If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on [email protected] for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact [email protected]

The ghost of John Muldoon v the tears of Cian Healy Build up thread

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Fairly sure this was directed at Bundee.

There was a game in 2016 in the Sportsground. Leinster were camped on the line and Connacht turned over.

They get the ball back to clear and Ferg tries to charge down. Obviously gets nowhere near.

Who is there as he is on the floor but Bundee dragging the jersey off him.

Scummy thing to do. And Luke bringing it up is definitely not on the same level as what Aki did that day.

Great player is Aki. But he let himself down there.

Broadcast only got the first second of it. I was there that day and he was all over him. Stupid

https://youtu.be/-UL6nUarSDg?t=67

Wow, that's up there with Sexton roaring at ROG on the ground. You're right, terrible stuff altogether... although not quite in Leo Cullen's league for scumminess ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,992 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

Rivalries are good, lets not get offended over them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭yerrahbah

Of all the things to be offended by... reminds me of this

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

This thread is great. And we're still three days out. Imagine what the match thread is going to be like!

Keep it up! Let the hate flow through you.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

This thread is making me want to go to Galway for it, tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,970 ✭✭✭✭Buer

dregin wrote: »
    This thread is making me want to go to Galway for it, tbh.

Keep your wits about you down there or you'll be offered a development contract.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,597 ✭✭✭✭Venjur

Buer wrote: »
    Keep your wits about you down there or you'll be offered a development contract.

On the other hand if it works out really well you might get a shot with Leinster.

We've moved on from that, now it's a 'prima natus' clause when you buy your ticket, where we get first dibs on your first born child if they show any talent. Long term planning and all that...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,578 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Just make sure you have a gf in dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Peregrine wrote: »
    This thread is great. And we're still three days out. Imagine what the match thread is going to be like!

If Connacht win, I'll be aiming for a sort of bored but really obnoxious condescension. Along the lines of;

"Sure isn't it nice for them to have something to aim for, the poor craturs"

"Awww, look how much it means to them, I'm delighted for them"

"That will set them up nicely for their Challenge Cup matches against, I dunno, Ealing, Bridgend and Montauban, is it?"

"Great for some of the Connacht guys to be able to put themselves in the shop window like that, I hope they get some offers off the back of that performance"

Might tweet a few of them directly @Bundee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

In other news, Connacht are actually (marginal) bookies' favourites. I don't know if that's ever happened before?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭troyzer

In other news, Connacht are actually (marginal) bookies' favourites. I don't know if that's ever happened before?

It won't be a strong Leinster team but you know Connacht are going all out.

I can't wait. Still waiting to hear what the craic is with the supporters bus though.

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Heymans

Wait until the teams are named. Our 2nds/3rds should put them to the sword.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭FACECUTTR

Heymans wrote: »

Like last time out ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,198 ✭✭✭troyzer

FACECUTTR wrote: »
    Like last time out ?

You did walk into that.

Has Muldoon ever confirmed his whereabouts the day Michael Collins was shot?

j5EJKFp.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Against leinster or just ever?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

We're going to get hockeyed.

They prepare all season for this fixture. It means the world to them. And Connacht in the Sportsground is a force to reckoned with. They've already put great star-studden teams like Zebre to the sword there this season.

Leinster are the underdogs here.

Venjur wrote: »
    Has Muldoon ever confirmed his whereabouts the day Michael Collins was shot?

j5EJKFp.jpg

Showing your true hunting colours there Venjur. All Dubs are not anti-Republican just like all country people are not Republicans such as Muldoon. Poor form from our honourary culchie - Venjur.

troyzer wrote: »
    You did walk into that.

Point still stands - we should beat them handily enough if we play them 10 times we would win 6/7 with our seconds.

What's the handicap, more importantly? Might have a bet on Connacht to break the 50 points this time too... ;)

Peregrine wrote: »
    We're going to get hockeyed.

They prepare all season for this fixture. It means the world to them. And Connacht in the Sportsground is a force to reckoned with. They've already put great star-studden teams like Zebre to the sword there this season.

Leinster are the underdogs here.

Ha! It is a cup final for them which tips the odds slightly in their favour but if you're picking a joint team you'd have to say there would be more Leinster players in it than Connacht.

but if you're picking a joint team you'd have to say there would be more Leinster players in it than Connacht.

Kinda hard to avoid when you look at where most of Connacht's players come from.

• Heymans wrote: »
    Ha! It is a cup final for them which tips the odds slightly in their favour but if you're picking a joint team you'd have to say there would be more Leinster players in it than Connacht.

I can only imagine what would happen if it actually was a Cup Final between the two teams

• Registered Users Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Wegians89

I can only imagine what would happen if it actually was a Cup Final between the two teams

Think there was one a few years back? Leinster won it didn’t they?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,919 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Point still stands - we should beat them handily enough if we play them 10 times we would win 6/7 with our seconds.

Then why have we beaten them so infrequently in the Sportsground?

stephen_n wrote: »
    Then why have we beaten them so infrequently in the Sportsground?

Because of their hatred of Capital city and Leinster in general. It is a Cup final for them and they perform as such. Needless to say Leinsters acheivements are far greater than one or two matches every season.

I hope all ye Leinster lads wrote pat lam a big thank you letter. If he hadn’t decided money is a good thing to have Connacht would have won everything since

must have

000fde52-800.jpg

The curse of kk prevented Connacht getting to that final.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭evil_seed