Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Harvey Weinstein scandal (Mod warning in op.)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Has Weinstein been charged yet?

Nope.

But now magician David Copperfield stands accused-by someone who's already been found guilty of lying about an assault before.

https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/kznvyz/david-copperfield-accused-of-drugging-and-sexually-assaulting-teen-model-vgtrn?utm_source=vicetwitterus

It's being resurfaced again, but the story doesn't hold up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

Casey Affleck has officially withdrawn as presenter for best actress Oscar. Right decision because I'd have a feeling someone would try pulling a stunt on him.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

it's only when I think about it, I watch feck all Hollywood movies. Maybe it subconsciously became noticeable that the quality was dropping to people being awarded parts due to favours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

it's only when I think about it, I watch feck all Hollywood movies. Maybe it subconsciously became noticeable that the quality was dropping to people being awarded parts due to favours.

Probably. You might be like one of those weird yokes in the water in Minority Report?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭ceegee

No idea who he is, but Enzo Amore is allegedly famous, and has been kicked out of WWE amid a rape allegation.
    http://www.tmz.com/2018/01/23/wwe-fires-enzo-amore-in-wake-of-rape-allegations/

His accuser has come forward.

http://www.tmz.com/2018/01/23/enzo-amore-accuser-philomena-sheahan-rape-wwe/

She has a chequered history tho, tho the swift reaction suggests Enzo's done it before.

https://heavy.com/sports/2018/01/miss-gucci-witch-philomena/

It's unfair to say he's probably done it before just because they fired him.
    He didn't get fired because of the allegations, he got fired because he didn't tell the WWE about it before it became public. Had he told them about it when the accusations were first made he would have just been suspended until the investigation concluded.

ceegee wrote: »
    It's unfair to say he's probably done it before just because they fired him.
    He didn't get fired because of the allegations, he got fired because he didn't tell the WWE about it before it became public. Had he told them about it when the accusations were first made he would have just been suspended until the investigation concluded.

True, it's unfair, but similar happened with an actor in Corrie-he was fired when the allegations surfaced, then plead guilty in court.

I was using that as a subconscious comparison.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,122 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Billionaire casino owner and personal friend of Donald trump, Steve Wynn is the latest to be accused, resulting in the share price of his company dropping dramatically.

https://mobile.nytimes.com/2018/01/26/business/steve-wynn-sexual-misconduct-claims.html?referer=https://www.google.com/

He is also the chair of the RNC financial committee

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Even woke male feminists can't trust themselves alone with a woman now.

https://twitter.com/samrboland/status/952659134536699904

• Registered Users Posts: 34,056 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

who is Sam Boland?

Google is no help

• Registered Users Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

who is Sam Boland?

Google is no help
    He seems to be some untrustworthy, insincere gimp looking for way to finally get himself a girlfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

rusty cole wrote: »
    Barack Obama had to actually address a string of spousal abuse cases within the NFL ALONE.. Below shows one head liner!! This same lad probably refused to stand for the anthem in protest against trump, what a patriot and hero!!!
    America really is the land of "do as I say, not as I do'ers"

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/video/nfl/video-1118515/NFL-player-Ray-Rice-punches-fiancee-Janay-Palmer-face.html
    Ray Rice has been out of the league since 2013 so if he was kneeling he was doing it at home.

Though that story was particularly appalling as he initially got a two game suspension (NFL season is 16 games per team + 3/4 playoff games if you get to the Superbowl and/or don't get a first round bye) and the NFL absolutely must have seen the footage before giving out that small ban because it was from the hotel's elevator camera and not someone catching it on their phone and later releasing it. Yet as soon as the video leaked, they more or less immediately upped it to an 'indefinite' suspension from which he never returned.

Meanwhile, they've suspended a number of players (players who like Rice were among the most exciting to watch on the field) for substance abuse issues like having a drink problem or smoking too much grass, e.g. not necessarily PEDs or whatnot. It's part of the reason why the NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell is so phenomenally unpopular among the public.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,410 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Elton John warns against passing judgment on the accused without due process

https://edition.cnn.com/2018/01/25/entertainment/elton-john-me-too-movement/index.html

Jeremy Piven accused by more women.

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/three-more-women-accuse-jeremy-piven-sexual-misconduct-1079113

And now Scott Baio is accused of molesting former Baywatch actress Nicole Eggert. When she was a minor.

https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/actress-nicole-eggert-claims-scott-baio-molested-her-as-a-minor-1079116

• Registered Users Posts: 85,410 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I thought Nicole Eggert and Scott Baio dated, she also was with Corey Haim

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I thought Nicole Eggert and Scott Baio dated, she also was with Corey Haim

Yeah, and it was a massive dispute between Haim and Feldman-Eggert dating Haim I mean. (The were also engaged).

There was a movie (Blown Away)that Haim and Feldman were in where Feldman had a sex scene with Eggert.
    Despite it being simulated, it led to such a fallout between the two that it was the beginning of the end of their friendship, and film partnership-before they mended a fractured reunion.

Apparently Eggert gave an interview almost 5 years ago where she said 'she' pressured Baio into having sex for the first time-her first time, not his. She was 17, he was in his 20s.

http://www.wetpaint.com/nicole-eggert-i-lost-my-608636/

So it seems a bit odd now in retrospect...her claiming she was molested.

Also, Siobhan O'Connor's trying toredeem herself.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/siobhan-oconnor-campaign-descended-cult-11920176

https://etcanada.com/news/294309/kate-winslet-gets-emotional-as-she-admits-shes-made-poor-decisions-amid-sexual-harassment-scandal/

Kate Winslet trying to give another award winning performance...now 'regret's' working with metoo harassers. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

And now Rose admits that Harvey didn't rape her, and instead did what many of the other women have accused him of also doing, sexually assaulting them... and even that will be discussed as she says he went down on her and she froze, that he pushed her into a bathroom, peeled off her clothes and directed her to the Jacuzzi (where the oral sex / sexual assault took place as he masturbated).

Knowing of course that people would now question why she claimed many times that Harvey raped her, she preempts that with:
    "Rape to me is any violation of my body," she writes. "If you enter my
    body via tongue, fingers, penis, object without my consent, that to me
    is rape and I need no law telling me what I know to be true."

Rose knew what people would infer from her saying that Harvey raped her and yet instead of saying that he sexually assaulted her, she still yet said that he raped her.....In which case, inference deliberate.

I'm no columbo but I believe in the sates, rape is rape, be it oral, digital or with a penis, they still call it rape once penetrated by all or one of the above, it's usually Oral rape, digital rape etc, it has the "R" suffix which is all one would need to know.

Saying that, she's an absolute looney tune!! she has her own show on E now called Citizen rose FFS!!! scummy how one would seek to progress a career for oneself out of the carnage!! I'd prefer to listen to here hyper exaggeration though above the denials from the steeps and the likes.

rusty cole wrote: »
    I'm no columbo but I believe in the sates, rape is rape, be it oral, digital or with a penis, they still call it rape once penetrated by all or one of the above, it's usually Oral rape, digital rape etc, it has the "R" suffix which is all one would need to know.

I'm aware of that, but when someone merely says that someone raped them, we all know what the inference of what that will mean to people and which is why digital rape, oral rape etc tend to be referred to as a sexual assault.

My point is that Rose knew the inference of say Harvey raped her and calling him a rapist. She knew people would infer that he raped her by her saying that.

I'm aware of that, but when someone merely says that someone raped them, we all know what the inference of what that will mean to people and which is why digital rape, oral rape etc tend to be referred to as a sexual assault.

My point is that Rose knew the inference of say Harvey raped her and calling him a rapist. She knew people would infer that he raped her by her saying that.

I don't like McGowan at but rape is rape, it does not need to involve a penis to be considered rape and this constant need to attack here is unnecessary. She's no hero and only spoke up after dozens of others did but it does not lessen the ordeal she went through.

One of the definitions of rape is unlawful sexual intercourse or any other sexual penetration of the vagina, anus, or mouth of another person, with or without force, by a sex organ, other body part, or foreign object, without the consent of the victim.

Jesus I'm not saying oral rape is not technically rape ffs, nor that it isn't an ordeal for anyone who is orally raped.... honestly.

Again, and for the last time:

What I'm saying is that when some speaks about having been raped and refers to their attacker as a rapist, we all bloody know what will be concluded from that. When is the last time, for example, you read headlines about a woman having been Raped, but yet then the story was about an oral or digital rape? It never happens as we don't speak of such things as rape. Even The Guardian today had the word rape in inverted commas now and the Irish Times today too. Compare that to other articles before today where they wrote about the alleged rape and they didn't do that.

Come on, don't be naive. Yes digital and oral rape are in some countries legally referred to as forms of technical rape but when someone speaks about someone having been Raped or when we as a society talk about someone having Raped, the inference we take from that is not that they orally or digitally raped someone and when they have we are sure to add specificity in that regard.

Be interesting to read the full chapter at some point as the whole froze thing is suspect also, as Harvey is on his knees in the balcony Jacuzzi jacking off and she is sitting on the edge, which hardly screams a situation where all avenues of escape where closed to her. Slap in the mouth for him, grab your clothes and leave would be my call for any mid 20s woman who found herself in a similar position.

Oh I know, all victims act differently and there's no right way to act.... etc etc.

Nice to see not everyone is afraid to speak up.

https://twitter.com/Diane_Keaton/status/958070947268804608

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Be interesting to read the full chapter at some point as the whole froze thing is suspect also, as Harvey is on his knees in the balcony Jacuzzi jacking off and she is sitting on the edge, which hardly screams a situation where all avenues of escape where closed to her. Slap in the mouth for him, grab your clothes and leave would be my call for any mid 20s woman who found herself in a similar position.

Oh I know, all victims act differently and there's no right way to act.... etc etc.

There's nothing suspect about it at all. There's a reason that people are starting to call the potential response to stress the fight-flight-freeze response. It's very easy to be pass remarkable about how we think victims of any kind of assault or trauma should have responded but we don't know how we ourselves would react to a potential situation until we actually go through it personally.

Jesus I'm not saying oral rape is not technically rape ffs, nor that it isn't an ordeal for anyone who is orally raped.... honestly.

Again, and for the last time:

What I'm saying is that when some speaks about having been raped and refers to their attacker as a rapist, we all bloody know what will be concluded from that. When is the last time, for example, you read headlines about a woman having been Raped, but yet then the story was about an oral or digital rape? It never happens as we don't speak of such things as rape. Even The Guardian today had the word rape in inverted commas now and the Irish Times today too. Compare that to other articles before today where they wrote about the alleged rape and they didn't do that.

Come on, don't be naive. Yes digital and oral rape are in some countries legally referred to as forms of technical rape but when someone speaks about someone having been Raped or when we as a society talk about someone having Raped, the inference we take from that is not that they orally or digitally raped someone and when they have we are sure to add specificity in that regard.

You really seem to have an issue with women speaking out against their abusers. You can argue semantics all you want but Rose McGowan's description of her assault is rape. Are you one of those people who does not believe that a woman can rape as rape can only be committed by somebody with a penis?

You seem to be an expert in how a woman who is being raped would react, after all we all know that during a horrific ordeal such as rape that we would all think and act rationally and no doubt Rose McGowan could easily have hit a man a couple of hundred pounds heavier than her, gathered her clothes and left the room with ease, but chose not to so that she could get a hundred grand out of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

No idea who he is, but Enzo Amore is allegedly famous, and has been kicked out of WWE amid a rape allegation.

She has a chequered history tho, tho the swift reaction suggests Enzo's done it before.

That's a hell of a leap.
    The indication is that the investigation was ongoing and Enzo never made his employers aware of it, which is why he was released.

You really seem to have an issue with women speaking out against their abusers.
    lol. What the hell are you on about? Sure I have posted many women's public statements of their experiences of Harvey Weinstein on this thread:

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=104927044
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=104962613
    https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=104940659

Although I must admit that I feel the Police Station is a better place to make rape and sexual assault allegations than Twitter.
    You can argue semantics all you want but Rose McGowan's description of her assault is rape.

I'm not arguing semantics, you are. I have already conceded that it's a form of rape, just not what we in society will infer occurred whenever we hear that a woman was raped.
    Are you one of those people who does not believe that a woman can rape as rape can only be committed by somebody with a penis?

Nope. Strange question considering I have already conceded that digital rape and oral rape are technically also rape. Again: I am talking about the inference which is made when we say a woman was raped or that a man raped when we don't include further specificity. Which is what Rose did. Without such specificity we tend to refer to such technical rapes as sexual assaults.
    You seem to be an expert in how a woman who is being raped would react after all we all know that during a horrific ordeal such as rape that we would all think and act rationally and no doubt Rose McGowan could easily have hit a man a couple of hundred pounds heavier than her, gathered her clothes and left the room with ease, but chose not to so that she could get a hundred grand out of him.

Or...... she just let Harvey do what he wanted, what with him being who he was and all.

Look, we all know (from the many reports over the years) that rape and sexual assault victims can freeze, go into shock etc, but with respect you'd want to be fierce naive to just blindly accept that from every woman that has ever claimed it alongside an accusation.

Like I said, be interested to read the relevant chapter at some point as right now all we have is the snippets in the media and so not sure how she reacted to her clothes being peeled off, being told to get in the Jacuzzi etc. Did she say no, stop etc? Or did she freeze throughout it all? Who knows maybe there's more she said that would lend weight to her story... but right now, given all that I have read from her, I think it's more likely that she reluctantly let Harvey pressure her into a sexual situation she did not want to be in and couldn't muster the courage to tell him so given the power dynamic.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,154 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Checkered past? get over it. Look at the **** that's on that page. There's nothing there that actually detracts from her story. It's just **** to try and make it look like she's making sh1t up.

That's the reason rape is so under reported.

Look, we all know (from the many reports over the years) that rape and sexual assault victims can freeze, go into shock etc, but with respect you'd want to be fierce naive to just blindly accept that from every woman that has ever claimed it alongside an accusation.

Not even going to bother replying to the post as your posts on this matter show how unwilling you are to accept many of the accusations. I think that these reports should be filed with police, but just because they do not do not mean that they are not true.

The quote from you above says so much, you seem to have an intricate knowledge of how women would act when they are being raped. If a woman is a victim of rape and says they froze why would we not believe them. From your post history it's clear that if someone does not react in the way you expect they should you distrust them, if I am not mistaken you had an issue with how the film The Accountant portrayed an autistic character as it did not conform to your experiences of people with autism. You are doing the same here, you have an issue with a woman recounting her ordeal as it does not conform to how you think they should act. You question McGowan's account and say that her account of the rape "hardly screams a situation where all avenues of escape were closed to her". Are you trying to imply that it was not rape simply because a rationally thinking person such as yourself could see a way out?

Nice to see not everyone is afraid to speak up.

https://twitter.com/Diane_Keaton/status/958070947268804608

Saw someone respond to that with 'child bride he'd adopted' as evidence of poor character. It fits.
    You really seem to have an issue with women speaking out against their abusers. You can argue semantics all you want but Rose McGowan's description of her assault is rape. Are you one of those people who does not believe that a woman can rape as rape can only be committed by somebody with a penis?

You seem to be an expert in how a woman who is being raped would react, after all we all know that during a horrific ordeal such as rape that we would all think and act rationally and no doubt Rose McGowan could easily have hit a man a couple of hundred pounds heavier than her, gathered her clothes and left the room with ease, but chose not to so that she could get a hundred grand out of him.

I don't disbelieve her account, their could very well have been an implied 'trade' to help her career. But Harvey escalated things, with probable implied violence, which led to the assault. She's escaped cults and dealt with some nasty people in her lifetime, so possibly feared not walking out of that room. I feel this was an assault, a rape, no doubt about it. Weinstein was like a mobster, untouchable.

I know many of those who didn't speak out were probably caught out-I noticed Blake Lively deferred talking about Harvey and spoke about a makeup artist who spied on her. I imagine J Lawrences nude hacked photos were not meant for a boyfriend, many speculated tne phone hack was of a Hollywood producer's phone. Others claimed it was a power move by a producer, a deliberate leak of photos to show his control of them. No doubt they did favours to further their careers. Without Harvey, JLaw's up for a Razzie this year.

That said, the accounts of Annabella Sciorra, Lysette Anthony and Paz de la Huerta are rape. Not sexual assault, rape. And I call Roses account an oral rape, and still rape.
    razorblunt wrote: »
    That's a hell of a leap.
    The indication is that the investigation was ongoing and Enzo never made his employers aware of it, which is why he was released.

Ah, my bad-apologies to you and the other poster who corrected me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

A few pretty big ones in the last few days on the politics front - Canada's minister for sports and disabled people, as well the leader of the Progressive Conservative Party on date rape (apparently getting the women hammered before raping them, and he's a teetotaler) and the head of the US Republican Party's financing, Steve Wynn on various charges of sexual misconduct and rape. All three have stepped down from their roles.