Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***** Motors chat - round 12 *****

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Had my own pet car at the vets yesterday. Noisy wheel bearing. Up on the lift to see which one. Spin, spin, spin. OK those three are grand. Spi... eh, has someone lightly depressed the brake? :eek: Front passenger. Stiff as a bishop in a whorehouse. Came on quick enough too. Flew through the NCT last December. Started to get loud in the last fortnight. All sorted after some issues with the wrong bearing supplied by Micksgarage(first time error with them to be fair). Car feels much better oddly enough. Must have affected the suspension/setup?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Folks, any of the Dublin contingent recommend a trustworthy mechanic to look at a Nissan Note wheel bearing in Tallaght or nearby? My sister in Dublin reckons she has been ripped off more than once so brings her car to my mechanic in Limerick whenever she needs something done. Not an option this time with a possible dodgey wheel bearing. Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Wibbs wrote: »
    All sorted after some issues with the wrong bearing supplied by Micksgarage(first time error with them to be fair).

I used MG many times and they were always correct except once for me also. Put the Toyota part number in for a timing belt and sent out one for an avensis. It wasn't the guy sorting the order error it was their system as I entered the part number again and seen the exact one they sent out come up in the picture and numbers on box the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

I've started the (very) long process of stripping the DC2 down to see what can be transferred over and what needs to be replaced.

The radiator support may be unsalvageable, but wings etc look ok bar a small bit of surface rust, so hopefully won't have to buy too many bits.

Gonna lash on a load of underseal while I have the other shell stripped down to try make it last longer over here.

This is gonna end up being a bigger job than I planned as no doubt the more I strip back, the more I'll want to fix.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,726 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Tazzimus wrote: »
    so hopefully won't have to buy too many bits

If only it was that easy, said that with one of my projects,3k into it and it still hasn't seen the sight of road

Rust never used to bother me but I finally realized the damage rust can do. My last NCT the guy busted through the chassis rail at the back on one side so had to get it welded. I don't even know if they cut out the bad bit or just welded a strip straight up but I have a full years NCT so who knows what will happen next year at the test.

Jap 1998 car that is getting rare enough to see out and about. Same really.

I've started the (very) long process of stripping the DC2 down to see what can be transferred over and what needs to be replaced.

The radiator support may be unsalvageable, but wings etc look ok bar a small bit of surface rust, so hopefully won't have to buy too many bits.

Gonna lash on a load of underseal while I have the other shell stripped down to try make it last longer over here.

This is gonna end up being a bigger job than I planned as no doubt the more I strip back, the more I'll want to fix.

I always wanted to own a DC2 but to find a good one now would be next to impossible. Wibbs' one looks in great shape from a picture he posted recently.

What is wrong with your one since you are transferring parts over and is the donar car a DC2 or DC1?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

My main worry with one, and many Japanese cars of that era, would be the sills and the rear quarters. Particularly on them. If there are any bubbles in the paint around the wheelarch, especially near the sill, there are guaranteed horrors behind. :eek::(:( It's why I sourced a non rusty pair of rear quarters a few years back(from a 1.6. They seem to suffer less from rust than the R for some reason). MX 5's can be a disaster for hidden rust. MR2's another. Mitzi's and Scoobies seem to fair a little better.
    I always wanted to own a DC2 but to find a good one now would be next to impossible.
    There was one on Donedeal a few weeks back, a 97 R for 1200 quid ONO. Yep, just over a grand. Was tempted as a donor or just to keep but don't have the space. Oh and it was up for sale for about three weeks. In the UK or Japan it would have gone in hours. In the US they'd sell their grannies to buy it. :DEven if you added a zero. Cars like that are almost unsaleable here in Ireland. Those guys who have them for sale at 7,8 and 10 grand are dreaming. No doubt they've put loads into them and I get that, but between insane insurance and to be fair a lack of interest in them here among enough people that's the reality. Most Irish petrolheads have gone RWD and towards Bavaria. I would have myself TBH, only for circumstances and luck.

The rotary scene seems to have hung on healthily enough. I see RX7 and 8's often enough. A mate has just bought one of the latter. Got it for feck all too. The engine is a beautifully engineered petrol leak :D but my god it's smooth. Saw an FTO in nice nick in Meath last week, but 90's JDM stuff is rare to see. Then again it's over twenty years ago now so...
    Wibbs' one looks in great shape from a picture he posted recently.
    It's pretty sound W. Paint is so so(well the clear coat in spots. Pure sh1te factory paint on the silver ones). Even though I thought I'd only have it a year or two, the weekend after I bought it I filled the sills, box sections, under the carpet, spare wheel well, bottoms of the doors and arches, leading edges of bonnet and boot with the guts of four cans of waxoyl. I rewax the thing every summer, only now with the Bilt Hamber goo(5/6 cans). Much easier to apply. My dad and an uncle(Italian classic car nutter) made me paranoid about rust from an early age. Even with all that I've had to get a small patch(ciggie packet sized) welded into the inside of one sill a few years back.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Now that I mention it T and FWIW if I have any bits and bobs useful to you let me know.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

I always wanted to own a DC2 but to find a good one now would be next to impossible. Wibbs' one looks in great shape from a picture he posted recently.

What is wrong with your one since you are transferring parts over and is the donar car a DC2 or DC1?

Yeah they're hard to find as everyone seems to be breaking them nowadays, never thought I'd see the day where a championship white DC2 Type R is classed as a rare car.

Popped the bottom end round Mondello many years back, parked it in the mothers garage til I could afford to fix it. Turns out the garage wasn't as dry as I thought and the current shell is rotten with rust.
    Picked up another Type R shell the other week in much better nick so transferring everything to that.
    New shell has a UK front though so need to swap em over, as well as all the goodies from the original shell.

Yeah they're hard to find as everyone seems to be breaking them nowadays, never thought I'd see the day where a championship white DC2 Type R is classed as a rare car[insert nearly every car model here].
    It's mad how it goes T. I mean if you go back to the 70's there was a time when secondhand Ferrari's hit the bottom of their depreciation curve and vanished into sheds or were scrapped. I've a few 70's car mags about the place and the classifieds... Ferrari Dinos for the same price as a two year old Ford Cortina E. 2x2 Ferraris were cheaper again(many were reshelled as crappy coupes or spiders). 6 pot E-Types ditto. Oh for a time machine. I wonder does the Tardis take a trailer hitch. :D

But sure look at the hot hatches and Cosworths and the like before the JDM scene(more my time, than yours T. I was in early stage oulfella when JDM came along :D ). Bloody rare to see outside car shows. And there was a time when I knew a few people running those sorta cars as dailies. I was offered a BMW e30 M3 in the late 90's for 4-5 grand. Yer man couldn't give it away. LHD and that. I know one lad who had two of them in his shed, one an Evo. Hard to number the Cossies, Escort, Sierra and Sapphire you'd see or know. They were demons for the rust too and near impossible to insure. Though for a nice change you couldinsure them here. In the UK; Can we have both your kidneys and your first born and an identical Cossie, plus 10,000 Sterlings(that last bit was true).

Though as Jay Leno has noted, "back in the day" as he likes to put it, he was given some older fancy cars. His first Lambo Muira for one. It had a blown engine and as he said back in the early 80's you couldn't get the parts, there were no workshop manuals available, so if they broke they were little more than scrap. Many of the few collectors just bought them for display. Older cars like 20's Dusenbergs were worse. He said you'd go to a fancy concours event and one might have two black tyres of uncertain parentage, one whitewall and a truck tyre, and barely running if running at all. And it would win. According to himself getting tyres alone was a bloody nightmare, but as he says now you can email a few crowds and get the right tyres. Mad money, but you can at least get them.

The interwebs was a major change here. Yes it drove up prices but you can get all the info and most of the parts. Can you imagine T trying to rebuild your Teg without the interwebs? :eek: Good luck. You'd have to ring every Honda garage in Ireland hoping they had some bits and bobs in the back gathering dust. Though pre interwebs you did have that detective work thing ringing and asking the parts guy nicely had he any bits and bobs for Car X. Been there. Oh the Petrolhead cargasm to find a pair of single leaf springs for a 2.8i Capri. And then ring all your mates. That was the pop shot. :D Ye youngfellas don't know you're born/what you're missing.

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 9,705 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

I texted the fella I sold my DC2 to the other day, out of curiosity, and he wants €10k for it... To think I paid €2400 in 2012 for it!

On an entirely unrelated note, my scooby has shat a radiator on day 6 of ownership and well I'm just glad it's not a headgasket :o

I texted the fella I sold my DC2 to the other day, out of curiosity, and he wants €10k for it... To think I paid €2400 in 2012 for it!
    He may as well dream there as in bed M. I'd even be willing to bet that if he put it up for sale at 2400 quid he'd be waiting longer than he imagines before he'd get an actual concrete buyer even at that price. He'd do better in the UK alright, if he dropped the price by about 4 grand...
    On an entirely unrelated note, my scooby has shat a radiator on day 6 of ownership and well I'm just glad it's not a headgasket :o
    Ouch, but yeah significantly less of a headmelt than a headgasket.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,590 ✭✭✭tossy

Is there a website to check when if a vehicle was last taxed ?

• Registered Users Posts: 73,434 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Not for free.

CarsIreland will tell you how much tax is left on a car though.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Not for free.

CarsIreland will tell you how much tax is left on a car though.

how so ? By pretending to post an Advert ? I tried that but the tax section is just blank, it's a van if that makes any difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Why would you need to know though?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,791 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Won't be long and I'll be posting that I've hit the next 50k milestone :p

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Done well making it on its roof ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,791 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Done well making it on its roof ;-)

Damn mobile. It looked grand in the preview! :)

Why would you need to know though?

Waiting on a leasing company to send out a tax disk, want to know if it's taxed and there's a physical disc in their office or if they are just completely useless. :D

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Didn't realise you drove a Holden K. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 73,434 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

tossy wrote: »
    how so ? By pretending to post an Advert ? I tried that but the tax section is just blank, it's a van if that makes any difference.

Yes it works for vans. If it’s blank it usually doesn’t have tax. It doesn’t tell you test due date for vans.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,074 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

tossy wrote: »
    Is there a website to check when if a vehicle was last taxed ?

Put the reg into adverts.ie as if you are selling the car and it should automatically fill out the tax and NCT details, even if expired

• Registered Users Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Put the reg into adverts.ie as if you are selling the car and it should automatically fill out the tax and NCT details, even if expired

Being playing with that for the last hour and every car I had up until the last Passat is off the road even my E30 which was last taxed in 1999...:(

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,133 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I'm in my first car, Seat Arona brand new. Had it a month now. Honestly I knew there were a lot of terrible drivers on the road but I'm only now aware the sheer amount of them driving the roads. Cannot comprehend it. It's like roundabouts are alien to people and they've never used them before :/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Quick question. My 2006 civic 1.4 dsi instrument cluster was throwing up engine warning lights. Local mechanic installed a 2nd hand one for me. It's now reading a lower milage (presumably the milage of the donor car). Any way to get this changed to the proper milage without incurring much cost? Car isn't worth a whole pile but i wouldn't like to be accused of falsifying anything if i were to sell it. I presume the NCT certs will look strange now.

Take a photo put in the glove box, write a note stating the mileage and then they can add it on from there.

I would leave as is to be honest and if selling just let them know.

Isn't working for me just leaves tax box blank.

Are the engine warning lights no longer an issue?