Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Leinster v Wasps Match thread Friday 12 October 7.45pm

prawnsambo wrote: »
    Love the attitude from Lowe. "We're not here to defend it, we're here to win it again".

Definitely a canned line, Furlong said almost exactly the same beforehand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

FamousDearestHorseshoecrab-small.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

The options Leinster have in the backrow is mental

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Lil Sally Anne Jnr.

Ye're good lads but we'll whip you next time out. Munster is on the up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,211 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Leinster have work to do to their attacking game. Blew a few trys due to poor handling and decision making in Wasps 22.

But our defence was a thing of savage beauty. Read everything Wasps attempted to do and gang tackled their ball carriers. Was some sight to see. It was the same thing with Munster last week. In open phase play Leinster always looked comfortable defending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

swiwi_ wrote: »
    I thought the Leinster midfield were pretty decent, I'd give it to one of Henshaw or Ringrose.

I'm an ex backrow, Ruddock all day :D

Hurrache wrote: »
    Before you drag the thread off topic further, use the report function, and get a dose of reality. If I didn't find what you're trying to imply about me so dumb it would be hilarious.

My point has been proven. If you said Wasp's played like mots/moths tonight that could mean to some that they played like women. Were you being sexist because you said that and denegrating both Wasps and women? I know you weren't, but if I was inclined, like you, to look to be offended, then I would jump all over you for making such a remark and make a song and dance about it.

And you just accused me of all sorts, why wouldn't I defend myself?

moths - I've never heard that used to describe women ever... big jump there

• Registered Users Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Leinster are class. There’s a fifth star on the way unless Saracens or Exeter can do something about it.

A pleasure to watch

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Hurrache wrote: »
    Before you drag the thread off topic further, use the report function, and get a dose of reality. If I didn't find what you're trying to imply about me so dumb it would be hilarious.

My point has been proven. If you said Wasp's played like mots/moths tonight that could mean to some that they played like women. Were you being sexist because you said that and denegrating both Wasps and women? I know you weren't, but if I was inclined, like you, to look to be offended, then I would jump all over you for making such a remark and make a song and dance about it.

And you just accused me of all sorts, why wouldn't I defend myself?

What are you on about? It was clearly an insect joke by try harder.

Interesting turn of phrase by Craig Doyle there... Big TV becons...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Try_harder wrote: »
    moths - I've never heard that used to describe women ever... big jump there

Doesn't mean someone who has won't find it offensive if they really really want to. But yet you jumped to conclusions yourself didn't you?

Proves to you how organic and local our language is.

Enough of a this ****e anyway, it's a thread on a great Leinster performance, not a social justice thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Rhys Ruddock emerged from a cocoon tonight to butterfly into a fantastic performance

So Rugby is responsible for the Peace process, who knew!

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Rhys Ruddock. Best 6 in Ireland on form right now by a country mile.

What an absolute animal. He was everywhere.

Right. Night lads, I'm going to go watch Dr. Strange for a dose of reality.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Faugheen wrote: »

Not bad for a man who wasn't in the 23 a couple hours ago!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,233 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Who got MotM?

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Who got MotM?

Lowe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

O'Mahony1.jpg

• Subscribers Posts: 41,836 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

For those denigrating Sopoaga, we'll always have 2015....

But yes.... Tonight was not good for any wasps player. I expected a tbp but not to that extent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,211 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

James Lowe:

12 runs
    4 clean breaks
    8 defenders beaten
    164 metres made
    2 trys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

Clegg wrote: »
    James Lowe:

12 runs
    4 clean breaks
    8 defenders beaten
    164 metres made
    2 trys

I thought porn wasn't allowed on Boards? Those numbers are pure filth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

O'Mahony1.jpg

Good option off the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Just saw the result. Jesus Christ!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,576 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Apart from O'Mahony. He has a good game but he's not near PO'M.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Great game.

Lowe was fantastic!

Ref was abysmal.... to the point the boys had him, erm, replaced.. :D

(accidentally of course).

James Lowe:

12 runs
    4 clean breaks
    8 defenders beaten
    164 metres made
    2 trys

7 tackles and 0 missed as well. The stats above paint a picture but throw in how good he was defensively as well and you get a phenomenal all-round performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

7 tackles and 0 missed as well. The stats above paint a picture but throw in how good he was defensively as well and you get a phenomenal all-round performance.

Poison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,862 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Absolute quality.

There's no better team in Europe at the minute. Ulster will be a tough watch after that.

Cannot see this team being beaten in the HC this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Steve wrote: »
    Great game.

Lowe was fantastic!

Ref was abysmal.... to the point the boys had him, erm, replaced.. :D

(accidentally of course).

I actually thought poite was good...the scrum at one stage was a mess but was grand after that.....nothing really to complain about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,812 ✭✭✭✭bilston

Well lads you have a seriously good team there.

Between Furlong running and passing like BOD or Sexton's through the legs pass that was pretty sensational stuff.

James Lowe:

12 runs
    4 clean breaks
    8 defenders beaten
    164 metres made
    2 trys

In my fantasy team :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

bilston wrote: »
    Well lads you have a seriously good team there.

Between Furlong running and passing like BOD or Sexton's through the legs pass that was pretty sensational stuff.
    Good omens for the AIs. Now if Munster, Ulster and Connacht can get good performances in, lads will be in a good place.

bennyl10 wrote: »
    Apart from O'Mahony. He has a good game but he's not near PO'M.

Two things:

Key phrase is ‘on form’, which he is. POM was great against Leinster but Ruddock has been great all season.

Also, he’s not as far away from POM as many would like to think. It’s only last year Ruddock was captaining Ireland in the AI’s. He’s very highly thought of.

Actually, third thing, if Ruddock keeps playing well and it means POM has to keep his game at the top level we know it can reach then I’m happy to sit back and enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    I actually thought poite was good...the scrum at one stage was a mess but was grand after that.....nothing really to complain about
    I was at the match so was not as informed as those watching on telly and could hear what he was saying, but it seemed to me that at least twice he very quickly awarded white scrums from blue lineouts because they didn't assemble the line quick enough.

Were there warnings given for this?

There were a few other incidents - I'd have to watch it again to say for sure - where the entire stadium booed him and he didn't take the opportunity to go upstairs and even review it.

Wasn't he the one that JS had words with previously and said "I know you have it in for me but..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

I was at the match so was not as informed as those watching on telly and could hear what he was saying, but it seemed to me that at least twice he very quickly awarded white scrums from blue lineouts because they didn't assemble the line quick enough.

There were a few other incidents - I'd have to watch it again to say for sure - where the entire stadium booed him and he didn't take the opportunity to go upstairs and even review it.

Wasn't he the one that JS had words with previously and said "I know you have it in for me but..."
    That was Matthew Reynal. Or maybe that should be Matthieu.

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭All My Stars Aligned

Likewise..., also have him as captain so double points :D:D:D

Sexton my captain and kicker - probably didn't do as well as you but not too bad!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

James Lowe:

12 runs
    4 clean breaks
    8 defenders beaten
    164 metres made
    2 trys

I put him in as captain. 40 points. Worth every penny. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,078 ✭✭✭joseywhales

ah here, maybe the fella simply didn't know that, benefit of the doubt and all that

Yeah, maybe it was just plain old misogynism
    I suppose your suggestion is not mutually exclusive to mine so I will accept

Can James Lowe become Irish qualified, or does the fact his played for Maori's rule that out?

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Can James Lowe become Irish qualified, or does the fact his played for Maori's rule that out?

Will be Irish qualified in 2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Maoris has nothing to do with international eligibility. Doesnt qualify until 2020

Listening back to the commentary on Off The Ball here, I completely forgot about van der Flier's one handed catch when the ball seemed to roll around every part of his body before eventually holding onto it. Class.

Maoris has nothing to do with international eligibility. Doesnt qualify until 2020

I didn't think it did but wasn't 100% sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,652 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

So if the crowd boos the ref must react?

You would think if they got a scrum against them once they would you know....hurry up.

Thought he did ok. Liked the actual rules being used at line out. Couple messy scrums. Wouldn't be poite otherwis, or indeed rugby

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Poite was fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

That's the closest I've seen to a team playing like the All Blacks. The offloading, the angle and ferocity of strike runners, the inside lines, the footwork into contact, the insane levels of accuracy across multi phases, the ruthlessness to keep the intensity going long after the game was won....

.....but MOSTLY because the first try was offside, the second was a forward pass and there never should have been a yellow card :pac: