Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA discussion thread #2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,367 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The only other positive I can find is Gough is horrified at the changes. He must be afraid he might actually have to whistle for .foul

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/horrified-david-gough-slams-gaas-new-rules-were-heading-into-round-two-we-still-have-no-rule-book/a55838451.html

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭50HX

No..I'm not heading up...on the road all week & the youngest lad is sick.

Last few years I'd rather go to the u20's...better football to watch

Just home from the shootout at the OK Corral. New rules make the game a shootout. There was about 40 scores today with only about 7 from frees.

Derry left it behind them. They had the beating of us. When they were on top in the second half they took one pointers instead of going for goals. The sun was a big factor in the first half and we were playing into it. It was no advantage to us in the second half.

New expression is "Solo and go". Taught we did not maximise the rules. We are not fast enough to get out of our own half. Virtually all kickouts are contested now. Derry were the stronger around the middle we need to work on that.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,631 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I get the feeling from these new rules they could be some right trounces handed out come the summer when the championship through s up these ridiculous miss matches, teams in the league now are evenly matched and some really good games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,502 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Indeed, in Munster and Leinster this may well be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Bielsa2020

ticket for tonight’s game in ASP free to a good home. Send PM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,817 ✭✭✭✭siblers

That was quite frustrating to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

I

that was shocking... we need a few men fast or we're going nowhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Piskin

A shambles all over the pitch, shambles on the line and shambolic S & C levels. It has been poor on the pitch for 3 years now yet not anything done about it. The County Board needs to get it's act together as well. Bring in K Donaghy & Donie Buckley next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,817 ✭✭✭✭siblers

I don't see Jack having the ability to adapt to the new rules. Last year it was very black and white with no plan to change the style of play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

personally i think he was let down by a few players tonight especially in the second half , midfield was poor , the kick out strategy was poor in the second half , but the decision making in attacking positions is a real problem with some players , i reckon its not all bad because when tony brosnan comes back into the panel himself and clifford will be the kings of the two pointers , but the fringe players at the moment are not taking the chance they are getting

and whatever about jack your last manager is having equal trouble getting his head around the game in clare , two weeks ago he played a 5 ft 8 wing back in midfield 🙈,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭fire_man

Joe O connor had good first half but should have passed to Paudi for tap in.As an outsider worrying for Kerry as Dublin without many regulars.

I never thought I read the words kings & tony brosnan in the same sentence 😁

Cian o Neill seems to be running the show imo, Jack appears to be cosmetic appearance at this stage, last season & he ain't goin to be shoved out now.

Hard to know where we are at tbh.

New rules & summer football you'd imagine should suit us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Will suit yere forwards, but certainly wont suit yere defence which is going to be in real trouble against two pointers and defending with 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,533 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

he is in the form of his life the last 12 months and its no bother to him to kick a 40 pointer , new rules will definitely suit him , its about finding who will partner himself and the two cliffords is the main issue now

Tony Brosnan is not a big game player at intercounty level IMO. At present we lack a couple of dogs on the team. We have a load of nice but not exceptional footballers. Tony is just another one of them.

Jack is reaping decisions he has made over the last two years. I find it hard to see an AI in us this year. The sooner it over is probably the better

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭cms88

imo the finger needs to be pointed at the county board. They appointed Jack o Connor and could have got rid of him last year. They couldn't get Peter Keane out fast enough yet will do nothing now with Jack. Maybe instead of trying to think up another way to get money out of fans they could sit down and see why Jack was the only option for the job and why there's no stand outs to take over rom him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Delivering an All Ireland, albeit just one, was enough to keep the wolf from the door.

It's hard to know how to view Jack as Kerry manager. While there were some great days but at the same some of the worst losses in recent times have come under him as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭thesultan

It would suit if Kerry would actually kick the ball and shoot on occasion. They had a chance at the death to shoot but hand passed instead.

Yeah that's an issue across all inter county teams.

We now have a generation of players that were never really coached on the art of 1-1 defending.

These defenders will be found out badly with the 3 v 3 rule, they always had the comfort of the sweeper before.

Hopefully the art of fielding & blocking the ball will come to the fore more so.

Removing the closed fist handpass years ago was big mistake imo

V hard for refs to pick on what's practically a throw with the open palm, it's never pulled up on at underage level even.

Dublin got a huge amount from that game Sat night & are developing a nice panel.

Same can't be said for us so I wouldn't be expecting a whole from this year bar Clifford masterclass against weaker counties which the media will fawn over & paper over the cracks that are v evident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Radio5

Poor game management on Saturday night. Yes conditions were difficult but that was true for both teams. There seem to be Kerry players now who are afraid or unable to kick for a score even when in a good position, it's automatically just another handpass instead. It was the same v Donegal and there was no gale.

Is today's match actually in Pomeroy or in Kildress GAA. It Kikdress that comes up fir Pomeroy gaa

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

we do be very quick to criticise Kerry when they are beaten… last Sat nite being a prime example…. but fair play to the players today…

went upto Derry and snatched it and now to the highest pitch above sea level in Tyrone and snatched it… great going by our lads… Tyrone thought they were pulling a fast one playing the game in Pomeroy.. didnt work for them

I thought it was in Pomeroy.

Strange start to league, to win the away games & loose the home matches.

Big win away from home, rock onto Mayo

Still can't make out what out game plan is, Ryan needs to stay in goal, P Clifford was everywhere

Ref escorted off at the final whistle, tyrone management not happy with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Not sure what he did so wrong by them. Black card for Clifford very debateable to say the least although I thought watching it that he was starting to tire and the 10 mins rest actually really revived him for the finish.

Great Display by Kerry. The 8 minutes with 13 against 15 was absolutely superb by Kerry. Ref made a mistake during that failed to stop the clock once during an injury it gave us a goid minute I say. Joe was rash pulling down the Tyrone player. Jason was coming onto him fast.

We made a mistake for the penalty. A player should have been ready on LHS of penalty taker to track him. He would have a chance to help with the rebound.

Taught O'Bealoigh had a super game, Diarmuid has come on a lot this year. Barry Dan was good when he came on. Disappointed that a younger player than Paul Murphy was not bought on at the end of the game

Slava Ukrainii

Bad result for the hurlers against Donegal. I would go as far as to say it's the worst result ever for the hurlers. But again this is on the CB but they'll likely not act on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Radio5

Vital win away from home. Didn't think they would come back after the penalty to be honest. Now to follow that up with a win in Mayo would be a huge positive.

We are in for a tricky two matches to remain in D1. Its quite possible we may need to win both to gaurantee D1 survival. Jim McGuniess has stated that Donegal will do what is in Donegal's interest in the last two matches. He is cribbing about the date of the D1 final and that they are oput against Derry the weekend after the D1 final if they make the final. While mathematically still in it Derry are probably relegated 5 points is the most they can attain. in the next round they play Mayo. We play Armagh, Dublin are at home to Galway and Tyrone play Donegal.

Final round has us away to Galway, Donegal away to Mayo, Dublin are away to Tyrone and Armagh are at home to Derry. If JMG want to avoid the league final he needs to lose both matches. Maybe he is sorry now he did not travel down after the storm. If Dublin lose both there matches if we are on a relegation on 6 points they have us on the head to head game. IMO we could need 3 points to be safe

Slava Ukrainii