Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA discussion thread #2

• Registered Users Posts: 5,801 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

On the county championship structures, a review committee will examine the four proposed motions and report back by March - so unlikely any change will be implemented before 2025:

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/kerry/sport/gaa/kerry-gaa-vote-to-establish-review-committee-to-consider-county-championship-structures/a814830649.html

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭westsidestory

Didn't Jack fall out with Dromid as a player himself also, might have played with Waterville for a spell if remember rightly.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,199 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Miltown Castlemaine lost probably a victim of the Kerry championship system. No break between there County final and first round if the Munster championship, as well as there best players going full tilt with Mid Kerry. If they had got over that match they would have probably gone all the way in the AI club championship

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 15,035 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Milltown Castlemaine had none of the energy they had the previous week.

They had a burst at the start of the second half scoring 4 without reply to go 2 up but that fizzled out as quick as it started.

You could see full well that the week break was too short for them.

And while we are at it they are playing in the mid Kerry championship semi final on Sunday.

Interestingly I read that it's the first time since 2013 that the Munster champion will not be from Kerry at intermediate.

I knew Kerry were strong at that grade but I didn't know they dominated it that much in the last 10 years.

Largely because the Cork representatives are from the wrong grade - they put forward their "intermediate" champions, but because the county also has a "Senior A Championship", it's that competition that actually corresponds to the second tier elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭highball14

McGrath Cup Wednesday against Tipperary. What new players are people hoping to see?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭kerryjack

We need to win every game go hard at league and finish at the steps of the hogan stand.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,035 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Not really

There are very few contenders for the All Ireland this year.

It's really Dublin or Kerry.

All each have to do is avoid potentially being drawn against the other in a QF and avoid any banana skins like Derry or whoever on the way to the final.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,363 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

New Kerry goalkeeper jersey looks nice.

Unfortunately I got to see it close up on Shane Murphy as he limped off injured before the match has even started.

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭fire_man

Surprised to see D Geaney back playing already.

A young fella trying to break into the Kerry set up, of course he’s going to be playing in the McGrath Cup!

• Registered Users Posts: 23 StuttgartKY

Is Donal Down O’Sullivan still on the panel?

There should be plenty of depth and competition for places this year. Damien Bourke, Sean O’Brien, Joe O’Connor, Ronan Buckley, Cillian Burke and Dylan Geaney are all players who had no game time last year but can challenge for places in the starting 15 or matchday 26s.

Particularly in the League - I know Jack puts great store in it, largely done to the coincidence that every All-Ireland he's won has followed up on a spring title, but so long as we stay up, the priority should be to blood new players, especially around midfield.

Strong team named for the Limerick game tomorrow - apart from Stefan starting after his injury woes, the other notable news is Conor Geaney getting a runout in the full-forward line:

https://www.kerrygaa.ie/team-announcement-kerry-vs-limerick-mcgrath-cup-2/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

you would have to wonder why such a strong team named... cillian burke keith evans the young geaneys from dingle should be playing these games not jason foley sean o shea etc...

It always easy to say that but players need a structure and you need to have a certain amount of backbone within a team

Slava Ukrainii

Which is indeed confirmed, as the review won't be completed before April. Parnells going senior means two groups of three, and one group of four in the hurling, with the top two in all three sections advancing straight to the QFs, with the other four sides playing off for the final two berths:

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-41311996.html

Armin Heinrich makes his senior debut for the county this afternoon, while Cillian Burke and Seán O'Brien get further opportunities to impress - the game will be live on TG4's YouTube channel.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Nice to see new talent.

Does anyone know where Heinrich got his name from?

Is his father German?

The family has been living in Tralee for decades anyway, I believe his father came to Kerry to work in the old Burlington factory, and passed away last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Jesus boards is gone to shite first league game and not a tweek

• Registered Users Posts: 4,233 ✭✭✭munster87

Had almost forgotten how shite Joe Mcquillan is

• Registered Users Posts: 7,773 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Perhaps people are watching a match???

• Registered Users Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Forge83

Sean O Brien whipped off when Joe O Connor is having a nightmare. Defensively he has been chronic. The media hyping him up the last few weeks was madness. Anytime a Derry player has tried to go past him he has offered no defence. How on earth is Micheal Burns still on this panel and Donal Down dropped, the mind boggles.

On a positive Sean O Shea is already moving a lot more freely than he was at championship level last year. Could be a massive year ahead for him. Graham O Sullivan Kerry’s best player so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭fire_man

It seems Kerry are still holding onto players who haven't performed at this level.

Jack should never have started two inexperienced midfielders against the best MF in the country as well the HF line had two players with there first start at intercounty

To cap it off he made the wrong switch when he bough on Barry Dan. He should have taken off Michael Burns and got the three lads to play accroes the middle and one of the HF to push up on the kick outs

That is what he did in the end when he swoped KS for DOC. Adrian Spillane must be injured as he would have made an impact in that game.

Paul Murphy bough nothing to the table again. Graham O Sullivan was probably the best player on the field. SOB made a bit of an impact but butchered two goal chances. Jason should have rounded the goalkeeper.

We should have fouled in the last play to guarantee the draw they should never have got the ball inside the 45. Not a complete disaster but we cannot afford any more f@@kups if we want to get to a league final.

Tom O Sullivian is not a good enough footballer to play CB. I be inclined to play Graham O'S or Gavin there and put Tom back into the corner. Mike Breen might be worth a chance as well at CB

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Forge83

I was roaring for them to foul in the Derry half on last play also. As for midfield, Rodger’s was actually quiet for them which makes our midfielders display even worse. If Diarmuid was fit enough to come on then he should have started. In first half we played far too slowly hand passing the ball up the field, that will never be good for Kerry. As soon as we started kicking the ball out of defence our game improved massively. No Okonbur also so he must be injured again?

Yes, him, Mike Breen, Ruairí Murphy and Tony Brosnan are all injured at the moment.