Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 19,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Any Irish illegals in the US SHOULD be sent home.

I certainly think there should be consistency.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

I told the polling booth attendants this morning that Boards.ie said to expect a stampede of voters all day as there was going to be a coup. :D

Beginning to feel a bit silly now. Low turnout so far.

I did not even tell my family that boards ie was discussing it, I don't understand why you would do that.
    And as a matter of fact, the numbers coming out are very low so far, this is according to the news earlier on the radio

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Can you explain that for me thanks. I haven't a clue about betting odds at all.

"Betting without" means, if Higgins was not involved at all, what would the odds be?

It's used as an indicator of preference.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Gee - but I thought the Guards were too terrified to arrest them and the Courts too intimidated to sentence them plus having ethnic status grants them immunity to the laws of the land so they can do what they like.

That's what I have been reading on this thread is the situation.

Apparently everyone knows that (Liberal lefty luvvies snowflakes who live in Dublin excluded)

No; I'd agree with you there, if it wasn't for that there'd be a lot more of them in jail.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Thanks. I presume you get your original stake back also, forgive my ignorance :p

Yes, if you win you get your original stake back.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,121 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Did those attendants even know what Boards is?

One of them certainly did. She enjoyed the banter and seemed to know what I meant.
    Twas very early though and pre-coffee.

Looking like this could be one of the lowest turnouts ever.

No; I'd agree with you there, if it wasn't for that there'd be a lot more of them in jail.

Be a lot more politicians in there too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

anybody think casey will get > 15% of the vote?

For the record. I do..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

Bad state of affairs when the only polls we have are PP odds.

• Registered Users Posts: 627 ✭✭✭rodders999

Did those attendants even know what Boards is?

Nope, but they'll sure as hell know what bored means by 10pm this evening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I told the polling booth attendants this morning that Boards.ie said to expect a stampede of voters all day as there was going to be a coup. :D

Beginning to feel a bit silly now. Low turnout so far.

In the entire Boards poll, only 1700 people voted. You’re about as good at judging crowds as Fr Dougal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,018 ✭✭✭knipex

JMNolan wrote: »
    Bad state of affairs when the only polls we have are PP odds.

Exit polls this evening will show a lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭sibersha

AnneFrank wrote: »
    no chance, 8% max imo

You can back under 10.55% with Paddy Power at 5/2 but I reckon you will lose your dough.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,764 ✭✭✭omega man

anybody think casey will get > 15% of the vote?

As long as he’s at least second with around 20% I’d be happy enough for the message to be heard.

Personally I think he may well reach the +30% mark.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

Going to vote now in the afternoon Peter Casey number 1. Any of the lads I know voting are voting Casey or not voting at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,542 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Drift continuing. Casey now 4/9 in betting without market

• Registered Users Posts: 68,121 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

In the entire Boards poll, only 1700 people voted. You’re about as good at judging crowds as Fr Dougal.

I haven't even looked at that poll for a week now. I was parsing some of the statements made here about how the 'whole country' was positively chawing through the years of establishment restraints to get out to vote.

8%-10% turnout on average - lower than that in places.

KevIRL wrote: »
    Casey won't win but I feel confident he will come in 2nd. I fail to see any of the others building enough momentum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

A low turnout will only hurt Higgins' credibility as president, if he does get back in.

Hopefully we get a low turnout and a high Casey vote.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,402 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Going to vote now in the afternoon Peter Casey number 1. Any of the lads I know voting are voting Casey or not voting at all.
    100% of the lads, 99% of the gardai, how can Casey lose at this stage!? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,923 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Casey was never going to win and become President. But that is not the point. He was brave enough to speak out on topics that the rest of the candidates totally fudged due to fear of being called non PC or not in keeping with what the media and Vlad dictate as the received wisdom.

Perhaps he will tank, who knows. If he does the media will have another field day and say "we told you so, so get back in yer box and do what we say from now on".

Anyway it doesn't matter, he spoke the truth and many are happy that he had the guts to do it too.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Expect prices to fluctuate today, especially > 1700hrs when the workers finish for the weekend and go vote.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,749 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Casey was never going to win and become President. But that is not the point. He was brave enough to speak out on topics that the rest of the candidates totally fudged due to fear of being called non PC or not in keeping with what the media and Vlad dictate as the received wisdom.

Perhaps he will tank, who knows. If he does the media will have another field day and say "we told you so, so get back in yer box and do what we say from now on".

Anyway it doesn't matter, he spoke the truth and many are happy that he had the guts to do it too.

You don't really need Casey.
    If you have issues you feel need addressing continue to raise them.
    Nobody can put you back in your box.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

So are Gallagher's though, he's 2/1 now

• Registered Users Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Its good craic.

JeffKenna wrote: »
    So are Gallagher's though, he's 2/1 now

My 84 year old Ma is voting for the Bagman.

Casey and Higgins are getting nothing from her.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,749 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Its good craic.

It's not that great as elections go.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,875 ✭✭✭enricoh

gmisk wrote: »
    100% of the lads, 99% of the gardai, how can Casey lose at this stage!? :D

The grannies think he's cute, some have invested heavily in tea cosies that bear his resemblance. He definitely has the granny vote in the bag! Unfortunately!

Its good craic.

I’m saving for a pair of Louboutins. C’mon Casey, I’ve a bet to win :D