If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

Deskjockey wrote: »
    Does anyone want to make a guess at a team

Sok
    Lyons / McNulty
    Conor Gleeson
    Noel
    Aussie
    Tdb
    Philip Mahoney
    Moran
    Jamie
    Roche / Hogan
    Padraig Mahony
    Kearney
    Shane B
    Stephen B
    Tommy Ryan / P Curran

Or will Brick start??

SOK
    Shane Fives, Conor Prunty, Noelie
    Philip Mahony, TDB, Kevin Moran
    Jamie Barron, Jack Prendergast
    Maurice, Aussie, Paudie
    Shane, Stephen & Peter Hogan

Based on the fact that Conor Gleeson is only returning now. Lack of options at midfield is worrying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Speckydodge

I wonder are people presuming they have no chance of getting a ticket so aren't bothering to try

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Hurling championship pools thread, guess who:

Munster bottom-placed team: Waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Relhcstirt

Only way is up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

Gavlor wrote: »
    Hurling championship pools thread, guess who:

Munster bottom-placed team: Waterford

It’s going to be savage tough in fairness. That first game against Clare in Walsh P is a must win. No 2 ways about it. If we can get the win in that game we would only be looking for one more win out of the last 3 games to get us in the top 3. Lose to Clare though it’s very hard to claw your way back into contention.

The only other home game is against Limerick who are the form team in the country and hard to expect we will go away to both Cork and Tipp and come away with results. That’s huge ask for any team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

It’s going to be savage tough in fairness. That first game against Clare in Walsh P is a must win. No 2 ways about it. If we can get the win in that game we would only be looking for one more win out of the last 3 games to get us in the top 3. Lose to Clare though it’s very hard to claw your way back into contention.

The only other home game is against Limerick who are the form team in the country and hard to expect we will go away to both Cork and Tipp and come away with results. That’s huge ask for any team

I agree with the above except its possible that 4 points may not be enough. But if Waterford don't beat Clare I'd certainly agree that getting through would be very unlikely. I still remember after about 15 minutes in Ennis last year thinking that we were in a very good position. Then we had a chance of a point, went for a goal that wasn't on and the ball went down to Conlan who won a penalty. That followed by 5 injuries (including Maurice who bravely stayed on) showed how our season fell apart in the space of 30 minutes or less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 goldfinger4296

BloodyBill wrote: »
    Clares stand just doesn't have the capacity to accommodate more than a few hundred. That's why they have to accommodate opposition fans in the terrace. Walsh Park has a much bigger stand.

Clare season ticket holders are also in the terrace for Ennis. And we are better off as the stand is a joke. But we have a county board who think it's first class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭spideyman92

Switching codes for a minute, it must feel like a right slap in the face for any young football keepers around the county that the 46 year old Kilrossanty keeper got the call up to replace Beresford instead of them. Fair dues to Mulhearne getting the call up but it says a lot about the state of football in the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

Clare season ticket holders are also in the terrace for Ennis. And we are better off as the stand is a joke. But we have a county board who think it's first class.

Citation needed.

Edit: that was a bit smarmy. I think it's possible for the Clare County Board to think Cusack Park is adequate for the two games a year that it is going to be full without thinking it's 'first class'. I might be wrong though and they think it's perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Deisefacts

Switching codes for a minute, it must feel like a right slap in the face for any young football keepers around the county that the 46 year old Kilrossanty keeper got the call up to replace Beresford instead of them. Fair dues to Mulhearne getting the call up but it says a lot about the state of football in the county.

Fact. I think it’s crazy that they can’t get some goalie who has played minor or u-21 for the county over the last 7/8 years. Darren is a gentleman and is still a good goalie to be fair but what’s next, if they don’t think the forwards are good enough they’ll bring back Pierre white and Pp Ferncombe? The rest of the country is laughing at us not admiring what’s happened

There's 2 minor panels and backroom teams as well

There’s a board officer from our club which has a 124 members and he will have more stand tickets then our club whom he voted for the county board proposal as he was our club delegate on the night of the meeting. So for paddyjoe to say on the Damien tiernan show that the clubs voted for it is very disingenuous when there was more county board, western/eastern and committees members at the meeting then actual club delegates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 goldfinger4296

deiseach wrote: »
    Citation needed.

Edit: that was a bit smarmy. I think it's possible for the Clare County Board to think Cusack Park is adequate for the two games a year that it is going to be full without thinking it's 'first class'. I might be wrong though and they think it's perfect.

The county chairman was on Clare FM praising it. Pat Fitz said it's similar to a lot of stadiums in Europe a boutique stadium he called it. It's a joke of a stand. I'm a season ticket holder and went in to it only once and never again, no room to move.

Again, being careful not to knock Darren personally, fair play to him, he said himself he was more surprised than anyone. but this is a complete joke and raises huge questions about Benji Whelans credentials for the job.

Surely you look to the future here? More beneficial to promote someone from minor or u21s. And give them a chance to bed into the senior setup. I don’t buy into the theory that this reflects poorly on the state of football in the county, there are 40+ football clubs in Waterford, we are not Cavan hurlers. Sounds like Benji is appeasing an old pal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

The county chairman was on Clare FM praising it. Pat Fitz said it's similar to a lot of stadiums in Europe a boutique stadium he called it. It's a joke of a stand. I'm a season ticket holder and went in to it only once and never again, no room to move.

What does 'boutique stadium' even mean? I'm sure he meant it as a compliment though so fair enough, point taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

deiseach wrote: »
    What does 'boutique stadium' even mean? I'm sure he meant it as a compliment though so fair enough, point taken.

'Boutique' means uniquely rubbish. No other stadium in Europe is the same 'badness'. Hes comparing Cusack Park favourably with other nameless Boutique stadiums just shows how out of touch this guy is. Its 'Maduro' type stuff from the man.
    1. The stand is laughable
    2. The terrace is crumbling on the river side even though theres a new roof on it.
    3. Toilet blocks are still a disgrace.
    4. Food and beverage outlets are still in the coke and tayto bracket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭whiteandblue

Again, being careful not to knock Darren personally, fair play to him, he said himself he was more surprised than anyone. but this is a complete joke and raises huge questions about Benji Whelans credentials for the job.

Surely you look to the future here? More beneficial to promote someone from minor or u21s. And give them a chance to bed into the senior setup. I don’t buy into the theory that this reflects poorly on the state of football in the county, there are 40+ football clubs in Waterford, we are not Cavan hurlers. Sounds like Benji is appeasing an old pal

Stephen Enright stepped away from the panel this year and is a huge loss. I know he has been asked time and time again and played 1 league game when both goalies were injured but he couldn't fully commit. Aaron Beresford has been a magnificent underage goalie for Ballinacourty & Waterford but is from the same club as is Kevin Dwaine who was underage goalie before Aaron at both minor and under 21 level. Aaron unfortunately got injured & Kevin stepped away from the panel during the league.

If you look at the top 4 senior clubs in Waterford other than Ballinacourty, the Nire have an outfield player in goal, Stradbally's goalie is of similar age to Mulhearne and then Mulhearne with Kilrossanty. None of the other club goalie would inspire me with confidence tbh, Sean Barron of Ardmore was in previously and stepped away, don't even know if he plays club anymore. Whitty of Gaultier is in and other than that I can't remember a possible candidate from other clubs that would be an improvement from club games I've watched over the last few years and we don't know were others asked and just said No.

Benji probably knows Mulhearne as they would be from a similar area of the county and would have played against each other so he knows his personality and thought he would be a good fit as in most likelihood he won't be playing, unless he is very impressive in training and matches.

Stephen Enright stepped away from the panel this year and is a huge loss. I know he has been asked time and time again and played 1 league game when both goalies were injured but he couldn't fully commit. Aaron Beresford has been a magnificent underage goalie for Ballinacourty & Waterford but is from the same club as is Kevin Dwaine who was underage goalie before Aaron at both minor and under 21 level. Aaron unfortunately got injured & Kevin stepped away from the panel during the league.

If you look at the top 4 senior clubs in Waterford other than Ballinacourty, the Nire have an outfield player in goal, Stradbally's goalie is of similar age to Mulhearne and then Mulhearne with Kilrossanty. None of the other club goalie would inspire me with confidence tbh, Sean Barron of Ardmore was in previously and stepped away, don't even know if he plays club anymore. Whitty of Gaultier is in and other than that I can't remember a possible candidate from other clubs that would be an improvement from club games I've watched over the last few years and we don't know were others asked and just said No.

Benji probably knows Mulhearne as they would be from a similar area of the county and would have played against each other so he knows his personality and thought he would be a good fit as in most likelihood he won't be playing, unless he is very impressive in training and matches.

Dean McKenna from Colligan is a very good goalie, Nial mcsweeny from gaultier has the best potential of all the goalies u-20 yrs of age, the ring goalie is also a top class keeper. Missing in all of the stuff about Darren is also the fact that there is a lad from the nire also training with the panel over the last week who never played at any grade for the county( as far as I’m aware) is 32/33yrs and Shane Lannon(32)from Stradbally was also asked to play but turned it down. It really looks like a case that Benji and his selectors have no interest in lads u-30.
    Look I don’t blame them, it’s not their fault if lads head off for the summer, most of the fairl decent players that are in college are heading away to America and best of luck to them but are we going to win Munster(no) are we going to win the all Ireland( no) will we beat Clare even( probably not) the best we are hoping for is a morale victory again in the next round.
    Like I said how can you blame the lads when there isn’t even an u-20 management team in place and that championship is starting next month and the board have them entered in a tournament starting in 2 weeks time.
    County chairman saying they treat both equally is really talking airy fairy stuff now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭spideyman92

Yea you're right on the 40+ clubs point. I just think that that kind of cronyism is going to do no good for football in the county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Any of ye actually see him play? Or do you know the circumstances, as in how many other players made themselves available?

Alarming as it may seem, not the most attractive proposition playing for the footballers.

Half hour interview with Derek McGrath with wooly Parkinson on Joe.ie this week

I can’t understand how someone that is such a deep thinker and clearly knowledgeable about the game served up such a dire negative putrid brand of hurling

Anyway that’s in the past thank god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭BloodyBill

I can’t understand how someone that is such a deep thinker and clearly knowledgeable about the game served up such a dire negative putrid brand of hurling

Hes a good spouter of other peoples quotes. That doesn't necessarily make his IQ level increase. The guy set up all his teams in a fearfull way..Playing from a base of fear is a recipe for defeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭upthedeise16

Any of ye actually see him play? Or do you know the circumstances, as in how many other players made themselves available?

Alarming as it may seem, not the most attractive proposition playing for the footballers.

No denying he’s a good goalie, solid kickouts as well. Hearing that Beresford is back training as well.

I thought his analysis was interesting, especially on how to set up against the likes of Limerick and how he felt other teams set up and have game plans.
    He also puts the value of the Walsh Park very high, perhaps using it an excuse for last years failure to progress from Munster but he seems to think that Austin Gleeson will way the world alight in the home games and the tight dimensions will favour Waterfords style. You’d have to wonder why he didn’t push harder for the home games last year, although he does admit it’s a major regret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

No denying he’s a good goalie, solid kickouts as well. Hearing that Beresford is back training as well.

I thought his analysis was interesting, especially on how to set up against the likes of Limerick and how he felt other teams set up and have game plans.
    He also puts the value of the Walsh Park very high, perhaps using it an excuse for last years failure to progress from Munster but he seems to think that Austin Gleeson will way the world alight in the home games and the tight dimensions will favour Waterfords style. You’d have to wonder why he didn’t push harder for the home games last year, although he does admit it’s a major regret.

Did Beresford not have a serious leg injury? I think Whitty is the first choice keeper now due to that injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭upthedeise16

DiscoStew wrote: »
    Did Beresford not have a serious leg injury? I think Whitty is the first choice keeper now due to that injury.

Dislocated his knee, he’s training but don’t know will he be match fit so it will probably be Whitty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Limestone1

BloodyBill wrote: »
    Hes a good spouter of other peoples quotes. That doesn't necessarily make his IQ level increase. The guy set up all his teams in a fearfull way..Playing from a base of fear is a recipe for defeat.

Fingers crossed the new management can get us to an all Ireland final too ....in a more positive way of course ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,324 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

enjoyed the interview, lots of big ones as usual from Derek

Interesting that Walsh Park is the same pitch size as Parnell Park. Not a fan of Parnell Park as it seemed very tight and small up there in Feb for the league game. Dublin love playing there and Wexford and Galway will struggle up there in the championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

PTH2009 wrote: »
    enjoyed the interview, lots of big ones as usual from Derek

Interesting that Walsh Park is the same pitch size as Parnell Park. Not a fan of Parnell Park as it seemed very tight and small up there in Feb for the league game. Dublin love playing there and Wexford and Galway will struggle up there in the championship

The P###K is building us up again hoping for a big fall. The players realise it aswell.
    On a separate note credit must go to the landscaper in Walsh Park. It is like a carpet in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,324 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Dont buy all this 'Clare squad is depleted with injuries and are in a bad place' stuff. They will love been wrote off and are a pretty dangerous team when they hit form. Tony Kelly and the returning Shane O Donnell are sum of the best in the game

It's really a do or die game as a it's a long intimidating road back from a defeat on the first day out esp with this structure. The old system you could lie back and hope for the best in the qualifier draw

He was too nice. Hes attitude is that the GAA is one big family and what the GAA says goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Stationmaster

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Dont buy all this 'Clare squad is depleted with injuries and are in a bad place' stuff. They will love been wrote off and are a pretty dangerous team when they hit form. Tony Kelly and the returning Shane O Donnell are sum of the best in the game

It's really a do or die game as a it's a long intimidating road back from a defeat on the first day out esp with this structure. The old system you could lie back and hope for the best in the qualifier draw

Clare will obviously be going down all out to win the game but there are 4/5 big players missing which, as ye know yereselves from last year, makes it very hard on a team. If Clare don't win next weekend I can't see them coming out of Munster.

Very poor uptake on tickets too in Clare which is very disappointing.