I'm watching out for things like that at this stage, because they are getting old. They are both fit and full of energy. They have a non stop social life, and are brilliant with the grandchildren (who are lunatics).

To suggest that this man in his 50s is elderly is odiously dishonest.

Omackeral wrote: »

Per dictionary definition, past middle age.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,986 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

fryup wrote: »
    ...and what Varadkar said was spot on

it wasn't no . it was shameful and contemptible and he should resign in my view.
    Mad_maxx wrote: »
    SF are economic retards and always trying to screw middle Ireland over.

no that's ffg.
    JCJCJC wrote: »
    assault is defined in the 1997 Act as:

2.—(1) A person shall be guilty of the offence of assault who, without lawful excuse, intentionally or recklessly—

(a) directly or indirectly applies force to or causes an impact on the body of another, or... etc.

The Court Messenger and Bailiffs had lawful excuse. No assault took place. Nobody’s head was bust open. The supporter who filmed the ejectment on his phone made the case for the Bailiffs.

private security are not bailiffs. these were effectively bouncers.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

My mother is nearly 72, my father nearly 73 - neither are even slightly frail. And I'm watching out for things like that at this stage, because they are getting old. They are both fit and full of energy. They have a non stop social life, and are brilliant with the grandchildren (who are lunatics).

To suggest that this man in his 50s is elderly is odiously dishonest.

And by 50s, he's actually 50 on the button :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,875 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

I think we need a hotline to CJH in his grave as to how do deal with debts and donations.

Anyway, those who have been given lots and lots of leeway to pay their just debts, but continue to flout the law need a wake up call.

I don't know what is going on here, but sounds like certain paramilitaries have scratched their itch just now anyway.

Had to laugh at Leo in the Dail with his comment to Pierce Doherty about his balaclava slipping. LOL.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,728 ✭✭✭Naos

Okay. That proves it - you're trolling.

Family could have died :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

The family would have been better off if the brother was jail for the tax evasion instead of getting into debt, however once you import scum to evict people gloves are off... **** them

Naos wrote: »
    Okay. That proves it - you're trolling.

Family could have died :pac:

No, perhaps you are?

Old people get heart attacks under stress, especially under physical violence. Heart attacks have killed people.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,986 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the violence was not of their own choosing, they were in no way to blame for it. those who caried out the violence were fully responsible.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.