Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Gardner

puzl wrote: »
    People are rewriting history just a little I think. 2018 the team were within a point of cork, beat Tipp other than the ghost goal and had a stupid amount of injuries after the Clare game going into the Limerick game.

I'm not saying the buck doesn't stop with them but to compare the attitude of the 2018 team to the 2019 team is unfair. The probls of 2019 are more than just player attitude and Ken should know better as he played through the turmoil of the collapse of Justin and the appointment of Davy. The buck certainly didn't stop with the players in 08, it stopped with Justin as I recall.

I'm not in anyway defending the performance or attitude of our players or managers but I think Ken isn't adding anything new to the discussion. Nobody is deluding themselves in thinking that all we need is a new manager but that has to be the first step which is why everyone is focused on it.

Spot on. Ken adds absolutely nothing whatsoever. His contribution on the Sunday game is quite poor also. Never once has he stepped outside the box to talk tactics, player movement or anything alternative. It's either a decent score, a red card etc. and states a few words and gives the player in question a pat on the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭BazBox

Mulbert wrote: »
    To be fair, who ever manages the county is short a forward line.

Brick Walsh single handedly held together the forward line best he could and now hes not there we're e ****ed.

None of our current forwards pick bar Maurice Shanahan have lit up the place in the past.

Are there forwards hiding somewhere?

Did you not hear? Sure Derek ruined them all by playing 15 men in their own half and never gave them any freedom.

On a serious note, looking at the likes of Tipp and Limerick some of their forwards are twice the size of ours, are they on the weights from a very young age?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Mulbert wrote: »
    To be fair, who ever manages the county is short a forward line.

Brick Walsh single handedly held together the forward line best he could and now hes not there we're e ****ed.

None of our current forwards pick bar Maurice Shanahan have lit up the place in the past.
    ?

And Austin Gleeson, as much as people hate to admit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Alf Tupper

Quealy, Dan and Uncle Darragh.

Dr Noelle and Derek will give the imprimatur to that set up and will also allow the Mahoney's to keep their places.

Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭EYEBALLSOUT

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    Quealy, Dan and Uncle Darragh.

Dr Noelle and Derek will give the imprimatur to that set up and will also allow the Mahoney's to keep their places.

Job done.

Uncle Darragh???

Darragh Sullivan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

Gardner wrote: »
    ****ing hell hahaha
    When did you jump on the bandwagon. After 09 was it.?
    Spot on. Ken adds absolutely nothing whatsoever. His contribution on the Sunday game is quite poor also. Never once has he stepped outside the box to talk tactics, player movement or anything alternative. It's either a decent score, a red card etc. and states a few words and gives the player in question a pat on the back.

Amazing insight as usual. I feel so enlightened by such clear, well thought out, unbiased and not at all self entitled statements. We should make a 200m high statue of you over the Ard Ri with a huge lemon stuck in your mouth so that future generations can admire this type of bitter guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭upthedeise16

‪Tonight’s two senior football championship games in Fraher Field between Clashmore/Kinsalebeg & Kilmacthomas and Ardmore & Gaultier have been postponed!‬

Anyone know why these were called off? I know why the Brickeys game was called off Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭tommylad1212

‪Tonight’s two senior football championship games in Fraher Field between Clashmore/Kinsalebeg & Kilmacthomas and Ardmore & Gaultier have been postponed!‬

Anyone know why these were called off? I know why the Brickeys game was called off Friday.
    Brickeys game was only called off yesterday evening

It's ok Derek you'll probably get another chance next week on TSG to explain away your under achievements as a player and a manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,211 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Hopefully we have a new management team in place by the time of the county senior hurling semi finals or even QFs (possibly too early as there due to played early September ?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,531 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Anyone know why these were called off? I know why the Brickeys game was called off Saturday.

WLR said this morning they were postponed as a mark of respect following the tragic road fatility on the Waterford to Cork road early on the weekend

KevIRL wrote: »
    WLR said this morning they were postponed as a mark of respect following the tragic road fatility on the Waterford to Cork road early on the weekend

Very sad too many of these tragic road accidents lately both in GAA circles and outside

RIP and prayers to family, friends and club members of the deceased

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Heard Ken McGrath during the week saying its all well and good blaming the managers but the players are the ones who've received little if any blame over the last two years. Ken seemed to be saying that the buck stops with the 15 players that cross the line and for Watetford the players have been very poor in Munster last two years. From the outside looking in, it doesn't look like the talent is there. For starters the forwards ate miles off the likes off Tipp. Hope they sort it out as Waterford are great to watch when in full flow .

Speaking of Ken, I read his book whilst on holiday, a good read I thought.
    Didn’t realize how serious his health was with the heart and brain haemorrhage.
    An absolute warrior for Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

I didn’t realise there was s tick-box criteria for someone to be considered a good Sunday Game analyst. From what I can see most of his work is in the match-day studio where you are asked questions about exactly that, the big score, a controversial red card, a game ebbing and flowing etc. It’s not the time or place to be preaching about and dissecting sweeper systems. Sometimes the short snappy soundbites is exactly what the day time viewer wants.

We know the night time show is more for the prophets that are third level educated, they get more scope to flex their intellectual muscle. There’s plenty outside the box talk you if you want it, including anti colonial propaganda if that tickles your fancy aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭Chalk McHugh

I didn’t realise there was s tick-box criteria for someone to be considered a good Sunday Game analyst. From what I can see most of his work is in the match-day studio where you are asked questions about exactly that, the big score, a controversial red card, a game ebbing and flowing etc. It’s not the time or place to be preaching about and dissecting sweeper systems. Sometimes the short snappy soundbites is exactly what the day time viewer wants.

We know the night time show is more for the prophets that are third level educated, they get more scope to flex their intellectual muscle. There’s plenty outside the box talk you if you want it, including anti colonial propaganda if that tickles your fancy aswell.

Too true. I must say i like the two most prominent Deise hurling pundits. John Mullane is a national treasure at this stage. The jobs his for life as far as im concerned. Absolute gent as well, i had a nice chat with him at the All Ire preview night on the Saturday in Flannerys few years back. Ken only starting off in comparison but has a lovely manner about him. No bull****, nice and relaxed with a sprinkling of humour often at his own expense. Seems a really sound man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭upthedeise16

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/derek-mcgrath-waterford-manager-205047

Stick to the Harty for a while Derek. I said this months ago, it’s as if he feels it’s still his job and these are still his lads. Genuinely feel his media presence and continued close relationship with players had an adverse effect on Fannings rein. Maybe take a step back from hurling all together, he can’t have read al the Shakespeare plays!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭emergingstar

I think thats him saying he wants the job

Stick to the Harty for a while Derek. I said this months ago, it’s as if he feels it’s still his job and these are still his lads. Genuinely feel his media presence and continued close relationship with players had an adverse effect on Fannings rein. Maybe take a step back from hurling all together, he can’t have read al the Shakespeare plays!

Saw the same article yesterday and just said to myself- what an ego! Whatever manager comes in will have to cut 3/4 players loose anyway but Derek’s stranglehold/influence on this team needs to be nullified. General public ( not just in Waterford) are getting tired of his columns, analysis and overall bull****. I started off supporting Derek as manager but since his stepping down, he’s become insufferable and unfortunately this has had a knock on effect on the overall mood of the Co team and dare i say the County in general.

Morale in this county is at an all time low in terms of confidence in our ability to compete.
    Development squads are getting hockey‘d from under 14 to u20.
    None of this is Derek’s fault btw but the continuous media presence, keeping himself linked himself to the managerial job and general sniping thats going on, on Tv is certainly not helping morale.

Waterford is a proud county, with some great people in who if given a chance might be able to turn things around. It only takes a few small things to change to see positive results but there needs to be a willingness and acceptance for change.

First stop, is for Derek to cop himself on and behave properly and responsibly when it comes to media work. Distance himself from the the current vacancy so as to allow the players and supporters move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭willbeuptuesday

I recently spoke to two people within the county board and both told me that there was a review going on behind the scenes of everything. While this is welcome I can't understand why this does not involve players and clubs ie. seek their opinion. At the very least it should be communicated to the GAA folk of Waterford that such a thing is happening. HAs anyone else heard this?

Heard about it alright. Agree with you that it should be communicated and also recommendations/submissions from clubs should be sought.

As I said there has to be a willingness for change but also an acceptance for it. All this cloak and dagger behind the scenes ‘we’ll sort it ourselves without any help from anyone ‘ craic is not all inclusive and serves no one only a select few with egos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Another example of a successful fundraising - this time in Roscommon. No surprise to see them performing well at underage level and senior level in recent years with a population of about 65k - and a hell of a lot of emigration.

Their hurlers got to the semi finals of the Christy Ring too.

The fundraising arm of Roscommon GAA, Club Rossie are like the gift that keeps on giving following their latest members’ draw.

After the success of their ‘Win a House in Dublin’ draw which yielded €1.4 million, Club Rossie have managed to generate another €271,130.

Their latest successful venture was their members’ draw with Roscommon Gaels’ Pio Tully winning the first prize of a Toyota car of their choice from Dermot Hughes Cars.

Roscommon chairman Seamus Sweeney admitted to the Roscommon Herald that the work of Club Rossie has been invaluable.

“We owe them a huge debt so thank you to them from everyone in Roscommon GAA.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

Jesus, the man talks utter jibberish. How he gets airtime in the media is beyond me. Verbal diahorrea in its truest form.

I just hope the selection committee aren’t feeding into this, it’s obvious he’d jump back into the job in a heartbeat. The ship has sailed. Thanks Derek but let it go. Distance yourself from it and wish the next person well. Please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭thesaturdayman

hardybuck wrote: »
    Another example of a successful fundraising - this time in Roscommon. No surprise to see them performing well at underage level and senior level in recent years with a population of about 65k - and a hell of a lot of emigration.

Their hurlers got to the semi finals of the Christy Ring too.

The fundraising arm of Roscommon GAA, Club Rossie are like the gift that keeps on giving following their latest members’ draw.

After the success of their ‘Win a House in Dublin’ draw which yielded €1.4 million, Club Rossie have managed to generate another €271,130.

Their latest successful venture was their members’ draw with Roscommon Gaels’ Pio Tully winning the first prize of a Toyota car of their choice from Dermot Hughes Cars.

Roscommon chairman Seamus Sweeney admitted to the Roscommon Herald that the work of Club Rossie has been invaluable.

“We owe them a huge debt so thank you to them from everyone in Roscommon GAA.”

Club deise did powerful work last 6-7 years seem to have run aground in recent times though, not sure of reasons why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭blueflame

Any supposed review of hurling carried out by the county board will be like our votes in Europe - they will keep getting reviews until they finally find one that pats them on the back and says everything is grand, and until that happens there will never be a review published - so don't hold your breath. I know of at least three committees that have been put together consisting of really good hurling folk over the last 10 years, they got blocked at every hands turn and any report they did formulate never saw the light of day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭willbeuptuesday

Fundraising is so important to the successful running of any County board, we seriously lag behind in this respects. Club Deise do good work no doubt but they are not at the same level as other counties. How much does the Deise draw make for the County Board or is that for the clubs only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Christy Browne

Why the hell did he leave the job in the first place if he's looking for it back again after only a year?

If you think this doesn't effect the players and their relationship with Paraic/the new manager you're only lying to yourself. He hasn't given anyone a chance for a clean break with his constant yapping in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

They cancelled the football out of respect last weekend, but rescheduled Clashmore vs Kilmac for tomorrow, the day of the burial, madness...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭emergingstar