Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2018: General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,136 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

So will it be Rich F1? Sounds a bit odd but I suppose so did Red Bull when it first came in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,110 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

So will it be Rich F1? Sounds a bit odd but I suppose so did Red Bull when it first came in.
    I imagine they would change the name. Force India has all but lost the Indian connection. It didn’t get the Indian sponsorship it wanted, the Indian GP has disappeared and Mallya is the last connection to India. I’d say everyone would be delighted with the name change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Echoes675

I sort of liked the original "Just Drive" song on the Sky F1 credits, when they played the song over footage. Sure it was cheesy but I grew to like it. Now they don't play the song fully and the intercut bits of speech from the commentators, which I don't like.

I didn't like it at all. Compared to all the other intro music posted in this thread inc. The Chain) it just doesn't have the same energy at all. F1 (and motorsport in general) is fast, high energy, edge of your seat but I don't think the Sky theme really conveyed these things. Jusy my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,909 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Rich Energy (energy drinks company) to announce a £200m bid to buy Force India.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.express.co.uk/finance/city/927078/Rich-Energy-buy-Formula-1-team-Force-India-for-200m/amp

It would be great for FI to get some big investment and great for the sport to be rid of a scumbag like Vijay Mallya

How about RE F1 team or even just R F1 team or maybe the Rich Force F1 team.

rid of a scumbag like Vijay Mallya

As for him being a scumbag I really have no idea if he is or not. Just that he done what he had to to keep going and that he gave as the Force India F1 team and they are still here which has not been easy. So fair play to him.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Echoes675 wrote: »
    I didn't like it at all. Compared to all the other intro music posted in this thread inc. The Chain) it just doesn't have the same energy at all. F1 (and motorsport in general) is fast, high energy, edge of your seat but I don't think the Sky theme really conveyed these things. Jusy my opinion.
    OSI wrote: »
    The Sky theme always felt like it belonged to the intro of some open world driving game accompanied by footage of various convertibles driving along a beach or coast line.

I don't disagree with any of that. I did grow to like it in it's cheesy way.

btw it's been a few years since I've been on the edge of my seat watching an F1 race. :)

AMKC wrote: »

Hmm, if they are going to brand the car with their identity, you'll be sure they'll want to get the name out there, especially if it's going to be the same market as Red Bull.

So, "Rich Energy F1" isn't too big of an assumption. Can't see the word Force surviving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭allybhoy

I don't disagree with any of that. I did grow to like it in it's cheesy way.

btw it's been a few years since I've been on the edge of my seat watching an F1 race. :)

First time i heard that song was at the closing credits of the final race on BBC in 2010 when they had every race... what a great season that was.. god i miss BBC's coverage.

Couldnt find the original but here it is from about 20 seconds in

Ms

Hmm, if they are going to brand the car with their identity, you'll be sure they'll want to get the name out there, especially if it's going to be the same market as Red Bull.

So, "Rich Energy F1" isn't too big of an assumption. Can't see the word Force surviving.

Good point.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Ms

Good Point.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,938 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

I have serious doubts about the veracity of that Rich energy / Force India story. I haven't seen anything on the reputable F1 news sites in relation to it and the company tweeted this a couple of hours ago
    https://twitter.com/rich_energy/status/970665088515477509

The whole thing was probably planned to get some free publicity for Rich Energy drinks and at the same time maybe encourage a potential new owner who actually has money to make an offer for the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,110 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Rich Energy (energy drinks company) to announce a £200m bid to buy Force India.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.express.co.uk/finance/city/927078/Rich-Energy-buy-Formula-1-team-Force-India-for-200m/amp

It would be great for FI to get some big investment and great for the sport to be rid of a scumbag like Vijay Mallya

rid of a scumbag like Vijay Mallya

As for him being a scumbag I really have no idea if he is or not. Just that he done what he had to to keep going and that he gave as the Force India F1 team and they are still here which has not been easy. So fair play to him.

Ah there's cheeky chappy wheeling and dealing and there's screwing people at every opportunity. He leaves a trail of unpaid debts behind him everywhere he goes. He's fighting extradition to India to face money laundering charges.

There's something really wrong about a guy who lives he millionaire lifestyle while leaving a trail of busted subcontractors in his wake. F1 doesn't need the likes of him. He does nothing for the credibility of the sport

Ms

Ah there's cheeky chappy wheeling and dealing and there's screwing people at every opportunity. He leaves a trail of unpaid debts behind him everywhere he goes. He's fighting extradition to India to face money laundering charges.

There's something really wrong about a guy who lives he millionaire lifestyle while leaving a trail of busted subcontractors in his wake. F1 doesn't need the likes of him. He does nothing for the credibility of the sport

Ye ok that is bad then yes no need for that. He is another Donald Trump type guy then. Not nice at all and no respect for anyone.

Just hope Force India get some decent investment so they can stay in the sport,

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,164 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I honestly never heard of Rich Energy before this rumour gained some traction. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,938 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

I honestly never heard of Rich Energy before this rumour gained some traction. :pac:

Sounds to me like it's mission accomplished for them. Free PR, they leak the story and then deny it on Twitter

Ms

I would say a lot of us here never heard of them before this either. Fair play to them they got some free PR.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,817 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Last pre-season test begins today.

Surprised Monster aren't in there, being a competitor in the energy drinks market. I know they are sponsors but the idea of a "Monster F1" team is kind of fun to imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

Vandoorne's McLaren died on its second lap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,992 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

skipper_G wrote: »
    I have serious doubts about the veracity of that Rich energy / Force India story. I haven't seen anything on the reputable F1 news sites in relation to it and the company tweeted this a couple of hours ago
    https://twitter.com/rich_energy/status/970665088515477509

The whole thing was probably planned to get some free publicity for Rich Energy drinks and at the same time maybe encourage a potential new owner who actually has money to make an offer for the team

Prince_malik.jpeg

"Hey, I have loads of money to fund your F1 team" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭Joeface

Currently

1 Bottas Mercedes 1m20.596s
    2 Vettel Ferrari 1m20.610s
    3 Gasly Toro Rosso 1m20.973s
    4 Verstappen Red Bull 1m21.107s
    5 Magnussen Haas 1m21.298s
    6 Sirotkin Williams 1m21.588s
    7 Perez Force India 1m22.056s
    8 Ericsson Sauber 1m22.523s
    9 Hulkenberg Renault 1m22.605s
    10 Vandoorne McLaren 1m24.773s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭Mike Litoris

Jaysus more problems for McLaren. 4 laps!

Watched their doc recently and it was seriously depressing viewing. I fear another ropey season and a waste of Alonzo's talents. :(

First session today complete

1 Vettel Ferrari 1m20.396s
    2 Bottas Mercedes 1m20.596s
    3 Verstappen Red Bull 1m20.649s
    4 Gasly Toro Rosso 1m20.973s
    5 Magnussen Haas 1m21.298s
    6 Sirotkin Williams 1m21.588s
    7 Hulkenberg Renault 1m21.738s
    8 Ericsson Sauber 1m21.893s
    9 Perez Force India 1m21.936s
    10 Vandoorne McLaren 1m24.773s

Ms

Watched their doc recently and it was seriously depressing viewing. I fear another ropey season and a waste of Alonzo's talents. :(

Jeez they must be cursed. They just can't seem to not have any problems.

How is Toro Rosso Handa doing?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,589 ✭✭✭Harika

Jeez they must be cursed. They just can't seem to not have any problems.

How is Toro Rosso Handa doing?

Lap count:

Vettel 98
    Verstappen 97
    Bottas 86
    Ericsson 66
    Gasly 54
    Perez 52
    Hulkenberg 48
    Magnussen 46
    Sirotkin 42
    Hamilton 24
    Vandoorne 23
    Sainz 17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,933 ✭✭✭Infoanon

Interesting article on Autosport highlighting Franz Tost approach and the benefits its having already - Alonso should have been a 4/5 time world champion such are his talents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭oceanman

Infoanon wrote: »
    Interesting article on Autosport highlighting Franz Tost approach and the benefits its having already - Alonso should have been a 4/5 time world champion such are his talents
    He would have been but he made some terrible career moves over the years...leaving teams just before they came good and signing for teams just before they went off the boil. great driver though, would love to see him win one more world title but time is no longer on his side I'm afraid.

Red Flag , Vandoorne stopped at Turn 3 , Recovery Truck there to take the car back.

Bad first day again for Mclaren

Now Verstappen has stopped on the track and is been tow'd back