Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

At the time Delaney was FAI CEO LOI teams progressed further than they ever did previously in European club competitions, Irish soccer got a new stadium, hosted a major European final, and hosted games in Euro 2020.

In the years before Delaney was CEO the FAI Irish soccer could only dream of the above.

Read that back in 2039 or 2049.

Dundalk were in the last 16 of the European Cup many years before JD! :cool:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

If you bothered to read my opening post about this you would see that I am talking about legacy.

Yeah but half the stuff you mention aren't achievements and dont deserve to be attributed to him.

So his 'legacy' will be of a time when Sporting Ireland withdrew state funding as he played pass the 100k bank transfer with the organisation he is employed by.

At the time Delaney was FAI CEO LOI teams progressed further than they ever did previously in European club competitions, Irish soccer got a new stadium, hosted a major European final, and hosted games in Euro 2020.

In the years before Delaney was CEO the FAI Irish soccer could only dream of the above.

Read that back in 2039 or 2049.

Well, like..yeah. There are 12 host countries for Euro 2020, there used to be 1 "in the years before Delaney".

"In the years before Delaney" we had Lansdowne Road. I'd say almost every European country has upgraded their National Stadium in the last 15 years. Before Delaney we didn't have to distribute free tickets to schoolkids to pad out plummeting attendances.

We hosted the Intertoto/Europa Cup. Smaller cities have hosted it, like Basel and Copenhagen. It's hardly the stuff of dreams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Cyrus wrote: »
    Didn’t lodge it in the books ? What do you mean ? Unless they gave up reconciling their bank accounts there was a record of it , it wasn’t disclosed in a note to the accounts is what you mean I think.

Why was it never discussed at board meetings? Why did only three people know on the board?
    Why did John Delaney take an injunction out to stop the reporting?
    Why did he refuse to answer questions today?

If all is fine then great but he should answer bloody questions.

He and others on the fai board oversaw the spending a few million euro of public funds each year and yet it's ok for that behaviour and governance that took place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,819 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I don't know the answer, I could not give a f%%k about the answer, I'm saying that in years to come history will be better to Delaney than it is right now
    What you said was that Delaney had 'a lot to do' with LOI clubs success in the EL. That's a specific claim - not just that it happened on his watch.

Why make such claims if you 'could not give a f%%k' if they are true or not.
    It's embarrassing stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,132 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

mugsymugsy wrote:
    Why was it never discussed at board meetings? Why did only three people know on the board? Why did John Delaney take an injunction out to stop the reporting? Why did he refuse to answer questions today?

Ah in fairness no one buys that crap that only three board members knew about the 'loan'.

FAI have released several conflicting statements on the issue.

They did know, they didn't know, blah blah blah...

They all knew, and it was probably something they dont want coming to light given the legal advice Delaney got, the attempted injunction, the conflicting statements, the refusal to have accounts forensically examined.

Something is rotten in the state of Denmark. And its not the scoreline this time round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,823 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

mugsymugsy wrote: »
    Why was it never discussed at board meetings? Why did only three people know on the board?
    Why did John Delaney take an injunction out to stop the reporting?
    Why did he refuse to answer questions today?

If all is fine then great but he should answer bloody questions.

He and others on the fai board oversaw the spending a few million euro of public funds each year and yet it's ok for that behaviour and governance that took place.

No idea but you said it wasn’t recorded in the books, it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Necro wrote: »
    Again and this question needs to be answered if it's an achievement.

What exactly did Delaney do in regards to the LOI clubs qualifying for Europe?

Please be specific.

Was it... providing funding...? Nope.
    They actually withheld Dundalks prize money which has been documented repeatedly.

Not only do the FAI not provide funding to the league - they actively take money out of it. Up to €1M a year, between the men's and women's leagues.

Clubs provide the vast majority of funding for league prize money through affiliation fees, as well as fines (it's €25 for every yellow and €50 for every red - for perspective, it's £10 for a yellow/red in the English Premier League). Then there's league sponsorship and TV money. Top clubs like City, Dundalk and Shamrock Rovers are able to negotiate six-figure deals for their main club sponsors. The entire league is well able to demand a couple of hundred grand for a main sponsor. Before the FAI ran the league, and in the Setanta Cup, clubs used to get €5,000-€10,000 in TV rights for a match to be broadcast. Given there are about 25 live games a season, that's another hefty six-figure some that doesn't make its way down to the clubs. And there's the grants from UEFA to assist in running domestic leagues. Grants that league clubs didn't even know existed and only found out from speaking with their counterparts at UEFA draws. Clubs have continually been refused access to the league's accounts for about a decade. There's absolutely no transparency when it comes to the league's finances.

A financially struggling league funds the national association by multiples of its prize money. What kind of system is that? The fact that two clubs managed to make it to the Europa League group stages this decade in spite of all this is remarkable, to be honest. But that's clearly what it was - in spite of the national association, not because of it.

An immediate response from the FAI would be to have the 2 independant members, as suggested in the Genesis Reoprt, co-opted on to the board immediately. Implement the 2 terms of office rule and have an agreement that members that have served longer than 8 years will stand down at the next AGM. Ideally an EGM should be held asap to do this but lets allow some leeway for a transition period. Agree to allow questions from the floor at AGMs to promote at minimum a sense of transparency rather than the North Koreanesque choreographed allowance of media involvement at the AGM.

If there is genuinely nothing amiss and everything is in order bar the oversight of someone acting in the best interests of the association by offering a personal loan then for the sake of improving public opinion allow the suggested forensic examination of accounts. This does not have to involve releasing to the public domain salaries, expenses or pensions etc. Simply that a Dept of Sport PAC appointed independant auditor can roll in net week have a look at everything and report back that this 100k issue was an anomaly, a daft thing to do but now more. Publish FAI board minutes bar the closed minutes but allow those minutes to be forwarded to SI for oversight for a set period. Ensure that the new Eecutive VP is simply an admin role, and advisor to the board but not involved directly in decision making. It is common practice in many such non corporate organisations where the non executive members give their reports, advice, then leave the committe room to allow the elected members debate and then vote on the final outcome - also minuted. The keystone in this system is a general secretary who in conjuncton with the chair keeps things within the framework of the organisation's 'constitution'.

At the AGM the non executive officers give their reports and take questions from the membership. Its not difficult to implement quickly. Let things go in terms of the questions around the current resignation and appointment of the EVP. Put a limit on personal and sundry expensis. You could even rotate the independant observers from withing the Dept of Sports/ SI if there was a reluctance to appoint outsiders as board members with a vote. Signing off on grants etc should not be in the hands of one person anyway so there goes the fear factor of upsetting one individual. Employ a Community Liason that attends the switching on of a set of training lights ceremony, the president should be the person who formally represents the organisation and the CEO is little heard of, certainly not a wannabe celebrity courting the limelight and signing autographs. If thats the desire stand for election to the Dail!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Yeah but half the stuff you mention aren't achievements and dont deserve to be attributed to him.

So his 'legacy' will be of a time when Sporting Ireland withdrew state funding as he played pass the 100k bank transfer with the organisation he is employed by.

I think you are going to be disappointed.

Many hoped today would be some great revealing moment where Delaney was cornered and all came out in the wash.

But it ended up a damp squib.

Unless he gets charged and convicted with some major fraud then he will head off into the sunset and his "legacy" will be a good one when analysed in years to come.

I know that's not what people want to hear but that is what will happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,597 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Many hoped today would be some great revealing moment where Delaney was cornered and all came out in the wash.

Unless he gets charged and convicted with some major fraud then he will head off into the sunset and his "legacy" will be a good one when analysed in years to come.

As far as information goes, we got nothing. But as far as publicity, and public perception go, today was as bad for Delaney as if there actually were big revelations.

The arrogance and obstinance of his performance today won't be quickly forgotten I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Delusional nonsense.

That just isnt going to be the case (imo as nobody knows for sure). Just because the international side were riding the crest of a wave from '88 - '94 does not mean that people look back fondly on the FAI and the blazers in Merrion Square of the time, with an odd exception. They were still generally seen as a poorly run organisation, a feeling of funny business going on, infighting and cronyism and that despite of being ranked in and near the top ten in the world at one point.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    As far as information goes, we got nothing. But as far as publicity, and public perception go, today was as bad for Delaney as if there actually were big revelations.

The arrogance and obstinance of his performance today won't be quickly forgotten I think.

Ah come on

Delaney has hardly had the greatest of public perceptions before now has he ?

This thread would not be 132 pages long if he had.

Maybe, but I doubt it. I've said it before now there's blood in the water regarding the FAI, supporters have already protested, public figures are openly speaking out against them.

I cant see Delaney being able to slither away from this one.

Let's not forget the entire IOC was routed a few years ago primarily due to public pressure.

The media is going to slaughter them tomorrow, I really dont think this is the last we'll hear of it.

That being said if Irish football supporters are serious about change they need to mobilise themselves as well.
    Public protests before games will get much more coverage now the knives are already out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy

Cyrus wrote: »
    No idea but you said it wasn’t recorded in the books, it was.

apologies I should have said It wasn't noted in the annual accounts and that could contravene the companies act - about 3/4 way down in this article it mentions it

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/new-fai-role-for-delaney-was-created-only-after-loan-discovery-1.3855955?mode=amp

Nesta99 wrote: »
    That just isnt going to be the case (imo as nobody knows for sure). Just because the international side were riding the crest of a wave from '88 - '94 does not mean that people look back fondly on the FAI and the blazers in Merrion Square of the time, with an odd exception. They were still generally seen as a poorly run organisation, a feeling of funny business going on, infighting and cronyism and that despite of being ranked in and near the top ten in the world at one point.

Ok so this is kind of making my point

Bad and all as the perception of Delaney and the FAI is, it's still better than it was at the time of the FAI and the blazers in Merrion Square as you put it.

And whereas their legacy is that of being the guys who blew the money and goodwill from the success and popularity of the national team at the time, this edition of the FAI will be seen as one that delivered what I mentioned in my first post about this.

Maybe, but I doubt it. I've said it before now there's blood in the water regarding the FAI, supporters have already protested, public figures are openly speaking out against them.

I cant see Delaney being able to slither away from this one.

Let's not forget the entire IOC was routed a few years ago primarily due to public pressure.

The media is going to slaughter them tomorrow, I really dont think this is the last we'll hear of it.

That being said if Irish football supporters are serious about change they need to mobilise themselves as well.
    Public protests before games will get much more coverage now the knives are already out.

Well do Irish supporters really matter that much ?

As I said, Delaney's support comes from the grassroots, from people who might never bother going to an international but are out every night of the week training kids, doing local fundraising, washing jerseys etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,657 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Anyone watching "The Tonight Show"

They are on about John Delaney, Healy-Rae is such a National Embarrassment and why he's in the likes of committee meeting today is beyond me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,597 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Ah come on

Delaney has hardly had the greatest of public perceptions before now has he ?

This thread would not be 132 pages long if he had.

Yeah, but this forum is full of football fanatics, so its not really representative of a wider audience.

Your average person wouldn't really have known all that much about him either way. But now they will, as this story has become totally inescapable, and he comes out of it fairly terribly in every single thing he's done so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

There's between three and five people who will remember his legacy as you describe. All of them have posted on this thread.
    The rest of the folks in the country will remember his legacy as it should be remembered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,337 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

He can’t answer questions on a 100,000 payment he made to the FAI?!

As I said, Delaney's support comes from the grassroots, from people who might never bother going to an international but are out every night of the week training kids, doing local fundraising, washing jerseys etc

The grassroots support is an angle that's grossly oversold tbh.

I know a lot of the local clubs round my neck of the woods that won't vocalise it for fear of sanction by their own league which is controlled by one of his puppets, but they all want to see the whole board resign.

This 'support' is actually from fools like Healy Rae who think that a few quid for some floodlights represents good basic governance.

Most aren't that foolish though. I mean, again, providing funding for facilities is one of the remits for the FAI. Its what should be done at a minimum, not counted as some sort of achievement.

Delaney himself thinks differently.

He spent a fortune trying to suppress a story knowing very well what it will do to his reputation and legacy.

He was always going to win today's joust. But we're a long way off Sport Ireland having the confidence to reinstate grants though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Headshot wrote: »
    Anyone watching "The Tonight Show"

They are on about John Delaney, Healy-Rae is such a National Embarrassment and why he's in the likes of committee meeting today is beyond me

He's not even on the committee, he was there waiting all day for his moment to get in the news. absolute disgrace.

Has anyone contacted sponsors to convey their disapproval ?

If so is there a template knocking about ?

Hope it includes ‘I will also encourage my family and friend to follow me’

Surely enough LOI fans will be more than happy to show how unhappy they are and all get on board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Has anyome contacted sponsors to show how happy they are with delaney?

Is there a template? (Ima too astoopid to write a email bya myselfs)

Hopefully it includes "john delaney is class and any product he endorses, whatever it costs, myself and my extended family will buy 10,000 each."

Maybe if we buy ****loads of sponsors stuff theyll stick by delaneys side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Annd9

Surely enough LOI fans will be more than happy to show how unhappy they are and all get on board.

Loi fans have been protesting for years against Delaney but were ignored and even abused by Irish "Fans" in some cases
    . Have a look at this video , it is the day Monaghan Utd went bust . Look at the reaction a Loi fan gets when he tells honest John a few home truths https://youtu.be/affbvK4UZgc .

This current situation needed to happen for people to finally cop on and I honestly hope it gets worse so we can finally talk about changing Irish football.
    This is from 2008 on John's home turf ...
    2qd536q.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

He's not even on the committee, he was there waiting all day for his moment to get in the news. absolute disgrace.

Must have sweet f all else to do