Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA discussion thread #2

1202203204205206208»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

i will say one thing about joe o'connor he has more then redeemed his poor form of the last few years over this league campaign

i dont bet much and i hate them accumulators but at half time today i stuck a few quid on ye at 3/1 to win the all ireland , i like the age profile of the team and the bench is strong , cliffords aside the likes of paul geaneys workrate and new found position is huge , and a fit tony brosnan will take huge pressure off the likes of david later on in the championship

i dont like donegals options off the bench they look like they have only 3 impact subs at best , dublin the same in truth , galway have the strongest panel but still a bit inexperienced and young , plus jack o'connors route to winning an all ireland is flawless after a league win 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke

To add to the praise for Joe O'Connor, I was also someone who wrote him off based on previous years. But that was largely down to the way he moved. He was clumsy and slow turning and just didn't look like an athlete. He has been transformed.

On this subject I will also say that I think David Clifford is also moving a lot better than he has for a few years. He was becoming a heavy footed plodder. But, based on what I see on TV, he has slimmed down a fraction and now looks well capable of getting out in front of his man and finding space. I couldn't tell today if he has improved his stamina though. Remains to be seen. Needs to work on his accuracy again though.

My question is, does anyone know what has changed in their training over the past 6 months?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,609 ✭✭✭wonga77

Just reading that the legendary Mick O Dwyer has passed away.
    Had the pleasure of knowing him fairly well and spoke to him several times on various topics, a highly interesting engaging man to talk to and always gave his time to those around him.
    RIP Micko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MacDanger

RIP Micko, a legend of the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭Blackjack

RIP Micko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭kerryjack

RIP Micko, grew up watching these lads in 70s and 80s He sure got the most out of his 88 years in this world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,367 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The '75 team were having a reunion in Kenmare( Mickey Ned was captain) Thursday, Friday and Saturday this weekend. It was for the golden jubilee. He died last night in Kenmare Hospital. It poignant the coincidences. I am sure a few of them went to see him over the last few day.

One of the greatest GAA men ever. He turned a team of young lads into superstars in there day. In a time where players were generally.not substituted, the 4 in a row team consisted of 17-18 players in reality. He then managed the 3 in a row team and after that went on to win Leinster finals with Kildare and Laois as well as a Tommy Murphy cup with Wicklow.

Himself and Kevin Heffernan were the first real managers that became bigger than there teams.

May he rest in peace

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭robbiezero

That William Kirbys young fella playing for Kerry u20 tonight and going well?

There is a Miskella playing well for Cork. Might be related to that good wing back they had back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Looks a very good Kerry side.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,141 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,609 ✭✭✭wonga77

You know you're getting old when the conversation is about the players father 😂

I was playing in a challenge match a few years back and got skinned by some young lad, i asked who he was and one of my teammates said he was such and suchs son. I went to school with his father, i knew then it was nearly time to hang up the boots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Radio5

Surprised there's no comment on Saturday's match. Letting 7 point leads slip is not the way to go, but it might be a good lesson for this team to learn at this stage of the year.

Under 20s taking on Cork next week, should be interesting also.

We have a habit of taking teams for granted. Losing Shane Ryan was the catalyst to most of our problems. Shane Murphys kickouts seem to be a significant issue for us. Joe O'connor really stood up especially the second half of extra time.

I like to know the reason for Paul and Rurai Murphy's being substituted at half time. Did Jack feel we could not afford to carry three Murphy's on the team. None are goid enough to start. We are at the same sh!te as the last two year picking lads to give them medals that is costing us SAM.

We were lucky. Winning means that PC will have served his ban before the round Robin series. I have hated facing a provincial winner at there home venue as third seed withi PC suspended. Biggest fear now is how serious SR injury is.

Even after all that I fear we are going nowhere this year. We have too many passengers and no new blood

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭dobman88

Seanie Shea played well for a man who left the panel apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Piskin

Let a 7 point lead go twice, D Clifford almost cost us the match twice in the game, I really think now that he needs to be taken off with 10 minutes to go in games as he is costing us in big game with his decision-making & costly miss'es at crucial stages in the game. K Spillane come's on again and nail's a crucial score and Joe o' Connor won it with his goal. Our half-back line cannot defend against 2-pointers and we had 2 half-forwards who pose no scoring threat. Still falter under pressure and if Cork had taken their score's we would have lost by 4 point's. We are moving the ball faster into the forwards and our full-back line is solid. Jack too slow in making changes and his picking G o' Sullivan at half-forward is baffling. R Murphy offered nothing again. Barry Dan in midfield played well and should be kept there. We are better in midfield without D o' Connor as he fails every time against good midfielders in the Championship. There is a good team there but mistake's & costly decision making of players at crucial moments will cost us again if something is not done about it ASAP by management.

But the management never seem to learn over the last few years, we scraped through games where we should have lost and Jack comes out and say's it will stand to us, it simply doesn't!! Leaving leads behind us, top player's making the same mistake's over and over.

P Murphy while a great servant should not be playing, D Bourke should be in instead of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Radio5

Cork, Roscommon and the losers of the Leinster final possibly in our group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭jimmytwotimes 2013

We haven't won Munster yet. Win or lose the final, the group isn't gonna be great.

Slava Ukrainii

Means we will be under cooked again going into the 1/4's again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭munster87

What’s the story with Paudie?