Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭rjoe90

Don’t think I would describe Tipps performance in the Gaelic grounds 2 weeks ago as very “manly”. Hopefully ye will improve though and can get a result.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Minor football Munster final on TG4 this evening at 7:20

Cork 0-2 Kerry 0-7, 15 min

Cork 0-3 Kerry 0-11 HT. As poor a half of football as I've seen from us in a good while. really struggling on our kickouts which only keeps Kerry on the attack

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,546 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Can't win the kickouts and give away possession as they can't pass to save their lives.

Those players play some brilliant football with their clubs - the whole setup myst be shocking.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭lukin

This could be one of the worst hidings Cork have ever received from Kerry.

1-6 to 2-18 FT. Very poor display. serious review needed of our "5 year plan" after this and recent u20 displays but the hurlers are flying again so football don't matter to the county board I guess

• Registered Users Posts: 18,139 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

That's some hammering. Terrible.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,546 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

That was just putrid from the throw in to the final whistle. It's staggering how good footballers with their club can form together to become pure shite.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,066 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Just not good enough.

That kerry team is actually nothing special

They will get destroyed next day out too. Waste of time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Seadin

Cork football is in trouble at all grades. I said it before whoever is in charge of Cork GAA isn't doing a good job at all. That's a disgrace to be beaten out the park like that. Maybe like Kilkenny they should start concentrating on getting the hurling back on par again and forget football altogether.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭Cork2021

poor statement to say not bother! We’re the 4th most successful team when it comes to all Ireland’s! We suffer from generation! 1990-2010 etc, I think we won’t be far off winning in the next few years.

I find it hard to see right now. Nowhere near good enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭Cork2021

there’s players coming, they always do. I reckon we’ll win an Ireland within the next 4/5 years

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭sonnyblack

The Cork minor management team should be taken to task for this performance. These players have been in development squads since the age of 13/14 and then to come out and play like this. They seemed paralysed with indecision and unable to carry out the very basics. There's strong rumours of a west cork bias in terms of selecting players for the squad. If its true then it showed tonight. If there's another poor performance in the quarter final, the management should be dismissed immediately. There has to be someone better to coach the team. Look at the performance against Galway in winning the minor All-Ireland a few years ago. What happened to those standards? Ballincollig are the strongest team in the county. Why wasn't there more of their players selected in the squad?

There's 3 or 4 from Ballincollig in the squad, including probably our best player Miskella. There is a very broad range of clubs in fairness.

The whole set up is wrong. A serious focus on gym work, running through the lines, chin ups etc all of this is monitored and timed on Rebel Óg teams- most of it is not worth a shite. Young fellas need to be given a ball and told play football, express themselves, not get some info from printouts and follow that.

Not the slightest chance. Like I said standards no where good enough right now.

100% agree on point about giving players more time with football.

It's very evident past few years. We don't seem be learning at all from past.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭BarneyJ

Fair play Sham, turned out exactly as you predicted/hoped. Congrats to Cork.

I watched the hurling game v Limerick again yesterday. Few observations. Patrick Collins isn't the way forward as keeper. Makes too many errors gives too many points away per game. Sean o Donaghue is a liability at the backline Gave away two goals the last day which could have been very costly. His stick work under pressure is brutal and is a pure liability going forward. Definitely wouldn't be passing the ball to him under short puck outs. Cahalane is still a lazy defender and fouls mad and there are surely better players in Cork now that have to be tried. Flanagan took him on a tour around the Pairc the last day. Kingston should only ever come on an impact sub. He is brilliant at that but definitely not a starter. Connolly Hayes and Barrett are turning into fine players.

We will know what direction Cork are going next weekend. They must play as good as they did again against Limerick. Nothing else will do.

• Registered Users Posts: 974 ✭✭✭arrianalexander

Surely can't be real ?

• Registered Users Posts: 974 ✭✭✭arrianalexander

Well intheory , they took it from puc and brought it home/ to glanmire

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭FantasyFool

Hugh O'Connor parachuted into the u20 team for tomorrow night. I spotted Ben O'Connor at a fair few matches around Duhallow last year so he must rate him.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,444 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

• Registered Users Posts: 14,605 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Anyone know if row L in the big stand in Pairc Ui Chaoimh is covered from rain guys ?

U20 hurling Munster semi final tomorrow, note the throw in time

1.Paudie O’Sullivan- Fr. O’Neills

2. Denis Cashman – Bride Rovers

3. Kevin Lyons – Ballygarvan

4. Darragh O’Sullivan – Capt- Ballinhassig

5. James Dwyer- Ballincollig

6.Cillian Tobin – Bride Rovers

7. Ben Walsh – Killeagh

8. Mikey Finn – Midleton

9. Tadhg O’Connell – Ballincollig

10. Diarmuid Healy – Lisgoold

11. William Buckley – St. Finbarr’s

12.  Hugh O’Connor – Newmarket

13. David Cremin – Midleton

14. Barry Walsh – Killeagh

15. Jack Leahy – Dungourney

16. Daniel O’Connell – Dromina

17. James O’Brien – Fermoy

18. Óran O’Regan – Erins Own

19. Timmy Wilk – Cobh

20. Peter O’Shea – Erins Own

21. Adam O’Sullivan – Ballinhassig

22. Ross O’ Sullivan- Na Piarsaigh

23. Eoin O’Leary – Glen Rovers

24. Barry O’Flynn – Sarsfield

Extended Panel

Johnny Galvin – Eire Og, Ronan O’Connell – Bride Rovers,Ollie McAdoo – Blackrock, Mark O’Dwyer – Russell Rovers,Rory Troy – Newtownshandrum,  David O’ Leary – Ballincollig,Shane Couglan – Fermoy,  James Murray – Youghal,Ryan Sweeney – Blackrock,   Ronan Dooley – Douglas,Jayden Casey – Youghal, Eoin Guinane – Valley Rovers

CORK (SHC v Tipperary): P Collins (Ballinhassig); N O'Leary (Castlelyons), E Downey (Glen Rovers), S O'Donoghue (Inniscarra) (C); T O'Mahony (Newtownshandrum), R Downey (Glen Rovers), M Coleman (Blarney); E Twomey (St Finbarrs), D Fitzgibbon (Charleville); D Dalton (Fr O'Neills), S Barrett (Blarney), S Harnedy (St Ita's); P Horgan (Glen Rovers), A Connolly (Blackrock), B Hayes (St Finbarr's).

Subs: B Saunderson (Midleton), D Cahalane (St Finbarr's), G Millerick (Fr O'Neills), T O'Connell (Midleton), C Joyce (Castlemartyr), L Meade (Newcestown), B Roche (Bride Rovers), S Kingston (Douglas), J O'Connor (Sarsfields), C Lehane (Midleton), S Twomey (Courcey Rovers).

CORK (SFC v Clare): C. Kelly; K. Flahive, D. O’Mahony, M. Shanley; R. Maguire, T. Walsh, M. Taylor; I. Maguire, C. O’Callaghan, P. Walsh, S. Powter, B. O’Driscoll; C. Jones, C. Corbett, B. Hurley (c).

Subs: M.A. Martin, S. Meehan, D. Cashman, T. Clancy, K. O’Donovan, D. Buckley, E. McSweeney, J. O’Rourke, R. Deane, M. Cronin, S. Sherlock.