Did I imagine it or was he out with the team with a ball before the match this evening?
Edit: I didn't imagine it, so unless he left after tonight's match, I'd find it hard to believe.
Is it not juat a case of a recurring knee injury? Same injury that kept him out for a few league games last year.
Why so, because we should brush it under the carpet. We have lost our edge. I heard it on the grapevine. There has been issues for the last two seasons with team selection.
did you really need to post that here…
Strong rumour Sean O'Shea has left the Kerry panel
Hopefully he can improve but I think he is set in his ways too much for that to happen. Pointless having a player on the pitch who isn't playing up to scratch, in fact it is a liability!!
The middle 8 is crucial in these new rules yet I see nothing from us so far.
Don't see how getting rid of the one half forward we have that can actually play ball does us any good.
I'd hate to see where would be without him, can he improve...yes.
We need a half forward that loves the dirty work & relishes the physical battle, haven't had one since Galvin retired
It is worrying how slow the build up is, P Clifford is not bringing nothing to the team the last 2 years and seem's to only pass to his brother. He now keep's passing backwards and sideways. No midfield and no half forward line will kill us again this year. The points we have we are lucky to have, we have been outplayed for most of this campaign. Cian o' Neill should never be near this team nevermind Jack o' Connor. Tactically naive!!
That would be my take as well
Need a point at least ,& then have win v galway assuming Dongeal don't do anything for the remaining 2 games.( as tempting as it is I think Donegal will want to keep momentum going though)
If we do not beat Armagh and Jimmy fields a weakened team against Tyrone we are probably relegated
Was in castlebar I thought Mayo were well up for this one they love Kerry coming to town and beating us. We were slow getting going, but we did muster up a bit of a come back in second half, could have got something out of it had some chances last few minutes but Kerry were slow to get ball up the field in the last minute or 2 of play, The hooter is fair but will hurt teams latter on in championship.
1 more win should see us safe, Tyrone would have to win out to stay up then
We are in for a tricky two matches to remain in D1. Its quite possible we may need to win both to gaurantee D1 survival. Jim McGuniess has stated that Donegal will do what is in Donegal's interest in the last two matches. He is cribbing about the date of the D1 final and that they are oput against Derry the weekend after the D1 final if they make the final. While mathematically still in it Derry are probably relegated 5 points is the most they can attain. in the next round they play Mayo. We play Armagh, Dublin are at home to Galway and Tyrone play Donegal.
Final round has us away to Galway, Donegal away to Mayo, Dublin are away to Tyrone and Armagh are at home to Derry. If JMG want to avoid the league final he needs to lose both matches. Maybe he is sorry now he did not travel down after the storm. If Dublin lose both there matches if we are on a relegation on 6 points they have us on the head to head game. IMO we could need 3 points to be safe
Vital win away from home. Didn't think they would come back after the penalty to be honest. Now to follow that up with a win in Mayo would be a huge positive.
Bad result for the hurlers against Donegal. I would go as far as to say it's the worst result ever for the hurlers. But again this is on the CB but they'll likely not act on it.
Great Display by Kerry. The 8 minutes with 13 against 15 was absolutely superb by Kerry. Ref made a mistake during that failed to stop the clock once during an injury it gave us a goid minute I say. Joe was rash pulling down the Tyrone player. Jason was coming onto him fast.
We made a mistake for the penalty. A player should have been ready on LHS of penalty taker to track him. He would have a chance to help with the rebound.
Taught O'Bealoigh had a super game, Diarmuid has come on a lot this year. Barry Dan was good when he came on. Disappointed that a younger player than Paul Murphy was not bought on at the end of the game
Not sure what he did so wrong by them. Black card for Clifford very debateable to say the least although I thought watching it that he was starting to tire and the 10 mins rest actually really revived him for the finish.
I thought it was in Pomeroy.
Strange start to league, to win the away games & loose the home matches.
Big win away from home, rock onto Mayo
Still can't make out what out game plan is, Ryan needs to stay in goal, P Clifford was everywhere
Ref escorted off at the final whistle, tyrone management not happy with him
we do be very quick to criticise Kerry when they are beaten… last Sat nite being a prime example…. but fair play to the players today…
went upto Derry and snatched it and now to the highest pitch above sea level in Tyrone and snatched it… great going by our lads… Tyrone thought they were pulling a fast one playing the game in Pomeroy.. didnt work for them
Is today's match actually in Pomeroy or in Kildress GAA. It Kikdress that comes up fir Pomeroy gaa
Poor game management on Saturday night. Yes conditions were difficult but that was true for both teams. There seem to be Kerry players now who are afraid or unable to kick for a score even when in a good position, it's automatically just another handpass instead. It was the same v Donegal and there was no gale.
Yeah that's an issue across all inter county teams.
We now have a generation of players that were never really coached on the art of 1-1 defending.
These defenders will be found out badly with the 3 v 3 rule, they always had the comfort of the sweeper before.
Hopefully the art of fielding & blocking the ball will come to the fore more so.
Removing the closed fist handpass years ago was big mistake imo
V hard for refs to pick on what's practically a throw with the open palm, it's never pulled up on at underage level even.
Dublin got a huge amount from that game Sat night & are developing a nice panel.
Same can't be said for us so I wouldn't be expecting a whole from this year bar Clifford masterclass against weaker counties which the media will fawn over & paper over the cracks that are v evident
It would suit if Kerry would actually kick the ball and shoot on occasion. They had a chance at the death to shoot but hand passed instead.
It's hard to know how to view Jack as Kerry manager. While there were some great days but at the same some of the worst losses in recent times have come under him as well.
Delivering an All Ireland, albeit just one, was enough to keep the wolf from the door.
imo the finger needs to be pointed at the county board. They appointed Jack o Connor and could have got rid of him last year. They couldn't get Peter Keane out fast enough yet will do nothing now with Jack. Maybe instead of trying to think up another way to get money out of fans they could sit down and see why Jack was the only option for the job and why there's no stand outs to take over rom him again.
Tony Brosnan is not a big game player at intercounty level IMO. At present we lack a couple of dogs on the team. We have a load of nice but not exceptional footballers. Tony is just another one of them.
Jack is reaping decisions he has made over the last two years. I find it hard to see an AI in us this year. The sooner it over is probably the better
he is in the form of his life the last 12 months and its no bother to him to kick a 40 pointer , new rules will definitely suit him , its about finding who will partner himself and the two cliffords is the main issue now
Will suit yere forwards, but certainly wont suit yere defence which is going to be in real trouble against two pointers and defending with 11.
I never thought I read the words kings & tony brosnan in the same sentence 😁
Cian o Neill seems to be running the show imo, Jack appears to be cosmetic appearance at this stage, last season & he ain't goin to be shoved out now.
Hard to know where we are at tbh.
New rules & summer football you'd imagine should suit us