Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chitchat 3

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I'm at the same craic. Bought 13 acres in January, will have nearly 13 grand put into it between stone, drainage pipe and digger work. My dad has 100s hours put into it, only about 90 to 100 myself. But grass seeds next week hopefully on the 4 acres of reclaimed bog and scrub hill.

Rain last night made the loader redundant couldn't travel the ground, looking across the valley at a lad driving over and back with a dump trailer and he doesn't even have earth on the tyres. Fortunate the drain we were at today was near the stone heap and digger was able to cover pipe without too much messing

• Registered Users Posts: 11,394 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

jaymla627 wrote: »
    60% grant aid young farmer up to 80k, if joint application in partnership you can avail of 50% grant aid on 160k, problem is parlour men and builders are swallowing up any cost savings with jacked up rates, put in a 20 unit parlour pit/stall work/holding yard/shed and dairy here in 12 for sub 20k granted we done a nice bit of work ourselves, to get the same work done now 60k wouldn’t get you out and that’s provided you could get someone to do it

My recommendation would be to just get the grant on the parlour/tank/feeding system. Easy to apply for, doesn't need planning etc, and the specification/price is largely the same if its grant spec or not. I had the same problem back in 2010, couldn't get anyone to do the concrete work here, instead I got a friend who's a block layer to do the pit and parlour wall in 4inch solid blocks, and did the roof myself. It was a cheap and cheerful job, but all was a quantum leap in that new 14unit parlour from the 40yr old 6 unit I'd come from.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,109 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I have the same lad doing the steelworks and the concrete. He only lives about a mile away

• Registered Users Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

60% grant aid young farmer up to 80k, if joint application in partnership you can avail of 50% grant aid on 160k, problem is parlour men and builders are swallowing up any cost savings with jacked up rates, put in a 20 unit parlour pit/stall work/holding yard/shed and dairy here in 12 for sub 20k granted we done a nice bit of work ourselves, to get the same work done now 60k wouldn’t get you out and that’s provided you could get someone to do it

Always the case isn’t it.
    Still though ‘‘tis a fair whack of a grant all the same. When you throw in the vat rebate it becomes substantial.

My building crew are two years behind work. They’re to put up a new cubicle shed for me since September ‘17 and he hasn’t arrived yet...even though we agreed that I could hold back €12k until finishing the cubicles.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,078 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Is there any advantage to spreading magnesium lime over normal lime ,soil test yearly for usuals but not magnesium ,rang to order sum yesterday and quarry asked which I wanted

• Registered Users Posts: 11,083 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Is there any advantage to spreading magnesium lime over normal lime ,soil test yearly for usuals but not magnesium ,rang to order sum yesterday and quarry asked which I wanted

If your soil is low in magnesium it'll lock up phosphorus.
    You'll often see soils high in magnesium will test low in phosphorus because those soils can't store phosphorus so it'll either go into the plant or wash away.
    Suppliers now are even supplying specific blends of cal and mag lime based on soil tests.

There's also a similar relationship with magnesium and potash in soil. It makes potash more available to plants but then the potash can block plant uptake of magnesium. So even though your soil is full of magnesium your plant may not be and your stock are more susceptible to milk fever and grass tetany.

If you’re in a high molybdenum area, then as a rough rule of thumb, use the high magnesium lime.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,465 ✭✭✭jaymla627

If you’re in a high molybdenum area, then as a rough rule of thumb, use the high magnesium lime.

Best practice for high molybdenum areas is to keep ph low so its hard to win, also mag lime is a disaster on wet heavy type soil as it binds it together and leads to even poorer drainage, 1st cut silage has tested sky high for molybdenum here again but all major elements are perfect and trace, only have managed to get them right this year through a combination of using selenium added with fertilizer, and physiolth at two bags an acre yearly

Huge jump in growth here since the 17mm afew days ago. I'm skipping over at least 30ac that I'll need to take out as bales that I don't really need or want ha. Another 50cows wouldn't of gone astray here this year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Timmaay wrote: »
    Huge jump in growth here since the 17mm afew days ago. I'm skipping over at least 30ac that I'll need to take out as bales that I don't really need or want ha. Another 50cows wouldn't of gone astray here this year!

I'm taking silage out here tomorrow which is handy as I'll be gone for three days next week. The next paddock was at 600 two days ago on the dry half and 1200 on the heavy half. Dry half up to 1100 tomorrow I reckon
    Edit. 3 days ago at 600

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

straight wrote: »

Cheers, I was just going looking for it:)

We would always be looking for someone to milk cows the odd evening and it's hard enough to get the FRS unless you book well in advance. We had a man come looking for work last night and another this morning, both seem to know their way around a parlour so I must give them a few milkings soon.

There are lads out there but we don't always come across them.
    How much per milking chief?

Sacrolyte wrote: »
    How much per milking chief?

€50 per milking for 80-100 cows,. Normally get FRS but this guy came in looking so I'll give him a shot for an evening or two midweek. He's normally booked out weekends.

French radio.
    Dept. of Ag. announces massive ‘grants’ for farmers suffering from drought...the radio station were immediately inundated with calls, texts and emails complaining about agriculture being over subsidized and ‘let them eat cake’ kind of bile.

Turns out the mahoosive subsidy is the sfp. Payment to be brought forward....:(

Ed. Creed will announce at the ploughing that he organized it...

French radio.
    Dept. of Ag. announces massive ‘grants’ for farmers suffering from drought...the radio station were immediately inundated with calls, texts and emails complaining about agriculture being over subsidized and ‘let them eat cake’ kind of bile.

Turns out the mahoosive subsidy is the sfp. Payment to be brought forward....:(

Ed. Creed will announce at the ploughing that he organized it...

Will you be able to book the skiing trip a bit earlier this year so, Dawg?:P

Jayzz tis hard to visualize, or even dream of snow in this weather!

The glaciers up on tignes in the French alps are just about still open now for summer even despite the heat wave!

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭forgottenhills

Hello Gawddawggonnit.

I'm a lurker on the Farming thread here for some years, and have read many of your posts with interest.

Do you mind me asking what part of France are you farming in and what were the reasons behind you deciding to move out there in the first place? Apologies if you have answered these questions many times previously.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,157 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Timmaay wrote: »
    The glaciers up on tignes in the French alps are just about still open now for summer even despite the heat wave!
    Eldest sent me this pic last week of himself and his girlfriend skiing on Mt. Buller, Victoria. I can't get my head around the fact that it snows in Australia :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Base price wrote: »
    Eldest sent me this pic last week of himself and his girlfriend skiing on Mt. Buller, Victoria. I can't get my head around the fact that it snows in Australia :o

We flew over those mountains en route from Sydney to Melbourne around this time of the year and they were full of snow
    It was about 16c in Sydney at the time and 11 or so in Melbourne ,with cold mornings
    Theres quite an active ski resort up there

• Registered Users Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Mortelaro wrote: »
    We flew over those mountains en route from Sydney to Melbourne around this time of the year and they were full of snow
    It was about 16c in Sydney at the time and 11 or so in Melbourne ,with cold mornings
    Theres quite an active ski resort up there

Was up there this time last year for a couple of days skiing, by god they know how to charge, could have nearly got a week skiing in Europe by the time we had everything paid for, nice spot though

The journals dairy specialist seems to have found a new group of farmers to run-down, don’t think it’s a battle he will win, that lad needs someone signing of on his social media posts before they are put up online

• Registered Users Posts: 11,078 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

The journals dairy specialist seems to have found a new group of farmers to run-down, don’t think it’s a battle he will win, that lad needs someone signing of on his social media posts before they are put up online

Specialist ????? Dosnt Like been questioned and seriously one sided views

Seems to of emitted the fact that over 2 million Bobby calves are slaughtered yearly in New Zealand when trying to get across his point about crossbred cows having viable beef calves for the New Zealand beef industry, wouldn’t be the brightest spark by any stretch

A lot of people are experts when they don't rely for money on the job they're lecturing the people that do on

Only gob****es listen

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭liosnagceann75

Has anyone an idea of the difference in milk solids between a tank put on agitating at collection and a tank which isint?

I posted some time ago about issues with the drivers not switching off the tank. Contacted the Co op and was told its mandatory for drivers to switch off the tank and put the tank agitating prior to collection. I was also told its not mandatory for them to put the tank on washing. Thanks

That advisor was winging it
    Lots of people on overnight collection
    Imagine if the driver didn't turn on the washer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

who said what in the Journal??

• Registered Users Posts: 29,109 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Any tips from the grassland open day thingy today?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Has anyone an idea of the difference in milk solids between a tank put on agitating at collection and a tank which isint?

I posted some time ago about issues with the drivers not switching off the tank. Contacted the Co op and was told its mandatory for drivers to switch off the tank and put the tank agitating prior to collection. I was also told its not mandatory for them to put the tank on washing. Thanks

If it's not put agitating the bf result can be effected. It's why the milk meter when milk recording should agitate before taking the sample

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

whelan2 wrote: »
    Any tips from the grassland open day thingy today?

A good day as always, peter hamm's story is amazing gping from 30 cows to 130 in six years.
    Investing in high return areas when your expanding is cruical