Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Charlie69

RIP Ray Ryan, very sad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Just a reminder of Brid Stacks episode of Laochra Gael tonight at 9:30

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,934 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Great episode in fiarness.

I was big into ladies football and was following that team when they made the breakthrough. Easily the best Cork team I have ever seen - in either code, male or female. The 5 in a row, the loss in 2010 and how they came back with 3 more titles before THAT final against Dublin. So many absolute All Star footballers all playing at the same time. They were an absolute joy to watch, the team spirit, dedication and skill levels wre top notch and Bríd was well up there with the best of them.

It helped that there was a spillover with the camogie which drove them on too over that decade of dominance.

….

image.png

….

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭The White Feather

As regards the hurlers, good to see Mullins and Healy start. Mullins was excellent the last day and Healy had a great cameo. Hopefully Jack O Connor gets to come on and show what he can do because he was very poor the last day out. Dalton being back gives us that physical presence again.

The most disappointing thing the last day is the goal chances that we messed up. We had around 6 or 7 chances that we should have tucked away. Connolly is out this week with a bit of flu but hopefully we can get a few goals this time and win.

Ben O'Connor was playing tonight for Munster Rugby. Every time I see him, I just think what a great hurler he was and can we get him back! 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 TipperaryFox

Hi lads, If anyone was selling 2 seating tickets for Kilkenny Cork I would be veru grateful of a DM. Two elderly gentlemen can't go on the terrace unfortunately. Thanks

Cork Camogie playing Dublin today and its into the second half currently with Cork leading 0-18 to 0-6

The ladies footballers playing Roscommon and after 8 mins its Cork 2-2 Roscommon 1-0

The final score in the Cork Camogie game v Dublin

Dublin 0-10 Cork 0-20

Half time in the Ladies football. Supposed to be a long break due to an injury to a Roscommon player. Hope she is alright.

Cork 4-6 Roscommon 2-5

The ladies footballers won 4-17 to 2-9. Hopefully they will end up being promoted back up.

Very below par first half from us. Yet to really get going.

Mellerick going off really upset our defence which I think led to their 2nd goal. Collins in goal was poor for both their 2 goals. The first should have been saved as it was straight at him but it was also a mistake from Niall O'Leary The 2nd he came out correctly but almost fell backwards to try to block it. He needed to charge fully forward like he did against Limerick last year. The KK man was spinning to turn and hit so he needed to fully commit to closing him down.

I don't think we have even competed never mind win any of their puckouts. They seem to have a man free every time giving them a platform. KK are really overloading the spine of the pitch and there are acres of space out wide.

The bright point is Healy's play. He is really putting his hand up for Championship.

The bad points are us still not getting more goals. It feels like KK are open for goals yet somehow they have more than us!

A shoulder into the head right in front of the ref and not even a yellow. Bizarre from the ref.

Then our player has to go off injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,050 ✭✭✭gifted

Looked like shoulder into the head of the Cork player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,315 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

That was a fairly blatant shoulder to the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,644 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Good win in end without playing great.

Good see them hold out for win. Badly needed one.

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

Good win in the end. We began to get going in the last 15 mins. Healy is really showing what he can bring to us. 1-5 from play is phenomenal. The work rate was much better from all in the second half and it was good to see. I was getting a bit worried from the first half where we looked like still in practice game mode same as the Tipp game.

Mellerick going off really upset us and I hope he is ok. To be honest I forgot about Tommy O'Connell and I thought he impressed when he came on too. Our bench really helped as well as the fitness. Barrett is a real workhorse for us. He covers a lot of ground. I thought certain Kilkenny players seemed to fade near the end whereas we seemed full of running still. I was interested to see Shine for Kilkenny as he was talked about in the KK thread but I can see why some are frustrated with him.

Has to be said ref was poor too. Gave a free to us when Blanchfield clearly hopped ball off ground and didn't even card the KK player for a blatant hit to head. There would be no complaints if that was a red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Any game against Kilkenny is well worth winning and to be fair they would say the same about us as well. Anyway Roscommon gave the footballers a bit of a reality check. Surely we won't drop down to division three?

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭Cork2021

absolute disgrace the way the majority of Cork Fans fecked off after the hurling. If I was one of the footballers I’d be upset enough about it. No wonder they don’t have much confidence! Might not have changed the result but Cork people need to realise Our footballers deserve support too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭JoyceDavenport

I agree with the jist of your post.

However, from a fan's perspective football played well Is a bad game. Football played badly is a terrible game. Fans voted with their feet and were proved correct.

Btw it's time for John Cleary to go. No significant improvement and a potential relegation dogfight on the horizon.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,934 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Cleary has had enough time, probably should have got the job 5-10 years ago.

It's also very hard to stay and watch a game of football after watching a good game of hurling.

Things not too good in the football camp I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Rega

Football would have been my game growing up but I have no interest in the lateral, slow handpassing game we've been playing for years now. There has been very little actual football played for a long time.

The start of the league was positive with quick ball being played into the forwards but that has disappeared and we're back to the slow buildup bore fest again.

I've two kids I bring to games. They'll watch hurling and camogie games all day long but they have no interest in watching football. To be honest, I don't blame them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,451 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

poor pat ryan , fair play to him to step out on the line after such a tough week , such a tough man had leukaemia a few years back when he helped cork win an u20 all ireland

a really really good man there is no doubt about that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

I really do think John Clearly is a very nice man, he was a great player and he should have been Conor Counihans successor a decade ago.

However promotion is gone and we would need to give Kerry a game in Munster presuming we beat Limerick (a presumption that could very well indeed be dangerous!), and reach the last eight for the year to be deemed a success.

At the current moment in time i don't see that happening. We are just miles off the pace in football sadly.

Anyway on a more positive note great display by Diarmuid Healy for the hurlers the other night. We have some serious competition for places in the forward line now.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

5 changes for Sunday

CORK (AHL v Clare): B Saunderson; N O’Leary, E Downey, S O’Donoghue; T O’Connell, R Downey, C O’Brien; T O’Mahony, D Fitzgibbon; D Dalton, S Barrett, E Twomey; B Roche, P Horgan, B Hayes.

Subs: P Collins, D Cahalane, E Roche, C McCarthy, M Mullins, L Meade, D Hogan, J O’Connor, J Cahalane, S Kingston, R Cotter.

Another good win in the Camogie league today for Cork. This makes it 3 wins and should be getting to league final hopefully

Cork 3:17 (26) Kilkenny 0:13 (13)

Saoirse McCarthy with 2 goals and Orlaith Cahalane with 1

Good win for the camogie team. Only 1 up at half time but obviously dominated the 2nd half, holding Kilkenny to just 4 points in the 2nd half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭thesultan

The Laochra Gale of Ben and Jerry was very good . did both have a fall out with Newtown after?

i think brian hayes is going to have a serious season for cork , mullins loos the part too as dose o'brien from newtownshandrum

the structure has to be wrong in terms of getting the best players in the county through to the senior team , my club played killnamartra in the munster club 18 months ago , we got hammered , there were two inter county players on the field that day and both of them played for us , they went on to the all ireland final and lost by a point to cullyhanna that had aidan Nugent ross mcqullian and jason duffy playing for them ,

donal dineen looked every bit as good as any intercounty forward and he never makes the panel , that was a team in the 3rd tier of cork football , whats happening in between needs to be looked at surely

Interesting note about todays game. If Patrick Horgan gets 5 more points, he will become the all time leading scorer in the league. He has 25 goals and 661 points for a total of 736 points, four behind Kilkenny's Eddie Keher’s total of 72 goals and 524 points.