Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Frederick St protest and reaction

• Registered Users Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Of course not. I

Of course as we are now well aware, or ought to be, AGS actions can have consequences well beyond their ranks. If somehow this has escaped your attention, you might want to ask the last two Justice Ministers for their opinion on this.

And again I'll ask, what actions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Sheeps wrote: »
    What planet are you on?

Earth, it has a union of countries called U.K. & NI where tax and insurance aren’t displayed on the windscreen.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Earth, it has a union of countries called U.K. & NI where tax and insurance aren’t displayed on the windscreen.

Did you know that Dublin is in the Republic of Ireland.

steves2 wrote: »
    Can't say I support the protesters as I don't see what good it'll do, but how can the group of "heavies" turn up in a van with no tax or insurance and no reg plate on the front? And all the guards around them? If that's all true then how come that wasn't highlighted more?

They aren't the ones who broke the Law. They were executing a court order, supported by the Gardai. As already pointed out our neighbours up North don't need tax or insurance disks on their vehicles.
    The occupants of the house left quietly. It was the rabble outside that caused trouble and some were arrested.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,984 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

blackwhite wrote: »
    Back to targetting the actual workers again - might as well take their frustrations out on the people who fund their lifestyles

Scumbags always gonna be scum I guess - and their like-minded supporters will defend them to the hilt no matter what

i'd imagine a lot of those protesters are themselves workers. i know it's hard for some to think that people don't work shifts other then 9 to 5 but funnily enough, they do.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

Did you know that Dublin is in the Republic of Ireland.

I do. I also have friends who are from Dublin but live in NI who visit home to see their friends and family. Their windscreen doesnt magically gain a tax disc or insurance disc when they cross the border into ROI. Once they have the relevant documents when requested by AGS they’ve never had any issues.

In much the same way your steering wheel doesn’t leap sides if you drive to the continent.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Quite so. In fact I remember Paul Murphy, RBB and Joe Higgins telling us all to chillax back in 2007, that the property market was headed for a soft landing.

Both RBB and Higgins were whinging that public sector spending was too low at the time.

Thankfully all three let their masks slip every now and again - supporting the scum blocking who are blocking commuters in Dublin this evening just shows contempt for the workers of Ireland.

Utter scumbags on O’Connell Bridge this evening - and anyone who cheerleads for them is every bit as bad.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

steves2 wrote: »
    Can't say I support the protesters as I don't see what good it'll do, but how can the group of "heavies" turn up in a van with no tax or insurance and no reg plate on the front? And all the guards around them? If that's all true then how come that wasn't highlighted more?

Gardai confirmed tax and insurance was fine, was in Irish Times. Didn't answer question about front registration plate.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Ginger83

They aren't the ones who broke the Law. They were executing a court order, supported by the Gardai. As already pointed out our neighbours up North don't need tax or insurance disks on their vehicles.
    The occupants of the house left quietly. It was the rabble outside that caused trouble and some were arrested.

But they need VALID tax, insurance, mot, plates!!!

Ginger83 wrote: »

Do you KNOW that they weren't valid?

Ginger83 wrote: »

The type of tax, insurance, MOT that the Gardaí have confirmed was all ship shape and above board in the IT??

It did have a back plate. The front one may have fallen off on the way down the motorway.

• Registered Users Posts: 47 White_hills

Super-Rush wrote: »
    Yeah I'm sure people on their way home after a hard days work will want to support these dicks who would rather do this than get an actual job.

I have a job, a good professional one at that and I was there. What's one evenings inconvenience as opposed to the inconvenience of no disposable income due to high rents? Or when your friends can't move home to Ireland as they can't find anywhere to live? Or you wonder how people from the county can afford to send their children to college with the high rents? Or when a guy lives in a tent at the top of your road? (In before the why don't you take him in comment) or families are sleeping in cars?

And I'm the dick...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,651 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Lux23 wrote: »
    So you're happy that public funding is going into private landlord's pockets rather than fund social or affordable housing? And Paul Murphy pays as much tax as you do, probably more.

Paul Murphy does not raise any funds for the Exchequer by way of paying tax on his salary. If he were made redundant, the State would have more funds to spend.

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭steves2

In the U.K. and NI tax and insurance aren’t displayed on the windscreen. The reg plate could have fallen off/been ripped off.

Ah ok. The optics of it still are not great, most of us wouldn't get away with driving around with a reg plate missing. The whole thing looked like the Guards were protecting a group of heavies, sure they were there to ensure the peace or wherever but it could've been handled better maybe.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭Ginger83

The type of tax, insurance, MOT that the Gardaí have confirmed was all ship shape and above board in the IT??

It did have a back plate. The front one may have fallen off on the way down the motorway.

Well i suppose if they said it then it must be true ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 32,992 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Why are people arguing about a missing reg plate?

Such a small issue and if thats ammo for the protestors, they have little to complain about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Not entirely sure why that would matter? They're probably most affected. I was there and I'm in my 30's and a senior tech worker who's trapped renting. There's also a contingent of about 500,000 adults who are trapped at home still with the parents because the situation is ridiculous, im sure some of them were there, not to mention the homeless.

Agreed There are people referring to these people as scum etc....water cannon the bastids why there are plenty of people in this city workin hard for their poverty/ 2 jobs trapped paying Saint Tropeis rents but living in a **** hole . There is also ar*eholes like Murphy/RBB et al posing as socialists feeding this bu****e.

There are homeless junkies/drunks /bums who have more chance of gettin a house in this country than most workers and it may well be a f*ckin inconvenience for a short while but not all those protesting are free loading PBP twats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

I have a job, a good professional one at that and I was there. What's one evenings inconvenience as opposed to the inconvenience of no disposable income due to high rents? Or when your friends can't move home to Ireland as they can't find anywhere to live? Or you wonder how people from the county can afford to send their children to college with the high rents? Or when a guy lives in a tent at the top of your road? (In before the why don't you take him in comment) or families are sleeping in cars?

And I'm the dick...

You want to see change? Start affecting profits and you'll get it from the government, sad to say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Trasna1

And I'm the dick...

Yeah you are, since stopping people getting home from work is not going to magically make thousands of construction workers appear to build social and affordable housing.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

That was like something you would see in Saudi Arabia yesterday. Surely an impartial media would be up in arms over this carry on from the establishment? Although RTE are anything but impartial.

Trasna1 wrote: »
    Yeah you are, since stopping people getting home from work is not going to magically make thousands of construction workers appear to build social and affordable housing.

Are you on a bus sweetheart

Agreed There are people referring to these people as scum etc....water cannon the bastids why there are plenty of people in this city workin hard for their poverty/ 2 jobs trapped paying Saint Tropeis rents but living in a **** hole . There is also ar*eholes like Murphy/RBB et al posing as socialists feeding this bu****e.

There are homeless junkies/drunks /bums who have more chance of gettin a house in this country than most workers and it may well be a f*ckin inconvenience for a short while but not all those protesting are free loading PBP twats.

You want rent to come down?? Let politicians who call to your house know that you are fed up with parasites who never worked a day in their life getting prime real estate in the capital city. Move them to Leitrim, Longford etc. There’s no need for them to be in the capital. Me ma lives there is no excuse. Get them out and it will release huge tracts of housing for the crushed middle income workers.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

Every protest ever:
    1. They have been protesting for over an hour now and the issue hasn't been instantly solved.
    2. They are protesting in the wrong place should be somewhere else.
    3. They are blocking traffic or the pathway waaaa.

Ffs

• Registered Users Posts: 47 White_hills

But your apathy isn't doing anything either. What do you suggest? And to add to that, people have as much right to protest as you do commute.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Disgusting carry on and I mean those people who occupied the private property and now have caused chaos in the city centre today.

I heard some idiot on the radio earlier on and he wouldnt help any cause beyond putting people off helping.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

No but if we all downed tools for a day or even a week we would quickly see some changes.

It got a 15 second mention on VM news. Raising great awareness lads.

You want rent to come down?? Let politicians who call to your house know that you are fed up with parasites who never worked a day in their life getting prime real estate in the capital city. Move them to Leitrim, Longford etc. There’s no need for them to be in the capital. Me ma lives there is no excuse. Get them out and it will release huge tracts of housing for the crushed middle income workers.

*Wants to depopulate urban areas by sending enemies of the workers to the countryside, whilst complaining about socialism*

• Registered Users Posts: 28,984 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

do the front plates of english van's which belong to shadowy figures and which are clapped out, regularly fall off or get ripped off going down that particular motor way?

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

I think Leitrim might have something to say about that