Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is... Part 2!

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Letitrip

Drive into a VW dealer and ask for a 6k trade in allowance for you’re old Beetle and you’d be ran out of it,

that dealer probably couldn’t cut a deal with a buyer and said buy our car and we will advertise yours at what you think it’s worth known it would cost them nothing and if it does sell it’s out the door as the add states

• Registered Users Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Mjolnir

Letitrip wrote: »
    Drive into a VW dealer and ask for a 6k trade in allowance for you’re old Beetle and you’d be ran out of

Is that after they catch their breath from all the laughter ha.
    You'd need to be high to consider paying that.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,438 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Shouldn’t have Das Welt Auto (VWs used car program) plates on it if it’s sold as seen.

Andrew33 wrote: »
    I know they’re pretty scarce but €4K???

Basically a GT4 that model Rav4, all identical running gear, it’s reasonably priced maybe even cheap when yiu compare it to some carinas or corollas priced at the same money

That generation Rav4 has no nostalgic value for your average Irish person though, that’s what drives up prices for a lot of the normal Toyotas.

That’s true, nostalgia aside it’s a better quality and more unique car, long term I’d think it would be a more valuable car because of its rareness

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Has it though got GT4 running gear? I would assume the GT4 has at least one LSD on the back maybe even one on the front I'm not too sure and the GT4 would have cost a lot more when new back in Japan.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,742 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

GT4s are 3sgte but the Rav4 were 3sge non turbo

PsychoPete wrote: »
    GT4s are 3sgte but the Rav4 were 3sge non turbo

We knew that I assumed we were talking about the 4 wheel drive system each use.

What system did a standard RAV4 use for example?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Gearboxes & transfer boxes are different but interchangeable, rav4 uses an e series so E154f from the gt4 would fit in, you'd lose the centre diff lock (if it has one) but gain a 50/50 viscous centre diff, hardier internals & dual synchros.

Rear LSD was an option on that rav4, you'd have to check the car itself to see if it has one.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/vauxhall-nova-opel-corsa-a/26982620

NDMyMzc1ODBlMDgzZjRhYzczNjc3NjE4ZDBjNzQwZTXB_Nc-IB4iHxcCgWwfgUXOaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjc5OTQzMTd8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

I know 3 door Corsa A/Nova shells can be desirable, but this is surely not worth €3k?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

My grandad had one, he had a mark II escort previous to this, the escort was a smashing motor, rust let it down though.

Rally lads snapped it up, wonder is it still going....

The Corsa was dirt

Brings me back when all the boy racers had them Novas, lowered, huge rally mud flaps, big exhaust, tints plus big one on windscreen mid way down, nova or racing on the windscreen, CB antenna, yellow plates, stupid font on plates etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭FDave

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/vw-golf-4motion/26978170

MzUzNTcwMDc0NTg0ODg3NjUxYTI2ZDkwMzdhOTAzMDlQ85NFnam2-E4wFzOOZBy_aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgwOTczMjZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

4motion golf for €5250 or you could buy an A3 quattro for about 2k less.

FDave wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/vw-golf-4motion/26978170

MzUzNTcwMDc0NTg0ODg3NjUxYTI2ZDkwMzdhOTAzMDlQ85NFnam2-E4wFzOOZBy_aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgwOTczMjZ8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

4motion golf for €5250 or you could buy an A3 quattro for about 2k less.

But its super rare and collectable... hahaha
    You can pick up a gti for less or an s3 for the same money (on dd)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Ha ha that Golf.

Somebody has been sniffing the old glue.

Mk5 Escort RS 2000. These were a dreadful yoke. The MK5 in general was a horrid car, with no redeeming features. Putting a 150hp lump in the RS model did not do much to improve anything.

Asking as near as makes no difference €12k, and not even an NCT.

You can get nice examples out of the UK with half the mileage for half the price. Not that you would be bothered.

8S0Kk91.jpg

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/escort-rs2000/26989382

Tzardine wrote: »
    Mk5 Escort RS 2000. These were a dreadful yoke. The MK5 in general was a horrid car, with no redeeming features. Putting a 150hp lump in the RS model did not do much to improve anything.

Asking as near as makes no difference €12k, and not even an NCT.

You can get nice examples out of the UK with half the mileage for half the price. Not that you would be bothered.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/escort-rs2000/26989382

It would be a good buy if it was a lot cheaper. Look like nice seats in it too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,503 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

****ing hell that's bad.

How did the paintwork in the spare wheel well end up so damaged?

I know they are going up in value but there's no getting away from 17 previous Irish owners, or just one fella who didn't like paying tax but i'd say it's the former.

****ing hell that's bad.

I know they are going up in value but there's no getting away from 17 previous Irish owners, or just one fella who didn't like paying tax but i'd say it's the former.

On the well in boot, looks like stuff was left to move around, metal on metal...

I imagine that many of the 235,572 km on it were hard ones too.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Probably only done around 100k kms in a straight line!

Rubber rings on a street corner near you.....

****ing hell that's bad.

I'd say its been passed around like a blunt in snoop doggs house, then the obvious tax avoiding measures.
    We all know its been dogged by young fellas if it saw 80,000 easy km I'd be amazed

I'd say the back seat has some stories to tell.....

If anyone buys it, black light the inside for the craic and show us the results

• Registered Users Posts: 4,139 ✭✭✭shanec1928

This “stunning” yoke has been for sale for a few years now at the same dealer. Mental money.

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/18882421

• Registered Users Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭User1998

Its not even worth half that

Not even a GTD