Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Was just looking at the VW service website pricelist. A full Service is €50 more expensive for a GTD, GTI, R than a standard golf hard to see the warrant for such a difference sure they all use 5W30 oil (I know some in the last year or so now use 0W20) oil, air, cabin filter can't be much difference in price. That just leaves the spark plugs are they some kind of expensive spark plug used in the EA888 engine ? Well whatever about the R and GTI I can't see the logic behind the GTD being in that bracket.

I know in the grand scheme of running costs the difference is negligible. More just wondering is there much of a difference in servicing them to a standard diesel / petrol golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,541 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Clue: VW don’t charge extra in the UK.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Clue: VW don’t charge extra in the UK.

Yes when I am getting it done I might ring them and Just say I want to book my 2018 VW Golf in for a service and see do actually ask what kind it is. If there was a cost difference with the parts I wouldn't mind at all.

But if its just a oh the people that bought 'performance' Golfs paid more for them than a standard Golf so we should charge them more to get them serviced logic then that's a bit hard to stomach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Do threads disappear sometimes?
    I was following and contributed to a thread about Audi A6 touring vs. a BMW 520 touring, and it seems to have disappeared. I can't remember that happening before.
    Can the OP delete the whole thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

carsfan2 wrote: »
    I was following and contributed to a thread about Audi A6 touring vs. a BMW 520 touring, and it seems to have disappeared. I can't remember that happening before.

They can request.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

CIP4 wrote: »
    Yes when I am getting it done I might ring them and Just say I want to book my 2018 VW Golf in for a service and see do actually ask what kind it is. If there was a cost difference with the parts I wouldn't mind at all.

But if its just a oh the people that bought 'performance' Golfs paid more for them than a standard Golf so we should charge them more to get them serviced logic then that's a bit hard to stomach.

I thought the price menu was only split between <2.0 and >2.0 engine sizes, so someone with a 2.0 TDI would be paying the same as someone with a 2.0 TDI GTD. There was basically €25 additional for stuff over 2.0 for the additional engine oil, which was at most 2l more.

It used to be €169 for an <2.0 oil change and €194 for an >2.0 petrol or diesel. Same with a full service in a diesel, it was €269 for a full or €294 for a full over 2.0. The only exception was the over 2.0 petrols as the plugs were like €100 worth alone.

Your car being less than 3 years old though CIP, your only due an oil and pollen filter or what mileage have you got?

I thought the price menu was only split between <2.0 and >2.0 engine sizes, so someone with a 2.0 TDI would be paying the same as someone with a 2.0 TDI GTD. There was basically €25 additional for stuff over 2.0 for the additional engine oil, which was at most 2l more.

It used to be €169 for an <2.0 oil change and €194 for an >2.0 petrol or diesel. Same with a full service in a diesel, it was €269 for a full or €294 for a full over 2.0. The only exception was the over 2.0 petrols as the plugs were like €100 worth alone.

Your car being less than 3 years old though CIP, your only due an oil and pollen filter or what mileage have you got?

This is what shows up for me online once I put in my reg. It is coming up to its 45k km service. At the 30k Km one it got oil and pollen filter. I figured I should give it a full one this time as otherwise it would be 60k Km before doing plugs and air filter which seems way too long ? Or else I suppose I could just get oil change and pay extra to get air filter as it doesn’t need a pollen filter but might be as well just to get the plugs done at 45k km.

Those prices look correct. "Classic" and "ultimate" services are applicable for cars over 4 years old and older.

Under that (while still in warranty) the services are worked out by mileage. At 45k you are only due an oil change, should be €194 (€169 + €25 2.0 tax). Plugs are due at 60k and engine air filter is due at 90k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Wailin

carsfan2 wrote: »

Same carsfan. Why would someone request such a thread to be deleted is what I'm wondering? It was just helpful advice given on the cars and nothing more.

Unless the missus found out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭carsfan2

Wailin wrote: »
    Same carsfan. Why would someone request such a thread to be deleted is what I'm wondering? It was just helpful advice given on the cars and nothing more.

Unless the missus found out :D

I was beginning to think I had dreamt it!
    Certainly a fairly innocent thread to pull. there's a lot worse he could be doing on the internet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

320d e90 n47. Im gonna give it a blast every couple of days up and down the M2 and hope I can clear out what might have built up.

Just to update you, I was talking to a friend of mine, he’s a BMW tech and confirmed what I suspected.
    If the glow plugs for any reason can’t operate, the ECU won’t let the car regenerate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Fiesta

Saw this the other night, in the lashing rain. 12-D-547520 :eek: Couldn't get to see the front plate.

Screenshot-20200223-221510.jpg

Wonder is this the correct plate?

Screenshot-2020-02-23-at-22-21-06.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭ofcork

What's going on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

CianRyan wrote: »
    Just to update you, I was talking to a friend of mine, he’s a BMW tech and confirmed what I suspected.
    If the glow plugs for any reason can’t operate, the ECU won’t let the car regenerate.

Well that issue has now being fixed with a new module but it safe to assume that the dpf wouldn't have had a regen since before I got it at Christmas at least. Hopefully it's not ****ed. Piss poor effort on BMWs behalf for not even throwing up an EML.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,619 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Fiesta wrote: »
    Saw this the other night, in the lashing rain. 12-D-547520 :eek: Couldn't get to see the front plate.

Screenshot-20200223-221510.jpg

Wonder is this the correct plate?

Screenshot-2020-02-23-at-22-21-06.png

Mad as it has the dealer plate where the surround is the actual plate,

I've seen a few imports done where they missed a digit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Well that issue has now being fixed with a new module but it safe to assume that the dpf wouldn't have had a regen since before I got it at Christmas at least. Hopefully it's not ****ed. Piss poor effort on BMWs behalf for not even throwing up an EML.

If you’re not doing short journeys and the car is getting hot enough, you tend not to run into issues unless the DPF is already really shagged, you may also have to consider that the DPF may not be able to get clogged if it’s core has been removed. :p

I hear ya but you don’t tend to see EMLs got glow plugs. I’m with Nissan myself and pretty much every 1.5dci that comes in has at least one glow plug down, never get a light for them but it will store a DTC, only useful if you have the tool to scan it though. :rolleyes:

Glad your car got sorted though and long may it last!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭Cork Trucker

I have visitors to my engine bay :rolleyes:

F48-B9-EE5-9733-4-ACD-A81-B-ECBC53683-B8-D.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

That is, without doubt, THE most disgusting thing I've seen posted in this forum.

What animal is that??

That is, without doubt, THE most disgusting thing I've seen posted in this forum.

What animal is that??

Rat shìt some are saying, others claiming it’s a cat.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Doesn't look like rat crap, could be squirrel. For rodents one pretty effective and cheap option is get a bottle of peppermint essential oil and drop a few drops around under the bonnet say once a week. Rodents hate the smell of it and avoid it. Smells nice too. You can get underbonnet doohickeys that fire out ultrasound but rodents can get used to that. Rodents can cause serious damage to electronics and other parts under the bonnet. They love to chew wires and since more and more car companies are going for "green" plastics that contain soya byproducts this makes wires and pipework and other plastics tasty to rats and the like.

EDIT I had a squirrel set up home, or at least use my car as a seed store two years ago. I removed the seeds and threw some peppermint oil around and he never came back.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Doesn't look like rat crap, could be squirrel. For rodents one pretty effective and cheap option is get a bottle of peppermint essential oil and drop a few drops around under the bonnet say once a week. Rodents hate the smell of it and avoid it. Smells nice too. You can get underbonnet doohickeys that fire out ultrasound but rodents can get used to that. Rodents can cause serious damage to electronics and other parts under the bonnet. They love to chew wires and since more and more car companies are going for "green" plastics that contain soya byproducts this makes wires and pipework and other plastics tasty to rats and the like.

EDIT I had a squirrel set up home, or at least use my car as a seed store two years ago. I removed the seeds and threw some peppermint oil around and he never came back.

Top man wibbs! Squirrels in the city? I’ve power washed the entire engine bay took it up the Cork-Dublin motorway and lightly sprayed it with disinfectant in some areas, I’m hoping this will sort it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

For the first time in my life, in my 12 years of driving (license @ 18, 30 now), I told someone off for their bad driving, specifically parking! Was in a shopping centre with limited parking. Got in a tight space, cos of a clown's and joker's bad parking on either side, but I was parked to my standard (i.e. central and parallel to the white lines), with what I deem sufficient space either side for either clown/joker to get in/out. I'm waiting for someone to arrive to go get something to eat, rough ETA of 10 minutes, so I decide to wait in the car until they come.

Clown comes back to her car, has a look and decides that she can't get in. She flags me down, I open the window and she says she can't get into her car. I reply to her saying that she wouldn't be in that predicament if she had consideration for others in the first place and didn't park as crooked as a donkey's hind legs! She was taken aback at that, didn't reply and managed to squirm her way in anyway.

Was I right? Was I wrong? I was grinning to myself afterwards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I think you were right. If we always give in to other peoples' stupidity they will never learn.

jaxxx wrote: »

Was I right..........

100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭akelly02

Well lads, i lurk on here a bit but rarely post

just bought a 142 megane there last week 68k kilometres. 1.5dci

Anything i should be looking out for that could potentially cause me trouble ?

jaxxx wrote: »
    Was I right?

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭g6fdyotp5nj2l7

jaxxx wrote:
    Was I right? Was I wrong? I was grinning to myself afterwards

If she was six foot and twenty stone with a beard would you have done the same. If the answer is yes you were right :-)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,323 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Top man wibbs! Squirrels in the city? I’ve power washed the entire engine bay took it up the Cork-Dublin motorway and lightly sprayed it with disinfectant in some areas, I’m hoping this will sort it.
    Hopefully CT, though I've read disinfectant and the like doesn't work much, but the peppermint essential oil does. I got mine from ebay. Big enough bottle for about a tenner IIRC. And yeah I have squirrels in my Dublin burbs neck of the woods. Foxes, badgers, hedgehogs, bats and rats and mice too. Feckin zoo. :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

If she was six foot and twenty stone with a beard would you have done the same. If the answer is yes you were right :-)

Ignorance is ignorance, I don't discriminate when it comes to sex/colour/age/height/anything-else. I'm fortunate enough not to see things in black and white; which is ironically, the very definition of ignorance itself as far as I'm concerned.

akelly02 wrote: »
    Well lads, i lurk on here a bit but rarely post

just bought a 142 megane there last week 68k kilometres. 1.5dci

Anything i should be looking out for that could potentially cause me trouble ?

They are a fairly sturdy car in fairness. Stick up a few pics!