Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xiaomi Redmi Note 5 (/pro) [WHYRED][China/Global] ***(Please read first post)***

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭honda boi

Invincible wrote: »
    Don't know what price ye paid, but the 64GB Note 5 is available from Amazon UK for £170 now.

Really looking at getting this for the missus.
    No real price difference from China.
    But you get great warranty and customer service with Amazon.

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭ImARebel

that's a lot, I got my RN5 for 156 delivered (euros) about 6 months ago

Maybe it's gone up since? But that seems a big difference

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭ImARebel

Oh and top marks for the GKK case, my phone fell from a locker in the pool last night, and I said to myself that's done it, but gold star, not a bother on the screen. Only issue was one of the ends snapped from the force of the fall. I'll take the hit on a new case over a new screen anyday

great case. think I'll just re-order a new one rather than risking one I know nothing about, lol

If you use parcel wizard it works out cheaper and quicker delivery with Amazon.
    One question tho ,if there's an issue with the phone, would Amazon pay for return postage from my Republic address or will they only pay for return postage from northern Ireland?
    Someone mentioned this to me and unsure.

Feck it ordered it straight to my address!
    Estimate delivery is 20/11/18- 01/19
    Jaysus hope its here within 2 weeks!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,504 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

honda boi wrote: »
    If you use parcel wizard it works out cheaper and quicker delivery with Amazon.
    One question tho ,if there's an issue with the phone, would Amazon pay for return postage from my Republic address or will they only pay for return postage from northern Ireland?
    Someone mentioned this to me and unsure.

Amazon will allow you to drop the item into your local post office, even it it came through parcel motel.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

Argos now listing some Xiaomi handsets. RN5 4/64 220 inc VAT

• Registered Users Posts: 7,362 ✭✭✭corkie

0lddog wrote: »
    Argos now listing some Xiaomi handsets. RN5 4/64 220 inc VAT

You could have provided a link!

Good price if indeed the 4/64gb version and not a mistake in the listings.

http://checkargos.com/product/8674012

;;
    corkie wrote: »
    You could have provided a link!

Good price if indeed the 4/64gb version and not a mistake in the listings.

http://checkargos.com/product/8674012

cant figure out how to post links from the yoke Im using at the moment.

go to argos.ie, head to mobile handsets, on left hand side you should find option to filter by mfg, so select xiaomi. post again if you cant find n ill put up a link later

Its argos code 867 4012

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭The Haven

I am looking at a new phone, and I've come the conclusion of;

Xiaomi
    Redmi Note 6 Pro
    A2
    Poco F1

I currently have S4 Mini, yeah still holding onto this old phone atm.
    But, it is really showing it's age, and with the move into home automation, I need my phone to keep up with me.

So, Redmi Note 6 Pro is my choice.

I see honorbuy listing for €194.

https://www.honorbuy.com/1538-xiaomi-redmi-note-6-pro-4gb-ram-64gb-rom-official-global-version-smartphone-black.html

Any cases people can recommend?

Cheers.

I know plenty of posts, scanned through several pages, but the answers lost in the masses, replies would be helpful.

• Registered Users Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Asus1

Just in case anyone is wondering, I got the phone this morning and it is indeed unlocked and comes with a soft silicon case as well.Really nice bright big screen but not to wide,ideal if you have small hands.I got a 48 sim,registered it and used that number to port and got the phone for €139,looks great value but only time will tell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

https://www.three.ie/brand/xiaomi/xiaomi-redmi-6/

Is there any reason why it would be a bad deal to get this through 3 for free on bill pay?

Won't cost me any extra per month than current plan.

djPSB wrote: »
    https://www.three.ie/brand/xiaomi/xiaomi-redmi-6/

Is there any reason why it would be a bad deal to get this through 3 for free on bill pay?

Won't cost me any extra per month than current plan.

That particular device has mediatek cpu, you should generally avoid them. Xiaomi (/MediaTek) are very slow to provide rom updates (on that cpu) are at all. Also no custom rom support.

You could also get the Redmi Note 5, for free on bill-pay.

Also the better spec version can be got on Argos for €219, if the listing are correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

corkie wrote: »
    That particular device has mediatek cpu, you should generally avoid them. Xiaomi (/MediaTek) are very slow to provide rom updates (on that cpu) are at all. Also no custom rom support.

You could also get the Redmi Note 5, for free on bill-pay.

Also the better spec version can be got on Argos for €219, if the listing are correct.

Is the Redmi Note 5 considered a better version than the Redmi 6?

djPSB wrote: »
    Is the Redmi Note 5 considered a better version than the Redmi 6?

By far!

Compare the specs your self:-

https://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone1=9120&idPhone2=9237

https://www.reddit.com/r/Xiaomi/wiki/redminote5

https://www.reddit.com/r/Xiaomi/wiki/redmi6

Redmi Note 6 Pro is small upgrade than Redmi Note 5, but not much, just has duel front camera's and a notch!

Edit:-
    Xiaomi has 3 main series for their phones. Mi, Note and redmi series. Mi series is premium, high cost,latest features and 2 android upgrade series. Note series is mid range phone(10k-13k) with large display and average features are there with 1 android upgrade. Last is redmi series which comes in between 6k-10k range with 1 android upgrade. now they have another premium series, mix. (Also the Pocophone brand is new.)

https://www.quora.com/What-is-the-difference-between-Redmi-series-and-MI-series-for-Xiaomi-phones

Quote taken from a google search, Redmi 6 is entry level device, so your comparing it to Mid range device.

Also already mention the crappy mediatek cpu on the Redmi 6

Ordered from Amazon Thursday .
    Still not dispatched and estimated delivery is up to the 30/01/19
    Chat said they can't cancel the order as money has been taken
    Anyone else order from Amazon?

• Registered Users Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Jasper79

honda boi wrote: »
    Ordered from Amazon Thursday .
    Still not dispatched and estimated delivery is up to the 30/01/19
    Chat said they can't cancel the order as money has been taken
    Anyone else order from Amazon?

i ordered the 4/64 yesterday from Amazon, says delivery 3-4 Dec .

Jasper79 wrote: »
    i ordered the 4/64 yesterday from Amazon, says delivery 3-4 Dec .

Wanted to cancel and reorder to Parcel wizard since delivery is for next week with PW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Just so people know.. this 207 from honorbuy delivered and 220 from Argos Ireland .

And also, if a VAT registered purchaser, then Argos will give a VAT receipt showing the 23% VAT. Good luck getting a VAT receipt from Honorbuy !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

It's currently STG 159 on Amazon UK - which would work Eur 183 roughly.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,504 ✭✭✭runawaybishop

It's currently STG 159 on Amazon UK - which would work Eur 183 roughly.

That's the 625 Snapdragon, not the 636

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭imonboard

Has anyone here got the screen replaced, how much?

That's the 625 Snapdragon, not the 636

Description is wrong I think.
    That model has the 636.
    Someone asked in the questions and Answers section and someone said it's the 636.

Install Android One (Mi A2) on Redmi Note 5 Pro

For the adventurist among us?

Could not find an XDA thread for the rom, but did find this alternative:-

[XDA][ROM]Asus Zenfone Pro Max M1 ROM on Redmi Note 5 Pro/Ai(Whyred)

Or another alternative:-

• Registered Users Posts: 85 ✭✭anitaca

Cant search. maybe it was already mentioned.

how to disable/uninstall apps on miui (works on 10 too)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

Grassey wrote: »

Thanks for that, the video has links to a rom, that can be flashed. Your linked version is just replacing the system image and applying patches. It is also PIE based rom. The video was for Oreo.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

Ah, my bad, I jumped the gun with my itchy trigger posting finger before reading all the thread details.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

46080777961_e5ab7bf15b_b.jpg
    This is a flip cover that was bought in South East local phone shop. As you can see it is out of sync and nearly impossible to use the volume/power buttons .
    The customer did exchange it for a better case which I can post photos of next weekend .

This is my protection with the screws at each end :

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/OLLIVAN-For-Xiaomi-Redmi-Note-5-Case-Aluminum-Metal-Frame-Case-Hard-PC-Cover-For-Xiaomi/32869880374.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.6a5a4c4d8st4xy