Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The ghost of John Muldoon v the tears of Cian Healy Build up thread

• 25-09-2018 11:25am

We kick off the build up to this weekends most important fixture with the42.ie's recent interview with Bundee Aki:

Bundee: Hi lads, listen - before we start, I just want to confirm I'm not signing for Leinster or speaking with Leinster so if we can stay away from questions like that it would be great.
    The42: No problem Bundee, we'll steer well clear.

The42: So Bundee, you've opened your season with a man of the match performance against Scarlets, you must be very pleased with that?
    Bundee: Yeah it was a great win to get under our belts, we had a lot of belief going into that matc...
    The42: Bundee, sorry to cut across you - we've just received this image, it was taken when you were still meant to be down in the Southern Hemisphere but clearly you were in fact meeting with Leo Cullen at the time - have you any comment?
    VT9Sq6Y.jpg
    Bundee: Seriously, guys we had an agreement
    The42: That's you isn't it Bundee - there is no denying it.
    Bundee: I was invited as a guest to the Leinster awards, that doesn't mean I'm signing for anyone, I'm very happy here with Connacht and I don't think I'd make a first choice Leinster 15 anyway.
    The42: That's certainly true but you have to admit the optics on this are terrible?
    Bundee: It wasn't a particularly well fitting dress.
    The42: Moving on, how has Andy Friend been bedding in since pre season?
    Bundee: FRIENNND
    The42: What?
    Bundee: FRIENNNNNNNNND :D:D:D
    The42: ?
    Bundee: RUGBY FRIENNNNND (Bundee gives two thumbs up)
    The42: ..... thanks for your time today Bundee, best of luck with the season
    image.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

*Connaught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Connacht off the back of a very impressive win against Scarlets. Some good quality rugby on display.

Wholesale changes to be expected by Leinster I assume. But whoever is in the starting pack should examine the Edinburgh game. Very good forward play. Winning collisions and very effective cleanouts.

I could be wrong but I thought Leavy was ready to come back on on Saturday. He certainly galloped off the field for his HIA so hopefully he will be available.

A team like:

Byrne Cronin Porter
    Fardy Kearney
    Ruddock Deegan SOB
    McGrath Byrne
    Tomane ROL
    Lowe Kearney Kearney
    Byrne Dooley Bent Nagle Doris McCarthy Reid McFadden

Decent side. Hopefully could put it up to them. No better test for Tomane that being on Bundee duty. He made **** of Scarlets last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

I wouldn't have huge faith in Tomane handling Aki very well based on what we've seen to date. I'd be as happy to see him on the wing with Reid in the centre, to be honest. But I don't see it happening.

Expecting something along the lines of:

Dooley, Cronin, Porter, Fardy, Kearney, Ruddock, SOB/Leavy, Deegan, JGP, Byrne, DK, Tomane, ROL, Adam Byrne, RK.

Byrne, Byrne, Bent, Molony, SOB/Leavy, McCarthy, Frawley, Reid

Buer wrote: »
    I wouldn't have huge faith in Tomane handling Aki very well based on what we've seen to date. I'd be as happy to see him on the wing with Reid in the centre, to be honest. But I don't see it happening.

Dooley, Cronin, Porter, Fardy, Kearney, Ruddock, SOB/Leavy, Deegan, JGP, Byrne, DK, Tomane, ROL, Adam Byrne, RK.

I'd say Furlong might start but otherwise that looks accurate enough. This season has thrown up some surprise early selections but given the last two team sheets there will has to be rotation this week.

I also think this is very much a game for Lowe. Connacht back three are well enough equipped to deal with the aerial threat but I'd have some question marks over their 1 on 1 tackling and Lowe is a handful in contact. Could see McCarthy start with Luke on the bench.

Does Sean Cronin have a gumshield?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Oh snap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

1489370.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Who's that?

.ak wrote: »
    Who's that?

And why is his beard oddly shaped like Pat Lam?

YaBIlwd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I'd like to see us go full strength in this one, we can afford to rest players against Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

.ak wrote: »
    *Connaught
    Connacht actually
    (also the name used by the government for that part of the country in european elections http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1977/act/30/schedule/2/enacted/en/html)

Connaught is a 5 star hotel in London.

Connacht actually
    (also the name used by the government for that part of the country in european elections http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1977/act/30/schedule/2/enacted/en/html)

Connaught is a 5 star hotel in London.

Whoosh...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Buer wrote: »

Is there an A game this weekend?

I can see the coaches wanting Frawley to get some meaningful gametime at 10 to get him up to speed

Munster v Ulster?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Excellent start Venjur. Let the games begin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I can see the coaches wanting Frawley to get some meaningful gametime at 10 to get him up to speed

Yep, Leinster are at home to the Ospreys on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭FACECUTTR

Going to have a shot at a team prediction this week.
    1. Buckley
    2. Heffernan
    3. Bealham
    4. Dillane
    5. Roux
    6. O'Brien
    7. Butler
    8. Boyle
    9. Marmion
    10. Carthy
    11. Healy
    12. Bundee
    13. Farrell
    14. Kelleher
    15. O'Halloran
    16. McCartney
    17. McCabe
    18. McCoy
    19. Cannon
    20. Faingaa
    21. Blade
    22. Ronaldson
    23. Adeoloukan
    Hard to leave the quality of Godwin out but I think Bundee/Farrell is our best pairing for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Richie_Rich89

FACECUTTR wrote: »
    Going to have a shot at a team prediction this week.
    1. Buckley
    2. Heffernan
    3. Bealham
    4. Dillane
    5. Roux
    6. O'Brien
    7. Butler
    8. Boyle
    9. Marmion
    10. Carthy
    11. Healy
    12. Bundee
    13. Farrell
    14. Kelleher
    15. O'Halloran
    16. McCartney
    17. McCabe
    18. McCoy
    19. Cannon
    20. Faingaa
    21. Blade
    22. Ronaldson
    23. Adeoloukan
    Hard to leave the quality of Godwin out but I think Bundee/Farrell is our best pairing for now.

Godwin at 22? Ronaldson hasn't been great at flyhalf so far, so you wouldn't be losing much in terms of versatility

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭FACECUTTR

Godwin at 22? Ronaldson hasn't been great at flyhalf so far, so you wouldn't be losing much in terms of versatility

No, Godwin at 12 or 13. Not sure how much Godwin has played at 10 but I think I read somewhere he did. Niyi adds so much in attack for the last 20 mins so I'd stick with him for 23
    Ronaldson is our only option at 22 until Horwitz gets fit and gives him a bit of competition.

Zzippy wrote: »
    Excellent start Venjur. Let the games begin!

I think it should be put to a poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭Wegians89

Interesting how Healy is making such a big deal about Muldoons kick still, he’s one player I always thought would be likely to attempt taking a kick in a game at some point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

Wegians89 wrote: »
    Interesting how Healy is making such a big deal about Muldoons kick still, he’s one player I always thought would be likely to attempt taking a kick in a game at some point

I don't think he was annoyed at Connacht, I think he was trying to explain how annoyed Leinster were at themselves for such a shocking performance.

Muldoon lining up for a kick was salt in the wound but fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Cian Healy gon' **** sh1t up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

What did he say?

http://www.the42.ie/cian-healy-leinster-edinburgh-4250861-Sep2018/
    And what about Muldoon’s conversion at the end? Healy was less than impressed.

“Leave it to the kickers,” the Ireland prop replied. “I suppose, on a personal note, that was nice for him to finish off his career. But, it is something you have to take a bit of offence to when you’re not taken seriously.”

What did he say?

There was an article about it on the 42 a few days ago, but it was also brought up st the Connacht press conference with Duffy and the new and better sob discussing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

There was an article about it on the 42 a few days ago, but it was also brought up st the Connacht press conference with Duffy and the new and better sob discussing it.

It was brought up by journalists.

It’s a nothing story that’s being magnified because there’s a tasty headline in it.

Who's heading to gicktown on the supporters bus?

It was brought up by journalists.

It’s a nothing story that’s being magnified because there’s a tasty headline in it.

We asked Cian Healy about John Muldoon. YOU WON'T BELIEVE WHAT THE RESPONSE WAS

clickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclickclick

Emperor-Palpatine.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

troyzer wrote: »
    Who's heading to gicktown on the supporters bus?

Games not on in Terenure.

its_phil wrote: »
    Games not on in Terenure.

Oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,720 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Well known saying in Dublin; "To Hell or to Terenure".

latest?cb=20140909020954

I hope Leinster send a reasonably strong team out wesht. Looks like Ulster are going to be forced into a sub-Ravens XV with all their injuries, it's not a good look for the league or the IRFU if we end up with two damp squibs this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Leinster have 2 big games the following 2 weekends with a 6 day turnaround, won’t be second string but there will be quite a few changes this weekend. The 2 home matches are far more important though.

I hope Leinster send a reasonably strong team out wesht. Looks like Ulster are going to be forced into a sub-Ravens XV with all their injuries, it's not a good look for the league or the IRFU if we end up with two damp squibs this weekend.

Dooley
    Cronin
    Furlong
    Fardy
    Kearney
    Leavy
    VDF
    Ruddock
    McGrath
    Byrne
    Larmour
    Tomane
    Ringrose
    Lowe
    Kearney

Byrne
    Tracey
    Porter
    Nagle
    SOB
    McCarthy
    Frawley
    Kearney

No insights, just guesswork. That is a team which to me can hold their own up front and run in tries and be just as incisive as Connacht's back three.

I'd worry about intensity levels given that Connacht always are at full tilt for this fixtures but I wouldn't see a team like the above as being in any way disrespectful and I think after the result at the end of last season Leinster are not going to need much motivation.

We shouldn't be giving out about Muldoon, we should be thanking him - his disrespect has given Leinster all the ammunition they will need going into Saturday.

Dooley
    Cronin
    Furlong
    Fardy
    Kearney
    Leavy
    VDF
    Ruddock
    McGrath
    Byrne
    Larmour
    Tomane
    Ringrose
    Lowe
    Kearney

Byrne
    Tracey
    Porter
    Nagle
    SOB
    McCarthy
    Frawley
    Kearney

No insights, just guesswork. That is a team which to me can hold their own up front and run in tries and be just as incisive as Connacht's back three.

I'd worry about intensity levels given that Connacht always are at full tilt for this fixtures but I wouldn't see a team like the above as being in any way disrespectful and I think after the result at the end of last season Leinster are not going to need much motivation.

We shouldn't be giving out about Muldoon, we should be thanking him - his disrespect has given Leinster all the ammunition they will need going into Saturday.

I don't really fancy Tomane squaring up against Bundee.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Cian Healy has brought Connacht-Leinster-ian relations to an all time low.

troyzer wrote: »
    I don't really fancy Tomane squaring up against Bundee.

He'll be fine, he has been in the setup now a few months and things will start to click for him. Half the battle with Bundee is just getting him down, he's plenty evasive but I'd rather Tomane's bulk and stopping power over Reid's superior positioning and awareness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Can’t see Ringrose playing 6 games in a row and don’t see him being left out for Munster or the Heineken games. I’d imagine it will be Tomane and ROL, which doesn’t fill me with a heap of confidence, as they aren’t a strong defensive unit yet.

Would really like to see the leagues best center partnership in bundee and Farrell get a run out against a decent level of opposition in henshaw and ringrose. They’ll have a field day against Tomane and ROL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Kevski

Spot the odd one out :pac:

The kick wasn't even the first time Muldoon was deeply disrespectful, here he is in his younger days kneeling during the anthem:

VSa3kne.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Heymans

I'm glad to see the Title has "token" in it.

Remember that's all country people are in Leinster.

Kinda like gays and foreigners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭thegreycity

Serious farmer tan on Muldoon

Muldoon shaking hands with, literally, Hitler:

GJJ4ajg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Scarlet for Hitler.