Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

• Registered Users Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

I hope everyone is as excited by Irelands first test match today as I am. What a time to be alive

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Bridge93 wrote: »
    I hope everyone is as excited by Irelands first test match today as I am. What a time to be alive

Sadly the weather right now looks like it could ruin it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Sadly the weather right now looks like it could ruin it.

Yeah it's a shame. They'll get play at some point in the 5 days but disappointing that the first one is hampered

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Yeah it's a shame. They'll get play at some point in the 5 days but disappointing that the first one is hampered

Absolutely no interest in supporting a 'British' game.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,330 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

A guy in Chicago put in a change of address form to the post office, re-directing all UPS's corporate mail to his own apartment. It wasn't spotted for three months. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

Frankie Sheehan gave a good interview on RTE's "The Business" this morning. Even came clean and admitted that his mum is a Dub!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,067 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Austria best song at the Eurovision
    Won't win but best song

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

It's funny, you get an idea of what someone is like from their posts on boards, and you think, "yeah, he's cool", or "she's sound". Then they make it clear they watch the eurovision and you're like "WTF!"

:p

• Registered Users Posts: 10,067 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Zzippy wrote: »
    It's funny, you get an idea of what someone is like from their posts on boards, and you think, "yeah, he's cool", or "she's sound". Then they make it clear they watch the eurovision and you're like "WTF!"

:p

Wine
    Cheese
    Crackers
    And b!tching about Eurovision
    A better Saturday night you will not have

wp_rathead wrote: »
    Wine
    Cheese
    Crackers

I can think of about a million things I'd rather be doing on a Saturday night! Yet with a teething baby and a pregnant wife, here I am not drinking pints of Guinness and sat at home trying not to watch it...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,789 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

wp_rathead wrote: »
    Wine
    Cheese
    Crackers

He's right you know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

I can think of about a million things I'd rather be doing on a Saturday night! Yet with a teething baby and a pregnant wife, here I am not drinking pints of Guinness and sat at home trying not to watch it...

It's all about tactical planning! I recorded a Cure concert on Sky Arts last night which I've been watching for the past couple of hours. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,438 ✭✭✭kuang1

Cowboys and Aliens was on Channel 4.

Squatter wrote: »
    It's all about tactical planning! I recorded a Cure concert on Sky Arts last night which I've been watching for the past couple of hours. :D

Oh I have loads of recordings I could watch. One of the side effects of pregnancy, however, is the right to the remote control, apparently... ;)

Gerry McBride of Waterford Whispers fame with a great tweet after the Eurovision last night...

There won't be a Palestinian smashed in the face with a rifle butt for a fortnight.

Take a bow Gerry.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Mayo in front of goal. Diiiiiiiiire.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭OldRio

I dozed off the second half.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

Jaysus I used to think the Galway races were wild but I've just seen a couple videos of absolute carnage at Goodwood and the Ascot. Mass brawls with people beating the living ****e out of each other. One of a lad being kicked in the head so forefully can't be anything less then attempted murder.

So is it Laurel or Yanny?

Laurel for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Laurel. This guy thinks he has it sussed but I hear Laurel in all his clips

https://twitter.com/JFLivesay/status/996585941241401346?s=19

Synode wrote: »
    Laurel. This guy thinks he has it sussed but I hear Laurel in all his clips

https://twitter.com/JFLivesay/status/996585941241401346?s=19

That because you're ancient

Well I'll tell you what I can hear...

That ginger whinger belting out his beige shìte. Fcuking neighbours standing outside their houses all smiling at each other, ears cocked to the sky.
    Lad that lives opposite me was there (must be at least 35) when I went out to leave out my bin.

"That's Ed Sheeran"

"Yeah....shìte isn't he?"

Blank stare and a mumble.

"Good night so".

• Administrators Posts: 53,506 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

mfceiling wrote: »
    So is it Laurel or Yanny?

Laurel for me.
    Laurel for me, but my wife insists it's Yanny.

awec wrote: »
    Laurel for me, but my wife insists it's Yanny.

Yep...same in this house. 2 daughters and herself hear Yanny. Me and the youngest hear Laurel.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,035 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Ah jesus, I remember going to a conference a few years ago and every second presentation was about that fecking dress. Looks like we now have a new popular phenomenon to waste various disciplines of science's time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

So I've had a few glasses of wine and now all I hear is yanny. Screw this

• Registered Users Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Synode wrote: »
    So I've had a few glasses of wine and now all I hear is yanny. Screw this

So it’s true, drinking wine does make you a woman.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,972 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

mfceiling wrote: »
    Well I'll tell you what I can hear...

That ginger whinger belting out his beige shìte. Fcuking neighbours standing outside their houses all smiling at each other, ears cocked to the sky.
    Lad that lives opposite me was there (must be at least 35) when I went out to leave out my bin.

"That's Ed Sheeran"

"Yeah....shìte isn't he?"

Blank stare and a mumble.

"Good night so".

I'm giving you a standing ovation sir. Good man.

Rumour has it that he is going to make a guest appearance at the Stones tonight. Hope he doesn't ruin one of their good songs.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Oh I have loads of recordings I could watch. One of the side effects of pregnancy, however, is the right to the remote control, apparently... ;)

Are you not pro-choice Zzippy!? :eek:

A WOMAN HAS THE RIGHT TO CHOOOOOSSSSEEEEEE!