Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Delaney at the FAI Thread - (Mod Notes in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,096 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Muahahaha wrote: »
    Think this doc will be better than the TV3 one. Richie Saddlier, Brian Kerr and Catherine Murphy TD are some of the contributors. In the ad for it Brian Kerr says that Delaney reminds him of Trump.

Yorkie? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,785 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Looking forward to this - the TV3 one was just an interview really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Bumping the thread since this is on RTE 1 tonight at 9:35pm. Looks like it could be a decent watch based on the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,703 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Another bump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,760 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Imagiine spending 80k on a birthday party, he really was some sham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

What an absolute scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,908 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

The AGM videos my god...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,760 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Brian Kerr getting the boot in nicely there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Would love to have a Gogglebox type thing with Delaney watching something like this. How the hell does he justify it to himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,220 ✭✭✭shanec1928

Would love to have a Gogglebox type thing with Delaney watching something like this. How the hell does he justify it to himself
    He still thinks he has done nothing wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,096 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

How the hell does he justify it to himself

How did others justify it??

An incompetent bully allowed to just walk over spineless c*nts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

This documentary really pisses all over the Virgin Media one from a great height. Excellent archive footage. RTE with a rare gem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,583 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

This documentary really pisses all over the Virgin Media one from a great height. Excellent archive footage. RTE with a rare gem.

That was more of a book review to be honest.

I'll watch this tomorrow. I don't want my night ruined looking at his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

The way he treated his Scottish counterpart showed a petulant, infantile side of him that I hadn't been aware of. I can see what Kerr meant with the Trump comparison.

One of the worst people that Irish sport ever had the misfortune of having thrust upon it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Wasn't a bad show, some good interviews with the Scottish counterpart. It would have been nice if they included a bit more of the LOI fans backlash against him that was going on for a good while before the national team one. They seemed to suggest that the YBIG guys were the first ones to dare have banners, chants about Delaney.

Also having been at one of the Festival of Football events in a work context, they were every bit as ego massaging as the short clips suggest. A small story about it, because the entrance to the football ground at which it took place wasn't wide enough, Delaney was extremely annoyed that the bus couldn't be driven in to the awaiting people that had come and instead they all had to walk the long entranceway in with much less chariot like effect :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

sugarman wrote: »
    <Mod snip>
    theres still some satisfaction knowing just how much his downfall has hurt his own ego and public image. The money is one thing to him, but from over the years its blatantly obvious that he really cares what people think of him and how hes viewed along with his need for constant positive attention. Along with the need to be loved/worshiped and forever told how great he is no matter how false it was.

Kerr and Dan McDonnel had their comparisons spot on with Trump and North Korea.

Delaney always struck me as the sort of fella that wasn't ever popular when he was a kid and would try anything now to be popular to make up for it. He also looked like a bit of an eejit. Between the yokel-esque look on his face, the ridiculous hair style and a dress sense that makes even me look fashionable (and I know less than nothing about fashion), I always thought of him as a bit of a joke. The tie throwing, the drinking escapades and the playing to the crowd only solidified my view that he was a man that was desperate to be popular.

I was surprised to hear Sadlier say that he was actually good company and quite charismatic. He obviously must have been to find favour with a lot of the people he did. Guess I shouldn't judge a book by its cover.

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Delaney always struck me as the sort of fella that wasn't ever popular when he was a kid and would try anything now to be popular to make up for it. He also looked like a bit of an eejit. Between the yokel-esque look on his face, the ridiculous hair style and a dress sense that makes even me look fashionable (and I know less than nothing about fashion), I always thought of him as a bit of a joke. The tie throwing, the drinking escapades and the playing to the crowd only solidified my view that he was a man that was desperate to be popular

I've met him and he was fairly charismatic. Then again I've met Bertie Ahern and he was charismatic too. Well able to chat, pat kids on the head, tell a dodgy joke, "what are you having yourself" etc. The greatest rogues are usually the most affable people, chancers don't come with a neon sign over their heads.

I agree with the above analysis though, I think that whole Emma English "we're so in love" stuff was almost pathetically needy, a person with some deep inferiority/insecurity who needed to show everyone that he had hit the jackpot in money, success, relationships etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Delaney always struck me as the sort of fella that wasn't ever popular when he was a kid and would try anything now to be popular to make up for it. He also looked like a bit of an eejit. Between the yokel-esque look on his face, the ridiculous hair style and a dress sense that makes even me look fashionable (and I know less than nothing about fashion), I always thought of him as a bit of a joke. The tie throwing, the drinking escapades and the playing to the crowd only solidified my view that he was a man that was desperate to be popular.

I was surprised to hear Sadlier say that he was actually good company and quite charismatic. He obviously must have been to find favour with a lot of the people he did. Guess I shouldn't judge a book by its cover.

Absolutely the same reason why he used to slobber all over the girlfriend in public like the virgin kid who finally got a Mrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,656 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

YBIG lads are odd bunch.

I'm pretty sure plenty of them took their tickets and sang Ole with Delaney

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

I've met him and he was fairly charismatic. Then again I've met Bertie Ahern and he was charismatic too. Well able to chat, pat kids on the head, tell a dodgy joke, "what are you having yourself" etc. The greatest rogues are usually the most affable people, chancers don't come with a neon sign over their heads.

I agree with the above analysis though, I think that whole Emma English "we're so in love" stuff was almost pathetically needy, a person with some deep inferiority/insecurity who needed to show everyone that he had hit the jackpot in money, success, relationships etc.

I get it with Bertie to be honest. Always seemed like the sort of fella you'd have a pint with but you wouldn't let him look after the Christmas money.

Delaney just always seemed like a complete twat to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,599 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

It was good but perhaps could have done with a second part to flesh out the corruption .
    Maybe the book goes into that in more detail or there could be legal issues preventing it being aired at the moment.
    RTE make excellent documentaries in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,207 ✭✭✭✭kippy

It was a good piece.
    It would be great to see another one in 3 or 4 years time reviewing what happens with JD between now and then.

The activities that the partook in SHOULD result in further sanctions for him, and serious ones at that.

But we will see how deep and how far his contacts and charisma go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭ozzy jr

YBIG lads are odd bunch.

They really are.

The way they go on about their "singing section", you'd swear it was like a Boca v River Plate game, yet you barely hear a peep out of them all game :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,618 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Is this up on the Rte player. I can't find it.

YBIG lads are odd bunch.

I'm pretty sure plenty of them took their tickets and sang Ole with Delaney

Yeah many of them have an extremely high opinion of themselves view themselves as uber supporters etc

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,842 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

billyhead wrote: »
    Is this up on the Rte player. I can't find it.
    https://www.rte.ie/player/movie/the-john-delaney-story/162105896088

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,267 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Healy Rae didn’t cover himself in glory either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

The documentary was fairly harmless.

I don't think anything new was unearthed.

I was hoping for a "Rock Bottom" out of The Simpsons :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,609 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

joeysoap wrote: »
    Healy Rae didn’t cover himself in glory either

Man Is an absolute idiot.
    No doubt he would still stand by his comments too.

How that man can get so much support in this country speaks volumes.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Man Is an absolute idiot.
    No doubt he would still stand by his comments too.

How that man can get so much support in this country speaks volumes.

He has just been on radio kerry apologising for his comments would you believe obviously he's been getting stick for them.