Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jarring The Bastards

• Registered Users Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Urban Dictionary says it means annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Why would you not question the price of anything you buy? It's your money like

Because 20c from €5.20 is less than 4% - and my time and peace of mind is worth way more to me than the odd 20c.

But, be honest you're not doing it to save 20c, you're doing it to stand out or be noticed.

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

Thought this thread was gonna be glassing some when I saw the title.havent a clue what jarring is tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Your Face wrote: »
    The criminal?

The businessman.

Damn right

Shaft

• Registered Users Posts: 25,732 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Jarring?

Sure it's barring that you'll be after getting.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

To "Jar someone" or to give one a "jarring" in the northern part of Ireland commonly means to apprehend them, or in Dublinese "to give out" to someone, or to question someone.

The only reason I know this is because a lad from that neck of the woods house shared with us at uni.

Thought this thread was gonna be glassing some when I saw the title.havent a clue what jarring is tbh

Who are you and where do you come from if you don't know what I'm on about?
    That's jarring

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭foxatron

I always do. In a place that's 5.20 a pint, I only give them a fiver for it. Haggle the fcuk out of them.Most don't jar me for the twenty cents, but I tip them it anyway.

They might not jar you for the twenty cents but I'd say they'd love to bottle you instead!!

Sorry I'll get my coat....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

The businessman.

Damn right

Shaft

Haha, you edited your post to add in the 'shaft' bits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭JimmyMcGill

Tip of the mickey ran around the head of a warm pint glass before pouring the pint might be an effective revenge act for a vindictive barman dealing with 'jarring'. Or acting the bollix as it's more commonly known.

I've seen it done whilst going to the other tap as the keg was empty on the tap facing said bollix.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,282 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

That's not the way you do it.

You say, I suppose you need two fivers down this way or some such. They are put on the spot and say no a fiver is grand, you give them six Euro, everybody is happy

So you act the bollix because the pub charges 5.20 for a pint, and then you pay 6.00 for it anyway? Wtf is the point? :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

Who are you and where do you come from if you don't know what I'm on about?
    That's jarring

Well my name says wexfordboy so? Why not say glassing then why would you go around glassing ppl for?

• Registered Users Posts: 37,916 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Love when the pints are €5 cause it's easy to pay and you get decent change back not a load of coins if you say hand over €6 drink for a €5.60 drink etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Divelment

Jarred = the act of ateing the head of somebody.

It's in the bucking dictionary.

Probably

Cheap.Cavan.Cuunt. If you don't like the prices at the establishment then drink elsewhere or at home or not at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,924 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Zaph wrote: »
    So you act the bollix because the pub charges 5.20 for a pint, and then you pay 6.00 for it anyway? Wtf is the point? :confused:

Just cause its jarring?
    Whatever the fùck jarring is

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

This thread is like The Twilight Zone.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

yet women can go beyond their weekly allowance by spending a fiver.

Zaph wrote: »

I do.

If you had a pub, and you could sell two pints for a tenner or one for 5.20, which would you go for?

Two for twelve Euro are better again but there aren't many philanthropists like me around.

Just cause its jarring?
    Whatever the fùck jarring is

Yous all need to come to Donegal for a good jarring

• Registered Users Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

lol.

Bad crowd tonight!

All ex barmen... :pac:

I'm one of them myself!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭Technique

I thought everybody knew what jarring was. Is it not used down south?

Technique wrote: »

I'm jarring away down south and no split mouth yet

Technique wrote: »

Donegal IS in the South! :p

We're the hard South

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Very confusing thread.

Might be a bit Jarring for newbies to AH, but not someone with 10k plus posts surely

Very confusing thread.

You should have went to the Gaeltacht as a nipper my nordie pal