Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Healy Raes

• Registered Users Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

They are no better or worse than what we have here in Dublin or anywhere else in Ireland.

Bertie Ahern anyone?

Old Bertie wasn’t the worst........brought us the boom...great times looking back....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

They are no better or worse than what we have here in Dublin or anywhere else in Ireland.

Bertie Ahern anyone?

Different styles.

Bertie the cute hoor trying to pretend to be a statesman.

The Healy-Raes, a comedic side show acting the gombeen, get the protest vote against 'them up in dublin'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

BENDYBINN wrote: »
    Old Bertie wasn’t the worst........brought us the boom...great times looking back....

He was actually. Well close to Haughey anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,912 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

A cute hoor with just a thin veneer of respectability.

Yeah. ONE politician brought the boom.
    Think there's more to it than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭valoren

I think of someone like MHR and just think of someone like this.

Tn2_godfather_the_II_1.jpg

Someone who get's things done (albeit without the murdering and extortion) for their community and coins it at the same time. The Kerry Mafia (without the criminality)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

lalababa wrote: »
    MHR is one of the most robust debaters ever to be in the Dail. He would crush you in discourse.

I know a woman that met Leo at the spice girls no less and she decided to have a chat with him, he couldn’t even hold a conversation with her. Probably thinking too much about getting spice girls autographs.

They are cavemen and I'm embarrassed to have them in the Dail. Can we give Kerry its independence maybe?

Bertie was an even bigger embarrassment.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,108 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Dakota Dan wrote: »

And not forgetting Brian Cowen

Yeah and he ran before the bust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Yeah, he couldn't even get a tree knocked down outside my house that was blocking the light.

We need more HR's :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,582 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    And not forgetting Brian Cowen

Brian Clown

The HR’s are even speeding up passports now.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,912 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The HR’s are even speeding up passports now.

They only need speeding up because of our Soviet Union length processing times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

SlowBlowin wrote: »
    awec wrote: »
    I think this thread shows exactly why they keep getting elected.

People don't understand the difference between a TD and a Councillor.

OK, for 40 years I have voted, and not much changes.

Now I vote HR, and our life is better, directly, visibly.

Same rubbish at a National level, but now life locally is better, and we have someone to go to who makes a difference.

I understand the difference between national and local politics, but I vote for someone that delivers, not run with the sheep. If this makes me an idiot in your eyes then I am OK with that too.

We have very serious issues at national level. But once your ok it's all good. Just hope a family member doesn't end up for days seriously I'll on a trolley at a major trauma centre or can't get an ambulance out to a serious accident. Or your kids are don't leave to go to Australia because for a better life due to no rental accommodation because of poor government planning.

Once the roads are fixed in your area it's all good.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭Wildly Boaring

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    We have very serious issues at national level. But once your ok it's all good. Just hope a family member doesn't end up for days seriously I'll on a trolley at a major trauma centre or can't get an ambulance out to a serious accident. Or your kids are don't leave to go to Australia because for a better life due to no rental accommodation because of poor government planning.

But do you honestly think any of the rest are any different.

Varadkar objected to social housing in his area. Ross pushed for new hockey pitches for private schools in his. Lowry claims to have sorted every hirling club in north tip with funding. Howlin gets all the credit in wexford for the 2 motorways. Kenny got rid of the proposed pylons in Mayo. Regina Doherty backed "civil disobedience" against pylons in meath.......

All off the top of my head in 2 mins.

All politics is local.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

Bertie Ahern anyone?

Tony Gregory?

They only need speeding up because of our Soviet Union length processing times.

Would you have to be a constituent of MHR for that to work or does he also take on outsiders?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

ChikiChiki wrote: »

Actually despite your hopes and wishes, my wife was diagnosed with stage 3B Lymphoma about a year ago, we were totally devastated, loads of local support, got her treated in the UK, 6 months chemo and a lot of stress, shes now in remission. What would you suggest I fecking do ? Not a lot of time at 3B, but shes alive and in remission.

Yes we have serious issues at a national level, what do you expect, its how its always been. I vote for someone who makes our lives better, not in a dishonest way, in a local way, using his understanding of law and government and applying it at a local level.

If I used your logic my guess is my wife might well be dead now, if not from the cancer from the pot holes in the road...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,932 ✭✭✭mikemac2

awec wrote: »

They are TDs, they are supposed to focus on national issues. Instead, they act like councillors,

Ministers have all the power, a backbencher has little or no power and just obeys the whip

Most here never heard the name Maria Bailey before last week

And sure why would you? Most don’t get national recognition until they get to be junior minister

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

DeanAustin wrote: »
    That’s a bit condescending. People understand just fine. Most people are just worried about what’s best for them. “Vote for the candidate that’ll get my pothole fixed or the one who’ll push for proper transport links from Dublin Airport?” A lot of people choose pothole.

I hear a lot of ould ****e in Waterford from people about how the main political parties are rubbish and have no vision and the people voting for them are engaging in parish pump politics. Same people said John Delaney shouldn’t be removed from the FAI because of the good he did “for our local teams”. I know it’s not politics but it’s a similar principle. Why else would the likes of the Healy-Rae’s and Lowry be getting elected? Same things happen in jobs/companies all around the country. People say nothing about wrongs being done to people “in case I burn my bridges.” Fundamentally, most people are concerned with themselves and what’s best for them.

The Healy Rae’s are the by-product of a system that doesn’t work. Democracy is built for short term thinking to win the next election. It’s particularly pronounced in a small country like Ireland. However, the alternative (some form of dictatorship) is likely to be even more catastrophic unless you get a particularly selfless individual with integrity in power. And they are very few and far between. One that’s incorruptible is even more rare.

The healy raes are extremely cynical

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Would you have to be a constituent of MHR for that to work or does he also take on outsiders?

I'm in Limerick and rang MHR's office last year on behalf of my partner's Dad. He was on a waiting list in Limerick for a long time waiting to get his cataracts done and no sign of anything happening. MHR's office rang back the next day and gave the go ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,876 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

If ever there was a reason to move to a list system, the Healy-Raes are it.

We need to abolish 31 county councils and replace them with about 6 or 7 regional development authorities, with real teeth.

Then the Dáil should be made up of legislators from representative parties or groups, where the citizens vote only for parties or groups and their ideology, not personalities, and the Dáil deals only with national issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,192 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Leo is poor at small talk. That's just his personality. I wouldn't use that to judge anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

I'm in Limerick and rang MHR's office last year on behalf of my partner's Dad. He was on a waiting list in Limerick for a long time waiting to get his cataracts done and no sign of anything happening. MHR's office rang back the next day and gave the go ahead.

And someone else got unfairly pushed down the list yet again. No wonder people are on waiting lists for years in this God-forsaken country despite our tax spend on healthcare being among the highest in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

janfebmar wrote: »
    And someone else got unfairly pushed down the list yet again. No wonder people are on waiting lists for years in this God-forsaken country despite our tax spend on healthcare being among the highest in the world.

MHR's office gave the go ahead for him to go to BELFAST.
    Nobody was pushed down any waiting list.

• Registered Users Posts: 918 ✭✭✭Jakey Rolling

You mean on the Cross Border Directive, which anyone is entitled to apply for...

The directive allows patients to access healthcare services including operations, specialised inpatient care and outpatient appointments, in another European country once they have a referral letter from a GP or hospital doctor. Patients pay upfront for their treatment and the cost is later reimbursed by the HSE.

There's none so helpless as won't help themselves!

100412.2526@compuserve.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

Busloads of refugees have to go from Kerry to Belfast for their healthcare needs, because of years of waiting lists an inefficiency here. God bless the NHS.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,892 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Larbre34 wrote: »
    If ever there was a reason to move to a list system, the Healy-Raes are it.

We need to abolish 31 county councils and replace them with about 6 or 7 regional development authorities, with real teeth.

Then the Dáil should be made up of legislators from representative parties or groups, where the citizens vote only for parties or groups and their ideology, not personalities, and the Dáil deals only with national issues.

Not withstanding the fact that each county needs it's own elected representatives we already have 8 Regional Development Authorities in Ireland since 1994.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Anteayer

They're not being paid for by the NHS. They're services being paid for by the HSE.

Anyone can apply for this if they meet the criteria.

https://www2.hse.ie/services/cross-border-directive/about-the-cross-border-directive.html

They also purchase cataract and other surgical procedures from the private hospitals in Ireland if the list is too long. I'd a relative who had her's done in the Hermitage.

You just fill in the form. Information is all available online and GPs should be able to provide info

• Registered Users Posts: 13,578 ✭✭✭✭briany

He fixshed de road.