Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1 in 5 homeless are non EU.

• 20-06-2018 7:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭

How can the government ever solve this problem with figures like that?

It’s madness.

Do people not realize once you house these non EU families an influx will happen.

But hey let’s house everyone who wants a house.

Why is there never a balanced debate on the people in emergency accommodation?

All Sinn Fein rant about is how they all need a house of their own, but never any questions asked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,998 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Sure don't you know...Only fools and horses work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭D3V!L

I bet they're dole scroungers too ?? Am I right :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

D3V!L wrote: »

Well wouldn’t it be nice if we had some figures to tell?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Youre not allowed ask questions like this or you will be sent for re education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

How can the government ever solve this problem with figures like that?

It feeds the vicious circle.
    With the uncontrolled numbers of economic migrants coming into the country, it will keep the number of people required to be housed by the tax payer at a constant level. The anti-worker parties (SF, AAA, Labour) will scream loudly that nothing is improving; irrespective of the enormous amount of money being spent on social housing.

This then skews the prices that working people have to pay for rent/mortgages, so the people who deserve a break/help with affordable housing are left out to dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Kivaro wrote: »
    It feeds the vicious circle.
    With the uncontrolled numbers of economic migrants coming into the country, it will keep the number of people required to be housed by the tax payer at a constant level. The anti-worker parties (SF, AAA, Labour) will scream loudly that nothing is improving; irrespective of the enormous amount of money being spent on social housing.

This then skews the prices that working people have to pay for rent/mortgages, so the people who deserve a break/help with affordable housing are left out to dry.

Everybody knows the simple truth that nobody wants to speak.

You can have a welfare state or you can have mass immigration, but you can't have both.

Even back as far as 2011 over half of Dublin City councils housing list was foreign.
    https://www.herald.ie/news/over-half-on-housing-list-are-foreign-27973856.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Can I see the evidence for this 1 in 5 homeless are non EU claim? Can’t seem to find that report myself by googling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Can I see the evidence for this 1 in 5 homeless are non EU claim? Can’t seem to find that report myself by googling.

and the definition of homelessness in this case. Are they people who are sleeping rough or are on a housing list?

conorhal wrote: »
    You can have a welfare state or you can have mass immigration, but you can't have both.

Didn't you hear? Ireland is different because we're a grand bunch of lads.
    We can do both at the same time.

And we will not succumb to the failures of other countries like Germany and Sweden, who have far greater resources than us, when it comes to integration of economic migrants.

Meanwhile, in the land of reality .................. vulnerable children are left unprotected by our inadequate child protection system, mental health services is crumbling with the resignation of psychiatrists around the country. While we can apparently afford to house all those who come to our shores, psychiatrists have to treat patients in the South East in a building with just a chair, barely blinds on the window and "snails on the walls".

No to mention the bureaucracy-ladden HSE and the disservice it provides to the people of this country, and the lack of funding for other basic services such as education and infrastructure.

But we'll make it work, because you know ............. we're a grand bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Another factually dubious rant from the angry sadsack brigade.

Yeah still no evidence to back up the claim on which this whole thread is centred...

It was stated on newstalk this morning in a conversation about homelessness.

Right, and such a headline grabbing statistic would be easy to verify surely. I mean if 20% of our homeless are non-EU nationals then that’s surely been confirmed via a study or research.

Funny thing is, I can’t seem to find any evidence to back up this claim and none has been presented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,646 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Maybe we can swap them for the homeless Irish in england?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,998 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Stated by whom? And, whoever they are, how did they know?

Right, and such a headline grabbing statistic would be easy to verify surely. I mean if 20% of our homeless are non-EU nationals then that’s surely been confirmed via a study or research.

Funny thing is, I can’t seem to find any evidence to back up this claim and none has been presented.

I can was quite easy with a simple google.

https://www.google.com/amp/www.thejournal.ie/homeless-charities-non-nationals-3998158-May2018/?amp=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

By some randomer angry taxi-driver type or by some expert who cited a report?

It really makes a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,050 ✭✭✭✭zell12

About one fifth (21%) of families are from outside the EU, many of who “may not have entitlement to housing support”.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/homeless-families-refuse-tenancies-in-private-sector-report-finds-1.3536716

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Whatever about facts - just give me balance at least.

I was kind of shocked this morning on RTÉ radio when they addressed the controversy about dividing families who entered U.S. illegally - they actually had a lady on to bat explaining their position!!

It's the first time I recall such since Trump was elected president.

I'm not saying who is right there. I'm saying I want to hear both sides. Esp when I'm paying a licence to fund public broadcasting. We have brains we can make up our own minds if both sides are heard.

There have been countless pieces on RTÉ that were completely one-sided in respect to homelessness, social housing, and illegal entry. Any dissent is deemed populist or toxic. They have decided for you. Very Orwellian.

zell12 wrote: »
    About one fifth (21%) of families are from outside the EU, many of who “may not have entitlement to housing support”.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/homeless-families-refuse-tenancies-in-private-sector-report-finds-1.3536716

Nah I’m lying I heard it in a taxi.

See this is the stuff that stops the facts getting out, do gooder lefties dismissing this stuff as fantasy and lies.

Really? Because there’s not a single mention of your figure of 20% there or of your headline grabbing 1 in 5 number.....

See above.

See above.
    Above where? The story that you link to does not seem to affirm the statistic that you quote. Am I missing it somewhere?

Don't know if you should even bother trying to post these links, as undoubtedly the usual contingent will find fault in them; even the well known Department of Housing statistic.

I have a mental image though of some of these same posters putting their heads back in the sand if they bother to read the reports.

That one there is referring to a smaller section of the homeless picture - entire families and specifically excludes anyone who is not part of that demographic. Single people for example.

Still waiting to see evidence that ‘1 in 5 homeless are non-EU’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

From the article...
    Yesterday’s Sunday Independent suggested that senior Housing officials had informed Minister Eoghan Murphy that hundreds of non-EU nationals, who may not be entitled to housing, and as many as 2,000 people in long-term healthcare, may be currently listed as being homeless in error.

Is that where the 20% figure comes from?
    If it is, its a clumsily worded paragraph that has possibly been misread.

Either way, we shouldn't be housing relatively newly arrived Non-Eu (or even EU for that matter). If you have arrived relatively recently, have no job, or a very low paying one - you and your family need to be returned to wherever your support network resides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

The only reporting of it was in relation to opposition groups attacking the government for massaging homelessness figures, as the government no longer wished to have as many people listed as being homeless.

The number of homeless people was just shy of 10,000

A really confusing line often reported in relation to this is 'as many as 2,000 people in long-term healthcare, may be currently listed as being homeless in error'

This is probably a copy paste from some government report. Because of context there's the implication that this figure relates to non-eu, and that the 'error' is manufactured by the government, but this is hard to verify. I also don't know what 'long-term healthcare' actually means.

Edit: Diceicle beat me to it I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Heard it also on Newstalk this morning. People crying FAKE NEWS at stuff they don't like.

Imagine turning up at a high IQ country like Japan or Korea and not being able to house yourself? You'd be on the first flight back to WhoCares-istan.

Heard it also on Newstalk this morning. People crying FAKE NEWS at stuff they don't like.

Imagine turning up at a high IQ country like Japan or Korea and not being able to house yourself? You'd be on the first flight back to WhoCares-istan.

Forget it they will never believe you, head sand firmly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

When I lived in Germany and later in Holland as an EU citizen the first thing I had to do was register with the civic authorities and prove that i had the funds to support myself there. This also required multiple trips to the 'alien immigration' where they checked my backgound/legal status and paperwork /criminal records. Once you proved you were a fit and legal and financially solvent member for their society & had a job or means to support yourself or X amount in a bank account then they granted you a local /civic stamp to demonstrate that you were fit to live there and able to financially support yourself. No stamp no landlord or legal lease or job. No handout to live there, no burdening the locals with more taxes to put you up for free at their expense, no free laywers and 2 sets of translators for you. If you could not demonstrate that you were fit for purpose to contribute and move into their community or saw that you would be a social or financial burden they declined you. Saved their communities a lot of costs and welfare tourism burdens. In the same way if you were in france and were a nuisance during your life and your family were a nightmare to live near they might decline permission to have you buried in the local graveyard - not letting your family claim roots or an area association that might encourage or bring futire generations of social problems to the law abiding families there. It makes a lot of sense. Particularly when you see some of the absolute nonsense that goes on in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

When I lived in Germany and later in Holland as an EU citizen the first thing I had to do was register with the civic authorities and prove that i had the funds to support myself there. This also required multiple trips to the 'alien immigration' where they checked my backgound/legal status and paperwork /criminal records. Once you proved you were a fit and legal and financially solvent member for their society & had a job or means to support yourself or X amount in a bank account then they granted you a local /civic stamp to demonstrate that you were fit to live there and able to financially support yourself. No stamp no landlord or legal lease or job. No handout to live there, no burdening the locals with more taxes to put you up for free at their expense, no free laywers and 2 sets of translators for you. If you could not demonstrate that you were fit for purpose to contribute and move into their community or saw that you would be a social or financial burden they declined you. Saved their communities a lot of costs and welfare tourism burdens. In the same way if you were in france and were a nuisance during your life and your family were a nightmare to live near they might decline permission to have you buried in the local graveyard - not letting your family claim roots or an area association that might encourage or bring futire generations of social problems to the law abiding families there. It makes a lot of sense. Particularly when you see some of the absolute nonsense that goes on in Ireland.

Did the Germans or Dutch take away your right to own paragraphs?

Bit of a wall of text there ^^^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Diceicle wrote: »
    From the article...

Is that where the 20% figure comes from?
    If it is, its a clumsily worded paragraph that has possibly been misread.

Either way, we shouldn't be housing relatively newly arrived Non-Eu (or even EU for that matter). If you have arrived relatively recently, have no job, or a very low paying one - you and your family need to be returned to wherever your support network resides.

You soon forget the way the US, Canada and Australia accommodated how many Irish who fled the homeland after the Famine.

And what support network when folk are fleeing war etc

See

https://www.rte.ie/news/newslens/2018/0619/971627-people-worldwide-displaced/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

I heard it from murph the magicians own mouth on the radio this morn. His attitude was house them first then ask questions later. And he confirmed that the 1in 5 were NOT asylum seekers, but couldn't say who the feck they were.

Graces7 wrote: »
    You soon forget the way the US, Canada and Australia accommodated how many Irish who fled the homeland after

They allowed them in once checked for diseases and quarentined . They did not give them any state benefits,"entitlements" to a free house laid for off the backs of those working,nor give them all the handouts we give illegals today -bottomless access to laywers ,free education, free schoolbooks and lunches, bed and board, heat,light and wifi laud, tv's, mobile phones with allowances for bills to ring their friends,medical cards and free medical access etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Dude89

judeboy101 wrote: »
    I heard it from murph the magicians own mouth on the radio this morn. His attitude was house them first then ask questions later. And he confirmed that the 1in 5 were NOT asylum seekers, but couldn't say who the feck they were.

They're not "Asylum Seeker's" because they were rejected, they have a leave to remain 5 year visa that entitles them to essentially live here forever claim social services and go on the Council housing list. These visas are discretionary but the number of them been issued have risen 70% in recent times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

They allowed them in once checked for diseases and quarentined . They did not give them any state benefits,"entitlements" to a free house laid for off the backs of those working,nor give them all the handouts we give illegals today -bottomless access to laywers ,free education, free schoolbooks and lunches, bed and board, heat,light and wifi laud, tv's, mobile phones with allowances for bills to ring their friends,medical cards and free medical access etc etc

Sounds like Utopia.

Give us more information , like where you get your information from.
    I'm interested in the mobile phones with allowances .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Why do I bother even getting out of bed in the morning? Where's my house and free medical care?

judeboy101 wrote: »
    Everyone else in the thread says the media are reporting that 1 in 5 of the homeless are not EU nationals, but you're telling us the media is reporting that 1 in 5 are not asylum seekers?

You do realise that's a completely different claim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

They're probably also gay, feminist Muslims :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

Graces7 wrote: »
    You soon forget the way the US, Canada and Australia accommodated how many Irish who fled the homeland after the Famine.

And what support network when folk are fleeing war etc

See

This is just black and white thinking, you're comparing immigration from two very different periods of time. You listed 3 colonial nations who were inviting Europeans over to help colonise the land and have since enacted very strict immigration policies. They also very large countries with plenty of land to divide be the population. Those 3 countries have the largest homes in the world because of the low population density. Ireland is a small country with only one proper city, so a population growth hugely effects the price of land.

There was also no dole, free healthcare or social housing in those countries during the Irish famine years. If you didn't work in 1850s America, you stole or starved.

How did mass immigration work out for the indigenous peoples of Australia, Canada and USA? Not very well and it isn't working out for us because it causing the housing/renting crisis and in future, it will lead to wage stagnation/deprecation just like in the UK, when we have low wage migrant workers and machines competing with the indigenous working class for low skilled jobs.

Ireland is a small country but our population density is fairly low. Theres plenty of room for more.

The price of land is driven by far more than pop. density.

Ireland is a small country but our population density is fairly low. Theres plenty of room for more.

y.

Ireland is a bankrupt nation whose taxpayers are being taxed to the hilt to pay off banking gambling debts. We are borrowing money to change the lightbulbs in the street. Our working poor cannot be expected to fund labour left and communist funancing demands and free houses and lifestyles expectations for the entire globe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Kazakhstan (x11 lower pop density than Ireland) & Saudi Arabia (x4.5 lower) are both huge oil-rich nations, with way plenty of room for more people.

Algeria has x3.7 lower density too, covers a huge 2,381,741 km2 (Ire is just 70,273 km2), and is ideally located for economic migrants to settle in.

You can get a nice Yurt for next to nothing, a couple of goats and nice patch for growing vegtables, or wee fishing boat without having to worry about all the taxes, stress, fast-food, language, crime and urban pollution of the far NW Eurozone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭megaten

Forget it they will never believe you, head sand firmly.

How can you expect others to make an effort if your unwilling to make the effort explaining the things you want to talk about?

megaten wrote: »
    How can you expect others to make an effort if your unwilling to make the effort explaining the things you want to talk about?

Everything is explained in my op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

It's all Trumps fault .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭megaten

Everything is explained in my op.

Obviously not enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Kazakhstan (x11 lower pop density than Ireland) & Saudi Arabia (x4.5 lower) are both huge oil-rich nations, with way plenty of room for more people.

Algeria has x3.7 lower density too, covers a huge 2,381,741 km2 (Ire is just 70,273 km2), and is ideally located for economic migrants to settle in.

You can get a nice Yurt for next to nothing, a couple of goats and nice patch for growing vegtables, or wee fishing boat without having to worry about all the taxes, stress, fast-food, language, crime and urban pollution of the far NW Eurozone.
    Much if those countries are more or less uninhabitable though unless you go to huge lengths to make sure people don't just drop dead from the weather and elements. I've heard similar arguments made about Canada but for the same and opposite reasons, it's not possible without essentially building new cities from scratch for that sole purpose.

megaten wrote: »
    Obviously not enough

Obviously for who? You?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

75% of the "refugees" that arrived in Germany in 2015 are still on the dole. Its not much of a stretch to expect similar figures here.