Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you go to the ploughing 2018

• Registered Users Posts: 19,388 ✭✭✭✭road_high

The school tours wreck my head. Not a million years since I was in secondary school but we never ever had a bus arranged to ploughing. It was only a handful of farmers children that went with their parents or friends.
    Would be great pleasure in the place if they weren't there tbh. I don't see what they add bar the gate fees but more people would go and do business if it was easier get round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Trasna1

road_high wrote: »
    The school tours wreck my head. Not a million years since I was in secondary school but we never ever had a bus arranged to ploughing. It was only a handful of farmers children that went with their parents or friends.
    Would be great pleasure in the place if they weren't there tbh. I don't see what they add bar the gate fees but more people would go and do business if it was easier get round.

I don't really understand why schools send students to it since there's nothing educational about a trade fair. Schools don't send buses to the ideal homes exhibition

• Registered Users Posts: 11,062 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    "They" are the people who get off their backsides to make things happen in this world while the begrudgers wait for their chance to kick them while they're down.

Very noble Wildsurfer but "they" could also mean the very top echelons of the Npa who give themselves 100's of thousands of a salary. Charge 40 to 50 k for a stand. 10k/day for an icecream van.
    20 Euro/ day for an adult. 15 Euro/day for a teenager.

All the while. While depending on voluntary labour to run the carparks/show.

There's a fair few former and current exhibitors would love to see "their" cough softened.

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭einn32

Got out relatively quickly in the end. Stopped in Birr for a while. Traffic all gone now really.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭alps

Trasna1 wrote: »
    I don't really understand why schools send students to it since there's nothing educational about a trade fair. Schools don't send buses to the ideal homes exhibition

While farming still exits, while we need markets for our product, while we need to encourage new blood to the industry, and while we still have some want to get to the top of Maslow's triangle and attain acceptance of our peers, we should do all we can to encourage all we can to attend..

It is one of farmings great celebrations..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

alps wrote:
    While farming still exits, while we need markets for our product, while we need to encourage new blood to the industry, and while we still have some want to get to the top of Maslow's triangle and attain acceptance of our peers, we should do all we can to encourage all we can to attend..

If you want to encourage new blood it would be better to ensure a viable income from farming
    A day at the ploughing won't swing many

• Registered Users Posts: 15,282 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

It will be a miracle if they open that site tomorrow. Friday is possible I suppose.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

alps wrote: »

Rolling in the mud achieves all that 😀😀😀

• Registered Users Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    "They" are the people who get off their backsides to make things happen in this world while the begrudgers wait for their chance to kick them while they're down.

Very noble Wildsurfer but "they" could also mean the very top echelons of the Npa who give themselves 100's of thousands of a salary. Charge 40 to 50 k for a stand. 10k/day for an icecream van.

There's a fair few former and current exhibitors would love to see "their" cough softened.
    Not being noble at all, but I like thousands of others enjoy attending the ploughing every year. If exhibitors don't see a return then they won't pay those prices, we saw that yhis year with a few high profile brands not there this year. My co-op never attend it. And if an ice cream van owner wants to gamble on the weather that's their business. But wishing bad luck (getting their cough softened) on the organizers of a massive event like this is poor form, because along with the exhibitors and organisers losing out are all the families who left this morning for screggan looking forward to a great day out.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

You ve just hit a little sore point with me with the ploughing-the cost of" food"up there.im not niave enough to know its more or less in line with other events up there but farmers used to be decent with food whatever about money and to go an event showcasing the best in farming and paying over the top for sh#te.could they not just forgo the fees for foodstands have a set number

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

The "other" option in the poll doesn't seem out of place now.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,062 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

It'll be open tomorrow and Friday.

On newstalk now.

Trasna1 wrote: »

They just clog things up for those that do want to buy or trade. I don't know how the trade stands haven't objected.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

just got word from NPA (I'm an exhibitor) that the ploughing will be open to the public on Friday

K.G. wrote: »
    You ve just hit a little sore point with me with the ploughing-the cost of" food"up there.im not niave enough to know its more or less in line with other events up there but farmers used to be decent with food whatever about money and to go an event showcasing the best in farming and paying over the top for sh#te.could they not just forgo the fees for foodstands have a set number

The standard of food has actually nosedived I think (or I'm getting fussier!!)There was a good period there for a few years where there was quite a lot of decent artisan type stuff on offer. But seems less of that and it's concentrated around a few food areas with very low quality fast food in the main. Anyone else agree?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

They just clog things up for those that do want to buy or trade. I don't know how the trade stands haven't objected.

its the teachers that want to go really ;)

but they're the reason there's feck all freebees

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭sjb25

ganmo wrote: »
    its the teachers that want to go really ;)

but they're the reason there's feck all freebees

Yea all gone the past few years. Hardly a pen in sight

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

• Registered Users Posts: 18,475 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

sjb25 wrote: »

I can’t stand that muppet, he had one or two vaguely funny clips early on and now it’s all just forced shouting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Had planned to motor down today around 2pm but that plan obviously didn’t fly! Won’t make tomorrow or Friday with work unfortunately.

Place looks like it took a good hammering in the photos.

alps wrote: »

Well maybe it should be structured educationally then. Rather than letting them all off for the day to run riot!
    I don't see how it endears anyone to ag? Sure it’s an experience but for me personally as an attendee I find them just irritating.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,092 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Feisar wrote: »
    The "other" option in the poll doesn't seem out of place now.

Indeed

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

I went with a few, three hours and a half driving, was 5 minuets from entrance and saw the traffic coming against us, It had just been announced that it was stopped , so that is 7 hours drive for nothing, a couple fallen trees on the roads, I am stiff from sitting in car all day, yet we are going to do it all again tomorrow, but this time hope we are in there for 6 hrs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

goat2 wrote: »
    Things like that would really get on your goat!!(sorry I really couldn't resist!!)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Jesus lads George Lee and farming he would turn milk sour by looking at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

K.G. wrote: »
    You ve just hit a little sore point with me with the ploughing-the cost of" food"up there.

I wouldn't touch the sh!te that passes for food at the Ploughing, over the top prices for very poor quality. Any time we've gone we've stopped for breakfast somewhere on the way, brought our own picnic for during the day and would stop somewhere for dinner on the way home, mind you we do the same when going to any other events, matches, etc

• Registered Users Posts: 11,058 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

wrangler wrote: »
    Blowing a gale here at the moment.....mightn't have to wait til monday to wreck the place.
    BBC is giving the weather very bad next week for the midland s here

That was BBCs forecast last friday for mid week Wonder why they changed their forecast,
    Would've saved a lot of heartache if they didn't, Sympathy to all in the sheep tunnel, we used to build the vendeen stand every year and know the work that goes into it, other stands had a lot more work put into them.... some mess.
    Haven't a lot of sympathy for NPA, They were mean as hell with free passes for the volunteers that manned stands. We'd be trying to get passes to next days volunteers. You expect better when you're being charged so much.
    It's a condition of exhibiting to have your stand well insured

Some of the sheep are being transferred into the shearing tent now so something will be retrieved out of this mess for the sheep exhibitrs

• Registered Users Posts: 5,057 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

The standard of food has actually nosedived I think (or I'm getting fussier!!)There was a good period there for a few years where there was quite a lot of decent artisan type stuff on offer. But seems less of that and it's concentrated around a few food areas with very low quality fast food in the main. Anyone else agree?

Disagree. Used to be justvthe muck you got from Rubbles. Decent vendors like Saba there now.

kerryjack wrote: »
    Jesus lads George Lee and farming he would turn milk sour by looking at it.

A harbinger of doom. I can’t stand the man