Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guess what Mad_Lad got this time?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 7,835 Mod ✭✭✭✭liamog

Mod Note: Can we move on from the sniping back and forth over the REx religious arguments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,952 ✭✭✭Patser

handpref wrote: »
    Nice one Patser, how long did they have it in for ?

Tried the new Colm Quinn BMW place in Drogheda but they didn’t get back to me.
    Keanes have been terrible in the past but if I have to il leave it back with them, many thanks

Just got my car back from Keanes Naas Road, after the KLE recall.

All very quick and professional - dropped it in yesterday, they had a courtesy car ready as requested, can was done by the evening but I couldn't get back til this morning. In and out in less then 5 minutes.

Only 1 hiccup, they've reset my speedo back to Mph again (same as in last years recall), despite me repeatedly asking for it to be avoided. Normal problem, they have to reprogramme car, it goes back to default, they have no interest or knowledge of how to go into diagnostic settings to change it back.

So back to a specialist I go, to give him €50 to hook up his computer and click correct drop down icon

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,783 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Surely back to the dealer to sort that for free

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. outdoor furniture, roof box and EDDI

My Active Ads (adverts.ie)

• Registered Users Posts: 65,025 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Not if you bought the car as a MPH car and got it modded by a third party. But sure you could chance your arm trying :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,783 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

unkel wrote: »
    Not if you bought the car as a MPH car and got it modded by a third party. But sure you could chance your arm trying :D

O Lordie, thought I was in the ID3 thread when I posted that, brainfart

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. outdoor furniture, roof box and EDDI

My Active Ads (adverts.ie)

Gobshyte. :D

slave1 wrote: »
    O Lordie, thought I was in the ID3 thread when I posted that, brainfart

I think the ID.3 shows the speed in kg/m

This is set to be fixed in software version 3.0 next year :p

• Registered Users Posts: 21,581 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Thats one reason I could never buy a VW EV. "kWh/h"

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

ELM327 wrote: »
    Thats one reason I could never buy a VW EV. "kWh/h"

Almost as annoying as not being able to add stops in the route planner ;)

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

Funny that never bothered me.

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭handpref

Patser wrote: »
    Just got my car back from Keanes Naas Road, after the KLE recall.

All very quick and professional - dropped it in yesterday, they had a courtesy car ready as requested, can was done by the evening but I couldn't get back til this morning. In and out in less then 5 minutes.

Only 1 hiccup, they've reset my speedo back to Mph again (same as in last years recall), despite me repeatedly asking for it to be avoided. Normal problem, they have to reprogramme car, it goes back to default, they have no interest or knowledge of how to go into diagnostic settings to change it back.

So back to a specialist I go, to give him €50 to hook up his computer and click correct drop down icon

Good man, I tried Colm Quinn in Drogheda but they don’t have the full workshop set up, they said they can send it to Athlone for the KLE Convenience Charge works, I won’t need the car in June for a few days so may go with that rather than driving all the way to Keanes. Il leave a note on the dash about the Speedo !

Imagine a car without convenience charging ! ))

The i3 is now at 120,000 Kms since yesterday on my way home from work.

Battery capacity as good as new as far as I can tell there is absolutely no notable loss in range unlike my 24 Kwh 2015 Leaf, to say I'm impressed is an understatement.

I'll probably have 125,000 Kms on it by the time I let it go.

It's due a service since Feb but I'm not spending the money on it lol.

No issues since I got some minor warranty work done on the suspension. Still drives great, still fun to drive.

It will be crazy going from 28.9 to 78 Kwh of storage in the id.3. That's 50 Kwh more juice in the tank.......

So you've bought the long range 4 seater ID.3? for delivery in the next few months? How much did that set you back if I may ask?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,226 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

So you've bought the long range 4 seater ID.3? for delivery in the next few months? How much did that set you back if I may ask?

I think he got the Tour 5, 5 seater but still 77kWh.

DrPhilG wrote: »

Yep, Tour 5, 5 seater, decided against the tour 4 because I feel the 3rd seat will be handy if the Boys have friends over and I have to drive them home just wanted 3 seats in the rear.

The tour 4 is actually more expensive and has some kit I have no interest in such as the HUD, reflections on the windscreen drive me nuts especially at night.

Total repayable will be 36.5K for 20K Kms a year which I will probably go nearer 30K kms. But that's not too important really. 5K Deposit. It's more than I had wanted to spend on PCP but could mean more equity unless I go way over the mileage, still decent sum to pay interest free if I decide to keep it.

The id.4 would have been nice only the cost with travel assist was bonkers and it would have been nice to get the missus more interested in electric.

It will be nice having normal rear doors again now that the boys are hardier, that was the plan anyway to get rid of the i3 when they got older, that alone might convince herself to drive it. Larger boot for shopping etc.

The finance quote looks confusing, but if I add the deposit + monthly payments + first payment + GFMV the total cost to buy would be 42,022 Euro's that's all you have to know, 36.5 K over the 3 years.

The will settle the finance on the i3, basically giving that to them like I had to the leaf to frank keane so this is the main problem when going to another dealer, they don't like getting different brands it always stands to you to go back to VW with a VW for instance.

So, that's two EV pcps that you've essentially handed back at the end of the term?
    I think I'd have kept the i3 in your instance - that's a huge chunk of change to move up a couple of years, unless you were just bored and fancied a change.

DrPhilG wrote: »

Given your recent experience, he might want to double check that

Although if he got the 4 seater maybe ye could swap?

Yep, Tour 5, 5 seater, decided against the tour 4 because I feel the 3rd seat will be handy if the Boys have friends over and I have to drive them home just wanted 3 seats in the rear.

The tour 4 is actually more expensive and has some kit I have no interest in such as the HUD, reflections on the windscreen drive me nuts especially at night.

Total repayable will be 36.5K for 20K Kms a year which I will probably go nearer 30K kms. But that's not too important really. 5K Deposit. It's more than I had wanted to spend on PCP but could mean more equity unless I go way over the mileage, still decent sum to pay interest free if I decide to keep it.

The id.4 would have been nice only the cost with travel assist was bonkers and it would have been nice to get the missus more interested in electric.

It will be nice having normal rear doors again now that the boys are hardier, that was the plan anyway to get rid of the i3 when they got older, that alone might convince herself to drive it. Larger boot for shopping etc.

The finance quote looks confusing, but if I add the deposit + monthly payments + first payment + GFMV the total cost to buy would be 42,022 Euro's that's all you have to know, 36.5 K over the 3 years.

The will settle the finance on the i3, basically giving that to them like I had to the leaf to frank keane so this is the main problem when going to another dealer, they don't like getting different brands it always stands to you to go back to VW with a VW for instance.

Did you get the 0% interest offer?

I wish they'd been doing that on the ID.4. Every other car VW sells except the Touareg got that deal :(

So, that's two EV pcps that you've essentially handed back at the end of the term?
    I think I'd have kept the i3 in your instance - that's a huge chunk of change to move up a couple of years, unless you were just bored and fancied a change.

Yes, change + a lot more range + proper doors again which will be needed now really since the lads can get in and out of the car themselves now, not sure I'd trust my 5 year old yet leaving the child lock off, he's a real Mad_Lad. :D

I would have got a lot more to trade in the i3 for the tesla but the interest on that was a lot more and so was the list price.

I can't be bothered selling privately but the lesson here clearly is that you really do have to stick with the same car brand to get decent trade in values and even the same dealer, they want to keep you and that really applies to any car or finance etc. If I had to trade in and owned the car it would be the same thing, depreciation. When I got rid of the leaf Frank Kean were almost embarrassed taking it, same with the i3, Sheehy's don't want anything to do with it but it will be a different story with the id.3 is If I get another car from them in 3 years but really the difference in having a dealer 6 kms away vs 80 kms is really huge and it will be if I need to drop it in for warranty work or "service".

Did you get the 0% interest offer?

I wish they'd been doing that on the ID.4. Every other car VW sells except the Touareg got that deal :(

Yeah got the 0%, good way to sell cars.

I forgot, those numbers I got from the quote didn't include the 0% so knock 1,363 off the price.

Given your recent experience, he might want to double check that

Although if he got the 4 seater maybe ye could swap?

Sure, I'd swap for cash lol

By the way, when I said I noticed the range loss in the Leaf that was at 85,000 kms, with 120,000 Kms on the i3 I notice absolutely no range loss.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭ewj1978

aye, had 87k/kms on my 94ah. Zero difference to the range from the day I got it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,278 ✭✭✭mordeith

It's nuts really. My 161 Rex showed 158km on the GOM the other day (battery only, not combined). Did about 75km at various speeds between 80 and 120 and actually did only use 51%.
    Has only 77,000 on the clock mind

This weather is absolutely ideal for EVs. 21C is optimal. Anyone driving around normally not doing much 120km/h should get more than the WLTP range of their EV like this.

the difference in deg between the leaf and the i3 really shows the difference battery conditioning makes

• Registered Users Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭KCross

the difference in deg between the leaf and the i3 really shows the difference battery conditioning makes

We cant come to that conclusion.

Battery conditioning would have very little effect in this country with our temperate climate unless your rapid charging it daily or something extreme like that.

The reason some other EV's dont "appear" to degrade as much as the Leaf is because they have more buffer... not battery conditioning.

And, of course, the Leaf could just have inferior chemistry but again I think battery conditioning has very little to do with it in this country.

We all know the chemistry of the battery in the early Leaf is poor. Zero thermal management doesn't help either. My Fluence has the same batteries and is equally bad. These cars now (9 or 10 years later) have about half of their original range, which is pretty shocking

Other EVs have superior battery chemistry combined with thermal management and a diminishing buffer, which makes it look like the have no degradation at all (Ioniq 28kWh and BMW i3)

I mean, there is indeed the correlation vs causation argument like you are making. However the observed reality is absurd degradation in all leafs. And not as much in others. My model S for instance had nearly 200k km and it had less than 7% degradation. Plenty of Ioniqs and I3 out there with <5% degradation and >150k km. I know of Zoe 22kWh with 1% deg after 175k.

Leafs losing 2+ (or 22.5% deg) bars after less than 100-120k is not uncommon. And thats shocking, frankly. Whether its liquid cooling, inferior chemistry (which I suspect), or other factors, the fact remains that leafs degrade exponentially more than other EVs of the same era.