Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sceptics thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭makeorbrake

rapul wrote: »
    Who hurt you Johnny?

He's a sick puppy rapul....with this nonsense about the 'public service' he's providing here. I will finally take the advice of others - I'm not engaging with that bitter and twisted muppet (or his fictional alter ego).
    There's plenty of pitfalls with a nascent technology and the nascent market that comes with it. As stated ad nauseum, there's absolutely nothing wrong with critique but the bitter invective from tweedledum and tweedledee tells another story. Neither of them will admit to ONE single positive attribute of crypto - there's absolutely no objectivity with that. Furthermore, they're not willing to leave the speculative aspect of it aside and stick with the technology. There's noone here that has ever suggested that putting money into crypto is a sound investment. There's no-one here that has not acknowledged that there are plenty of disreputable people that have flooded into this space. Of course they have - just as they will with any nascent 'market'. When things settle down in crypto, they'll move on to something else.
    Those people do NOT define cryto/blockchain/DLT. That doesn't mean that there is nothing tangible in the technology.

It's regrettable that these two imbeciles try and dominate the discussion by constantly repeating the same thing over and over (and if someone takes them to task and deconstructs a lot of the shíté they come out with, they won't engage).

Lastly, as regards his 'jibe' about my 'portfolio', I moored a yacht on the Pacific coast on Saturday evening, took a flight to a destination on the Caribbean coast this morning...all facilitated by Crypto. None of that is important but I mention it as perhaps this is the source of the bile and vitriole....didnt get in on the ground floor and doesn't like the types that did...
    Furthermore, I'm risk off right now -but I'm preparing to invest heavily again - it's only a matter of weeks before I do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

He's a sick puppy rapul....with this nonsense about the 'public service' he's providing here. I will finally take the advice of others - I'm not engaging with that bitter and twisted muppet (or his fictional alter ego).
    There's plenty of pitfalls with a nascent technology and the nascent market that comes with it. As stated ad nauseum, there's absolutely nothing wrong with critique but the bitter invective from tweedledum and tweedledee tells another story. Neither of them will admit to ONE single positive attribute of crypto - there's absolutely no objectivity with that. Furthermore, they're not willing to leave the speculative aspect of it aside and stick with the technology. There's noone here that has ever suggested that putting money into crypto is a sound investment. There's no-one here that has not acknowledged that there are plenty of disreputable people that have flooded into this space. Of course they have - just as they will with any nascent 'market'. When things settle down in crypto, they'll move on to something else.
    Those people do NOT define cryto/blockchain/DLT. That doesn't mean that there is nothing tangible in the technology.

It's regrettable that these two imbeciles try and dominate the discussion by constantly repeating the same thing over and over (and if someone takes them to task and deconstructs a lot of the shíté they come out with, they won't engage).

Lastly, as regards his 'jibe' about my 'portfolio', I moored a yacht on the Pacific coast on Saturday evening, took a flight to a destination on the Caribbean coast this morning...all facilitated by Crypto. None of that is important but I mention it as perhaps this is the source of the bile and vitriole....didnt get in on the ground floor and doesn't like the types that did...
    Furthermore, I'm risk off right now -but I'm preparing to invest heavily again - it's only a matter of weeks before I do so.

Weird that someone who owns a yacht hops around the Carribean would get so worked up about a €240 charge for cancelling their boradband? https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=106387458

Also weird why you "had" to leave for central america suddenly...

<ignored>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

Weird that someone who owns a yacht hops around the Carribean would get so worked up about a €240 charge for cancelling their boradband? https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=106387458

Also weird why you "had" to leave for central america suddenly...

Rich people don't get rich by just given their money away, especially for things they don't agree with.

Also he never said he owned a yacht,look up what the word moored means.

That and flying to a carribbean destination won't cost too much and certainly could be funded by crypto.

Any more plotholes you want to pick at from your confused understanding of what someone said?

I wouldn't waste your time sexmag. The fact that this fool went rummaging through my previous posts (posts totally unrelated to the discussion here) trying to find something....anything to throw at me tells all;

- that maybe I was right in my previous post - it's the green eyed monster that's the motivation. They weren't at the races and possibly don't like the sorts that were - when it comes to crypto.

- that they have no interest in an actual open discussion on crypto.

- in fact, there's no interest in a discussion on crypto at all as that last post of his/theirs has nothing to do with crypto or the discussion of same here.

Aside from that, what they came up with only served to confirm what I had said (despite a failed, desperate attempt to cast aspersions).

As mentioned, I won't be engaging directly with either tweedledum or tweedledee from here on in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Less of the personals please, make. The greater fool theory is well known in cryptoland, but shouldn’t be used here as an insult. I can’t speak for Patrick, but I certainly have no regrets about not buying crypto. Most people lose money on it, and certainly anyone who bought in late December onwards. Never had interest in buying magic coins with real money just so I could flip em for more money. And HODL culture seemed a bit neckbeardy for my liking.

What time is it over in the Caribbean?

<ignored>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭rapul

Ugh last post in this thread and I mean it,less or the personals cop on Johnny pot kettle black much? And seriously we get your not into crypto no one gives a flying fcuk what you think just like you dont care or seem to actually read the facts when they are given to you,once again congrats lads you both come off as absolutely pathetic. I'm out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

Everyone is very precious in this thread.
    So what if some people shout down crypto. Dont engage with them and leave it at that.
    It is a sceptics thread after all and was started for the below reason

"Starting this so non-believers in cryptocurrencies, and blockchain as a tech, can have a place to discuss why"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭rapul

<Ignored>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

seannash wrote: »
    It is a sceptics thread after all and was started for the below reason

"Starting this so non-believers in cryptocurrencies, and blockchain as a tech, can have a place to discuss why"
    discussion
    dɪˈskʌʃ(ə)n/Submit
    noun
    the action or process of talking about something in order to reach a decision or to exchange ideas.
    "the committee acts as a forum for discussion"
    a conversation or debate about a specific topic.
    plural noun: discussions
    "discussions about environmental improvement"
    synonyms: conversation, talk, dialogue, discourse, conference, debate, exchange of views, consultation, deliberation; More
    a detailed treatment of a topic in speech or writing.
    "see Appendix One, for a more detailed discussion"

What everybody's cribbing about is their inability to discuss, not the points they're making. They hear the other side of the discussion and ignore it. That's not a discussion. If they want to start discussing the subject they can start at any moment but it will require more effort than repetitively bleating about everything being a scammy shítcoin.

grindle wrote: »
    What everybody's cribbing about is their inability to discuss, not the points they're making. They hear the other side of the discussion and ignore it. That's not a discussion. If they want to start discussing the subject they can start at any moment but it will require more effort than repetitively bleating about everything being a scammy shoin.
    I agree, that is what they are doing so don't engage or leave the thread.
    I think most people see this now but most sceptics threads on boards work this way with one side of the fence refusing to engage in discussion (Check out the conspiracy forum)

Also no need to dumb it down, I know what discuss means. FYI I'm pro crypto

That was for their benefit rather than yours, sorry it came across that way.

grindle wrote: »
    That was for their benefit rather than yours, sorry it came across that way.

Grindle can you link to the post that you made about real world implementations of block chain. I want to analyse it again.

You can litterally go to coindesk and see an unlimited number of atricle showing companies and agencies using blockhain technology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

Mod note (and in particular to JohnnyFlash) :

cop on. This constant snark and sniping is tiresome and , in some cases, borderline harrassment. Johnny, I agreed to let this thread continue with the hope that it would help provide a counterpoint to the rest of the forum, if you start trawling the rest of boards to make personal observations then its descending into trolling and basically being a dick.

make your case by all means but naysayers and proponents alike have both been warned not to gloat. So don't.

Namecalling / personal attacks will be responded to with suspension from posting from now on. that goes for both sides.

Posting accusations about a person, even if they are not boardsies, without a direct link to a credible (ie: mainstream media, court record etc) source of evidence will result in suspension until you can PM me suitable evidence. Think before you post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

LoLth wrote: »
    Mod note (and in particular to JohnnyFlash) :

cop on. This constant snark and sniping is tiresome and , in some cases, borderline harrassment. Johnny, I agreed to let this thread continue with the hope that it would help provide a counterpoint to the rest of the forum, if you start trawling the rest of boards to make personal observations then its descending into trolling and basically being a dick.

make your case by all means but naysayers and proponents alike have both been warned not to gloat. So don't.

Namecalling / personal attacks will be responded to with suspension from posting from now on. that goes for both sides.

Posting accusations about a person, even if they are not boardsies, without a direct link to a credible (ie: mainstream media, court record etc) source of evidence will result in suspension until you can PM me suitable evidence. Think before you post.

Hey. I didn’t trawl other forums. Case of mistaken identity there. I’m the one being called a fool etc. Doesn’t particularly bother me, as I’m made of sterner stuff than that, but what’s good for the goose is good for the gander.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

Hey. I didn’t trawl other forums. Case of mistaken identity there. I’m the one being called a fool etc. Doesn’t particularly bother me, as I’m made of sterner stuff than that, but what’s good for the goose is good for the gander.

I singled you out in particular because you are the one that requested this thread. I tell other users to ignore you if they dont like what you post but every single time someone posts something about you, you respond and escalate.

as you aptly put it with your goose and gander analogy, ignore comments and report. Dont respond on thread.

ps. apologies. it wasnt you, it was Pintman that dragged in other forum content. You did the accusation without context.

That was me that was trawling other forums. It was uncalled for and very low. I apologise unreservedly to makeorbrake for that. I will up my game and refrain from that kind of thing.

That's honourable and fair play for manning up

Can you guys do the same when we put valid/ serious points to your objections instead of deflecting or ignoring from what we say from now on?

If not there's no more point in having discussions

sexmag wrote: »
    That's honourable and fair play for manning up

Can you guys do the same when we put valid/ serious points to your objections instead of deflecting or ignoring from what we say from now on?

If not there's no more point in having discussions

Yes. That is my intention. That's why I asked for a link to grindle previous post about block chain implementation. I want to read through it properly this time.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=106748484&postcount=1437

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

I'm in the process of trying to buy a car in the UK. And you know what? The stark reality of how utterly useless the current system is, makes me long for when Crypto takes over.

I have to apply for a loan:
    The credit union will give me the money but only in a Euro draft made out to the garage.
    They don't do Sterling drafts so that is no good.
    I applied to the bank, a week of back and forth looking for wage slips, mortgage statements, proof of expenditure (I have all my accounts including the mortgage with them, they can see all my wages being paid directly in and all the outgoings).

After a week of pissing about they tell me the rental income I declared is too high that I can't put 100% of the income I have to put 75% !! and have to start the application all over again.

Once it is done, I can get a sterling bank draft, I can give that to the seller but he has to go with me to his bank. We get them to verify it and lodge it. But even then it won't clear for 6 working days!!. So he is wary of leaving me head off with his car without the funds being cleared.

If this was Bitcoin or Etherium I could send him the amount from my phone and he would have it, and be guaranteed it is there, in a few minutes. At most a few hours, and at a fraction of the cost.

@grumpypants: You're absolutely right but it gets worse than that.

Try making an international wire transfer, the cost, the time and often done manually. Then of course, if they turn their nose up at the transfer, they reject it and charge you anyway...and you also are at the loss of the time spent in getting a transfer through that they wont accept.
    I used transferwise for one and it was rejected by the receiving bank ....seems like anti-competitive behaviour.

I've been travelling internationally since January - being absolutely raped on atm and fx fees, and bank charges. Started a new job recently (overseas) and had to get paid via paypal for the first month due to the paperwork the bank needs to open an account. Got raped by paypal in fees and fx fees with them having automatically converted currency.

Yesterday, I received a letter from my bank (again, overseas) stating that they were closing my account in 30 days - without giving any reason. Recently, I had transferred funds in from a crypto exchange account. It's as clear as night and day (as this has been happening worldwide for a few years now) - blatant anti competitive practice. They're closing account as i had the audacity to transfer funds from a crypto account...but of course they wont state that so they dont have a legal liability.

The crypto tech and eco system couldnt get built out fast enough as far as i'm concerned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

@grumpypants: You're absolutely right but it gets worse than that.

Try making an international wire transfer, the cost, the time and often done manually. Then of course, if they turn their nose up at the transfer, they reject it and charge you anyway...and you also are at the loss of the time spent in getting a transfer through that they wont accept.
    I used transferwise for one and it was rejected by the receiving bank ....seems like anti-competitive behaviour.

I've been travelling internationally since January - being absolutely raped on atm and fx fees, and bank charges. Started a new job recently (overseas) and had to get paid via paypal for the first month due to the paperwork the bank needs to open an account. Got raped by paypal in fees and fx fees with them having automatically converted currency.

Yesterday, I received a letter from my bank (again, overseas) stating that they were closing my account in 30 days - without giving any reason. Recently, I had transferred funds in from a crypto exchange account. It's as clear as night and day (as this has been happening worldwide for a few years now) - blatant anti competitive practice. They're closing account as i had the audacity to transfer funds from a crypto account...but of course they wont state that so they dont have a legal liability.

The crypto tech and eco system couldnt get built out fast enough as far as i'm concerned!

I had shares in a US company that I sold for about $12K. To transfer it into my Euro Bank account cost €700! And took a week to complete. How anyone can look at that and ridicule crypto for being expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,633 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I'm in the process of trying to buy a car in the UK. And you know what? The stark reality of how utterly useless the current system is

You're doing it wrong. I paid for my Lambo with a click on a button.

I'm in the process of trying to buy a car in the UK. And you know what? The stark reality of how utterly useless the current system is, makes me long for when Crypto takes over.

I have to apply for a loan:
    The credit union will give me the money but only in a Euro draft made out to the garage.
    They don't do Sterling drafts so that is no good.
    I applied to the bank, a week of back and forth looking for wage slips, mortgage statements, proof of expenditure (I have all my accounts including the mortgage with them, they can see all my wages being paid directly in and all the outgoings).

After a week of pissing about they tell me the rental income I declared is too high that I can't put 100% of the income I have to put 75% !! and have to start the application all over again.

Once it is done, I can get a sterling bank draft, I can give that to the seller but he has to go with me to his bank. We get them to verify it and lodge it. But even then it won't clear for 6 working days!!. So he is wary of leaving me head off with his car without the funds being cleared.

If this was Bitcoin or Etherium I could send him the amount from my phone and he would have it, and be guaranteed it is there, in a few minutes. At most a few hours, and at a fraction of the cost.

As someone else joked you are doing it wrong. I just imported a car from the UK a few months ago. Got a loan with KBC, paid it I to my normal permanent tsb account and wired the money to the garage in the UK. Not sure why it's been so difficult for you
    Another friend of mine just last week did it. He paid it with two visa debit cards when the got there (5k daily transaction limit on both)
    Or there's a company that will facilitate this type of transaction. Can't remember it basically it acts as an intermediary between you and the seller

I had shares in a US company that I sold for about $12K. To transfer it into my Euro Bank account cost €700! And took a week to complete. How anyone can look at that and ridicule crypto for being expensive.

Naturally, once they have to respond, they will fix this. This could be made so easy. If it can be achieved on the european system via SEPA, why wouldn't it be possible with international wire transfers.

They will wait until the last minute as it's a revenue stream they're making a fortune out of - and then miraculously they will bring it up to speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,905 ✭✭✭✭Bob24

Naturally, once they have to respond, they will fix this. This could be made so easy. If it can be achieved on the european system via SEPA, why wouldn't it be possible with international wire transfers.

They will wait until the last minute as it's a revenue stream they're making a fortune out of - and then miraculously they will bring it up to speed.

True, and also to be fair there are already more economical solutions for people who want to use them.

Just had a quick look in my N26 app and if I wanted to transfer $12k to a US account I can have it done directly from the bank’s app with a few clicks and the fee is 36 euros, which I wouldn’t call cheap but not nearly as bad as the type of figure given in the previous exemple (they send the money through TransferWise).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,633 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Another friend of mine just last week did it. He paid it with two visa debit cards when the got there (5k daily transaction limit on both)

You can use Revolut card for this. Transfer the EUR to the Revolut account from your current account. This is instant and it is free. Then pay with the Revolut card in GBP. You get the interbank currency exchange rate, so no losses there either!

Revolut's aim: "building a fair and frictionless platform to use and manage money around the world"

I got my Revolut card completely free of charge. There are no monthly charges either.

Who needs crypto when you have Revolut? :pac: