Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dating Foreigners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭umop episdn

kravmaga wrote: »
    Now your sucking diesel lad, :D

Whatever you and Vin do in your free time is up to you!

Only one person from my circle of friends (male or female) is going out with a non-Irish person and almost all are married so it’s not going to change. Wouldn’t be for me personally, a foreign woman will eventually want to go home and I’ve zero interest in ever leaving Ireland, even if they don’t they won’t have family around for support if there are kids, you will have to travel there regularly at times like Christmas etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I think its just common because of how multicultural ireland is now. I remember a few years ago going on dates with a number of different guys and then finding it funny how every single one happened to be foreign without specifically searching for foreign people at all, and foreign people are just so common that I barely even acknowledged they were foreign or noticed all of the guys I dated were foreign either

And well i can't say I agree that theres no women dating foreign men.I know several who are dating foreign men from many different places though. but men are more open to dating women of other cultures and races and nationalities and this is well studied phenomena

_Dara_ wrote: »
    The Irish-Irish relationships that work well (and there are many) tend to work along the lines of mutual respect. Nobody thinks outside their own relationship and why would they?

Any relationship that works well is likely to work along the lines of mutual respect. It's hardly something exclusive to Irish-Irish relationships. Without mutual respect, it's going to be difficult to keep the love/interest alive... unless, of course, they're together for other reasons (money, status, arranged by the family).
    My husband’s most high maintenance ex by a country mile was Slovakian, incidentally.

And mine was Thai. But then again, one of my 'lowest' maintenance was also Thai. I tend to think its more of an individual trait than a national thingy.
    Again, I remain fascinated by the use of the word ‘date’ in these types of threads. The term hasn’t really entered the lexicon generally but threads on ‘foreign v Irish wimminz’ tend to be lousy with it.

Why? I mean, I assume date would be for dating... which would suggest it's related to those single, and searching for someone (for whatever reason). I don't really get what you mean by date not entering the lexicon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Any relationship that works well is likely to work along the lines of mutual respect. It's hardly something exclusive to Irish-Irish relationships. Without mutual respect, it's going to be difficult to keep the love/interest alive... unless, of course, they're together for other reasons (money, status, arranged by the family).

I never said otherwise. That poster was saying Irish women need to be nicer to Irish guys. My point was that if you’re in a good all-Irish relationship, you already are. Most couplings are still all-Irish. This vaguely threatening “You better be nice or we’ll all fuck off!” is childish and hasn’t really come to fruition. My thinking is why are these aggrieved Irish men seemingly always finding Irish bitches? Why are other Irish men not having trouble in this area? If something happens to someone a lot, it’s time to look inwards. Because, chances are, the nationality of the lady isn’t the true issue.

On the use of the word ‘dating’, I’m not sure why it piques my interest but it does. Makes me slightly doubt the veracity of the story or something? I feel like I’m on a US site in these types of threads. Generally Irish people say they are “seeing” someone or “going out” with them. ‘Dating’ sounds artificial to my ears.

I never said otherwise. That poster was saying Irish women need to be nicer to Irish guys. My point was that if you’re in a good all-Irish relationship, you already are. Most couplings are still all-Irish. This vaguely threatening “You better be nice or we’ll all fuck off!” is childish and hasn’t really come to fruition. My thinking is why are these aggrieved Irish men seemingly always finding Irish bitches? Why are other Irish men not having trouble in this area? If something happens to someone a lot, it’s time to look inwards. Because, chances are, the nationality of the lady isn’t the true issue.

While I agree with you that it's most likely their own issues, and they should look inside themselves, sometimes it can be as simple as finding someone from a different culture. I didn't have much luck with Irish women, and had tremendous success when I moved abroad. But I would say that the act of moving abroad did change me, so I wouldn't have been the same person I was when I 'failed' so much in Ireland.

So, yes, I do think a lot of the guys who are complaining should focus a bit on self-improvement. However, I do think there is some truth in what they say about many Irish women. Not all, and not even the majority, just many.

I observed my friends who were dating successfully, and saw their "adventures", and while many of them did have successful relationships, they had to go through a seriously large amount of failed approaches to get to that point. Often with women who were rather... blunt or nasty in their rejections. (I'm not talking about drunk guys approaching a girl in a nightclub). Or the guys who got into relationships with princesses or "users". The problems don't rest solely on the side of the guys behavior... (It's a pity we tend to learn so much from our negative relationships rather than the really good ones)
    On the use of the word ‘dating’, I’m not sure why it piques my interest but it does. Makes me slightly doubt the veracity of the story or something? I feel like I’m on a US site in these types of threads. Generally Irish people say they are “seeing” someone or “going out” with them. ‘Dating’ sounds artificial to my ears.

I dunno. Most Irish people I know with the exception of those who married early, have lived abroad either in the UK/US/Oz and would have picked up the terminology there. I certainly did. I'd imagine dating is more for people who are still at the casual stage whereas "going out"/"seeing" would suggest a relationship is on the horizen.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Wouldn't be a fan of dating Foreignors. Like my Irish Men. Don't see myself with a Foreign chap and not having our Irish Wit and sarcasm and banter on tap. I always think that Irish peeps are feicin' hilariously expertly-witty when angry! :D With that said I wouldn't mind giving an English fella a whirl....

A Lady in one of my Dance-Classes hasn't seen her Daughter or Grand-kids who are living abroad in 16 years! :eek::eek: I can't get my brain around that at all! I can't imagine my luvly Mammy n' Daddy not being able to see their Grand-kids every few days or every week! If they ever feicing get any! :pac:

I don't mind saying Foreign Women are very goodlooking, but, if yer with them for their looks admit it, I don't like hearing anyone harp on about oh how it's so great now that the children are going to be Bi-lingual and exposed to multiple Cultures! They'll be exposed to feic all 'cos obvs, if ye are living in one Country the other Country's Grandparents and extended Family aren't going to get to see the kids now are they! So at least admit it's 'cos the woman is hawt and nought to do with Culture shyte!! :pac::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

I find foreigners attractive to look at but have never gone out with one and likely won’t.
    I think Irish men can be a bit smarmy when dating a foreign woman because they think that’s what she wants.
    You often wonder too about the ones who are just looking for visas.
    Or the guy who says he only likes Asian women - watches anime porn for sure.

I don't mind saying Foreign Women are very goodlooking, but, if yer with them for their looks admit it, I don't like hearing anyone harp on about oh how it's so great now that the children are going to be Bi-lingual and exposed to multiple Cultures! They'll be exposed to feic all 'cos obvs, if ye are living in one Country the other Country's Grandparents and extended Family aren't going to get to see the kids now are they! So at least admit it's 'cos the woman is hawt and nought to do with Culture shyte!! :pac::p

I lean towards Asian women because they're often stunningly beautiful, age extremely well, usually quite slim and I do actually enjoy the cultural differences (including the differences in expectations regarding relationships). But it's the black hair and dark/black eyes that really fascinate me. Just seem to drown in those eyes. Yummy.

But having a different culture can be difficult, but then, that difficulty is really interesting too.

Or the guy who says he only likes Asian women - watches anime porn for sure.

While I don't only like Asian women, I would have a very strong preference for them. I've lived over a decade in Asia (China, Japan and Korea), and I've never watched either Anime or Anime porn. Didn't have the Asian fascination until my first Asian girlfriend. Could never see the point of watching cartoons have sex... and porn itself is rather pointless when you can just go out and find someone.

That stereotype is rather worn out at this point, and mostly imported from the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Only one of my female friends is not married to a foreign man. They're mostly married to Australians, but also US, Canada, UK, New Zealand, Korea and France. Only the one with the Korean husband lives in Ireland though and they plan to return to Korea. None of my male friends are married to foreign women but one has had a few Polish girlfriends. My longest relationship was with a Canadian but I had no interest in leaving Ireland and he couldn't stay here any longer. In my experience just as many Irish women are in relationships with foreign men but they move to the man's home country. With so much travel and emigration I don't see anything strange in it, something a little bit different is often attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

I was a tourist fisher for man years through my work but the best craic was always with Irish women. It's in them to understand us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I'm a foreigner, and married to another foreigner - we're not originally from the same country, either.

I did date some Irish lads when I first came here, but found the ones I dated rather self-absorbed and a little on the narrow-minded side.

Shenshen wrote: »
    I'm a foreigner, and married to another foreigner - we're not originally from the same country, either.

I did date some Irish lads when I first came here, but found the ones I dated rather self-absorbed and a little on the narrow-minded side.

I’m guessing that they were wary of your vegetarianism? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I’m guessing that they were wary of your vegetarianism? :D

I only became vegetarian after meeting my now-husband, so I kind of doubt that ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 620 ✭✭✭aidoh

Each to their own but I think Irish women are among the best-looking group in the world.

Give me a chat with a bright-eyed, pale-skinned, dark-haired, fierce Irish lady any day of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Wow. That is the most horrible thing I've ever heard!

Don't think I've ever heard of someone think that way before wtf?

I wouldn't be my way of thinking, but I wouldn't think it's all that unusual to be honest. Surely you can't be all that shocked!

As for dating foreigners - I never really did, I more had a thing for collecting them as brief flings or one nighters (variety being the spice of life and all that!:D)

The woman I've been with for well over the past decade is half Egyptian racially, but was adopted as a baby and raised by an Irish family so culturally she's the same as myself. I know I would have been quite keen to ride her either way, but I have no idea if we'd have stayed together if she was raised in Egypt. Who knows, possibly or possibly not??

Might be considered racist in these politically correct days, but I reckon looking like an Arab and behaving like an Arab are 2 very different things.

Who knows maybe she would have been one of those Arabs who doesn't like praying and is mad for scoops and battered sausages - in which case we'd have gotten along just fine regardless.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,255 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Who knows maybe she would have been one of those Arabs who doesn't like praying and is mad for scoops and battered sausages - in which case we'd have gotten along just fine regardless.:D

I heard she loves battering sausages alright

Don't they all Donald;)

You're dead right!

Debtocracy wrote: »
    In general you see more Irish men with foreign women than vice versa as foreigners on average tend to be of lower socioeconomic status and women don’t tend to date downwards.

Not too sure on your comment about lower socioeconomic status.

If you are speaking about meeting someone in their own country then that might be more likely.

But meeting a foreign women in Ireland, or in a third country (not yours or hers) then she is likely to be relatively high up. Relative to her own country at least. Which is the only appropriate benchmark.

Debtocracy wrote: »
    In general you see more Irish men with foreign women than vice versa as foreigners on average tend to be of lower socioeconomic status and women don’t tend to date downwards.

The ones I've dated have:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

aidoh wrote: »

Give me a chat with a bright-eyed, pale-skinned, dark-haired, fierce Irish lady any day of the week.

She would be fierce alright.

Her: Did you vote Yes in gay marriage referendum?
    Me: no

*She starts quietly fuming

Her: did you vote to repeal the 8th

*She turns into the dragon queen from hell and burns me alive

jcorr wrote: »
    She would be fierce alright.

Her: Did you vote Yes in gay marriage referendum?

*She starts quietly fuming

Her: did you vote to repeal the 8th

*She turns into the dragon queen from hell and burns me alive

....as any rational thinking voter would.

I think you just kinda proved the poster's point

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Might be considered racist in these politically correct days, but I reckon looking like an Arab and behaving like an Arab are 2 very different things.

Now you are opening the Nature vs Nurture argument.

There is a good reason for muslims not drinking alcohol as they cannot handle it. Mohammed was a terrible lad for the scoops by all accounts and alcoholism in arabs in europe is fairly bad.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

There is a good reason for muslims not drinking alcohol as they cannot handle it. Mohammed was a terrible lad for the scoops by all accounts and alcoholism in arabs in europe is fairly bad.
    Entirely cultural. It makes sense for some who come from a "dry" culture to maybe go a little overboard in a "wet" one. The Middle East was one of the first places on Earth where humans discovered how to make fermented drinks and they also came up with distillation later on, so they're well adapted to it(unlike say native peoples in the Americas or Australia).
    Wouldn’t be for me personally, a foreign woman will eventually want to go home and I’ve zero interest in ever leaving Ireland, even if they don’t they won’t have family around for support if there are kids, you will have to travel there regularly at times like Christmas etc etc.
    The travel is one aspect I like. That two different cultures thing another. Like I said earlier someone of the same background, culture and shared experience tends to bore me to tears pretty quickly.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Mohammed was a terrible lad for the scoops by all accounts and alcoholism in arabs in europe is fairly bad.

Ah sure apparently he only swore them all off the beer after a dodgy feed of Guinness one night.

a foreign woman will eventually want to go home

Happy days. Get a year or two out of riding a fit sexy foreigner and then a nice easy excuse to break it off and move on to another one.

And on the plus side, you're not going to run the risk of awkwardly running into the ex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Wibbs wrote: »

The travel is one aspect I like. That two different cultures thing another. Like I said earlier someone of the same background, culture and shared experience tends to bore me to tears pretty quickly.

I think what's important for the success of a relationship between two cultures is that you still have very similar values and priorities.
    I come from a background where families wouldn't be close knit or big by any means. My Irish partner has a very small family too and neither of us would feel comfortable with a partner being part of a complex, tightly knit family structure where you got to be heavily involved. Now we have a couple where this is the case and it suits them but we both agreed this would be literally our worst nightmare.
    We were always on par with the speed our relationship developed because where I'm from people are faster to get more serious than Irish people are. We have similar views in values in general. I think if someone gets involved with another foreign person that both of them are probably a lot more non-traditional in their views to begin with which probably makes it easier to get along.
    Something that always stands out for me when I see my Irish girlfriends is that a lot of them still have very traditional core values and are very close to their families or are somewhat faithful in god and most of them wouldn't go out with a person from abroad because it would be super difficult to match these own personal values.
    While I grew up in an atheist household and never had this factor of faith in my life to begin with.

Ah, all that waffle, I hope someone can make sense of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Knex. wrote: »
    A lot of Irish women aren't stuck up, absolutely take pride in their appearance, and are very much up for a laugh.

That's a baffling statement, tbh.

He's from Dundalk, what do you expect. Oh look what I did there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I think you just kinda proved the poster's point

"I like women from cultures that are more backward"

Abortion's a bit more of a toss-up and you might be able to make your case and avoid open scorn but neither of those are a woman thing. Most people will think you're a knob if you voted against Marriage Equality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Knex. wrote: »
    A lot of Irish women aren't stuck up, absolutely take pride in their appearance, and are very much up for a laugh.

That's a baffling statement, tbh.

Honestly its such a ridiculous generalisation it sounds like a guy who just can't get laid here and thinks the grass is os much greener on the other side and blames frustrations on irish women and that they're the problem

Every irish person knows lots of attractive irish women with great personalities, not hard to find

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭jiltloop

You just can't beat the Irish sense of humour and I think foreigners struggle to really grasp or appreciate it. There's loads of beautiful foreign women around but as for relationships I'm happy to stick with my Irish girlfriend who is on the same page as me and has the same sense of humour as me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭HughWotMVIII

I know someone who dates exclusively foreign women and his little 12 year old bro advanced the best theory I've heard on my why.

He noticed this guy is quite insensitive by nature and while an Irish girl might respond to some of the things he'll unthinkingly say with a swift "get lost", foreign girls give him a second chance to explain all these things because they assume maybe somethings been lost in translation with language differences. So he has a chance to think every stupid utterance through and go it again and this time parcel it up in a "no what I really meant was ...".

I can relate to this.

I dated an Irish guy who was a bit of an ass but I didn't realise it until much later because I chalked a lot of the "odd" things to the cultural difference.

Whereas with a guy from my own country, I'd be able to spot the red flags a mile away.
    Theres so many good looking Irish women as there are so many average/ugly looking foreign women!!

This whole thing about the Irish people in general being ugly is ****e ive seen enough mental looking foreigners here and abroad its not exclusive to Ireland!

I've never understood why Irish people and Irish women in particular get so much flak with regards to attractiveness. I find the Irish to be incredibly attractive. Clear skin, lovely pale skin, lovely curvy figures...

You all need to appreciate yourselves more.

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭juanjo

jiltloop wrote: »
    You just can't beat the Irish sense of humour and I think foreigners struggle to really grasp or appreciate it. There's loads of beautiful foreign women around but as for relationships I'm happy to stick with my Irish girlfriend who is on the same page as me and has the same sense of humour as me.

Nah, we just don't understand when you talk, that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭jiltloop

juanjo wrote: »
    Nah, we just don't understand when you talk, that's all.

:pac: In a lot of cases probably yes! But seriously it's maybe not just about the sense of humour but what the humour is based on which a lot of the time can relate back to growing up in Ireland in the 80s and 90s.

So it's not in anyway a slight on the sense of humour of any foreigners (except Germans of course! :pac:) but more so about the subject matter of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Yeah American or Australian are just like Irish women with a horrible accent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

jiltloop wrote: »

Totally agree with this. It's not at all to say that other nationalities don't have a sense of humor, but there's that real Irish brand that doesn't translate in most cases. It's definitely why I prefer Irish women.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

wakka12 wrote: »
    Honestly its such a ridiculous generalisation it sounds like a guy who just can't get laid here and thinks the grass is os much greener on the other side and blames frustrations on irish women and that they're the problem
    There's quite a lot of that going on alright. Another angle is that because some guys think like this and believe Foreign Women™ are more Easygoing© and Approachable© they themselves act differently and with more confidence. Add in the exotic factor on both sides, and some heavy duty positive selection bias where they ignore/write off as outliers Foreign Women™ who are thundering wagons and only see the "nice ones", the glass as half full. If they're actually living overseas they can also reinvent themselves to be better versions of themselves, so do better that way(they'd be the same back home. I've seen this happen with guys who moved from small town Ireland to Dublin have the same effect). So yeah the grass does indeed appear to be greener. I've personally known a couple of lads who couldn't get arrested locally, but who did far better overseas, or with non Irish women more locally and IMHO 99% was down to the above.
    Every irish person knows lots of attractive irish women with great personalities, not hard to find
    Very true.
    I've never understood why Irish people and Irish women in particular get so much flak with regards to attractiveness. I find the Irish to be incredibly attractive. Clear skin, lovely pale skin, lovely curvy figures...
    Very much so. IMHO Irish women tend to be softer in the face too. In some populations yes you can get very striking looking women(and men), but equally that can go all the way to harsh. I've noticed in my travels anyway that places with more WOW women, also tend to have more WTF in the mix as well.

I suppose it also depends on one's personal taste. If someone's not particularly attracted to pale skin and curvy figures and more into thin and tanned then you're less likely to find that here than say in the Latin countries. I knew a couple of Italian lads a few years back and they were mad for pale skinned Irish "Colleens"(with extra boobage. :D Irish women are defo more blessed in that dept than the Latins) and much less so for their own. That exotic factor again I suppose.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

You all need to appreciate yourselves more.

For me, looks were never the problem. There are some gorgeous Irish women. The crazy and the impossibly high standards were.

professore wrote: »
    . There are some gorgeous Irish women. .

Absolutely, some stunningly beautiful Irish women.
    Although my missus is foreign looking my more natural preference is for redheads. Her hair was, and still is, dyed red, so she's really only in on a technicality:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Only one person from my circle of friends (male or female) is going out with a non-Irish person and almost all are married so it’s not going to change. Wouldn’t be for me personally, a foreign woman will eventually want to go home and I’ve zero interest in ever leaving Ireland, even if they don’t they won’t have family around for support if there are kids, you will have to travel there regularly at times like Christmas etc etc.

There is some truth to this. When I moved to the US, I deliberately avoided dating Irish men and indeed avoided hanging out with the Irish crowd in general.

I married a man who is not Irish - it was important to me to marry someone who would not start wanting to move back to Ireland. It does mean that we spend the bulk of our vacation time visiting Ireland and his country, but it is a cheap price to pay for both of us not to live in our countries of origin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

I'd agree with other posters on here that having similar cultural experience helps a relationship. My brother is going with a russian and he has literally no time to himself,always having to do Jobs for her. She is also mental and accuses him of seeing other women. I think my line is the Iron curtain once you go past that you're ****ed:-p It's funny my spanish girlfriend is the complete opposition and very chilled. On Irish girls, why do you wear so much make-up?

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭shakeitoff

People always talk about weight when it comes to Irish women and whatever about Irish women being attractive(I think they are) weight has nothing to do with. Most fat people are probably just fat because they haven't got good faces so don't care.

shakeitoff wrote: »
    People always talk about weight when it comes to Irish women and whatever about Irish women being attractive(I think they are) weight has nothing to do with. Most fat people are probably just fat because they haven't got good faces so don't care.

Most chubsters have very good facial muscle tone. You just can't see it under all the fat

All that chewing.

• Registered Users Posts: 564 ✭✭✭shakeitoff

Wouldn't be a fan of dating Foreignors. Like my Irish Men. Don't see myself with a Foreign chap and not having our Irish Wit and sarcasm and banter on tap. I always think that Irish peeps are feicin' hilariously expertly-witty when angry! :D With that said I wouldn't mind giving an English fella a whirl....

A Lady in one of my Dance-Classes hasn't seen her Daughter or Grand-kids who are living abroad in 16 years! :eek::eek: I can't get my brain around that at all! I can't imagine my luvly Mammy n' Daddy not being able to see their Grand-kids every few days or every week! If they ever feicing get any! :pac:

Are Irish people actually witty? Never really saw it myself, Irish humour is very in your face imo. And sarcasm is so hard to get right, so many people are utterly charmless when being sarcastic. All my funny friends while funny aren't witty, they are quick but it's just insult after insult. There's nothing subtle there. There are differences in Irish humour imo depending where you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Go to some resort in Europe for a week and you can have Irish and English in the one week.

Maybe some people prefer foreign women because their nights out don't revolve around getting wasted drunk?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

shakeitoff wrote: »
    Are Irish people actually witty? Never really saw it myself, Irish humour is very in your face imo. And sarcasm is so hard to get right, so many people are utterly charmless when being sarcastic. All my funny friends while funny aren't witty, they are quick but it's just insult after insult. There's nothing subtle there. There are differences in Irish humour imo depending where you go.

I have to agree. True humor translates, Irish humor very often doesn't.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Entirely cultural. It makes sense for some who come from a "dry" culture to maybe go a little overboard in a "wet" one. The Middle East was one of the first places on Earth where humans discovered how to make fermented drinks and they also came up with distillation later on, so they're well adapted to it(unlike say native peoples in the Americas or Australia).

Looks like a pain in the ass to me, observing friends having to wrangle children from one country to another and earmark a good chunk of holidays for family-visiting every year. Honestly, that sounds kind of limiting and would restrict travel to new places rather than opening up the world. I also don’t see how growing up in a similar culture makes someone boring. It’s about the individual.