Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shane Ross' new speeding penalties

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭malinheader

It wouldn't be Susan grey would it on prime time

• Registered Users Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

I'm no cheerleader for Mattie McGrath and he was fairly incoherent went he was trying to make his points... But that lady was well out of order
    Unfortunately RTE is infested with the attitude that a sob story trumps everything else. Whoever invited her on should be embarrassed. Not a fan of Mattie but he didn't merit that bizarre attack.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭GG66

These are harsh. I've been caught for speeding twice in the last 5 years within 3 days of each other.

Once doing 120kph coming off the motorway at Mullingar to a dual carriageway. Doing 120kph in a 100kph zone 150 meters after the motorway ended.

Once doing 109kph in a 100kph zone. Accelerating coming out of a village onto a 100kph road.

With the new rules I'd nearly be off the road in a few days

• Registered Users Posts: 54,727 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Proposals are way OTT, but to come out and say it will see you labeled as being anti safety..

It’s ridiculously difficult in certain areas to not break the speed limit..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

GG66 wrote: »

That's the whole idea of it. Get motorists off the road. Helps the carbon footprint and makes public transport more viable.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,532 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

GG66 wrote: »
    These are harsh. I've been caught for speeding twice in the last 5 years within 3 days of each other.

Once doing 120kph coming off the motorway at Mullingar to a dual carriageway. Doing 120kph in a 100kph zone 150 meters after the motorway ended.

Once doing 109kph in a 100kph zone. Accelerating coming out of a village onto a 100kph road.

So I guess you need to slow down then?

I think I saw 43% (to Nov this year) but will have to check. Some horrific deaths/injuries in single and multi-vehicle collisions but cars have got so much safer for the occupants while becoming bigger and faster for VRU's

So the majority of road deaths are motorists killing themselves or other motorists and passengers - and speed is a major factor in those deaths.
    gozunda wrote: »
    More cash revenue from the financial livestock who are motorists
    Speeding fines don't bring in revenue. The contract for the vans costs much more than is brought in in fines.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭august12

If Shane Ross doesn't cop the feick on soon, then we will have a country of unemployed people as most will be unable to drive to work, we don't need another set of rules. I'm fed up of these Muppets. That's my rant for the day.

Speeding fines don't bring in revenue. The contract for the vans costs much more than is brought in in fines.

Of course speeding fines bring in revenue. Huge revenue...and I wouldn’t begrudge the state/people this revenue...use it wisely for the people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭con___manx1

All speed limits are way too slow to start with.

I'd go 130/140 on the motorway regularly.

50kph zones I'd easily go 60-65kph depending on the road.

80kph zones, easily do 100kph.

If you did 100k on some of the 80k roads in the country you would end up dead fairly quick. Some of the 80k roads are 80 k roads due to Eu classifications of the type of road. In reality alot of them should be alot less. County wicklow for instance has some brutal roads that are 80k.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,626 ✭✭✭✭Ha Long Bay

Just in case anyone wasn't watching Prime Time

https://twitter.com/seanpurcellart/status/1072618368182685697

I am not so much anti the points, it’s the fooking ridiculously long time these points stay on your license. Is it still 3 years? That is just wrong...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,394 ✭✭✭NSAman

Ring of Kerry is mostly 100kph... how the F*** can those roads be 100kph?? Yet the road between newbridge and naas is an 80kph and I believe has been reduce to 60kph... its a bloody dual carriage way!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,867 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Not watching Prime Time but my 2c on the proposals are that the staggered increments to the fines and points is a good idea.
    Nobody can be accidentally doing 150km/h+ on the motorway, that's their choice and their responsibility if caught.
    Personally I'd do away with the the fines and just have the penalty points, but make the cost of getting your driving licence reinstated after a ban super expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

john4321 wrote: »
    Just in case anyone wasn't watching Prime Time

https://twitter.com/seanpurcellart/status/1072618368182685697

What a condescending bitch, an absolute muppet.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

highdef wrote: »
    You say that a HGV/coach should never be in the overtaking lane of a motorway but at the same time you state that you drive at around 80/90 on the motorway. Anything under 90 and you are holding up HGVs who may want and usually do want to go as fast as they can. As for coaches, that's a significant reduction in speed.

Are you saying that if you were driving from Galway to Dublin at 80/90, any coach or HGV that comes up behind you in the driving lane must stay there for the full length of the motorway because you feel they have no right to pass you by in the overtaking lane? You have to be kidding me :confused:
    I'll have whatever you're smoking if that's what you took from that. In any event I can't recall a situation where a HGV overtook me, or needed to overtake me in the manner you describe on a motorway/dual carriageway and there isn't a hope in hell that one would need to, nor be capable of doing so on an A or B road. Maybe my speedo is erring on the wrong side.
    It’s a ridicolous speed to be driving a car on a motorway and musn’t be much of a car if it needs to be drive at that speed to feel relaxed. My car is absolutely at ease at 160kmh on a motorway, 120kmh is so so easy and slow for it I just could not see how you need to drive at such slow speeds.
    What do you drive yourself Nox? Genuine question.
    County wicklow for instance has some brutal roads that are 80k.
    And great craic with it. Allegedly.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭JustARandomGuy

Yes, but if you are done for doing 141kmph (your actual real speed at time of detection), your speedo would have been reading in or around 150 so as far as your speedometer was concerned you would be knowingly doing about 30kmph over the indicated speed limit which is rather substantial.

It depends on the car. Mine's almost on the dot, cruise set to 66 km/h reads as 65 km/h on the M7 roadworks signs.

Realistically, Shane Ross' proposals are ludicrous, especially considering that points here don't go off for 3 years. If this comes to pass (and I'm inclined to believe it will), you will have some of the harshest speeding penalties and sadly - these will not reduce the amount of deaths on your roads. Bit of common sense and cop on is what you need on the roads now, not hitler-style penalties.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭rgodard80a

Unfortunately you also have the muppet white van men driving company vans/cars. As far as I know, if they're caught speeding and the company refuses to say who was driving or fails to keep an accurate log of who was driving, then I think they get away scot free ?

So there should be very punitive corporate fines for companies who fail to disclose their drivers for penalty points.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,532 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Unfortunately RTE is infested with the attitude that a sob story trumps everything else. Whoever invited her on should be embarrassed. Not a fan of Mattie but he didn't merit that bizarre attack.

Mattie definitely merited that bizarre attack and more, given his track record. But it was definitely off-topic and the lady didn't come across well and lost her credible.

walshb wrote: »
    Of course speeding fines bring in revenue. Huge revenue...and I wouldn’t begrudge the state/people this revenue...use it wisely for the people.

They don't bring in money, they cost money. If the State wanted money, it could cancel the contract and save a ton of money. it's about changing behaviour.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

I'm no cheerleader for Mattie McGrath and he was fairly incoherent went he was trying to make his points... But that lady was well out of order

I'm glad I wasn't the only one to think that I tried all sound options to make out what he was saying.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭mikeecho

I don't believe that that this bill will be alive after the xmas break.

It's not popular, and an election is looming

Nothing but a flash in the pan.

... and even if it was to become law, you would see a massive uptake in illegal counter measures

. Radar detectors/ Lidar jammers and number plate devices that disguise the plate.

All these devices exist, and have come on leaps and bounds in the recent years.

These devices may well be illegal.. but so is Speeding.

I know where I'd prefer to spend my money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,538 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

So if I do 131khp on m50 twice I loose my licence...that seems fair......

• Registered Users Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Mattie is a clown of the highest order but lashing out at him with incoherent soundbites and random irrelevant points wasn't really the way to tackle him. Nobody speaks for the people of Ireland unless they've been elected to speak for them. I'd rather not spend even a split second contemplating what a young Mattie may have dreamed of doing with his life, never mind assessing whether he's achieved his dreams or not and as for bringing the 8th amendment into the argument, WTF???

On the overall plan, there's merit in having a graduated system of punishment and maybe the next step is to have an open debate about what the graduations should look like as well as the severity of the punishment at each one, however, like many other laws on our statute books, they're utterly pointless without enforcement. Lord Ross seems determined to leave a legacy and he doesn't care what it is, I wonder if he's worried about his future after the next election.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭tcawley29

rgodard80a wrote: »
    Unfortunately you also have the muppet white van men driving company vans/cars. As far as I know, if they're caught speeding and the company refuses to say who was driving or fails to keep an accurate log of who was driving, then I think they get away scot free ?

So there should be very punitive corporate fines for companies who fail to disclose their drivers for penalty points.

I believe if the company cannot name/prove who was driving the vehicle they get an even larger fine than 80 euro

• Registered Users Posts: 6,170 ✭✭✭highdef

So if I do 131khp on m50 twice I loose my licence...that seems fair......
    I completely agree with you that it seems fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,325 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    So Ross is to bring his speeding penalty changes to cabinet today

From RTE :

Let's forego the usual "speed kills" and "don't speed, don't get caught" stuff shall we?

Personally I think those changes are very harsh, especially for motorway drivers where 10-20 km/h over is not at all the same as in an urban area. This doesn't seem to have been factored in, and of course even the minimum penalty is higher than it is already which given how long the points stay on your license could see many off the road very quickly.

What say ye? Proportionate or overkill?
    Needs to be as a percentage of the speed limit - i.e. 10%, 20% 30% etc. over, rather than absolute values. If done like that, it's a fair system.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

Penalty points for forgetting a driving licence. Wow.

Can we issue Shane Ross with penalty points everytime he forgets to do his job properly? A three strikes and you're out kind of thing would work nicely methinks.

So the majority of road deaths are motorists killing themselves or other motorists and passengers - and speed is a major factor in those deaths.

No it isn’t, speed is a total scapegoat and has nothing to do with the vast majority of crashes. The RSA are totally obsessed with speed and people who don’t understand things very much believe them.
    Wibbs wrote: »

What do you drive yourself Nox? Genuine question.

Golf GTI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

That seems fair and reasonable.

About 10 too high in each case.

<5% over - 1 point €80
    6-15% over - 2 points €160
    16-20% over - 3 points €320
    21-25% over - 4 points €640
    26%+ over dangerous driving, automatic 6 month ban, €2560 minimum fine

would be more apt. Give people any leeway in the roads here and the piss will be ripped.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭ectoraige

gozunda wrote: »
    More cash revenue from the financial livestock who are motorists

Except GoSafe costs around four times more to operate than the revenue we receive from fines.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,290 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Thestones wrote: »
    Speed traps are against an EU directive
    Do you have details of this?