Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Quick question when are the board of fai going to come back with their answers from yesterday. I'm sure they mentioned today but could be wrong.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

@necro

Not sure you followed what i posted.

1 - People here are asking for investment IN LOI. I'm saying more money would presumably find its way to players at first team level, if priize money was increased e.g.. Which I have no interest in, FAI also seems to have little interest.

2 - The group looking to spend 40m (of tax money) on academies, is an example of how some people are saying to throw money at the League of Ireland in a different way. Again, I don't agree with this, as I think it's a money maker for those in charge. Is unnecessary at the moment and STILL their ultimate goal is to farm out players to England.

But other sports are already doing that.

See GAA - Centres of Excellence in many counties.

Rugby has the Rugby Academy in Kildare.

Both have similar goals, the development of the sport at a young age.

This proposal seems to be exactly that for soccer. Not really seeing the issue with the proposal.

All major PL clubs have dedicated academies. Why should Ireland be any different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

mugsymugsy wrote: »
    Quick question when are the board of fai going to come back with their answers from yesterday. I'm sure they mentioned today but could be wrong.

I'd guess that anything which wasn't obtained by them verbally by 6pm yesterday probably never will be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

D14Rugby wrote: »
    So the national underage leagues were just set up for the craic?

No. They were set up to allow the best players in each area train with and compete against the best players in that area. It's NOT a LOI thing. What LOI club are all the kerry teams with? What about the Mayo team? Or the Kildare team? Or the Monaghan/Cavan team?

And also, about 25 players make these squads. There's still 100s more in the counties NOT on those squads that develop playing with their local club.

Necro wrote: »
    But other sports are already doing that.

See GAA - Centres of Excellence in many counties.

Rugby has the Rugby Academy in Kildare.

Both have similar goals, the development of the sport at a young age.

This proposal seems to be exactly that for soccer. Not really seeing the issue with the proposal.

All major PL clubs have dedicated academies. Why should Ireland be any different?

but soccer isn't any different. We have the underage leagues now. And we also have numerous divisions in every county at every age group.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Speaking for my own club, for the majority of underage players, Bohemian FC is their local club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭D14Rugby

No. They were set up to allow the best players in each area train with and compete against the best players in that area. It's NOT a LOI thing. What LOI club are all the kerry teams with? What about the Mayo team? Or the Kildare team? Or the Monaghan/Cavan team?

And also, about 25 players make these squads. There's still 100s more in the counties NOT on those squads that develop playing with their local club.

You've said some ****e on here but that's impressive by even your high standards as I've said multiple other times that's the FAI's own description of it. It doesn't matter if its not all the players. You stated you were in favour of underage funding, if you don't fund LOI clubs then their underage players (who are the best in the country) aren't being funded which goes against what you said.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Huh? I think you need to look at the underage leagues again. I'm almost certain all of the LOI clubs with the exception of UCD have underage teams in the leagues right down to Under 13.

That the other regions which don't have a LOI club nearby are also being facilitated with their development squad is a very good thing as well.

It's under the same sponsor and all, you can view the fixtures here:

https://cms.sseairtricityleague.ie/sites/default/files/inline-files/2019%20Season%20-%20SSE%20Airtricity%20National%20U13%20League.pdf

Huh? I think you need to look at the underage leagues again. I'm almost certain all of the LOI clubs with the exception of UCD have underage teams in the leagues right down to Under 13.

That the other regions which don't have a LOI club nearby are also being facilitated with their development squad is a very good thing as well.

It's under the same sponsor and all, you can view the fixtures here:

https://cms.sseairtricityleague.ie/sites/default/files/inline-files/2019%20Season%20-%20SSE%20Airtricity%20National%20U13%20League.pdf

UCD also have underage teams all the way down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Ah lads (and lasses), it's just post count upping at this stage. Every point will get a response, best not to feed.

I think you'll find you're the one talking ****e

There are what? 20ish LOI teams? Theres probably 200 non-LOI teams with players that need developing too. That's where the money should go IMO.

And furthermore, you're arguing against so many posts on here. Saying LOI needs more funding, then you're pointing out the huge funding that is going into the U13,15,17 and 19 leagues right now.

UCD also have underage teams all the way down

Ah, so they do :o

Sorry fans of UCD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

PFA Ireland speaking out against the board https://twitter.com/PFAIOfficial/status/1116385584933756929?s=19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

As has always been the case they won't give a tiny rats arse what the domestic players think, but now we're talking...

https://twitter.com/The42_ie/status/1116381608158822401?s=19

As has always been the case they won't give a tiny rats arse what the domestic players think, but now we're talking...

*Insert Metallica video here*

For Whom The Bell Tolls....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Ah, so they do :o

Sorry fans of UCD!

Good you apologized, you could have offended dozens of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,208 ✭✭✭✭kippy

bohsman wrote: »
    Yes it's fantastic if players end up in the PL with good careers but if the English FA came out and said that they were hoping their investments would lead to the best players going to la liga how would it be viewed?

That's not the point I was making.
    The point I was making is that the state puts massive amounts of money into education, often times without any 'return'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,156 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Good you apologized, you could have offended dozens of people.

Dermot Morgan was asked at one stage why he supported UCD -

"Because I don't like crowds."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

kippy wrote: »
    The point I was making is that the state puts massive amounts of money into education, often times without any 'return'.

But overall with great return, investing in a skilled workforce has worked out fantastically for Ireland, especially with the low corporation tax. If they were investing all that money in education with one of their main goals being to send the best to the UK workforce it would be as strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,370 ✭✭✭✭listermint

More of the same.

I sent correspondence to all their sponsors today questioning the alliance with a board and CEO that displays such irresponsible corporate governance and questioning if they wish to associate their brand with that.

And I urge everyone else to do the same

Supporters clubs should ask all members to do the same.

This charade needs to end.. Irish football needs a new start

kippy wrote: »

People aren't being educated with the intention of them going abroad though, the intention is that they stay and attract multinationals because of the educated workforce which is basically what's happening. So there is a 'return'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Not sure if it was posted, stolen from YBIG forum and must say very well spotted by the person posting it:

https://www.oireachtas.ie/en/oireachtas-tv/video-archive/committees/

"The exchange starts at 3.34:00 and the exact second Conway whispers to delaney is 3.35.18. Delaneys solicitor whispered to him to get conway to get a copy of the statement, and conway totally ignores him.
    Delaney whispers something inaudable back to conway after conway said "You signed off on that didn't you"

Has anyome contacted sponsors to show how happy they are with delaney?

Is there a template? (Ima too astoopid to write a email bya myselfs)

Hopefully it includes "john delaney is class and any product he endorses, whatever it costs, myself and my extended family will buy 10,000 each."

Maybe if we buy ****loads of sponsors stuff theyll stick by delaneys side

Hmmmmmmm, it looks like Chancer's counter protest is not working out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

The trouble with expressing all this displeasure with sponsors is that if you scare them away will they come back ? How long will it take to get them back ? Any monies already paid over for sponsorship is long gone and they won't be getting refunded on it so why would they ask for their signage /logos /advertisements to be taken down.
    If they were to walk, prompted by people contacting them regarding that sponsorship, football in this country suffers from an even bigger fall in income. A fall that won't be felt at the top but at the bottom.
    The sentiment is good but the negative nett effect could be felt for a long, long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

The trouble with expressing all this displeasure with sponsors is that if you scare them away will they come back ? How long will it take to get them back ? Any monies already paid over for sponsorship is long gone and they won't be getting refunded on it so why would they ask for their signage /logos /advertisements to be taken down.
    If they were to walk, prompted by people contacting them regarding that sponsorship, football in this country suffers from an even bigger fall in income. A fall that won't be felt at the top but at the bottom.
    The sentiment is good but the negative nett effect could be felt for a long, long time.

Do you believe JD and his mates will leave without pressure from all sides???
    The FAI board chairman said yesterday infront of the committee they would do anything needed to get funding back....;);)
    Time for them to step down or be caught out telling fibbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

While I see your point I think people are hoping that pressure from sponsors would force the FAI to change approach rather than ditch them entirely.

Sponsorship is another area where the FAI haven’t done as well as they should have. The IRFU get a lot more from Vodafone than the FAI get from Three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭secman

Pretty lame statements from main sponsors tonight. I haven't sent my emails to them yet, will be doing them fri evening.

I will be making the point that the FAI is owned by the the football fraternity, it is totally and morally unacceptable that one person can treat it as a cash cow for himself. The board need to be reminded that they are merely custodians of the FAI and are accountable to the football fraternity. Delaney has tried to make himself indispensable with his UEFA connection, just like Hickey in the OCI, he was our only IOC delegate, since he was removed the OCI now have 3 IOC delegates.
    We need to keep the pressure on and get wholesale changes in the make up of the custodians of the FAI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,208 ✭✭✭✭kippy

People aren't being educated with the intention of them going abroad though, the intention is that they stay and attract multinationals because of the educated workforce which is basically what's happening. So there is a 'return'

There's no "return" for the teachers and nurses and others that spend 4 years in the college system and go abroad straight out of college. These are a small minority of the amount of people that go through college, in the same way that footballers who go to England are a small percentage of all the footballers in the country.
    We should not be stopping LoI clubs developing players in case they end up going over to England in the same way that we should not stop people following their own career path in other walks of live, even though the state has invested heavily in them.

I'm not sure why this point is so difficult to grasp.

Anway, I digress, this is taking the focus off JD and the FAI and their actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,144 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Playing up his UEFA connection, and the importance thereof, really irks me.

I mean if he is no longer there, and Ireland fail in a bid as a host for a major tournament somewhere down the line, it won't have anything to do with a lack of JD. It will have to do with Ireland having poor infrastructure to host such an event among other things.

UEFA aren't exactly the bastions of sound financial management themselves. If anything it is living proof of the ould Irish tradition of talent being trumped by 'sure I know a fella'.