Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Madeleine McCann

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Mike9832

splinter65 wrote: »
    Is that the evidence of sedation that the documentary offered? That’s interesting because in all the foresnsic investigation by 2 police forces over 10 years including drug testing of the twins, no evidence of sedation has ever been discovered.

The twins were drug tested immediately after?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

She wandered out herself, something happened (car accident/paedo)
    limnam wrote: »
    Apparently they drank a bottle of wine at 8pm. got to the restraunt at 830

Fairly quick bottle of wine

They were at the restaurant for another what hour and a half?

If they kept that pace up. They were fairly well on I'd say

Do you have any evidence of the amount of drink taken that night?

No. Do YOU have any evidence to prove any of your allegations ? None? In the real world if I accuse you linman of being a thief, then I would have to prove that you were a thief. In your world I can say that you are a thief and it’s up to you to prove that your not a thief.
    Can you not see that that’s what your doing?
    Your making up lies about people and suggesting that it’s up to the people who don’t believe your lies to disprove the lies.

Mike9832 wrote: »
    The twins were drug tested immediately after?

No the twins were drug tested in August when any drugs administered in the previous 6 months would still be in their hair. No drugs were found.

5 bottles of wine between 7 people isn’t really a lot. You forgot there were 7 adults? There! I’ve reminded you! No need to thank me....

Does it really matter how drunk they were?

Most decent people wouldn't even leave a dog on it's own in a foreign environment to go drinking, never mind young kids/babies

No the twins were drug tested in August when any drugs administered in the previous 6 months would still be in their hair. No drugs were found.

Hard drugs

What about over the counter stuff like Calpol/Antihistamines?

Most decent people wouldn't even leave a dog on it's own in a foreign environment to go drinking, never mind young kids/babies

It matters because 5 bottles of wine between 7 people indicates around 3 glasses of wine each, even if we believe that all the bottles were finished and some didn’t drink as much as others. It matters because 3 glasses of wine would mean no one was
    Pissed
    Intoxicated
    On the lash
    Langured
    Or any of the other lies made up in this thread who don’t like the truth and prefer their own version of the story, even though they know it’s not true.
    Also if it doesn’t matter how drunk they were then why do you want to talk about it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Trekker09

Gringo180 wrote: »
    With regards the getting pissed comment its reported by the detectives that the McCanns consumed 5 bottles of wine between them that night. I think it was Kate that told them that.

You've worded that as if the McCanns themselves drank 5 bottles of wine between them!! From what I can see on google that was the quantity the group drank.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,733 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

5 bottles of wine between 7 people isn’t really a lot. You forgot there were 7 adults? There! I’ve reminded you! No need to thank me....

There were 9 at the table. The waiter didn't seem to think their consumption was out of the ordinary:
    Jeronimo Salcedas on May 6 2007, says:

“When asked, he said that they would normally stay at the restaurant until 23.30 - 24.00, although some of them would leave earlier, at about 23.00. They were people who showed their satisfaction with the food and would consume on average 8 bottles of wine (4 red, 4 white) between the nine of them, which he considered to be normal consumption for a group of such a number.”

Hard drugs

What about over the counter stuff like Calpol/Antihistamines?

Terence Stephenson, professor of child health at Nottingham University, believes their use by parents may be misguided.
    "Paracetamol doesn't have any sedative properties whatsoever and neither does Nurofen," he says. "It's a widespread misconception that Calpol helps children to sleep. Doctors used to prescribe antihistamines to help children sleep, but not any longer."

Here you go.

Yes it does, especially when several people have stated that they were 'boozing'.

That inference si wrong as there is a massive difference between having a few glasses of wine and going on a bender. How many parents have a glass or 3 of wine when they out the kids to bed? Unwinding but hardly 'boozing' now is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Trekker09 wrote:
    Surely that depends on the amount consumed as well as drinking while eating.

Have two glasses get in the car and see how you get on with the Guards.

cnocbui wrote: »
    There were 9 at the table. The waiter didn't seem to think their consumption was out of the ordinary:

Thanks cnocbui. That’s a glass and a 1/2 each. So much for them getting pissed.

Terence Stephenson, professor of child health at Nottingham University, believes their use by parents may be misguided.
    "Paracetamol doesn't have any sedative properties whatsoever and neither does Nurofen," he says. "It's a widespread misconception that Calpol helps children to sleep. Doctors used to prescribe antihistamines to help children sleep, but not any longer."

Here you go.

Is that an opinion or fact?

But they weren't driving were they? Whats your point?

Thanks cnocbui. That’s a glass and a 1/2 each. So much for them getting pissed.

How do you do know they all drank at the same rate?

What about the bottle they finished before going out?

But they weren’t going to drive. Cnocbui has just pointed out it was 5 bottles between 9 people. That’s a glass 1/2 each. Are you still going to insist that they were drunk?
    Your going to insist that no parent should ever have a glass of wine with dinner? Do you know how desperate you sound?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

splinter65 wrote:

It's over half a bottle each. You would certainly be impaired. 5 glasses of wine ( standard glass) in a bottle. 5 bottles = 25 glasses. 7 adults assuming all drank the wine.

Half a bottle of wine over 3 hours! Impaired? FFS get a grip.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,370 ✭✭✭Phoebas

That's some standard we're holding the McCann's to.

I wonder is there a non teetotal parent in the country who hasn't had a 1/2 bottle of wine while in charge of their children.

Cnocbui has helpfully pointed out that there were 9 adults. There’s no evidence that either Gerry or Kate drank any wine with dinner, so by your very own standards of proof plumbthedepths we may assume that the drank nothing.
    If you can shuffle the facts around to suit your narrative, then so can I.
    5 bottles of wine between 9 and no evidence of Gerry and Kate drinking anything and the wine waiter saying he found them all very moderate.
    Not pissed
    Not langared
    Not even drunk.

Phoebas wrote: »
    That's some standard we're holding the McCann's to.

I wonder is there a non teetotal parent in the country who hasn't had a 1/2 bottle of wine while in charge of their children.

Not down the pub, while babies are asleep with the front door open

Trekker09 wrote: »
    Half a bottle of wine over 3 hours! Impaired? FFS get a grip.

It’s getting idiotic in here now. With no shame about the stupidity on display.

They weren’t in the pub though.

By all means criticize them for leaving the kids unattended.
    But that's a separate argument.

They weren’t in the pub though.

It''s an establishment licensed to sell alcohol

It's a pub

Why are you defending them anyway?

Do you approve of what they did?

Phoebas wrote: »
    By all means criticize them for leaving the kids unattended.
    But that's a separate argument.

Argument about alcohol is silly too

We don't know who drank what

Gerry for we all know drank a full bottle himself and other couples drank very little, who knows

They should have been arrested for neglect that night and tested

You really don't see what you're doing do you? It's a Tapas restaurant, not a pub. Yes, they serve drink, but the group went primarily to eat, not go boozing.

They went there for food and a table quiz. They had a couple of glasses of wine over a 3 hour period. The language and words you use are deceptive and deceiving. DO you work for the Sun?

It's a pub

It's a licensed restaurant.

It's a pub

What did they do?

They should have been arrested for neglect that night and tested

Their 3 year old girl had just gone missing, possibly abducted. I think the Portuguese police had more pressing concerns that night.

The McCann's have paid a million times over for their own 'neglect'.