makeorbrake wrote: » @grumpypants: You're absolutely right but it gets worse than that. Try making an international wire transfer, the cost, the time and often done manually. Then of course, if they turn their nose up at the transfer, they reject it and charge you anyway...and you also are at the loss of the time spent in getting a transfer through that they wont accept. I used transferwise for one and it was rejected by the receiving bank ....seems like anti-competitive behaviour. I've been travelling internationally since January - being absolutely raped on atm and fx fees, and bank charges. Started a new job recently (overseas) and had to get paid via paypal for the first month due to the paperwork the bank needs to open an account. Got raped by paypal in fees and fx fees with them having automatically converted currency. Yesterday, I received a letter from my bank (again, overseas) stating that they were closing my account in 30 days - without giving any reason. Recently, I had transferred funds in from a crypto exchange account. It's as clear as night and day (as this has been happening worldwide for a few years now) - blatant anti competitive practice. They're closing account as i had the audacity to transfer funds from a crypto account...but of course they wont state that so they dont have a legal liability. The crypto tech and eco system couldnt get built out fast enough as far as i'm concerned!
Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » Yes. That is my intention. That's why I asked for a link to grindle previous post about block chain implementation. I want to read through it properly this time.
sexmag wrote: » That's honourable and fair play for manning up Can you guys do the same when we put valid/ serious points to your objections instead of deflecting or ignoring from what we say from now on? If not there's no more point in having discussions
Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » That was me that was trawling other forums. It was uncalled for and very low. I apologise unreservedly to makeorbrake for that. I will up my game and refrain from that kind of thing.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » Hey. I didn’t trawl other forums. Case of mistaken identity there. I’m the one being called a fool etc. Doesn’t particularly bother me, as I’m made of sterner stuff than that, but what’s good for the goose is good for the gander.
LoLth wrote: » Mod note (and in particular to JohnnyFlash) : cop on. This constant snark and sniping is tiresome and , in some cases, borderline harrassment. Johnny, I agreed to let this thread continue with the hope that it would help provide a counterpoint to the rest of the forum, if you start trawling the rest of boards to make personal observations then its descending into trolling and basically being a dick. make your case by all means but naysayers and proponents alike have both been warned not to gloat. So don't. Namecalling / personal attacks will be responded to with suspension from posting from now on. that goes for both sides. Posting accusations about a person, even if they are not boardsies, without a direct link to a credible (ie: mainstream media, court record etc) source of evidence will result in suspension until you can PM me suitable evidence. Think before you post.
Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » Grindle can you link to the post that you made about real world implementations of block chain. I want to analyse it again.
grindle wrote: » That was for their benefit rather than yours, sorry it came across that way.
seannash wrote: » Also no need to dumb it down, I know what discuss means. FYI I'm pro crypto
grindle wrote: » What everybody's cribbing about is their inability to discuss, not the points they're making. They hear the other side of the discussion and ignore it. That's not a discussion. If they want to start discussing the subject they can start at any moment but it will require more effort than repetitively bleating about everything being a scammy shoin.
seannash wrote: » It is a sceptics thread after all and was started for the below reason "Starting this so non-believers in cryptocurrencies, and blockchain as a tech, can have a place to discuss why"
discussion dɪˈskʌʃ(ə)n/Submit noun the action or process of talking about something in order to reach a decision or to exchange ideas. "the committee acts as a forum for discussion" a conversation or debate about a specific topic. plural noun: discussions "discussions about environmental improvement" synonyms: conversation, talk, dialogue, discourse, conference, debate, exchange of views, consultation, deliberation; More a detailed treatment of a topic in speech or writing. "see Appendix One, for a more detailed discussion"
Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » Weird that someone who owns a yacht hops around the Carribean would get so worked up about a €240 charge for cancelling their boradband? https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=106387458 Also weird why you "had" to leave for central america suddenly...
makeorbrake wrote: » He's a sick puppy rapul....with this nonsense about the 'public service' he's providing here. I will finally take the advice of others - I'm not engaging with that bitter and twisted muppet (or his fictional alter ego). There's plenty of pitfalls with a nascent technology and the nascent market that comes with it. As stated ad nauseum, there's absolutely nothing wrong with critique but the bitter invective from tweedledum and tweedledee tells another story. Neither of them will admit to ONE single positive attribute of crypto - there's absolutely no objectivity with that. Furthermore, they're not willing to leave the speculative aspect of it aside and stick with the technology. There's noone here that has ever suggested that putting money into crypto is a sound investment. There's no-one here that has not acknowledged that there are plenty of disreputable people that have flooded into this space. Of course they have - just as they will with any nascent 'market'. When things settle down in crypto, they'll move on to something else. Those people do NOT define cryto/blockchain/DLT. That doesn't mean that there is nothing tangible in the technology. It's regrettable that these two imbeciles try and dominate the discussion by constantly repeating the same thing over and over (and if someone takes them to task and deconstructs a lot of the shíté they come out with, they won't engage). Lastly, as regards his 'jibe' about my 'portfolio', I moored a yacht on the Pacific coast on Saturday evening, took a flight to a destination on the Caribbean coast this morning...all facilitated by Crypto. None of that is important but I mention it as perhaps this is the source of the bile and vitriole....didnt get in on the ground floor and doesn't like the types that did... Furthermore, I'm risk off right now -but I'm preparing to invest heavily again - it's only a matter of weeks before I do so.
rapul wrote: » Who hurt you Johnny?
JohnnyFlash wrote: » You tired dude? Must be exhausting looking at all that red in your ‘portfolio’....
makeorbrake wrote: » Yawn
Pintman Paddy Losty wrote: » What? The dirty fecker.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » It isn’t his hat he intends to eat, Paddy. It’s his own cock!!! :eek: