Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Seadin

Its a concern for certain but Limerick are leaking alot of goals in games of late as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 King Power Fox

Limerick will tighten up as the championship concludes. Casey back and hopefully Finn after Munster Final. 4 good full backs to pick 3. More importantly O Donovan back to compliment O Donoghue in midfield to screen half back line.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,300 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Any advice on where to park for football match in Pairc Ui Rinn on Saturday afternoon? Coming off M8.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭costacorta

You could take first exit after coming thru JLT and park inside in Mahon Point Shopping center which is 30 _ 40 min walk to PUR but also buses running regulary from outside of mahon point .

I would be driving up further toward PUR but if you dont know area and not in any rush you might be better off staying there as very easy to get to and easier to get out of afterwards .

• Registered Users Posts: 5,300 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Cheers, will have a youngster with me so might push on nearer the ground.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,686 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Blackrock GAA usually do Parking for matches, that would be a good spot. Cork Con also but they are right next to PUR so might be more difficult getting out afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

It's all about consistency with Cork that's our problem for the last decade. Like we won Munster in 2017 after a dismal championship the year beforehand. We self destructed in that semi final against Waterford though. We were winning by a point with about twenty minutes to go, then one of our players stupidly got himself sent off and Waterford went to town on us in the end.

Then we bottled it against Limerick in that infamous 2018 semi final although Limerick in the five to six years since have shown what a great team they are. This Cork team has to show that it can produce top class performances on a consistent basis now.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 5,091 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Cork team v Donegal, Saturday at 2:30 in Pairc Ui Rinn. NOT televised and NOT on GAA Go

(1) Christopher Kelly (Eire Og)
    (2) Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
    (3) Daniel O’Mahony (Knocknagree)
    (4) Maurice Shanley (Clonakilty)
    (5) Rory Maguire (Castlehaven)
    (6) Tommy Walsh (Kanturk)
    (7) Matty Taylor (Mallow)
    (8) Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs)
    (9) Colm O’Callaghan (Eire Og)
    (10) Paul Walsh (Kanturk)
    (11) Sean Powter (Douglas)
    (12) Brian O’Driscoll (Carrigaline)
    (13) Chris Og Jones (Iveleary)
    (14) Conor Corbett (Clyda Rovers)
    (15) Brian Hurley (Castlehaven) Captain

(16) Micheal Aodh Martin (Nemo Rangers)
    (17) Sean Meehan (Kiskeam)
    (18) Darragh Cashman (Millstreet)
    (19) Thomas Clancy (Clonakilty)
    (20) Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig)
    (21) Fionn Herlihy (Dohenys)
    (22) Jack Cahalane (Castlehaven)
    (23) Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree)

(24) Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)

(25) Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers)

(26) Steven Sherlock (St Finbarrs)

Extra Panel Members;John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), David Buckley (Newcestown), Cathal Maguire (Castlehaven), Cathail O’Mahony (Mitchelstown), Neil Lordan (Ballinora), Damien Gore (Kilmacabea), Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers), Patrick Doyle (Knocknagree), (Castlehaven), Jacob O’Driscoll (Valley Rovers), Luke Fahy (Ballincollig), Sean Brady (Ballygarvan)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,686 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

1-04 v 0-09 down at ht, in the glorious sunshine. Just over 7k at it.

2 quickfire goals has us 4 ahead at the start of the second half!!

3-4 to 0-9 after 45 min. Hopefully we can see this out

2 up with 9 min to go

Level with 5 to go

Sherlock puts us in front again entering 5 min injury time

What a WIN !!!!!!! 3-09 v 0-16

Super result for the footballers !!!

I remember all the doom and gloom at the start of the league when they hammered us....... savage result in fairness !!!!!

Great result, well done to all

We owed Donegal a beating big time. They are a very good team so that is a major scalp for us. Who knows we might even make it as far as the semi finals. I think John Cleary is building a very good team here. There's so much negativity about the footballers at times. Which is weird considering that we haven't won an all Ireland in senior hurling in almost twenty years!

Then again that team under Conor Counihan that won an all Ireland and a couple of Munster and league titles, wasn't appreciated by some of the Cork public as well. I would consider myself to be a passionate supporter of Cork in both codes, and i sure will be looking back on today as one of the great ones supporting Cork. The players and management deserve serious credit for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Yes that was a great result for the footballers today. I didn't see it coming but maybe I am too pessimistic about them! They definitely proved me wrong!

In Camogie. Cork beat Down today comfortably

Down 1-7 Cork 4-21

Tomorrow at 12.30 East Cork play Dublin in the final of the John Scott Cup in the Celtic Challenge. It will be live on youtube below

• Registered Users Posts: 944 ✭✭✭thefa

I don’t know will we ever see some of the snobbery in Cork GAA go away but the footballers deserve credit for sure. Usually have a couple of performances in them come championship. Would be great if the footballers can get to Croker again and even better if both codes can get there. Felt like a while since we’ve had that.

Pretty frustrating that the game wasn’t televised.

I think it was 2012 when we last got as far as the last four in both senior codes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Seadin

Well done Cork footballers, that's a savage result against a very good team.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,963 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

jump on board , not that long ago i as on here promoting all things cork gaa because i genuinely taught they had something in them and being told that i was talkin shite , of course you had no problem with that

since then the all ireland champions in hurling and the biggest threat to the all ireland champions in football have been beaten by two cork teams i have been talking up for years now , not so much shite talk now , 😡

• Registered Users Posts: 5,963 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

well done cork by the way as i have said for years on here ye are a division 1 team playing division 2 football

the pressure of the jersey doesn't help in my opinion at times too though

2-09 v 0-06 at ht to East Cork. 6 from Sars and 6 from Midleton starting but a fair few subs rolling on and off throughout the first half. Not a bad game.

East Cork win 4-16 v 3-12

Very open game, some good performances.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Its great to see so many young players getting to play on a lovely day. Always nice to win as well!

• Registered Users Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Triboro

Well done Cork, What's the capacity of PUR? Att was given as 7k+ but seemed like a lot more at the venue.Nice touch the parade at half time.

Around 15k or 16k. Reckon there was a few thousand more than 7k there

• Registered Users Posts: 147 ✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

So Cork v Tyrone will be a double header with the hurlers, which is why the venue isn't set yet. Is anyone planning on getting the train up and if so how are ye deciding which destination to go for and when to leave? Will the hurling be on after or before the football do you think? Football throws in at 3pm

I would hope they would run a direct train or 2 if its Tullamore anyway, changing in Portarlington would be a disaster