Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunchtime Live with Ciara Kelly [Mod warning post #1]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    I'm wondering if she believes it's ok for a female to use the terms with men but not the other way around.

Context is everything. Surely it can't be difficult to understand why calling someone "love" can be sometimes patronising and sometimes good natured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,310 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Context is everything. Surely it can't be difficult to understand why calling someone "love" can be sometimes patronising and sometimes good natured?

He was English. Many English people call everyone pet or love. It stinks of double standards. Ciara hasn't today suggested that sometimes it's not OK to use these terms. Not once that is heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

Have a feeling Ciara is gonna run and run with the story from the Ballon D'or last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Good to see Ciara wanting to keep the proles out of university. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Have a feeling Ciara is gonna run and run with the story from the Ballon D'or last night.

She managed to hold it in for an hour. I'm amazed. She's on her hobby horse now about it as we speak....

I, I, I, me,me,me..... droll biased anecdote , medical experience mention, obligatory cackle ,me, me ,me ..... battle of the sexes chat , me,me,me , us vs them , mention of her kids , men are sexual predators, cackle,cackle.....

How is this person left to host a radio show.
    Amateur in the extreme.
    Unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Did she just stop reading a text criticising MeToo?

Barna77 wrote: »

Yep. Par for the course on lunchtime live it seems. Opinions are more than welcome just so long as they agree with Ciaras.

Uncharted wrote:
    She managed to hold it in for an hour. I'm amazed. She's on her hobby horse now about it as we speak....

In fairness it was a stupid comment to make last night.

An utterly stupid comment to make. Agreed 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Barna77 wrote: »

Yes - like Moncrieff and that eejit in the mornings, she either refuses to read, or mocks, and message that goes against the right-on dogma.

On a related note - I heard a guy on Newstalk during the week giving out about the Chinese scientist who did the gene editing on the baby recently - he blamed the election of Trump for "enabling this kind of thing" (I swear this is true!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,085 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Gravelly wrote: »
    Yes - like Moncrieff and that eejit in the mornings, she either refuses to read, or mocks, and message that goes against the right-on dogma.

On a related note - I heard a guy on Newstalk during the week giving out about the Chinese scientist who did the gene editing on the baby recently - he blamed the election of Trump for "enabling this kind of thing" (I swear this is true!).

If you heard the Future Proof show on Saturday, you'd have heard the host, Jonathan McCrea, speaking very much in favour of the Chinese Scientist while the guest genetic scientist was saying that it was a very dangerous and selfish move by them.

Uncharted wrote: »

How dare she bring up one of the worldwide trending articles on Twitter in the last 24 hours.

Truly shocking behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

If you heard the Future Proof show on Saturday, you'd have heard the host, Jonathan McCrea, speaking very much in favour of the Chinese Scientist while the guest genetic scientist was saying that it was a very dangerous and selfish move by them.

*whoosh*

*whoosh*

Don't feel bad about it, you're in good company here.

How dare she bring up one of the worldwide trending articles on Twitter in the last 24 hours.

Truly shocking behaviour.

What's your purpose in quoting my text?
    It doesn't reinforce your "attack" at all.
    Strange behaviour.

My point was in how long she held it in before raising the issue!

Not that the issue WOULD be raised.... can you actually see the difference or are the goggles welded too firmly to your eyes?

What's your purpose in quoting my text?
    It doesn't reinforce your "attack" at all.
    Strange behaviour.

My point was in how long she held it in before raising the issue!

Not that the issue WOULD be raised.... can you actually see the difference or are the goggles welded too firmly to your eyes?

Brilliant. :D

Brilliant retort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

What's wrong with mocking reply. Surely you wouldn't be offended? What about freedom of the speech, people getting offended by everything and so on. Isn't frank discussion what we want and if we think someone is talking nonsense we should be able to say it.

meeeeh wrote: »
    What's wrong with mocking reply. Surely you wouldn't be offended? What about freedom of the speech, people getting offended by everything and so on. Isn't frank discussion what we want and if we think someone is talking nonsense we should be able to say it.

Only when what they are saying agrees with our point of view. Keep up.

..... OUR?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,810 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

..... OUR?

Don't go down that rabbit hole.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,287 ✭✭✭givyjoe

meeeeh wrote: »

Sweety baby irony jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

meeeeh wrote:

She mocked it without reading it.

Frankly i find her as palatable as loose women. Horrible excuse for a presenter who would have no job if it wasnt for newstalk trying to make up for the George hook debacle.

She has been called out on a number of occasions on air for having an agenda. Thinks all guys need to be thought how not to be sexist. She will happily slaughter guys for acting macho and mock the man flu in the same sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Caught a bit of this in the car yesterday. Same usual predictable response from her. What the guy said was obviously silly - and the poor girl was caught a bit off guard with the out of context nature of the question. But it's not enough today to say the guy just said something a little stupid because he was nervous or trying to be funny. It's obviously this MAN trying to demonstrate his superiority over the woman by belittling her sporting achievement. Two core points that Kelly missed were that the guy was mortified and immediately apologised to Ada, and that she didn't even take offence to what he said and only became aware of the controversy when she looked up Twitter. People like Ciara Kelly using what this guy said to drive their own agenda.

And the most ridiculous part of this is that Kelly then used to drive a discussion on lack of coverage for women's sports. The ONLY time that she has ever discussed women's football on the show was when she could use it as a vehicle to drive her own anti man agenda. She said that she has no interest in sport, but it's apparently consistent then to berate men for not watching women's sport, when she hates all sport herself.

I just laugh at the show when I hear it in passing these days. It's so over the top it's like a feminist's Alan Partridge at this stage.

If anything yesterday's show has proven how few men think comments on twirking at sporting events is the best way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

If anything yesterday's show has proven how few men think comments on twirking at sporting events is the best way to go.

Well you have certainly learned the art of misrepresentation from your hours of listening to Ciara Kelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Seems to have zero sense of humour.

Comes across like an old Mother Superior from the 1950s.

Well you have certainly learned the art of misrepresentation from your hours of listening to Ciara Kelly.

I haven't read any posts here agreeing with the twirking comment & there were as many men texting in about their embarrassment with the comment. So yes that is what I took from the program yesterday. I'm not saying that's what ciara expected from the program.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

This thread reads like an incel circle jerk.