Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Catastrophic condition of roads in Cork city (pic heavy thread)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

Innovative approach! Instead of fixing the road they will show you where it's in bits...

20200414-134410.jpg

right here:

20200414-134428.jpg

20200414-134535.jpg

20200414-134335.jpg

20200414-134546.jpg

hmm, I guess this is like some sort of a speed bump... Makes you go slow that's for sure. Wow.

20200414-135745.jpg

20200414-135739.jpg

20200414-135818.jpg

20200414-135845.jpg

20200414-135848.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,059 ✭✭✭Be right back

I have no pictures but the north ring road, particularly between the fire station and Dunnes is very bad.

• Moderators Posts: 12,367 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

I have no pictures but the north ring road, particularly between the fire station and Dunnes is very bad.

I've noticed roads getting much worse since the lockdown.

• Moderators Posts: 12,367 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Diabhalta wrote: »
    hmm, I guess this is like some sort of a speed bump... Makes you go slow that's for sure. Wow.

20200414-135745.jpg

20200414-135739.jpg

20200414-135818.jpg

20200414-135845.jpg

20200414-135848.jpg

Togher road has been in ****e for years. They relayed the road between SuperValu and cross roads towards togher, but ignored the worst part of the road outside SuperValu and the garage. Slow down and drive like an F1 driver warming tires to dodge those potholes.

now this is something I do not understand and never will.

They resurfaced that horrible bit at the bridge and part of the road that takes you up to the northside, but they just stopped and didn't resurface the rest? They supposed to go a bit further and do another like 50 meters ffs.

20200508-135820.jpg

20200508-135827.jpg

20200508-135903.jpg

20200508-135932.jpg

20200508-135949.jpg

aboslutely no point repairing that and eventually creating bumps and just horribly botching the whole job. R.e.s.u.f.a.c.e. i.t.

20200508-135959.jpg

20200508-140006.jpg

20200508-140013.jpg

20200508-140055.jpg

new footpath built like two monts ago? Nobody really uses it, so it's a parking space now (it supposed to be a parking space in the first place).

20200508-140032.jpg

new lanes painted, a tiny bit of road replaced too, I guess just so it counts as an actual improvement of the road infrastructure.

20200508-135925.jpg

nope.

20200508-140006.jpg

nope.

20200508-140109.jpg

nope.

20200508-140303.jpg

20200508-135544.jpg

that's a no from me I'm afraid ﴾͡๏̯͡๏﴿

20200508-135528.jpg

20200508-140341.jpg

like what am I supposed to do here when I am heading straight? when there's a car is in the opposite lane I can't go there... so I just dive in.. wtf.

20200414-152148.jpg

20200508-135444.jpg

this appeared two weeks ago, I don't know what it is but it's not doing anything.

20200508-135431.jpg

?

20200508-135425.jpg

ok.

20200427-122058.jpg

place is literally falling apart..

20200508-135316.jpg

further towards the city centre outside the church, it's the same... just totally in bits destroyed beyond repair or waiting for some shoddy repair..

there is no hope for this place. Like nothing.

Cork city council needs to cop on. After months and years very little has been done. Like give me 4x4 or I don't know what is the solution really.. Should I start a GoFundMe or what??

20200412-144127.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭ofcork

Saw them throwing shovels of tar into the potholes on grand parade Wednesday morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

ofcork wrote: »
    Saw them throwing shovels of tar into the potholes on grand parade Wednesday morning.

And it's in bits again already. What a surprise.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,431 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Yeah ,was driving on grandparade on wednesday evening and wondered what ejit had though it a good idea to make it like driving on a plowed field ,
    Very very shody ..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users Posts: 8,431 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Yeah ,was driving on grandparade on wednesday evening and wondered what ejit had though it a good idea to make it like driving on a plowed field ,
    Very very shody ..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

Markcheese wrote: »
    Very very shody ..

I tweet the city council last year about that, hit me nowhere. From the corner of the south mall up to the traffic lights by the Capitol is like a country Boreen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

Look at the replies.
    https://twitter.com/corktruckdriver/status/1259860695782510595?s=21

newly resurfaced bit of road outside those new houses on Harbor View Road.

Somebody can explain why they kept this? What is the purpose of it, other than you feel it under the wheels everytime you drive over it? Painting lines is surely a much better idea??

20200615-121915.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭Fabio

I drive a motorbike around the city, or used to until Covid, a fair bit as part of my commute.

The area around the bus station is basically just a gravel road. It's apocalyptic. And it's not just a comfort thing, it's a real safety issue for those of us on two wheels...powered or not.

after recent works on Sunday's well rd there's this half of the new surface on the road that's very bumpy... I assume it's only temporary? No way this is permanent. Don't be telling me this is the final product. It's awful.

Cathedral road is another candidate for resurfacing. From the garda station all the way to Donatello's. Cracks in the road everywhere.

Blarney street at top still in total bits. Absolutely destoryed at this stage.

Mount Agnes rd outside Lidl in Churchfield also totally destroyed. Still. For years now.

In Shandon outside the sweet shop...

These tiles are used all over central and eastern Europe... for foothpaths... Definitely not for roads, it's also bad further up by the rotunda..

btw. nice scratches from people's oil sumps...

I remeber them putting that pedestrian crossing there like 4-5 years ago.. they just painted lines over those two potholes on the left, it's in absolute bits now.

this is a classic ... over the period of more than a year the road keeps sinking here after the bridge on Victoria cross heading towards Dennehy's cross... it's so bad now that you can see the road damaged from cars and vans and everything scraping their oil sumps... shocking.

here a typical move of a motorist driving around it. When you're in the right lane and there's nothing coming towards you on the other side of the road you can drive around it too.

Absolutely shocking stuff right here.

Seems to just be no enforcement of any kind of standard for repairs other than on N roads. The way some of the utilities leave the roads in the all of the cities is an absolute disgrace.

What annoys me, especially with the electrical, gas or telecommunications companies is they make money out of that infrastructure, especially somewhere with density like a city, yet they hack holes into publicly paid for infrastructure then don't fix it properly, leaving it for the local authorities to clean up after them eventually with a resurface.

Western road has been resurfaced finally... it's sure is a nice sight, but unfortunately reality is a bit different. It just won't last long. There will be problems in the future, who knows when.. could be in a year or two, three.. How do I know? Because that was the case elsewhere, I suspect the problem is simply underneath or I don't know what is causing this but these roads don't last long. You can polish a turd but ti will still be a turd.

An example. Dyke parade. Iirc they resurfaced it 3-4 years ago?

You can't see it, this is a google street view pic from July 2019 but there is a little but deep pothole right here somewhere where the letter E in the word Dyke is...

It's there for months, hard to drive around it so slowing down is the best option... Again, this is a relatively new surface, it should last at least a decade and be still intact after all that time

then you turn left towards Mercy hospital and also the road is falling apart.. like how is this even possible after only 3 or 4 years?

somewhere here roughly:

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭C4Kid

Douglas is currently like a warzone thanks to David Nodwell.

I appreciate it's temporary, but an absolute disgrace all the same the condition of the road ATM. Some shower of cowboys.